Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase
Works great.

Instructions are in Chinese but are not needed. Sets up as any other IP CAM.

Plug into router
Go to computer
Bottom on camera has an address 123456.kaicong.info open this up and log in with username admin password 123456
set the port to a port your router does not block such as 9000
change password and what not
go to router find which IP your router assigned to it .Portforward that IP to port 9000

Now you can view Locally by typing in the web browser its IP 192.168.1.( whatever your router assigned it):9000
and Remotely by looking up your OUTISDE IP and typing it into a webbrowser http://outsideIP:9000 (or 123456.kaicong.info

If the camera shuts off your router might assign it a new IP so It is a good IDEA to make the camera IP STATIC in the router settings

Video is good quality. Color rendering is a little off. converts green to purple but that's not bad. PTZ works great. You can set the speed in camera settings. Volume works fine to listen. Have not tried the talk function.

Overall no complaints.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase
Included instructions are useless. The KaiCong site is all in Chinese, and I haven't tried to use their ".info" login or get an email.
The camera is good enough picture for most purposes. Pan and tilt seem very quiet, and pretty smooth.
I don't care much about the color quality, but it seems ok. There's definitely a bug in the interface for displaying contrast. It will show "1", but is actually probably set at "11", or something else.
Resolution is definitely 640x480 or less.
I'm going to use this as a security camera, maybe an RV backup camera. It should work well for those purposes.
These run off a 5-volt supply, so connecting them to a 12v-to-5v converter should be easy.
Other reviews gave enough clues for me to get it working. Here's the sequence I used:
1. Plug it in to your router with an ethernet cable and power it up.
2. Go to your router's login page and find the network client list. Two new MAC addresses should be seen, one for the wired interface and one for the wireless. They were 1 digit apart in my case, for example, 00:A0:A0:10:02:02 and 00:A0:A0:10:02:03.
3. Open a browser page at the address given for the first MAC address, port 81. In my case, 192.168.1.45:81.
4. This should present you with a pop-up asking for a username and password. "The server says: GoAhead."
5. Log in with "admin" and "123456". Now see a splash screen with choices: "ActiveX Mode(For IE Browser)", "Server Push Mode (For FireFox, Google Browser)" and "Mobile Phone (For Browser that supports Javascript)".
6. I chose Push mode, being on Chrome. This opened the server page in the camera. Now I can pan, tilt, adjust, etc.
7. In the bottom right corner is a little gear icon, that pops up the word "Options" when hovering over it. Click on it.
8. Now the "IP Camera Options" page is displayed. Here are various options to play with. Recommended is to change the login.

To set up the wireless:
1. After following the above, select "Wireless LAN Settings". See the configuration screen.
2. Select "Using Wireless LAN".
3. Enter your router's SSID in the SSID field.
4. Choose "Infra".
5. Select the correct Authentication Type.
6. Enter the router's password in the "Share Key" field.
7. Click "Select". This will reboot the camera.
8. Disconnect the ethernet cable from the camera while it is rebooting, if you like.
9. Now open a page in your browser on the URL as above. You should now be connected wirelessly to the camera through your router.

My Android Xoom and Samsung S4, both running Chrome are able to access the camera's server page and manipulate the camera. I've had some success with the Android app "tinyCam Monitor", though its not perfect. Still playing with it.

In the router, it has been suggested to set the MAC addresses to static IPs, so they are not reassigned to new URLs. That's a very good idea.

Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with this purchase, and will probably get a few more. A very good value.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on September 15, 2014
Verified Purchase
I had a hard time getting this to work and the owner walked me through it so I'm giving it a good review and giving people info that may help them. You can get support by emailing lianzhou.szy@kaicong.info

1st, here are instructions in English:

http://bbsen.kaicongyun.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=163&hilit=SIP1602+IP+Camera+Manual

2nd, here is a program (IPcam) you can use to view and control the cameras that works better than a browser.

http://www.KaiCong.net/fusheng/1602cms.rar

Then, plug the IP camera into an outlet for power and plug the little network cable it comes with into your router

Next, run IPcam by right clicking on the icon and selecting "run as administrator"

Click on "camera list" - "open search tools" - "searching" and you'll see this camera. It will also tell you the IP address and the port (you may have to port forward the port number).

To tell this camera what your network is called and what the password is, use your browser by entering the ip address followed by ":" and the port number. For example 123.456.7.890:12 (and use either firefox or IE). Once you do that, the login is "admin" and the password is "123456"

Click on "wireless lan settings" then hit "scan" and then select your home network (name of your wifi) and enter the password for your wifi where it says "shared key"

After you save this information, it will restart your IP cam and tell you not to unplug it until it's done (like 30 seconds)

Now you can plug it in somewhere in the house and remotely (through wifi) view the camera though your computer and move the camera around.

