Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price
If you want to make espresso that is as good as you'll get for $2.00/shot at a coffee house, this machine isn't for you. If you want a coffee pot/espresso combo in the $100 range, you will get the best value with this combo. I can make a very good latte with it, and a fairly decent shot of espresso -- and very good coffee. The negative reviews I've read seem to be from...
Published on June 10, 2012 by CherryHill

versus
83 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good coffee, good espresso-a little tricky though...
I am a self-confessed coffee junkie. With or w/o the caffeine (pregnancy and such) I love the taste; and the taste of the coffee that I've brewed with this machine was great. Loved it, loved it, loved it. The machine was easy to use and looked pretty darn cool sitting there on my counter. The only issue that i have is that the espresso side seems to need some...
Published on December 2, 2005 by Grace Kim


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price, June 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KRUPS XP1500 Coffee Maker and Espresso Machine Combination, Black (Kitchen)
If you want to make espresso that is as good as you'll get for $2.00/shot at a coffee house, this machine isn't for you. If you want a coffee pot/espresso combo in the $100 range, you will get the best value with this combo. I can make a very good latte with it, and a fairly decent shot of espresso -- and very good coffee. The negative reviews I've read seem to be from two types: 1) Those who really need to spend more to get a beautiful golden crema-topped shot of espresso. I understand, but it can't be had for this price. 2) Those who don't know how to use it properly.

For a latte, you'll need to have finely ground espresso, a stainless steel frothing pitcher, and cold milk (2% or non-fat work best). Remove the rubber end to the frothing nozzle -- I never use it, and that may be one of the problems other reviewers have. In fact, you can throw that bugger away -- it's worthless. Follow the instructions in the manual to fill your water reservoir and your espresso filter. Fill your frothing pitcher no more than halfway with milk. Turn the dial on the left of the machine to the "cup" setting, and as soon as your first drop of espresso falls, switch the dial to the froth setting. Keep the nozzle low in the pitcher, just heating -- not frothing. This is very important. JUST HEAT, keeping the nozzle low in the pitcher. It will take at least a minute, maybe two for the milk to be the proper temperature. You can guess the temperature is right if you hold the pitcher in your hand, not by its handle, and keep heating the milk until the pitcher is just about too hot to hold -- (or you could buy a thermometer, but this works just as well, and for the price-conscious does the trick). When the pitcher is too hot to hold, it's ready to froth. Move the pitcher lower so that the nozzle just skims along the top of the milk. This will start your foam growing, and that lovely noise you hear all day long at your favorite coffee house. It will not take long before your pitcher is about to overflow. At that point, quickly switch the dial back to the "cup" setting, and your espresso shot will fall. You always want the espresso shot to fall at the very end of the process, because a shot will "die" after about a minute, and it will just taste bad. So, as soon as your shot is done, pour it in your cup and add your milk. Once the milk is in there with the shot, the shot is protected.

After filling your cup with the milk, top it with the foam, and add a little cocoa powder or cinnamon or even nutmeg -- your choice. I've also added a drop or two of vanilla extract. You're good to go. You'll have a delicious latte, at an extremely low price.

(I explained the above because the instructions in the manual are not that good, and I don't have the time to build a how-to video. I was also a barista at Starbucks for a year, so I did learn a thing or two about lattes. I hope it was helpful.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good coffee, good espresso-a little tricky though..., December 2, 2005
This review is from: KRUPS XP1500 Coffee Maker and Espresso Machine Combination, Black (Kitchen)
I am a self-confessed coffee junkie. With or w/o the caffeine (pregnancy and such) I love the taste; and the taste of the coffee that I've brewed with this machine was great. Loved it, loved it, loved it. The machine was easy to use and looked pretty darn cool sitting there on my counter. The only issue that i have is that the espresso side seems to need some encouragement. The knobs need to be fiddled with a bit in order to get the espresso to start dripping (even after 10 minutes during a holiday party full of thirsty coffee drinkers). Thought that was just b/c my machine was so new, but it's been doing that ever since the first use. Still, it's not terribly difficult, and the coffee is oh-so-yummy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love this machine, December 29, 2008
By 
J. T. Kooiker (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: KRUPS XP1500 Coffee Maker and Espresso Machine Combination, Black (Kitchen)
We love this machine. We have limited space and need to have both a coffee maker and a cappucino maker in that space. We have had none of the difficulties that others mention. But we did take the black plastic sleeve off of the frother and that has made a huge difference. With it on we got bubbles. Now we get great froth. And if we pack the espresso well we get an excellent crema. It is a $100 machine that makes both coffee and espresso. It is not going to be like a $1000 Starbucks machine. We set our expectations appropriately and were delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another disappointed customer!, February 18, 2008
This review is from: KRUPS XP1500 Coffee Maker and Espresso Machine Combination, Black (Kitchen)
My wife doesn't drink coffee, so it is appropriate to say "I" received the XP1500 as a wedding gift. Like others, the SECOND TIME I made espresso, the handle cracked on the espresso grounds holder from the normal pressure of turning it into place. Customer service assured me that they could do nothing unless I had the receipt. This was two years ago, and the machine was a brand new item, so there should have been no question to the age of the machine for warranty purposes, but I had no receipt since it was a wedding gift. They wouldn't even pay the shipping for a new holder. In short, they wouldn't budge, and if I wanted a new grounds holder, I would have to pay full cost to do so. So I kept it, being very careful over the last couple of years to not turn it too hard. Today, it broke further, rendering it useless. To be fair, I have tried to make espresso and cappucino many times, but I have never been able to get a truly good cup from this machine.
Other problems: the frother is too low. You need to angle the milk cup too much to be useful. A half cup of cold milk will turn into a counter full of frothed milk when it's done.
You're better off researching all products and choosing one that is made with better materials, has better reveiws for the quality of the resultant coffee, and going with a company that has BETTER CUSTOMER SUPPORT. There's a reason that "customers who purchased this product also purchased..." "...REPLACEMENT ITEMS!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Espresso and Coffee Maker!, April 1, 2011
By 
Amanda (Lansing, MI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: KRUPS XP1500 Coffee Maker and Espresso Machine Combination, Black (Kitchen)
We've had this machine for over four years now. In that time, it quite literally is used seven days a week except when on vacation. Usually it's two cappuccinos a day, then pots of coffee on Saturday and Sunday. We were recently have a trouble with the coffee maker side slowing down considerably, and with some research found that it needed to be internally descaled (works like new again once we descaled it- Yay!). I went on Amazon to find the Krups Descaler packets, and was very surprised to see the less than stellar reviews here for this machine.

