Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fox vs Wolf
One of the best Harem-fan service comedies arrives in American territory, KANOKON is not your typical "pervy" anime it could be THE best ECCHI anime ever made, "Xebec"( To Love-Ru, Love Hina ) made this series as enjoyable as possible, meaning you won't be bored with all the mischief going on in each episode, the characters, backgrounds, the superb and well rendered...
Published on April 14, 2011 by OKAMI

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good premise but flawed execution
This is fanservic plain and simple. From episode one to episode twelve you will watch your heroine fling her body at our hero time and time again thankfully it doesn't get into H-catagory staying squarly in ecchi territory.. Not only that but the sub character declares herself his mistress. The animation is very high quality, the japanese voice acting is right on, and the...
Published on April 13, 2011 by Nick R. Benkse


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fox vs Wolf, April 14, 2011
By 
This review is from: Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series (DVD)
One of the best Harem-fan service comedies arrives in American territory, KANOKON is not your typical "pervy" anime it could be THE best ECCHI anime ever made, "Xebec"( To Love-Ru, Love Hina ) made this series as enjoyable as possible, meaning you won't be bored with all the mischief going on in each episode, the characters, backgrounds, the superb and well rendered animation, light and shadow effects are as detail as something that I've ever seen before specially for this type of anime, if you are into Harem-anime then you already know that most of them have bad quality and animation.

Kanokon's story revolves around Kouta , a young first-year high school student. On his first day at his new school, a beautiful second-year female student named Chizuru (long black hair) asks him to meet her alone in the music room. When he arrives, she reveals that she is in fact a fox deity and from that day on the two hang out together. Nozomu ( blonde short hair) is a first year female student at Kouta's school, she is a wolf deity in love with Kouta, and a rival of Chizuru for Kouta's affections.

The story and plot lovers will be disappointed because there's barely a story here, then again this is a HAREM COMEDY, what makes this types of shows is not about the stories is all about fan service, and this anime has lots of it BUT I'm not talking of just panty shots, this anime goes beyond any innuendo ever imagined.

PROS
- Price
- All 12 episodes.
- OVA shorts.
- English and Japanese audio.
- Vivid colors, fluent and beautiful animation that I'll describe it not as eye candy but as eye protein.
- Each character has a unique charm ( specially the squirrel girls).
- Nozomu.
- The opening and ending songs fit perfectly for the series, the opening is as if it says "wake Up" and the ending "go to sleep".
- surprisingly funny.
- Lots of innuendo.

Cons
- Plot holes.
- The final episode felt flat in its conclusion, because it feels more like one of those bland Drama-Slice of life anime rather than a comedy ( so if you don't want to be disappointed at the very end DON'T watch episode 12 ).

If you're into Ninja Nonsense, To Love-Ru and Girls Bravo then by all means buy it you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a true harem anime, but still a good one., April 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series (DVD)
I am not going to go over what has been said before. I thought the story was a good premise, yokai (spirit creatures) living in our world and mostly blending in. The story of a young man being pursued by a sexy fox girl and a young wolf lass and being exposed to that world, and all the dangers and rewards that go with them (the insults and banter between Chizuru and Nazomu always livens things up).

This is a HIGH level Ecchii series, so not for younger kids. It does toe the line between Ecchi and light Hentai, and a couple of times might put a toe or two over (disc three Girls Channel about Chizuru's mother and the snow girl is a prime example)but never crosses it which is a good thing. Now I would not call it a real harem comedy (Tenchii, Dual, and Kampfer being prime examples), since there are only 2 girls pursuing our hapless lad (well three if you count one who appears near the end but never reveals herself to him so i do not think she counts. But the characters are full of life and actually interact well together, both mundanes and yokai (my favorite is the little frog girl). There are some holes in the story and the ending could have been better, but overall I loved it and will keep it in my collection and watch it again if there is ever a hole in releases ,or need to have something to watch while I am on the treadmill. The only bad thing was when i got it, the disk holder was broken and the disks were lose (but none were damaged, thankfully).

