Buy New
$20.47
Qty:1
  • List Price: $26.00
  • Save: $5.53 (21%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Kant's Rational Theology has been added to your Cart
Trade in your item
Get a $0.72
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Kant's Rational Theology Paperback – May 28, 2009


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$20.47
$20.44 $16.95
$20.47 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Editorial Reviews

Review

"This splendid little book has two main sections. The first traces the origins of Kant's account of God, the ens realissimum, in the first Critique, and analyzes the very obscure introductory passage which precedes Kant's criticism of the three proofs of God's existence. The second examine that criticism in detail. Wood's prose is simple and concise, and he perfectly combines sound historical exegesis with discussion of the general philosophical issues involved."—Mind



"Wood's scholarship possesses both historical insight (helping him to situate Kant in the tradition of Descartes, Leibniz, and Wolff) and analytic subtlety (enriching his discussion of such issues as modality and predication). The result is a book that is both an original contribution to Kant studies and an inquiry into the possibility of theology as a 'rational' enterprise."—Journal of the American Academy of Religion

From the Back Cover

"This splendid little book has two main sections. The first traces the origins of Kant's account of God, the ens realissimum, in the first Critique, and analyzes the very obscure introductory passage which precedes Kant's criticism of the three proofs of God's existence. The second examine that criticism in detail. Wood's prose is simple and concise, and he perfectly combines sound historical exegesis with discussion of the general philosophical issues involved."--Mind

"Wood's scholarship possesses both historical insight (helping him to situate Kant in the tradition of Descartes, Leibniz, and Wolff) and analytic subtlety (enriching his discussion of such issues as modality and predication). The result is a book that is both an original contribution to Kant studies and an inquiry into the possibility of theology as a 'rational' enterprise."--Journal of the American Academy of Religion

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Cornell University Press; 1 edition (May 28, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0801475538
  • ISBN-13: 978-0801475535
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.4 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,314,300 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Emmanuel T. Rakitzis on June 15, 2000
Format: Hardcover
This book is an in depth analysis of Kant's conception of God. It is divided into two parts: the first dealing with "The idea of God" and the second with "The three theistic proofs" (the well known attempt by Kant to refute all known arguments for the existence of God). Both topics are presented in relation to the relevant philosophical concepts put forward by earlier philosophers. In this respect the reader has much to gain, since, both Kant's philosophy, as also earlier philsophical work, are constantly posited vis-a-vis each other. The author is more concerned to present Kant's views on God, rather than to criticise and improve on these views. This is an erudite work, lucidly presented. An outstanding work of scholarship.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Frequently Bought Together

Kant's Rational Theology + Kant's Moral Religion
Price for both: $46.09

Buy the selected items together
  • Kant's Moral Religion $25.62