Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subterranean Honky Tonk Blues
Hayes Carll has discovered America, wait, make that Americana: On none of his three previous albums (not even on the heavily country influenced "Flowers And Liquor") has the alt.country singer/songwriter dug so deep into the vein of traditional American music while commenting on the US in the 21st century.
On KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) there's a lot of...
Published on February 21, 2011 by finalharvest

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hayes Carll - KMAG YOYO (& Other American Stories)
I've walked across the room and checked my iPod to see who's laying out the unexpected bits of infused alternative country rockin' perfection, I see it's Hayes Carll's "Faulkner Street," from his first outing Trouble In Mind, and let out a low but audible sigh, realizing there'll be but one more great number before the next artist is cued up. His songs "Bad Liver & A...
Published on November 14, 2012 by R. Kesler


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subterranean Honky Tonk Blues, February 21, 2011
This review is from: KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) (Audio CD)
Hayes Carll has discovered America, wait, make that Americana: On none of his three previous albums (not even on the heavily country influenced "Flowers And Liquor") has the alt.country singer/songwriter dug so deep into the vein of traditional American music while commenting on the US in the 21st century.
On KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) there's a lot of honky-tonkin' and stompin' and hollerin' (as on the first track "Stomp and Holler" and on the title track, both sounding like a bastard called Subterranean Honky Tonk Blues, or on "The Lovin' Cup"), some country swing ("Hard Out Here", "Another Like You") and some finger-picking ballads ("The Letter").
Unlike on "Trouble in Mind", on which the rockers at the beginning were the best songs, the strength of "KMAG YOYO" lies in the slower tunes towards the end: "Bottle in My Hand" (with Hayes Carll, Todd Snider and Corb Lund taking turns singing), "Bye Bye Baby" (with not much more accompaniment than a banjo and a pedal steel guitar), "Hide Me" (with a beautiful gospel hum in the background). Those three plus the laid-back tap-your-feet-clap-your-hands-nod-your-head-sing-along "Grand Parade" are among Hayes Carll's best songs.
There's a lot of great artists releasing new CDs this winter/spring: The Low Anthem, Lucinda Williams, Drive-By Truckers, Todd Snider (even if it's just a live album, no new stuff), Steve Earle, Cary Hudson, Jason Isbell. But I'll bet you: KMAG YOYO will be on a lot of year's end lists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Godfather of Soul reference! Really?, February 22, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) (Audio CD)
I just ripped KMAG YOYO and now my computer is drunker than ever! I fear for Hayes, at this pace he is destined to be the stuff of legend. I cannot recall a new artist pouring so much of themselves into their career. He's leaving his soul on the paper folks....

Kudos to HC for grabbing Corb Lund for some fun on this project. Those of you getting turned to Hayes by some Hollywood movie: Go back & digest his previous, Trouble In Mind, & you'll have a deeper appreciation for this album and his approach. This is not the "Texas sound"; this kicks it in the ass for hours and leaves it wimpering in the corner.

As for the title track on this one, FANTABULOUS! Hayes is whiter and taller than James Brown, but just as much swagger. Rock on, brother, rock the eff on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better Than I Expected!!!!!, March 16, 2011
This review is from: KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) (Audio CD)
I can't stop listening to this!!!! An excellent mix of contemporary and traditional country. I can definitely hear a Merle Haggard influence on this album. The campy duet "Another Like You" (featuring Cary Ann Hearst) gives this album a unique twist. Fabulous!!!! A MUST have for Hayes Carll fans!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockabilly, honky-tonk, juke-funk . . . KMAG YOYO rocks, whatever genre it might be, February 10, 2012
By 
Scott Schiefelbein (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) (Audio CD)
I'll leave it to music critics to pigeon-hole Hayes Carll into whatever genre fits their needs - country, honky-tonk, whatever. All I know is that KMAG YOYO (a military acronym right up there with SNAFU and FUBAR, in case you're wondering) is one terrific album.