Enjoy!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Enjoyable Harem Anime As Expected But Some Flaws Too, March 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series (DVD)
As expected with a lot of harem animes out there the standard story is you have a young cute looking high school boy Kouta Oyamada who has attracted the romantic attentions of a disguised Yokai fox girl Chizuru Minamoto who is a year ahead of him and a young disguised female wolf yokai Nozomu Ezomori and the hijinx and hilarity that happens as the both battle each other for young Kouta's heart and affection. The series as expected with the cover does have the usual fan service like a lot of these series with the standard nudity and hentai innuendos but stops short of anything to x-rated so don't worry about this being a henatai anime. The animation is decent it's not bad but some people might not care for it, the voice cast for the Japanese subbed did their roles very nicely but even with some known name casts on this series the dubbed cast just sometimes seemed to fall flat as they did their character roles especially on the actress for the characters of Chizuru and Nozumu as they seemed to make their voices for their characters more subservient than they actually were especially when you listen to the subbed voices doing their roles. The added characters like Chizuru's younger brother and others bring a nice humorous line up with the series so the entertainment for the show doesn't drop anywhere really, and as for the extras there mostly the standard textless intro/ending songs though there are some nice short OVA's. So for the price I say this is a nice add on for anyone who like the harem comedy animes with the fan service common with these series but expect disappointment with the dubbing as it's at least 40/60 on the quality...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good premise but flawed execution, April 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series (DVD)
This is fanservic plain and simple. From episode one to episode twelve you will watch your heroine fling her body at our hero time and time again thankfully it doesn't get into H-catagory staying squarly in ecchi territory.. Not only that but the sub character declares herself his mistress. The animation is very high quality, the japanese voice acting is right on, and the music is very good.

Now I might sound a little harsh, and I did like the show to a degree, but it just goes overboard at times with thrusting flesh at the screen. And as you might notice on the box art, your hero is just one big spaz the whole time. Despite daily bust shows, panty showings, and other flirtatious actions he freaks out nearly every single time. He is a very two dimensional character with little growth. The two heroins however do get some good development. And a lot of the side-characters are in realty very interesting, but don't get enough screen time.

This bundle is FAR superior than the idea of buying multiple single DVDs. In a nutshell the show was alright, a lot better shows out there, but if you like heavy fan service, like girls with animal ears (fox and wolf mostly) then you'll enjoy this. Just don't expect something akin to Shakespeare, want a good laugh (taking the male lead with a grain of salt), and don't mind naughty bits then you'll get your money out of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WHOLE LOT OF FUN, October 7, 2012
By 
KevinB "The Honey Badger" (High Point, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series (DVD)
Kanokon is a lot of fun to watch. It reminded me a lot of Rosario Vampire, Maburaho, or Tenchi. It's your typical story about a high school guy that has a couple chicks that are way out of his league hanging all over him. Kota , the main character, is kind of a short and underdeveloped kid that could pass for like 12 years old. He's a good kid, but it's hard to fathom this hot chick that's totally stacked trying to give it all to him in the music room during school hours. That's one of the things that makes anime interesting though. Kota is a new high school student who attracts the attention of a Yokai Fox girl named Chizuru. She's a ditzy girl, but she's totally loyal and devoted to Kota. Her favorite thing is nearly suffocating him inn her huge chest. Kota also gains antoher potential lover named Nozomu. Nozomu is a Yokai Wolf. She's kind of small and underdeveloped like he is. The anime is basically about the two girls competing for his attention. Anyway, the animation is great, the music is good, and there are plenty of fun magical characters that keep you wanting to know what happens next. There's not a real concrete story line, but Kanokon is a whole lot of fun from beginning to end. I recommend Kanokon and all the other animes I mentioned earlier to anyone who likes a lot of laughs and a good romantic comedy. WARNING! If tons of nudity and perverted stuff bothers you watch something else. If not go for it. It's just pretend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny anime, March 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series (DVD)
like this anime a little weird but most anime these days are but not for the little kids not hentai but close
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IS THERE GOING TO BE A SECOND SEASON, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series (DVD)
IT WAS GOOD. I LIKED IT. IT MEET MY EXPECTIONS. IT NEEDS A SECOND SEASON TO IT.
IT NEEDED TO BE LONGER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best anime i have watched, October 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series (DVD)
i loved this anime it was by far the best anime i watched great story if you love great storytelling as well as clifhangers that make you yell at your tv then i would deffinately recommend this anime. That being said there is only a couple things that throw me off is who is that little girl with the gaurdian's role in this anime. Why is she saying kouta will be only hers when he is devoted to chizuru completely. The second question i ask myself "Is kouta a full human or is also a youki fox that thanks to chizuru has been awakened" i guess you will have to be the judge of that. But aside from that it is a really awesome anime and i promise you, you will wanted to watch this anime over and over again. I know i will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed Very Much!, August 31, 2013
This review is from: Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series (DVD)
Although this series has some minor flaws, it's about a young woman who falls hopelessly in love with a freshman in high school. There are plenty of body shots and sexual situations, lots of boob shots and hand rubbing, typical young passion, and a great mixture of humor and sadness that'll make you want these two to truly love one another at the end.

It's definitely a great time waster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the item is a little off, August 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series (DVD)
its weird cuz all the disc at the exact same picture and if you listen to the English version some of the sounds what be cut off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kanokon: The Girl Who Cried Fox - Complete Series
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.