Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kama Sutra of sexual positions video and dvd
This is a tantric and holistic approach to sexuality and positions. The couple demonstrating were real and natural and really into one another. Sex is a dance and the video cuts back and forth to an indian dancer and drummers. The music is sexy and makes you realize that sex is about rythym and sensuality. Very different from other position videos that show the women...
Published on April 7, 2003

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More like a Dance Video
-and we were not looking for "porn" Kenneth Ray Stubbs, Ph.D., ! We were looking for more of an instructional-type based video based on the various positions in Kama Sutra which I thought this video had to offer (at least it advertised itself as such). My husband and I were *very* dissappointed and felt cheated out of our money. What a waste! I would have given...
Published on April 22, 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kama Sutra of sexual positions video and dvd, April 7, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A Tantric Vision of Love [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a tantric and holistic approach to sexuality and positions. The couple demonstrating were real and natural and really into one another. Sex is a dance and the video cuts back and forth to an indian dancer and drummers. The music is sexy and makes you realize that sex is about rythym and sensuality. Very different from other position videos that show the women with too much makeup and garters on (get real!) This is a real couple enjoying one another and enjoying the dance of sexuality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More like a Dance Video, April 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A Tantric Vision of Love [VHS] (VHS Tape)
-and we were not looking for "porn" Kenneth Ray Stubbs, Ph.D., ! We were looking for more of an instructional-type based video based on the various positions in Kama Sutra which I thought this video had to offer (at least it advertised itself as such). My husband and I were *very* dissappointed and felt cheated out of our money. What a waste! I would have given it 0 stars if it was available. And what did I mean about it was "More like a Dance Video"? Because it showed dancers 90% of the time with flashes of a couple "making love". I am an extremely unhappy customer and would *beg* of you *not* to purchase this item if you think that you are going to learn anything from this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Good Money, September 4, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A Tantric Vision of Love [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If you're looking for an instructional video to learn more about the Kama Sutra, or even to expand your sexual repertoire, do NOT buy this video if you can help it. While Dr. Stubbs may be a brilliant sexologist, he is definitely not an inspiring filmmaker. The dancers were odd, the poetry was crunchy, and some of the music was even dubbed over the original, which made for awkward dance intervals.
While the female demonstrator of the Kama Sutra positions was a beautiful addition to the video, the oaf-like characteristics of the male were a bit distracting. Plus, some of the freeze frame shots of the positions were difficult to make out. I doubt some of those positions are very comfortable, but if you are simulating sex with your partner (as the couple did in the video), I'm sure you'll be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those with an appreciation for sacred sex, December 2, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A Tantric Vision of Love [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This video is incredible. Very beautifully and artistically done. I suspect the few negative reviews are from people looking for a more western approach. But for those that understand what tantra (sacred sexuality) is truly about, this tape won't disappoint. It's a feast for all the senses. Very sensual. I really loved the clips with dancing - African Mating Dance and East Indian Dance for the Beloved. And the outdoor scenes in nature added much as well. The only thing I would have done differently is in the filming of the dancers. Too often the camera would show you a close up of the dancer's face and upper body, when showing the full figure in movement would have been preferable. I love dance and would have liked to get a better sense of the how-to's.
My partner and I found all the positions do-able except for one. But then we've both done yoga for a couple of years. I imagine a number of the positions can be done by people who haven't done yoga. But there's something to be said for increasing your flexibility.
Neither my partner nor I are impressed with porn and other western representations of sex. This is such a welcome change! And contrary to what one reviewer wrote, the man in the tape wasn't at all oafish. He looked very much in tune with his partner, as she was with him. If anything, their approach to lovemaking makes the average western lover look a tad oafish (particularly those who rely on porn for their so-called education).
Kudos to Kenneth Ray Stubbs and Sarah Sher for a job well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good work!, April 28, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A Tantric Vision of Love [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I loved seeing this video. I thought that the couple who
demonstrated the positions of the Kama Sutra were beautiful and wholesome.
I loved the way that the couple were filmed in nature.
I couldn't help but wonder what a difference it would have
made in my own life to have been able to see sexuality
protrayed so naturally and spiritually when I was growing up
instead of the southern protestant indoctrination to the
body/sexuality that I did receive.
The sensual, prayerful dance and music and the lighting in the video all worked
wonderfully together to create a mood of healthy, non-dominating
eroticism and captured and shared the feeling of the joy and bliss of tantric sexuality/love.
I think that this video could
be a great educational tool......or just watched over and
over for one's own pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A tantric Vision of Lo, February 12, 2005
This review is from: Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A Tantric Vision of Love [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Please do not waste your money on this video. I thought it was an instructional video. It is poetry and pictures and cartoons. I threw the video away after watching it once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic Love, May 1, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A Tantric Vision of Love [VHS] (VHS Tape)
For me, watching this video was like a sexual lullaby. The images are real and poignant, and erotic. The live couple is obviously very much inlove, and share their fun and passion with me while I watch.
I learned so much just by being in the sensual, creative atmosphere that the video provides. This is not a monkey-see monkey-do, show and tell demonstration, or a formal lecture- it is a guided visual and audio experience. And it created a space for me to broaden and explore my sexual energies.
An artistic vision of - love, sensuality, the sacred and raw sexual energy. This was a refreshing vision. I will be watching this video many, many more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex and Sensuality, May 6, 2002
By 
Sinti (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A Tantric Vision of Love [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Sex stares blankly at us from billboards and screams for our attention every time we open a magazine. But despite the images that surround us, we are a sex-starved and puritanical culture. We need creative videos like this to fill us, to help us remember the true eroticism of the human body as we dance, play, interact. This is a beautiful balance of imagery, words, and music that invites lovers of all kinds to engage in the sensuous world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and pretentious, February 4, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A Tantric Vision of Love [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This video is very pretentious. Very repetitive and boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kama Sutra of Sexual Positions Video: A Tantric Vision of Love [VHS]
$19.95 $12.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.