Customer Reviews


276 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great; Highly Recommend
This jig works great. You have total control of depth with the drill bit stop collar and will always have 90 degree holes that look like they came out of a professional shop. The guides are sleeved with steel similar to the Kreg pocket hole jig and should last the life of this jig. Most other jigs out there are a simple plastic plate with holes to guide a drill bit...
Published on March 4, 2012 by Ben

versus
51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not cool....
I just purchased a Kreg KMA3200 shelving jig.

The drill bit included in my kit, although appearing to be sharp, is doing a terrible job drilling in oak ply. The edges of the holes are raised and the veneer is often being torn, with shards remaining attached to the edges of the hole. It won't be possible to sand the holes smooth without going through the...
Published 22 months ago by W. B. Halper


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great; Highly Recommend, March 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig (Tools & Home Improvement)
This jig works great. You have total control of depth with the drill bit stop collar and will always have 90 degree holes that look like they came out of a professional shop. The guides are sleeved with steel similar to the Kreg pocket hole jig and should last the life of this jig. Most other jigs out there are a simple plastic plate with holes to guide a drill bit fitted with another guide that requires you to hold your drill at 90 degrees to get it perfect. This jig is so easy to use, I'm sure a monkey could do it if you showed him a few times! It also has a very useful edge guide that can be removed to allow the jig to be used at distances over 2" from the edge.

The only thing that was a minor annoyance was the fact that you can only drill 5 holes at a time (6th hole holds the reference pin) if you are drilling a string of 10 - 20 holes. Kreg does allow multiple jigs to be tied together to avoid this, if you want to spend the $35 a piece to do so. The short length does give you an advangate over other jigs in that it can be easily used to drill extra holes in an existing piece of furniture that you need an extra set of holes in. I thin Kreg thought of everything with this jig.

One last note, make sure you order the right type of jig for your shelf pins. They offer a 1/4 inch and 5 mm version. I think Ikea (European) furniture uses the 5mm and most of us in the US would go with the 1/4 inch. I use the 1/4 inch version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not cool...., December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig (Tools & Home Improvement)
I just purchased a Kreg KMA3200 shelving jig.

The drill bit included in my kit, although appearing to be sharp, is doing a terrible job drilling in oak ply. The edges of the holes are raised and the veneer is often being torn, with shards remaining attached to the edges of the hole. It won't be possible to sand the holes smooth without going through the veneer.

I switched to a cheap spur bit (with slightly longer spurs) and the results are what I expected...cleanly cut with virtually no surface disturbance..

BTW, the jig itself works well. The steel sleeves in the guide holes are long enough to keep the drill bit straight and the jig is easy to align and move up the board. Alone as a jig, I'd give it four stars. Add that bit in and it drops to two.

Update: Kreg's support department responded quickly to my email and sent me a new drill bit. It's different than the one that was in the kit and works much better. If you buy this kit and your bit is made from two pieces of metal - a black oxide hex base with a shiny drill inset - be careful. If it's machined from one piece of metal, it's likely the same as the replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I always wanted a shelf pin jig but they were too expensive until now, December 15, 2011
This review is from: KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig (Tools & Home Improvement)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Most of the shelf pin jigs were more money than I wanted to spend for an operation that I rarely use. They were also too big taking up too much valuable space. If you drill shelf pin holes all of the time they are well worth it though, and you will get perfect registration each time without having to remove and reinsert this jig multiple times. You could even use this Kreg to make up a temporary full size jig out of a three inch wide piece of stock and then throw it away.

I am not dissuading others from using this as a perfectly good stand alone jig for creating finish pin projects. This will do the job all by itself. They give you a drill block with 6 pin hole metal sheathed guides. The idea is to use a reference pin in the last hole, after moving the jig up the line. They also give you an edge guide piece that you can snap into either side to you have the option of creating a 1" or 2" offset from the edge for your pins. You simply flip the jig and place the edge guide on the proper side.

They also give you an end bracket in the event you wanted to daisy chain these thereby making a longer unit, one that you wouldn't have to reposition, and reclamp so many times. That is a cool feature because with this unit being so inexpensive, you could connect as many as you want to give you the ideal length, and make storage of the overall unit something you can stack up in a very small box.

They also provide a brad point bit with an adjustable collar secured by an Allen bolt so you can adjust the depth of the hole. They give you a depth gauge on the back that is actually two troughs that the bit falls into, and a securing lever so it doesn't fall out while you are securing the collar.
Since drilling shelf pins is something you want to do accurately, but not something that requires .001 tolerances, utilizing this jig with multiple positions as you moves up a work piece, the accuracy of a guide pin will give you consistent results. The real bottom line is that at this price point, you can't afford not to have one. I consider it a welcome addition to the arsenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but Highly Effective!, January 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig (Tools & Home Improvement)
After recently purchasing a Porter Cable Pocket Hole Jig (a bit more expensive than the Kreg model but VERY nice item!), all that was needed was a quick way to set those shelf pins in order to get up to speed fast on shelves and work benches for the garage.

