Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


136 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey But Worth Every Penny
I got the B+W 58mm Circular Polarizer MRC Filter a few months ago. I was so pleased with the results that when I got my Canon 17-55mm lens, I opted to go with a B+W again -- and B+W did not disappoint. This Käsemann filter works as claimed; it increases color saturation and reduces (and in some cases completely eliminates) reflection.

This filter is a...
Published on August 18, 2010 by MyBeesWax

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Build but not much Polarization
I have used this lens filter for 3 weeks and feel the lens is solidly built and should last for many years. However, the polarization does not change dramatically on my Nikkor 85mm f1.4G lens. The richness of blue skies on my much cheaper Tiffen 77mm Circular Polarizer are much bluer and dramatic. This CP is not a good value considering the price paid vs. the results...
Published 14 months ago by RJM


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

136 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey But Worth Every Penny, August 18, 2010
By 
MyBeesWax "A Music Fan" (The Heart of the Golden State) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: B+W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating (Electronics)
I got the B+W 58mm Circular Polarizer MRC Filter a few months ago. I was so pleased with the results that when I got my Canon 17-55mm lens, I opted to go with a B+W again -- and B+W did not disappoint. This Käsemann filter works as claimed; it increases color saturation and reduces (and in some cases completely eliminates) reflection.

This filter is a marvel of engineering. The build quality is simply top-notch (the filter is Made in Germany).

This Filter vs A Non-Käsemann Filter
------------------------------------
I debated between this filter and the other B+W filter, the B+W 77mm Circular Polarizer MRC Filter. According to B+W (Schneider Optics), the Käsemann uses the same MRC (Multi-Resistant Coating) technology, but it's one-up on the non-Käsemann filter because it uses "high-end" polarizing foils. To quote Schneider Optics:

"The \"high-end\" polarizing foils of the Käsemann-type filters are neutral in color, they have a higher efficiency than conventional polarizing foils and they are cemented between high-grade plano-parallel optical glass."

Another advantage the Käsemann filter has over the non-Käsemann filter is that it is edge-sealed to protect the polarizing foil from humidity.

Since the Käsemann filter is only a tad more expensive (as of this writing), the choice between the Käsemann and the non-Käsemann filter was a no-brainer for me.

Tip
---
A common advice photographers give regarding filters is to pick a filter that fits the largest of your lenses so you can use the same filter for your smaller lenses as well (by using Step-Up Rings). Since step-up rings allow you to use this filter for your smaller lenses, this could be the only circular polarizer filter you need for *all* of your lenses with varying filter thread sizes (77mm, 72mm, 67mm, 62mm, 58mm, 55mm, 52mm, and 49mm).

---
If you have a high quality lens, you shouldn't scrimp on the filter because your pictures will be only as good as your lowest-quality lens component allow. This filter may be pricey, but it's well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very high quality rock-solid durable circular polarizer filter! One of the very best!, January 16, 2009
This review is from: B+W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating (Electronics)
இ Fuzzy Wuzzy's Summary:
ѾѾѾѾѾ Highly recommended with warm fuzzies!

This is the fourth B+W Kaesemann Circular Polarizer that I own. These filters are expensive, but they are worth the extra cost, especially under adverse conditions outdoors where lots of dust, moisture, and temperature changes are prevalent. Unlike B+W's standard circular polarizers, which also have the Multi-Resistant Coating (MRC), these Kaesemann ("encased") filters have a better premium-grade polarizing foil and these are completely edge-sealed for maximum durability under extreme climatic conditions due to changes in temperature and humidity. Since circular polarizers are mainly useful during mid-day outdoor shooting, and because I do a lot of backcountry nature and landscape photography that often involves many hours of daily hiking, I always purchase these B+W Kaesemann filters because they are one of the very best for outdoor shooting in environments ranging from hot and humid rain forests to below-freezing climates while hiking above timberline on a snow-covered mountain.