Potential cons: This model may be simple with its lack of electronic displays and settings, but my husband likes it that way as he worries about electronic failure keeping him in the way of making cappuccinos (he is my live-in barista). You can only use one side at a time, either coffee or espresso. The steam arm could use more flexibility in its positioning. Also, if you use the steamer with the plastic housing cover, it doesn't keep a tight seal in the fact that if you take it off, you will see some traces of the milk you just frothed on the metal arm (you can take the plastic housing off permanently if you prefer).

Ok here are the great things: it is very hardy and durable. It makes GREAT cappuccinos as coffee!! I highly recommend and would buy again in a heartbeat.

I am going to repeat something that I think may have to do with a lot of the negative reviews: you have to CLEAN the MACHINE REGULARLY. It mentions this in great detail in the owners manual (also available online at Krups.com if you lost yours like we did ours). That means you should be wiping down the steamer after each use, soaking the steam arm without the housing once a week or so depending on use, and using the descaler every year or so (we waited four years to actually do this, as we never had a problem before and our water is treated). Also, every couple of weeks or so we take our kitchen dish brush and brush the top portion of the unit where the water comes out from and connects to the pot or espresso basket. Just like your barista at Starbucks would do, you have to do. If you notice that your steamer arm isn't working, chances are you did not clean it. Don't panic, most likely your machine is NOT broken- just take a tall glass of water, let the steam arm sit in it for several hours, take your kitchen brush and clean it down thoroughly, let the steamer run through a full espresso pot of water, and everything should be ok again.

Happy trails on your path to coffee bliss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the Krup?!?!?!, July 9, 2009
By 
M. Choi (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: KRUPS XP1500 Coffee Maker and Espresso Machine Combination, Black (Kitchen)
After only using it for 2 months, something went wrong with the steam wand. It will not pass any steam. The espresso and coffee maker still works. I am extremely disappointed that this broke is such a short period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay away from this one!, February 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KRUPS XP1500 Coffee Maker and Espresso Machine Combination, Black (Kitchen)
I've had Krups before, but this one will insure that I never buy another. It makes fair coffee, but luke warm expresso (if you can call that expresso). The handle on the espresso pot broke off after approximately 12 uses. Also, note that his unit does not have an automatic shut off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars REAL PIECE OF KRUP!, September 26, 2007
This review is from: KRUPS XP1500 Coffee Maker and Espresso Machine Combination, Black (Kitchen)
We replaced a Krup coffee/espresso combo which we purchased about 12 years ago. What a wonderful machine! Unfortunately, this model was no longer available. The model #985 was the recommended replacement. However, it doesn't even come close.

1) The basket for the coffee filter is too small in diameter for the filter, causeing grounds to fall into the brew. The basket also leaks, giving you a countertop lake to start your morning.

2) The espresso is okay provided you don't want a cappuccino. The froth attachment is so low and it is difficult to get the milk pitcher under the spigot. The milk froths very quickly, and your container is overflowing with foam while the milk is still cold. It's okay only if you froth enough milk for 1, maybe 2 shots, but if you need milk for the full pot (4 shots), you'll need to froth milk one-half at a time.

The pot is will soon be available for sale at our local Goodwill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used a 1500 for almost 8 years and love it, August 22, 2010
This review is from: KRUPS XP1500 Coffee Maker and Espresso Machine Combination, Black (Kitchen)
I've used my 1500 for over 8 years and love it for both drip coffee and expresso. Haven't had any of the breakage problems others have spoken about so don't know whats up with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lousy froth!, November 28, 2006
This review is from: KRUPS XP1500 Coffee Maker and Espresso Machine Combination, Black (Kitchen)
My previous espresso machines were Krups and Starbucks Barista. Having good experience with my previous Krups, I thought this machine would be as good. NOT. No crema. Steam wand is weird, doesn't froth well. The machine feels cheap. I'm going to take it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.