Run IPcam again as administrator, hit camera list, then I like to delete the camera it shows (in case the IP address changes) and again I hit "open search tools", "searching" and I select that camera. I put "123456" in as the password and I unclick the "P2P" box

Then close out and under the "camera list" button will be the your camera and click on it, it will show a green circle and you can move it around, record, turn the sound and microphone on.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase
The manual and website are in Chinese which I knew before I ordered this camera. Picture quality is good with reasonable color rendering. (Some reviews have complained about the color but mine is fine.) Installation takes some effort. First, you HAVE to know how to access your router via a regular web browser. I used Chrome throughout the installation.) For many routers the access is to type in 192.168.1.1. You should get prompted for an id and password (often admin 123456 or something like that.). Learn how to do this first. (and change the password to something other than the default). Once into the router you need to find a table listing the current IP addresses/MAC addresses/client name, etc. For Cisco routers, look in Status/Local Network and click on DHCP Client Table. Look at this BEFORE you start connecting the webcam. Now, plug in the webcam to power and use the ethernet cable to connect the camera to the router. (You need to do this even if you are going to eventually to have a wireless setup.) Now, go back to the router browser page with the DHCP table and you will see another entry. Note the 192.168.1.nnn new line and write down all the associated info. Next, you need to get some stuff off the Kaicong site. Go to [bbsen.kaicongyun.com/index.php...], click on IP cameras (by admin) and select SIP1602 IP Camera Manual, then click on the pdf link mid page [...]. Now you have the English manual. (This BBS has other info that can be useful.) In the downloaded pdf manual (Page 5) is a link to [...Searchen.rar]. This is a download of Kaicong interface software that looks at your router and finds the newly connected camera. Run this then highlight the camera and select Browse. Follow along in the manual. Now the Kaicong camera software will start. When making selections in this software you HAVE to select set prior to any action occurring. Now you can setup the wireless option, Click on Options at the bottom right of the camera screen,then Wireless LAN settings, Using Wireless LAN, Enter your router SSID, choose Infra, Select the right Authentication type (WPA default usually), router password ins "share Key field" and click select. Disconnect the ethernet camera while it is rebooting. Look back at the router browser DHCP table again and there will be a new 'wireless' line. Type the 192.168.1.nnn:81 (probably 81, but use whatever displays) associated with that wireless in your browser address line and hit enter. Ta-da...You should be connected wirelessly. Simple....sort of.... Now while looking at the camera display control,click on the gray circle bottom right below monitoring interface details. To set the motion alarm (remember you don't want it on all the time!!) Click Alarm Service Settings, check Motion Detect Armed. Next screen, set the sensitivity (default is high), Click Send Mail on Alarm, click scheduler and select all (this is NOT intuitive!!). You must click SET before leaving the screen to preserve what you just did. Now click MAIL SERVICE SETTINGS and fill in your email info. For gmail, SMTP SERVER=smtp.gmail.com, SENDER=gmail address,SMTP PORT=465,Transport Layer Security = TLS, need authentication is checked SMTP USER is full gmail address, Password is gmail password,Receiver 1-4 are email addresses. This will send a motion alert and a photo to your email.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on December 18, 2014
Verified Purchase
This is a good camera for the price. As others have stated, ignore disk that comes with it. Actually, ignore the instructions as well.
Steps Are:

1. Log onto your router and look at the devices.
2. Look at the device list, take note of what is connected.
3.Plug the camera in to your router and plug in power cord
4. Refresh the router device list, identify the camera as it will be the new kid on the list.
5. Note the IP address of the camera.
6. Type camera IP address into browser.
7. Log in with "admin" and password "123456"
8. Go to settings on the camera.
9. Turn on the Wifi and connect to your wifi network.
10. Change the password!!!!
11. DIsconnect camera from router.
12. GO to device list on router and check for the cameras new IP address for wireless mode. (this is normally +1 from the wired IP address)
13. Set this new IP as static, if you dont do this it may get reassigned if the camera loses power.

I downloaded and installed "ispy", it is freeware and it is a pretty good product. When you set up the PTZ on Ispy, use the "Airlink 101" from the dropdown. I spy is free for use at home, but to broadcast to the web it costs $5-6 a month. This also allows for android and iphone application use. The free version will do motion detect and capture, which is pretty nice. The android app, allows for viewing of all motion captures and for "live" mode. PTZ works over the app as well.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase
This camera is not as great as the other reviews giving it 5 stars may lead you to believe. This camera has a lot of functions and appears to work well for a cheap camera but clearly fails in the video department. Let me start by saying I have 2 Foscam 8910's which I paid twice as much for so I have seen what a quality cheap IP camera can do. The colors on this camera are terrible no matter what you set the contrast settings to with very few being close to accurate. The video quality is not great either even at the highest settings but usable for watching my sump pump. The available mobile software seems to be lacking as well. The iSeeU software the recommend absolutely sucks on my iPhone and IPad. Stay clear of this camera unless you just want a cheap camera to watch something that doesn't require a quality picture or colors.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 21, 2015
Verified Purchase
The picture quality is decent enough for what I need it to do. What truly makes this camera a steal is all of the functionality and features. This camera is packed with features of cameras 3 times the price.