For mid-day outdoor shooting, this filter will add a huge "WOW!" factor to your photos. In fact, a circular polarizer adds more obvious visual benefits than any other kind of lens filter that you may use. Colors really sparkle, especially on landscape shots where the reds, blues, and greens really pop compared to photographing outside in the mid-day sun without using a circular polarizer. Circular polarizers remove specular reflections caused by sunlight bouncing off of surfaces and they enhance the saturation of colors in your photos. So when colors are being desaturated by some degree of specular reflection, the colors will be enhanced. Not all scenes contain polarized light, but usually your skies will look more blue, the plants will look more green because the foliage is not reflecting light, and flowers will look prettier. Yes, you can increase color saturation using post-processing software. But this circular polarizer naturally adds saturation to the colors. And some people over-saturate the colors during post-processing. Along with getting richer colors in bright sunlight, a circular polarizer can also dramatically filter out the glare and reflections that are bouncing off of water and glass, allowing you to photograph through the water and glass to see more of the stones and fish below the surface of a lake or the objects that are behind a window on a sunny day. This can have a startling effect: for example, without using a CP filter, you may just photograph a reflection of yourself holding the camera pointed at a storefront window because most of the sunlight is causing the window to look like a reflective mirror; using a CP filter, you can photograph all of the items that are actually on display behind the storefront window.

If you want to use a polarizing filter and your SLR camera was purchased during the past 30 years, you should probably use a "circular polarizer" instead of a "linear polarizer". Linear polarizer filters interfere with the beam-splitting metering that is used in most modern SLR cameras, resulting in underexposure.

As with other kinds of lens filters, to save money, you can purchase just one of these polarizing filters that will fit the largest lens you have, and then use step-up rings to mount the same polarizing filter on your smaller lenses. However, since a polarizing filter is frequently used for landscape photography using wide-angle lenses, you may get severe vignetting if you stack multiple step-up rings or if you are using a wide-angle lens. Since I switch between three camera bodies and eight lenses, I just decided that it was better to get separate polarizing filters instead of using step-up rings. My first B+W Kaesemann circular polarizer was a 77mm size, quickly followed by an 82mm purchase. And then I later also purchased a 67mm and finally a 72mm filter for my other lenses.

Unlike other stationary filters that do not move after you screw them onto a lens, a circular polarizer filter has a rotating lens element that filters light to different degrees of polarization. To use a circular polarizer, you just rotate this filter in either direction while looking through the viewfinder until you like what you see as being the best adjustment. If you are using a wide-angle lens and pointing the SLR camera at a landscape scenery shot, as you rotate the CP filter, and depending upon where the sun is, you may see the color of the sky slowly shift from lighter blues to darker blues as you rotate the CP filter. If it is early morning or late afternoon and the sun is at a sharp angle closer to the horizon, you may not see much of a difference as you rotate the filter ring. I personally prefer a light to medium amount of polarization from my CP filter use; this is somewhat analogous to wearing light-tinted or medium-tinted polarizing sunglasses. It is possible to get a deeply-colored dark blue sky by turning the CP filter to maximum polarization, but this can often look too unnatural. There may be situations where I have resort to maximizing polarization because the landscape still has too much glare, such as too many glistening reflections coming from a lake in the foreground of the landscape scene. If you are photographing a snowy landscape in the mid-day sun, you should try photographing both with and without using the CP filter. The CP filter will improve the look of the sky, water, and plants in a snowy landscape, but it may also remove the sparkling glitter effect of the snow, which may either enhance or detract from your photo.

The brass filter mount is very rigid, and unlike some filters with aluminum filter mounts that can bind and be a hassle to screw or unscrew, this B+W Kaesemann CP filter is easy to put on and take off. Because I am sometimes repeatedly going outdoors, indoors, and then outdoors again and wanting to photograph both inside and outside, especially while touring foreign countries (e.g. photograph around the outside of a building using the CP filter and then photograph the inside of the building without the CP filter), I do not like to screw this filter too tightly because I want to be able to quickly put it on and quickly take it off as needed. So I just use a very light amount of torque when I screw the filter on, and I stop turning the threaded filter mount onto the camera lens the moment that it no longer continues to easily screw in. Even though I can rotate this filter clockwise or counterclockwise to adjust the desired effect, I always rotate the filter ring clockwise (which looks like a counterclockwise turn when viewed from the perspective of looking through the viewfinder) as added insurance just in case my fingers are also grabbing the filter mount so that I am not inadvertently unscrewing the filter from the lens if I was to rotate the filter ring counterclockwise. It can be disconcerting to think that you are rotating the filter to adjust the polarization if your fingers accidentally grab the filter mount and you are actually unscrewing the filter from the lens. If you have never used a circular polarizer before, it is worth the time to practice screwing/unscrewing the filter while you are still sitting down at home to get a feel for the amount of torque needed to screw the filter onto a lens and balance that with how easily you can unscrew the filter to quickly take it off.

