Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtfully researched
No fan can read this book and not come away without having learned something new. More than likely they will come away having learned scores of things and had hundreds more clarified. Dive in; you are going to enjoy it.
Published on August 13, 2012 by Spiderclick78

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but ...
Not a bad read, not a great one either. It was a bit uneven, parts of this a quite interesting, parts of it are downright not worth writing about. However, that's the nature of this type of 'trivia' book. On the whole, when he trusted himself to let go and write with a bit of flair Sherman does well, however, he too often fell into this 'fact listing' style of writing...
Published 19 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtfully researched, August 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KISS FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Hottest Band in the Land (Faq Series) (Paperback)
No fan can read this book and not come away without having learned something new. More than likely they will come away having learned scores of things and had hundreds more clarified. Dive in; you are going to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dale Sherman does it again, April 19, 2013
By 
Mark R. Kondak (massapequa, new york) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KISS FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Hottest Band in the Land (Faq Series) (Paperback)
Growing up in the early 70's I had the opportunity to see some great rock artists, Kiss, Alice Cooper were 2 of my favorites, Dale Sherman has written books on both of them. I reccommend both books. The author is thorough in his research, I know because I was there and he writes about things that are real cool tid bits....If you are a Kiss fan, then you should already have this book. If you don't have it, GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Fun Read, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KISS FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Hottest Band in the Land (Faq Series) (Paperback)
This is a great book to thumb through and read when you have a chance here and there. The chapters are brief and interesting - - covering topics that diehards will love including info on the band's film 'KISS Meets The Phantom of the Park', the '78 solo records, rumors and myths examined and sometimes refuted, and cool facts about the album covers.....to name just a few. The book is filled with nice photos and the author's writing style is very accessible and readable. Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but ..., July 17, 2013
By 
Steve (Melb, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not a bad read, not a great one either. It was a bit uneven, parts of this a quite interesting, parts of it are downright not worth writing about. However, that's the nature of this type of 'trivia' book. On the whole, when he trusted himself to let go and write with a bit of flair Sherman does well, however, he too often fell into this 'fact listing' style of writing that just gets a bit like a shopping list after a while. I know buffs are into almost anything that the object of their interest is involved in, but a fair few chapters of this book prompted a bit of a 'so what' response from me; and believe me, as a first-makeup-era fan from the 70s I love the band and I do love trivia, but some of this is just not worth reading about. Started skipping whole sections after a while, not a glowing endorsement I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think there was anything left for me to know...but I stand corrected!!!, July 18, 2013
By 
Jul-el (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KISS FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Hottest Band in the Land (Faq Series) (Paperback)
Really loving the book! Well researched and fun to read. I especially love that you can open up at any chapter and read. Particularly enjoyed the chapter about Phantom of the Park. Plenty of new facts and info. A couple sections left to go and I must say I will be sad when it comes to an end and I've digested all the new info! Will highly recommend. Great job Dale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just A Fun Read, November 18, 2012
This review is from: KISS FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Hottest Band in the Land (Faq Series) (Paperback)
My all time favorite KISS book is Kiss Behind The Mask that goes into each album track by track. It's not a tell all book just about the albums.
This FAQ book is just a fun read w/ a lot of information on the band.
Writer Dale Sherman who wrote a number of books on KISS gives us the FAQ. This book sort of breaks it down in sections and themes. It starts off w/ individual KISS performers as date of birth, original name, early career and recordings preKISS. They even have a section on Wicked Lester and recordings. The making of KISS logo. List of early influences such as The Beatles, Alice Cooper, Slade. The history of the make up and costumes. They really get into "KISS Meets The Phantom of The Park" movie. The list of comic books KISS have out. They even go into the KISS merchandise. My favorite section is about the albums and solo records by the band. Dale goes through all the KISS line up Vinnie Vincent, Mark Saint John, Eric Carr, Bruce Kulick, Eric Singer, Tommy Thayer.
This pretty much covers everything you want to know whether you want to know or not. It's just a plain fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting read, not a book by fanboys, November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KISS FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Hottest Band in the Land (Faq Series) (Paperback)
The most refreshing part of the book is the honesty. This was not written by fanboys, but rather fans who have a realistic take on a band who has a lot to love and a lot to hate. The authors started the kiss army in the 70s, but they still give honest opinions. The (mostly interesting) subjects are covered in very detailed fashion. I am a kiss fan for decades and felt myself agreeing with a lot of the perspectives, though not with all of it of course. But at least they talk about the controversial subjects, giving various fan perspectives and informing.

I am removing 1 star because some subjects are so in-depth, like album covers and stage setups, and it really needs pictures in order to follow what they are saying. There are some pictures included, which makes certain sections work better than others. But they really needed more pictures. A bonus would have been color pictures, easily 5 star.

But as it is, it is an amazing resource for kiss info, and an interesting read. Glad I picked it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars FAQ?, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KISS FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Hottest Band in the Land (Faq Series) (Paperback)
I thumbed thru this book at a book store one day and it looked interesting. I was in a hurry that day to get home. When I got home, I ordered this book from Amazon. I was disappointed in the writing. I did not think it was written very well. I expected the book to be more fact based with questions answered. Parts of the book were set up this way. Other parts were almost written as a biography, but not quite. It seems like towards the end of the book, the author was trying to make it longer by writing what I call filler material. I am not trashing the book, I just think that KISS fans know most of this stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with a lot of details and stories., September 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KISS FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Hottest Band in the Land (Faq Series) (Paperback)
I am just reading this book and it is very well made, some little mistakes, for example Stanley has said that Harvey is not his second name, but those are little things.. Anyway, the writer is obviously an expert and big fan and finds out many great views and points for the most important things in KISStory and there is even a chapter about Gene`s movies which is great.
I recommend this to every Kiss fan and the price is also cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Did you know that you knew it all?, September 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KISS FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Hottest Band in the Land (Faq Series) (Paperback)
Amazing book from Dale Sherman, who covers a lot of not well known topics about the band. Reading this book you feel like you're sharing information with a fan, because only KISS fans love to talk about how great are some album covers (or the questionable ones), the evolution of the makeup and the changes in the band logo.
You wanted the best?.....Get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

KISS FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the Hottest Band in the Land (Faq Series)
$22.99 $17.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.