Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can Karen finally expose Morbidda Destiny as the witch?
Synopsis: The book starts off with Karen Brewer explaining how she has two of everything, since she and her younger brother Andrew spend every other weekend with their father and stepmother, and the rest of the time with their mother and their stepfather. This time, Karen is spending the weekend at her father's house. Karen thinks her neighbor Mrs. Porter is a witch named...
Published on February 16, 2010 by Raj

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little sister #1
Hi my name is Teresa and I go to SANTA ROSA CHARTER SCHOOL.

I think this is very good but use more discriptune. Ok now I will tell you why I liked this book. This book is one that you cant stop reading it there is somthing that you just cant wate to find out what will happen.

This book is about A girl that thinks her neighber is a witch. This...
Published on April 17, 2007


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can Karen finally expose Morbidda Destiny as the witch?, February 16, 2010
This review is from: Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1) (Paperback)
Synopsis: The book starts off with Karen Brewer explaining how she has two of everything, since she and her younger brother Andrew spend every other weekend with their father and stepmother, and the rest of the time with their mother and their stepfather. This time, Karen is spending the weekend at her father's house. Karen thinks her neighbor Mrs. Porter is a witch named Morbidda Destiny because of the way she looks and acts. Karen is shocked to see Morbidda's cat Midnight on their doorstep after she arrives, and takes it as a bad omen. Later, she thinks she sees Morbidda Destiny fly out of her window in a broomstick with Midnight behind her, and the following day, overhears Morbidda Destiny in her garden talking about "company's coming" and "midnight". She thinks that Morbidda is going to have a meeting with other witches and warlocks at midnight and they are going to do something bad to the neighborhood. Karen takes it upon herself to save her neighborhood and tries to come up with a plan. Will she succeed in exposing the witch and her friends?

Review: I thought this was a fun book to read and a great start to the series. I liked how Karen sticks to her made up stories about Morbidda Destiny having meetings with other witches and warlocks, and how she and her friend Hannie have to conjure a spell with herbs and leaves to fight them. I also enjoyed the part where Karen sees Morbidda Destiny fly on a broomstick with her cat midnight, as this added an element of mystery as to whether Morbidda was really a witch or not. The illustrations were also very nicely drawn by Susan Tang, and I loved the one where Karen imagines herself in a parade that the mayor is throwing for her for exposing the witches.

Overall, I thought this was a great start for the Little Sister series in the Babysitters franchise, and would love to continue reading the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What would you do?, October 26, 2005
This review is from: Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1) (Paperback)
ISBN 0590443003 - What would you do if you found a witch living next door? Six year old Karen found one and decided to put a stop to her before she could cast a spell on the neighborhood. You get the feeling nothing could be boring with Karen around.

Karen is an unusual child of divorced parents, because she considers herself lucky to have two of almost everything, including two houses. At her house with her stepmother and father, Mrs. Porter, aka Morbidda Destiny in Karen's mind, lives next door. Mrs. Porter wears black, sweeps her stairs with a broom, has a black cat named Midnight and grows an herb garden - so of course she must be a witch! With only a weekend visit to work in, Karen has to save the neighborhood from Morbidda and her witch friends. How will she manage in time?

Karen's hilarious. Everything can be explained to fit her witch theory. When the alarm clock (that she admits to not knowing how to work) doesn't go off, she's certain that Morbidda has cast a spell upon it to make sure Karen overslept. Nothing like common sense will intrude on her witch hunt. This is book #1 of the series and I look forward to reading more!

- AnnaLovesBooks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Book in the Baby-sitters Little Sister Series, December 10, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1) (Paperback)
Since the beginning of The Baby-sitters Club series, six-year-old Karen Brewer has always been afraid of her next-door neighbor, Mrs. Porter, who she calls Morbidda Destiny. She believes the old woman is an evil witch who flies around on her broom at night and casts spells on everyone. During her weekend stay with her father, Karen vows to expose the witch, even though she's forbidden to spy on the neighbors, especially Morbidda. Of course, Karen doesn't obey rules, which consequently allows her to overhear Morbidda discussing an upcoming witch meeting with her black cat, Midnight. With the help of her best friend (Hannie Papadakis), Karen sets out to sabotage the meeting and save Stoneybrook from a coven of witches.
"Karen's Witch" is the first book in the Baby-sitters Little Sister series, a spin-off of The Baby-sitters Club series. These books are geared more for younger readers (age 7 - 9) and follows one imaginative little girl, Karen Brewer, Kristy Thomas's younger stepsister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's a witch in the neighborhood!, February 9, 2001
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1) (Paperback)
Karen gets carried away sometimes. In this book, Karen thinks that her next door neighbor is a witch. If you read it, you will feel the same way. I would give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lol the memories, October 3, 2011
By 
M "Delicious Strawberry" (I wait behind the wall, gnawing away at your reality) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1) (Paperback)
I was always into the Baby-Sitters Club when I was younger, but I did read a few of the Little Sister books. I definitely liked the original series better, but the Little Sister books had their own merit. Karen thinks her neighbor is a witch and comes up with all sorts of crazy 'evidence' for this. The truth is a lot more mundane than Karen expected, so it's a lesson for little kids to not let their imagination run away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is VERY interesting., October 25, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1) (Paperback)
In Karen's Witch she thinks that her neighbor is a witch. She thinks up wierd things that she thinks her neighbor does.She tries to get in her neighbor's house.She gets in trouble for going in her neighbor's house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved the Babysitters and Little Sisters books growing up, August 26, 2014
This review is from: Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1) (Paperback)
I loved the Babysitters and Little Sisters books growing up. You can't find them in bookstores anymore, so it's great to find them here. My daughter loves them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wanted my granddaughter to read these since these were a ..., August 11, 2014
This review is from: Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1) (Paperback)
wanted my granddaughter to read these since these were a book hit at my house when my daughters were younger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little sister #1, April 17, 2007
A Kid's Review
Hi my name is Teresa and I go to SANTA ROSA CHARTER SCHOOL.

I think this is very good but use more discriptune. Ok now I will tell you why I liked this book. This book is one that you cant stop reading it there is somthing that you just cant wate to find out what will happen.

This book is about A girl that thinks her neighber is a witch. This girl is allmost seven her name is Karen and she is kind of short. So she starts to spy on her and dous all cinds of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1) (Paperback)
Loved these books as a child and now my daughter loves them. Perfect for a 1st or 2nd grader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1)
Karen's Witch (Baby-Sitters Little Sister, No. 1) by Ann Matthews Martin (Paperback - Aug. 1988)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.