Compared to cleaning the glass on lenses and other lens filters, I think that something about this B+W filter's "multi-resistant coating" makes it a bit more prone to smearing and streaking when cleaning with fluids. If there is dust on this filter or on my lens, a few good blasts from my Giottos Rocket Air blows the dust off. But if there is more stubborn dirt or fingerprints on this CP filter that requires wiping, the surface of this CP filter can be a bit finicky in getting both sides of the filter totally free of any smears or streaks. To remove fingerprints or dirt, I use a microfiber cloth or lens tissue dampened with isopropyl/rubbing alcohol or water, I lightly wipe in a circular motion, and then I quickly dry off the fluid using another clean cloth or tissue. It seems that some of the fluid can streak if it is left to dry by itself on the surface of the CP filter. Sometimes, I am still left with a few streaks on the filter glass, and if I clean that area again, I can wipe off the streaks. Because these B+W Kaesemann CP filters are more of a hassle to perfectly clean compared to other filters, I really try to avoid getting my fingerprints onto its surface, and I always remove the lens hood when using my fingers to turn the filter ring. Some people leave the lens hood on the lens and reach their fingers down into the hood to turn the CP filter, but that increases the risk of touching the CP filter's surface and getting fingerprints onto it.

If you are using this circular polarizer with a wide-angle lens (e.g. about 25mm to 28mm or wider) or fisheye lens, since the angle of polarization varies continuously with the angle from the sun, and wide-angle and fisheye lenses can cover such a huge field of view, there is a possibility that you may end up with a sky that is unevenly polarized, and the sky will have a strange gradation of colors ranging from dark navy blue to pale light blue. The sky will be the darkest at a 90 degree angle from the direction of the sunlight. When using a lens that covers a very wide angle of view, the direction of the sunlight changes across the scene, resulting in varying degrees of polarization. This transition of sky colors may happen laterally, vertically, or diagonally. If this color banding is very severe, you can sometimes see this uneven polarization through the viewfinder and attenuate the effect somewhat by turning the circular polarizer. But at other times, you may not notice this uneven polarization while looking through the viewfinder. The shifting sky colors may become obvious if you review the photo on the camera's LCD screen, but if you are shooting during mid-day and the LCD screen has a lot of glare, you may still not notice this problem until you look at the photos later on the computer screen. This odd-looking shift of blue colors in the sky can be evened out a bit using some creative post-processing, but this is mainly an issue with wide-angle lenses, and it may become very obvious when using ultra-wide-angle lenses or fisheye lenses.

Also remember that all circular polarizers lose at least one or two stops of light exposure, like using a neutral density filter, and details in shadow areas will be diminished, so you should not use this filter when shooting in conditions of low light, overcast skies, and indoor environments (which would not be helped by this filter anyway).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B + W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer Coated Glass Filter, August 2, 2007
This review is from: B+W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating (Electronics)
Excellent filter!
I have had many filters in the course of almost 50 Years photography, including numerous Polarizer filters. This one however is astounding in results and Quality. I have (due to special circumstances) been lucky enough to be able to shoot and compare shots with this one, and other shots taken immediately after that with a selection of other brands!
This one however was a clear winner, NO doubt about it!
It is a little more in price, but in my estimation it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go with the best, February 15, 2007
This review is from: B+W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating (Electronics)
Hands down the best polarizer I've ever used. Very solid construction and outstanding glass.

Why spend thousands, or even hundreds for that matter, on a lens and then stick a sub-standard piece of glass on the front. That makes absolutely no sense to me at all. Your image is only going to be as good as your weakest link. And a shoddy filter is a weak link indeed.

You really do get what you pay for and this is no exception. It may seem a bit pricey but it could very well be the last one you'll ever have to buy...just make sure you get one that fits your largest lens and step down from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality Polarizing Filter, July 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: B+W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating (Electronics)
Paired this polarizing filter to my Canon 17-40mm F/4L lens on a Rebel XT (1.6x Crop) and it works great. As you turn the filter the change in the image through the viewfinder is night and day. Creates a nice blue sky and gives more "pop" and contrast to clouds. Also eliminates reflections from plant leaves (you really have to see it for yourself!) to create a nicely saturated green only a filter of this type can produce. Must have for any outdoor photographer.

The "Kasemann" designation from my research stands for B+W's edge sealing of the glass. This is to prevent humidity and other types of weather from separating the foils inside. Over time regular polarizers can become hazy, etc. from that very problem. Just buy this one to keep for life instead of spending 50 dollars every few years. The filter frame is made out of brass, unlike other filters that are made of aluminum. This aids with smooth operation and eliminates binding.