For the most part, KMAG YOYO offers a selection of bar-thumping, get-on-your-feet tunes. Carll kicks things off with a jangling fury with the first two songs, "Stomp and Holler" and "Hard Out There" and follows it up quickly with the title track (a clever riff on a young man's journey through our military). These are tunes that earn their place on your bar's jukebox favorites, although "Bottle in my Hand" and "The Loving Cup" may be more likely to get play at a dance hall.

"Bye Bye Baby," on the other hand, will in fact make a grown man cry.

My personal favorite on this album is the clever duet with Cary Ann Hearst, "Another Like You." Hearst and Carll sing as if they have met in a bar and exchange insults (he's a Democrat, she's a Republican) but as the beer goggles grow stronger they decide to take things to another level. This duet is right up there with the Pogues' "Fairytale of New York" (with Kirsty McColl) and the Dropkick Murphy's "Kiss Me, I'm ****-faced," two classics.

When I was younger I'd buy an entire album to get one great song. Thanks to technology we don't have to do that any longer, but this is one album that deserves to be purchased in its entirety - there's not a weak entry in the bunch. I shouldn't be surprised - Carll wouldn't stand for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of best YTD, April 28, 2011
This review is from: KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) (Audio CD)
WOW! Hayes is real music. When I mean real, I mean edging closer and closer to be successor of Lucinda Williams and Steve Earle. Gritty and real. For real music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hayes delivers once again., February 17, 2011
I bought this album on the release date. I had heard a few of the songs in concert and was pretty excited to get to listen. I was blown away. It's a slight departure from his other albums, but if you liked those you will definitely like this. This album is a perfect mix of fast and slow songs. If you like songs like Beaumont and Take Me Away, you're going to love "Hide Me" and "Bye Bye Babe", which is my personal favorite. The songwriting in some of these tracks is incredible and Hayes wrote some really nice parts licks as well. A lot more mandolin and banjo on this album, which I really enjoyed. His new bassist does a great job on their duet as well. Overall, a great album. It's definitely going to be in my car for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album and Hayes is The Next Big Thing Outta Texas..., February 21, 2011
This review is from: KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) (Audio CD)
From start to finish, this album rocks!!! For those of you who are unfamiliar with Hayes, his work was most recently a part of the Country Strong Soundtrack; and, if you became with another Lost Highway Artist Ryan Bingham from his Crazy Heart work, do yourself a favor and pick up Hayes Carll's KMAG YOYO (due a Google seart to find out what it stands for)!! Better yet, make sure to catch Hayes on tour in the coming weeks before he becomes the next big thing outta Texas!!! My favorite tracks are the Title Track and Grand Parade....buy this and you won't regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The solution to corporate country music, February 17, 2011
This review is from: KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) (Audio CD)
For those of you tired of the same old corporate country "crossover appeal" garbage populating modern country radio these days, Hayes Carll is the cure. KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) plays like a collection of short stories in the classic American tradition of John Steinbeck. Sometimes the stories are sad, sometimes funny but they are always heartfelt. This is honest, pure songwriting at its best. Hayes Carll manages to be always genuine, even when he's being a smartass, that's a hell of an accomplishment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasant surprise, April 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) (Audio CD)
Very good record, it has various types of music, very good lyrics, but a lazy type vocalist. He
reminds me of a Steve Earle type artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great music and story telling, April 24, 2011
By 
busymom (charleston, wv) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) (Audio CD)
Hayes Carll has made a number of appearances on the public radio program 'Mountain Stage' and although I have not been able to see him live, the broadcasts of his performances are terrific. I bought this CD after hearing a rebroadcast of his most recent appearance, and after hearing his tunes played a number of times on XM radio's Outlaw Country channel. I especially love the roots rock/alt country style music he and his band play, but the lyrics on this CD get a special nod because they do what the best country songs do, which is tell a darn good story. A few of them will make you laugh your butt off as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

KMAG YOYO (& other American stories)
KMAG YOYO (& other American stories) by Hayes Carll (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.