Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality chrome finish, nice product. Easy to squeeze lever.
I purchased this slide bar as part of a Kohler Slide bar set-up for an elderly woman who is 4ft 8in and needed a lower shower head.

Like most people, she had the cross-shaped button-style shower head/wand adaptor mounted on the shower head goose neck which is too high and difficult for many people to engage and release.

This slide bar has a...
Published 7 months ago by Mark's Amazon

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not pleased with slide component
The unit that holds the shower head, and slides up-and-down is cheaply made. I have traveled extensively in Europe and I am used to the slide bar with detachable showerhead. The part on this Kohler equipment that holds the shower head, doesn't have any way to adjust the direction of the shower angle. EVERY other one I have ever seen, has a series of clicks, or static...
Published on August 15, 2011 by J. R. Jersey Shore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not pleased with slide component, August 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The unit that holds the shower head, and slides up-and-down is cheaply made. I have traveled extensively in Europe and I am used to the slide bar with detachable showerhead. The part on this Kohler equipment that holds the shower head, doesn't have any way to adjust the direction of the shower angle. EVERY other one I have ever seen, has a series of clicks, or static resistance for adjustment. You have to turn it sideways and then move it side-to-side, but after a week or two, this loosens up and won't hold up the unit at all, needing constant re-tightening with a phillips head.

Really disappointed that such a small and easily produced component is so inferior by a company like Kohler. I will be contacting the company to see what they can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality chrome finish, nice product. Easy to squeeze lever., March 15, 2014
I purchased this slide bar as part of a Kohler Slide bar set-up for an elderly woman who is 4ft 8in and needed a lower shower head.

Like most people, she had the cross-shaped button-style shower head/wand adaptor mounted on the shower head goose neck which is too high and difficult for many people to engage and release.

This slide bar has a beautiful, high quality chrome mirror finish. We chose this slide bar because it was the only high quality unit which she could physically squeeze the slide adjustment button or lever, depending on brand. When the bar is wet the slider moves even more easily.

We looked at a couple of other brand's slide bars. A "higher end" bar with a button was harder for the elderly to use and Standard Plumbing told us the higher end bar button was being remodeled because of problems with it and users were breaking them.

As for cost, this bar probably should cost $40 or so. Kohler's Flipside wand has more parts and labor than this slide bar, yet the Flipside is cheaper.

Quality chroming is labor intensive and expensive though. Compare chrome prices to other finishes. Metal has to be highly polished before chroming and THIS HAS A MIRROR CHROME FINISH.

This and ALL parts I purchased were within an average of $0.60 each of Amazon's prices at my local Standard Plumbing (I paid $148.97 3-2014 for this slide bar and $430 for all high end Kohler parts: slide bar, hose, flip head, escutcheons, posts, elbow) so, Amazon's price being the same as a brick and mortar store on each part of the system is not a great price at all. I prefer to handle a part in a brick and mortar store AND it was THE ONLY way to test the slide lever before purchasing. Amazon is not always cheapest anymore. Their prices have gone up a lot, since 2012. Amazon is near or equal to brick and mortar retail prices, but is an online warehouse, so they pull in higher profits without human interaction and service. I would relate that to price gouging.

The installation instructions could be a little more helpful, but it installed rather easily. Building Code says to mount the bar on wall studs no less than 48" off the floor/tub which is noted in the fine print instructions. The screws supplied are a little too small and too short to go through cultured marble and sheet rock into the stud so I used larger screws. The finished installation allows the bar to slide from 48 inches to 72 inches and about 57 inches to 81 inches high for the wand head. Just realize that the bar has to be mounted on a wall stud so it sits about 2 or 3 inches to the side of the shower head outlet/fitting where the hose mounts to. It is close enough not to matter.

See my review of the Kohler Flipside 02.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006XPQ3TS/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but worth it, March 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pleasently surprised by high quality construction and finish. Pricey but worth the money for a solid not in any way fragile or cheap fixture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice bar, May 21, 2012
By 
Boston Beans (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yes it is expensive but we were remodeling our bathroom so decided to go for it. Amazon had the best price, shipping was fast, and the packaging was good. We only had it installed today so still need to test it out. Our contractor didn't seem to have any problem with installation. The reason for the 3 stars is (1) the expensive price! and (2) it doesn't seem to come with any trim kits though the description says something like 3 different kits to choose from and the picture clearly shows it with trim pieces (the round piece where the pole attaches to the wall). You can buy the trim kits seperately for something like $30 but for the price, it would have been nice if it came with one or if the description mentioned it needed to be purchased seperately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Part of a bath room remodel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice quality, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a hoigh quality product, Kohler makes really nice quality plumbing products. Perfect for shorter folk to shower in comfort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture Different from product, June 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kohler parts #1046154(cap) and #1032501(Escutcheon) are shown on the product image but were not included with the order. A flat cap was included (#1040644) but I wanted the one shown on the image. No escutcheons were included in the order, but again they are displayed on the product image. Bottom line, I would like what was displayed.
PS: I really didn't want to write a review, I wanted to just contact the seller but didn't see that as an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.