The key is the set up. Do not bother with the instructions that come with the camera. Mark H. posted the best instructions:
Included instructions are useless. The KaiCong site is all in Chinese, and I haven't tried to use their ".info" login or get an email.
The camera is good enough picture for most purposes. Pan and tilt seem very quiet, and pretty smooth.
I don't care much about the color quality, but it seems ok. There's definitely a bug in the interface for displaying contrast. It will show "1", but is actually probably set at "11", or something else.
Resolution is definitely 640x480 or less.
I'm going to use this as a security camera, maybe an RV backup camera. It should work well for those purposes.
These run off a 5-volt supply, so connecting them to a 12v-to-5v converter should be easy.
Other reviews gave enough clues for me to get it working. Here's the sequence I used:
1. Plug it in to your router with an ethernet cable and power it up.
2. Go to your router's login page and find the network client list. Two new MAC addresses should be seen, one for the wired interface and one for the wireless. They were 1 digit apart in my case, for example, 00:A0:A0:10:02:02 and 00:A0:A0:10:02:03.
3. Open a browser page at the address given for the first MAC address, port 81. In my case, 192.168.1.45:81.
4. This should present you with a pop-up asking for a username and password. "The server says: GoAhead."
5. Log in with "admin" and "123456". Now see a splash screen with choices: "ActiveX Mode(For IE Browser)", "Server Push Mode (For FireFox, Google Browser)" and "Mobile Phone (For Browser that supports Javascript)".
6. I chose Push mode, being on Chrome. This opened the server page in the camera. Now I can pan, tilt, adjust, etc.
7. In the bottom right corner is a little gear icon, that pops up the word "Options" when hovering over it. Click on it.
8. Now the "IP Camera Options" page is displayed. Here are various options to play with. Recommended is to change the login.

To set up the wireless:
1. After following the above, select "Wireless LAN Settings". See the configuration screen.
2. Select "Using Wireless LAN".
3. Enter your router's SSID in the SSID field.
4. Choose "Infra".
5. Select the correct Authentication Type.
6. Enter the router's password in the "Share Key" field.
7. Click "Select". This will reboot the camera.
8. Disconnect the ethernet cable from the camera while it is rebooting, if you like.
9. Now open a page in your browser on the URL as above. You should now be connected wirelessly to the camera through your router.

The other bonus is that Kaicong provides a free android/ios app called ISEEU and not only is it easy to set up, it allows to pan/tilt and listen and speak on the built in mic and speakers.

Again, for the price, this is an outstanding deal for a good performing, feature rich wireless ip camera.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 20, 2014
Verified Purchase
I tried to wait a while before writing this but here it goes. the initial set up was easy via the software included. the User interface is easy to use even if your not a tech person. i am, so i figured after reading the reviews i wouldnt have too much of a problem.
The Bad: The build quality is sub par but what do you expect for $30? if feels like the motors used to tilt and pan are made of cheap plastic and will break if you drop this thing. {dont drop it} From what i have read and experienced no other cam will work on the software provided, nor will this work on my DLink software/ However: most if not all ip cams including this will work on Ispy camera software. look it up its awesome and free. The Good: This cam uses the same software probably because it is the same as the "Air link 101 series. so try using that model if using other software. the free android ap works great and found the cam in no time. on Verizon there is very little lag and the tilt pan and two way audio works fine on 4gLTE. i gave this 4 stars because for the price and features its deff worth it. if this thing breaks in a few months i will remove a star but for anyone who thinks for this price you will get much more you delusional. i will buy more theyr cheap enough. if your not good with tech stuff keep looking if you are i recommend.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 29, 2014
Verified Purchase
Just got mine today.
Actually it is very easy to setup without any software or headaches.
Almost everything one needs is written in the camera, they just omit one thing the default port.... it is 8888
Say the camera came with a number (6 digits long), for example, 223344.
Plug the ethernet cable from the router to the camera, then just point the browser to:

http://223344.kaicong.info:8888

login with "admin" and "123456" as username and password.

Change the settings that need to be changed and you are good to go.
The only thing these guys should have done is added the port (8888) to the instructions.
It will detect a wireless if present and then it will work with the wireless connection.

By the way, I have a Mac, so no way to use the software that comes with the camera.

It is not 5 stars because I just got it today!!!
Lets see what happens, how long it lasts....

P.S. Someone said the FTP does not work, apparently it does (at least on tests). The only thing the ftp server has to be written with the IP address of the server not with its name, i.e. instead of writing www.example.com one has to write, for example, 199.12.12.45

Havent tested the sound in and out of the camera yet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 21, 2014
Verified Purchase
These are exactly what I needed at exactly the right price! Easy set up if you've dealt with IP Cams before. It is definitely not HD but if you want HD then you're going to have to spend a whole lot more. Pan/Tilt is silent and the speed can be adjusted.

The camera app that I use on Android is IP Cam Remote (Blue Icon) It allows access for 18 cameras and does 2 way audio

One complaint I read in a review was the flashing green LED.
Go to the camera web address on the bottom of the camera and open it, log in and then go to the device settings
Go down to the PTZ settings and change "Indicator display mode" to "close" and the light won't blink anymore
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 43 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.