Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 1, 2015
As good as I remember! Still a corny, kind of period piece, but still interesting after all of these years! Gave it to a coworker as a sort of gag gift as we have nicknamed her KCB (Kansas City Bomber) although she may be too young to appreciate Roller Derby and the goofy drama of "the loser has to leave Kansas City forever, and forever is a very long time" when the ultimate roller derby match is about to begin between the two female stars. Gave it fours stars only because it was not available in Blue Ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
Raquel in the roller derby rink!!!!! YEAH,...written especially for her by a fan(!!!!),Raquel is in fine fighting form.Don't miss a young Jodie Foster as Raquel's daughter!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2014
Raquel Welch actually does some of her own skating in this film, which is pretty remarkable. The whole story is fantastic 1970s blue-collar Americana.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
This movie is about standing your ground and being true to yourself. Raquel Welch gives a very down to earth performance as a roller girl.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2013
Kansas City Bomber is a great movie! Lots of roller skating scenes, AND great performances by Raquel Welch and Helena Kallionotis.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2005
Raquel Welch rules in this superb story of the trials and tribulations of being a professional roller rink lady.It's a must see and finally on DVD!!!!!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2009
Like many others, I've been waiting for this film to go to dvd for the longest time. I hadn't even seen it in years, as it seems like it was rarely shown on television, and I don't know if I ever saw it available on vhs.

This is one of Raquel's best pictures, great action and locations. The final scene of the match race between K.C. Carr and her rival is a thrill a minute.

Some people have stated that Ms. Welch is too pretty and much too petite to have played a roller derby queen. (She really does appear much smaller and slimmer in person then she does on screen) But of course, us fans of hers, and those of us who grew up with her posters on our bedroom walls can disregard that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2005
When I found out that "Kansas City Bomber" was being released on DVD, I RUSHED to the Store on the Very First Day of Release and Bought My Copy! This Cult Classic Film Was NEVER AVAILABLE in Any Format until now, For Some Strange Reason, it was never even released on video and Fans like me just had to hope that one of the local stations would air this gem and usually when they did air it was around 3am! This Film Is Such a GUILTY PLEASURE! I consider this to be Raquel Welch's Finest Performance and to me it was Oscar Worthy. Many People do not realise but Racquel did Many of her own stunts, she did most of her skating. I felt that She played the Role of KC to perfection, showing the Womans Toughness, yet vulnerability and allowed a Female Sports Figure to have a Feminine Side. KC also had a heart of Gold and at times her heart was conflicted with the harsh realities of the sports world. The final scene in which KC squares off with her Team mate Rival inside the Roller Ring leaves you on the edge of your seat and will have you screaming at your tv set, GO KC GO! This is one of my all time favorite films and I am So Grateful that it is finally released on DVD for all of us To Enjoy!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2008
K.C. Carr is on the fast track to becoming a star in Roller Derby. A divorcee with two children, she has what pop culture would call the "it" factor; but her goal may ultimately prove to be impossible.

Raquel Welch does an outstanding job in portraying the many sides of Carr, in a script which highlights the personal and professional drama in the main character's life. Helena Kallianiotes (Jackie Burdette) received a 1973 Golden Glode nomination for Best Supporting Actress - Movie, as the veteran team leader who refuses to share center stage with Carr.

Team owner Burt Henry - Kevin McCarthy - plays on the drive of Carr to achieve success in the sport and have a lasting, loving relationship.

Directed by Jerrold Freedman and initially released in August 1972, the skating sequences are fantastic and the parallel plot involving Carr's personal life is believable. The tension between Carr, Burdette and Henry spills onto the track, with a match-race to determine who is the best, with the dreams of the loser being crushed in front of fans and teammates.

Kansas City Bomber is a winner, as it depicts the game within the game of life and the steepness in the banked turns to truly find happiness.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2015
raquel welch at the height of her sexyness...a really cool and cheesy and campy film....you gotta love the early 1970's....this was when roller derby's were at their peak...this movie should be watched at least once in a lifetime by everyone...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.