Saw this and placed and advanced order. It's a small little plastic device, easy to handle, easy to use and effective. I suspect the price is a bit on the higher side but the convenience and time saving aspect still makes this a winner.

Very easy to just set in place and drill. Really - nothing to this whatsoever but resolves having to make your very own or worry about getting it just right with each new hole.

Great little device that works just as it should!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice price, nice jig, December 15, 2011
This review is from: KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig (Tools & Home Improvement)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Like most of Kregs products, they are very competitively priced and well thought out...
the jig is nice for small runs, where you may have to reset the jig just a few times, serves the purpose well...
for larger jobs, a longer jig is required, but ya can't beat this for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This item comes from Kreg's roots, June 13, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig (Tools & Home Improvement)
I have been a big fan of Kregs pocket hole technology for many years. For some aspects of woodworking, it's been the best thing since they put pockets on shirts. I'll admit that I've made some "quick" pieces of furniture with that jig that are still holding up today as the day they were built.

Since that time, Kreg has come out with many new products. I have a couple, but frankly, none in my opinion met the same level of innovation and handiness as their pocket hole jigs, until now.

I've used other shelf pin jigs, but found them either bulky, more complicated, or required a router. With this jig, the bit and registration pin fit neatly into the back of it when not in use which allows the whole thing to fit in a small drawer with nothing else to locate for use (except the drill). It also sports the same lifetime drill guides we are all familiar with. Some argue that it's too short, but in reality, how many holes does one need for any one shelf? Even if you do, it's very easy and fast to extend the line using the included registration pin.

Additionally, the registration "shelf" can be fitted to either edge allowing two different configurations of where holes will appear. It can also be used without the registration "shelf" in the case of the back of an already existing cabinet. It's very versatile for such a compact jig and I don't see buying any others looking for the right one.

I'm glad to report that after using this a few times, it takes me right back to the pocket hole jig in terms of quality, innovation, ease of use and accuracy. I feel they hit another homer with this tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but..., March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig (Tools & Home Improvement)
great it saves u tons of time not having to lay out, gives consistency and repeatability. I just have a down with this jig: when drilling on plywood (blond ply from H. D. ) it will not give nice smooth holes...lot of tear out of the ply veneer right where you don't want it! I had to pre-drill with a 1/4" fostener bit to to get that nice edge and then could use the Kreg's drill bit to finish up the full depth of the holes. Did not try on another type of plywood to compare though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkably easy to use, December 15, 2011
By 
David A. Schwarzkopf (living wherever the Navy tells him to.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig (Tools & Home Improvement)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
While something like the Festool LR32 or Veritas 32 Cabinet system would be much faster for production, this Kreg jig works wonders, especially on smaller projects or for those, (like me) who don't do enough shelf pin projects to justify the costs of the larger alternatives.

The jig is dirt simple; it'd be hard to mess up, and the included drill bit makes clean holes. To sum it up; until I start making a heck of a lot more projects with shelf pins, this will be my go-to jig, and I would buy it again if I were to misplace it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent jig, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig (Tools & Home Improvement)
I used this jig to add more holes to two bookshelf units. Quite easy to use and the results were perfect. I used the included locating pin and a round shelf pin in another hole to precisely line up the jig for the intermediate holes. If you place the jig over an existing hole it is quite easy to set the depth collar on the drill bit so that all the new holes will be exactly the same depth as the existing ones. I ordered the 1/4 jig kit which includes a 1/4 drill bit and then ordered the Kreg 5mm shelf pin jig drill bit separately. The holes in the plastic jig itself are all 1/4 inch. The 5mm drill bit has a 1/4 inch shaft and then steps down to 5mm. You don't need two jigs - just one jig and the two Kreg drill bits. Note that a normal 5mm drill bit with a 5mm shaft will not work properly with this jig since the holes are all 1/4 inch. You need the Kreg 5mm bit for this to work properly. That said, if you want two jigs so that you can connect them into a longer jig it would make sense to order a 1/4 inch kit and a 5mm kit so that you ended up with both size bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very handy jig, and a tip, March 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig (Tools & Home Improvement)
I had made my own version of this jig a few months ago, it is so obvious a need I can't believe it took so long for someone to make one commercially. Even though I had made my own, I bought the Kreg version in a heartbeat because the metal sleeves in the guide won't become inaccurate over time, as my plywood jig has. As a bonus I love the way they provided a way to store the bits and alignment pin on the back of the jig!

One tip: for those of you who are using 32mm standard system holes, set your fence on the 2" side, rip yourself a piece of wood 17mm wide (I did mine 17mm wide and high), drill a couple holes in the side of the fence and screw the 17mm wood to the inside of the fence - viola, you now have a fence that lines up with the 37mm offset system holes! Have to take it off to access the storage for the bits and pin, but a minor inconvenience really.

UPDATE: Downgraded from 5 to 3 stars due to a quality issue: one of the metal sleeves pulled out of the plastic when the drill bit got clogged with wood chips. This is a first for me. Now I need to see how long the warranty is....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

KREG KMA3200 Shelf Pin Drilling Jig
$34.99 $33.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.