• List Price: $174.99
  • Save: $150.40 (86%)
Rented from Amazon Warehouse Deals
To Rent, select Shipping State from options above
Due Date: Jun 28, 2015
FREE return shipping at the end of the semester. Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with rentals.
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by RentU
Condition: :
Comment: Fast shipping from Amazon! Qualifies for Prime Shipping and FREE standard shipping for orders over $35. Overnight, 2 day and International shipping available! Excellent Customer Service.. May not include supplements such as CD, access code or DVD.
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Qty:1
  • List Price: $174.99
  • Save: $59.97 (34%)
Only 18 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Kaplan MCAT Review Comple... has been added to your Cart
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $9.15
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 8 images

Kaplan MCAT Review Complete 5-Book Subject Review (Kaplan Test Prep) Paperback – Box set, November 13, 2012

ISBN-13: 978-1609786120 ISBN-10: 1609786122 Edition: 3rd Edition, Revised, Third Edition, Revised

Buy New
Price: $115.02
Rent
Price: $24.59
55 New from $35.00 81 Used from $18.00 1 Collectible from $39.95
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, Box set, November 13, 2012
"Please retry"
$115.02
$35.00 $18.00

Special Shipping Information: This item normally requires a shipping charge, but is eligible for FREE Shipping today.
Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Spring Books
The Big Books of Spring
See our editors' picks for the books you'll want to read this season, from blockbusters and biographies to new fiction and children's books.
$115.02 FREE Shipping. Only 18 left in stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy Used and Save: Buy a Used "Kaplan MCAT Review Complete 5-Book Subject Review ...” from Amazon Warehouse Deals and save 45% off the $174.99 list price. Product is eligible for Amazon's 30-day returns policy and Prime or FREE Shipping. See all Used offers from Amazon Warehouse Deals.

Frequently Bought Together

Kaplan MCAT Review Complete 5-Book Subject Review (Kaplan Test Prep) + Kaplan MCAT Practice Tests (Kaplan Test Prep) + Kaplan MCAT in a Box
Price for all three: $187.89

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Cheers
Hallmark Greeting Cards
Browse our selection of Hallmark Signature Collection greeting cards. Learn more

Product Details

  • Series: Kaplan Test Prep
  • Paperback: 2016 pages
  • Publisher: Kaplan Publishing; 3rd Edition, Revised, Third Edition, Revised edition (November 13, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1609786122
  • ISBN-13: 978-1609786120
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 3.7 x 10.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (70 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #84,076 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions has been preparing students for the MCAT since 1963, longer than any other test prep company. Kaplan offers a wide variety of MCAT preparation including online programs, books and software, classroom coaching, personal tutoring, and subject specific preparation, as well as medical school admissions consulting. For information about live events, courses, and all available materials, visit kaptest.com/mcat.

Customer Reviews

I love how concise all the information is.
Jon M
These books are great for my son in helping to prepare for his tests. there are great sample tests inside.
Debra
And the actual books content is very easy to understand and great review.
Loretta

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

200 of 208 people found the following review helpful By Jon M on March 22, 2013
First of all, some of the practice exam sections are incredibly difficult in comparison to the actual MCAT. It is Kaplan's way of challenging you and helping you know more than you need to, but sometimes it is kind of stupid to make the practice exams so much harder. Some of them I could not even finish in the time they gave. If you want to do practice exams, buy Kaplan's separate exams (which I still think are harder) or buy them directly from AMCAS.

I am going to break this down book-by-book:

The Organic Chemistry book is the worst book, which I guess is the best one to be the worst due to such a little amount of O chem. It assumes that you know a lot and almost just lists reaction types in a paragraph or two. I found it the hardest to follow. OCHEM only occurs for about 10-12 questions, but it's still important to know a lot in case it arises. Study a lot of SN1 and SN2. A lot questions dealing with organic chemistry are about knowing the nucleophile, electrophile, and what goes where.

The biology book is great. Pure facts and just telling you what you need to know. Straight and to the point: just read, read, read. The MCAT biology portion is a lot different than just memorizing though (although probably 6-8 questions are purely out of memorization). You need to learn how to break down experiments with your biological background. There are a lot of genetics and problems dealing with the expression of certain "things" on the biology portion. i.e. This causes that, which causes that, which then causes what? Learn about the heart very well too. Muscles (sarcomeres), kidneys, digestive, and hormones are big topics as well.

The physics book was my favorite one. I love how concise all the information is. No time wasting.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
45 of 46 people found the following review helpful By Noora on December 20, 2013
I studied for two months (about 8 hours a day) and i bought the KAPLAN and EXAMKRACKERS sets.

Breakdown by book:

-Biology: EK is very weak in this section, and I mixed Kaplan and Princeton review for bio.
-Physics: This is my weak point, so I found Kaplan to be better. I think EK Physics is weak.
-Chemistry: Either. Both are good: EK or Kaplan.
Organic Chemistry: Kaplan assumes you know a lot for this section, I think overall EK is better.
Verbal: This is truly where EK shines although Kaplan is okay. What really helps with this section is the 101 EK Verbal Passages.

I also was given a free Kaplan test course, and I used their tests. I didn't bother with the class: I just wanted the resources. I recommend reviewing material/memorizing formulas for the first month (taking full length practice tests on the weekends), and the second month take practice tests only. Kaplan has practice tests in the back of their books, so those helped. However, Kaplan tends to test harder material. I would definitely use the AAMC tests also.

OVERALL: You need to review the material and learn to take the test. Use Kaplan for the main sciences (bio, physics, and chem), use 101 EK for Verbal, and use EK for Ochem. Take a ton of practice tests before, and GO OVER YOUR TESTS when done. Do this, and I think you can at least score a 30. DO NOT CRAM, give time to study for your MCAT.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By David Cox on June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase
Took the MCAT and was very pleased with how this set matched up with what I experienced on the test.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Grant on November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase
It is a good comprehensive review, not too wordy, fairly easy to understand. It has lots of practice test questions and teaches you how to work them.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Verified Purchase
As far as the material they cover here goes, it's pretty good. They cover just about everything you need to know for test day, but unfortunately they try to imply throughout the text that you need to know more than you really do. For example, they tell you to memorize WAY too many equations for test day -- especially in the physical sciences portion, when in reality you only need to memorize a small portion of those equations if you want to know how to do every single problem on the MCAT. You can easily get a 15 on a section knowing much less than what they would have you believe you need to know.

Another major problem with these books is the practice questions and tests they give. They are much more difficult and in depth than a real MCAT. The practice tests from the AAMC are exactly like the real thing. Practice with those 10 times more than you would with any Kaplan test. I understand that Kaplan's philosophy might be that they want to over-prepare you for the test by asking especially difficult questions so that the actual test seems easier, but this missed the mark entirely. Many of the questions try to be so in depth or tricky that they end up making you focus on the wrong principles. The real MCAT is much more straightforward and will not make you spend 3-4 minutes per question just working out arithmetic.

There's being prepared, and then there's just plain wasting time on something you know you'll never be asked to do. Why does Kaplan focus on the latter? My best guess is that they want to scare you into buying all of their products and classes where you can work calorimetry equation problems till you start bleeding from the ears.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Kaplan MCAT Review Complete 5-Book Subject Review (Kaplan Test Prep)
This item: Kaplan MCAT Review Complete 5-Book Subject Review (Kaplan Test Prep)
Price: $174.99 $115.02
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com