I'm not entirely sure however if the wide angle of the 17-40mm needs a "slim" glass element (some say use of a regular polarizer with an ultra wide angle can cause an uneven polarization effect, however they are not clear if its on a crop body like the Rebel XT I'm using wit with). Some say a slim filter isn't needed, some do. I will have to do more outdoor shooting at the widest focal length to find out. Even so, B+W also produces a slim Kasemann version of this filter as well. From what i've seen though, vignetting is not a problem with the 17-40mm + this filter on a crop body such as the Rebel XT.

NOTE: I have also read that the way B+W produces the glass/foils will cause a "ripple" reflection effect in the glass when viewed at certain angles. This is true from what i've seen with my filter. looking at the filter from an angle and using a desk lamp, one can see the surface of the filter is not completely smooth. B+W has stated this does not affect the quality of the pictures in any way. Perhaps this may have led the other reviewer to believe that this filter scratches easy. The MRC they use is supposed to be very good.

In any case, a 77mm is the perfect size, as many Canon lenses use the 77mm thread such as the 70-200mm F/2.8L, the 24-105mm F/4L, and more. Plus you can always use "step up" rings with your smaller lenses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Filter. Ever., January 1, 2010
This review is from: B+W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating (Electronics)
Wow! So this is how the pros get all those phenomenal outdoor photos. This polarizer gives you the freedom to cut a good deal of the reflected light out of your shots, which saturates colors and reduces contrast in a way I didn't think was possible with a single exposure. Literally every shot I take outdoors looks so good, with great saturation and amazing dynamic range, it's as though I spent hours carefully compiling an HDR image from a dozen exposures. This photography hobby just keeps getting better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Circular Polarizer Money Can Buy, September 19, 2007
By 
M-Yav-2 (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: B+W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating (Electronics)
My title says it all. If you spend L-series money on lenses, why not get the best filters?

B + W and Heliopan are made by Schneider Optics and are the best money can buy.

It's an expensive filter, but it will be the last 77mm circular polarizer I'll ever buy, unless this one is lost or damaged. It's nice to know that I cannot upgrade from this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent filter, but is it worth it?, January 6, 2011
This review is from: B+W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating (Electronics)
I will say this is the best CP filter I've ever used. My previous is the other B+W CP. The only real difference I've noticed is in the sky colors, where this one captures it more accurately (the other had a tendency to purple the sky during certain rare conditions).

I think the gushing reviews might be in part people justifying what they paid (which seems to happen in the photo community a bit too often). I got it as a gift, so no remorse here :) I probably would not have bought this with my own money, but I'm quite happy to have it. Is it worth the extra $50-100 over the top hoya/other B+W? Well, if you need the absolute best then this is probably it. If you want something great but not excessive, the others will probably work fine for you. I could be missing something as I've only used this filter for a couple weeks now, but that's my take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars W.O.W. !!!, November 29, 2008
By 
SJhiker (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: B+W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating (Electronics)
After trying several CPL filters of varying brands and attempting to buy one for "cheap", I came to the conclusion that the "You get what you pay for" rule is in effect here with CPL filters. This filter is by far the BEST of all the ones I've tried. A bit pricey, but the image quality is bar none. This is one I'm settling with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the line Circ. Polarizer., November 27, 2007
This review is from: B+W 77mm Kaesemann Circular Polarizer with Multi-Resistant Coating (Electronics)
If you have quality glass, like the Canon L series, then you need quality filters. the B+W are made from ground optical glass, not a piece of plain glass like as you see in the tiffen and hoyas filters (even the expensive ones are still cheap grade glass). Only B+W and Heliopan put the time and $$ into making filters that are designed to be used with your quality lenses and not distort and reduce the optical quality of them. I have 2 MRC, 1 Kaesemann, and 1 "plain" or Normal one, and I love them. I have a Heliopan as well, and I prefer the B+W a little bit more as its a brass ring and not aluminum and thus does not bind up as easy, and thats important when you want to change filters quickly! If you use a cheap filter on a pro grade lens, you are wasting your money, on the lens and the filter as the filter just hurt your image quality, and thus you lowered the quality of your lens! In filters, like lenses, you get what you pay for!!!

I shoot in all kinda of weather conditions, from sunny and warm, to windy and cold or snowy, and I have never had any major issues with any of my B+W filters acting up! I prefer the MRC or even the Kaesemann over the entry level one, but even their entry level one is ground glass, so you still get a great quality filter at that price point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.