Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars15
Color: White|Size: One Size|Change
Price:$126.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 23, 2011
I bought the Katadyn Pocket water purifier system many years ago and really had no reason to buy this replacement filter other than to have a replacement on hand if needed. I have filtered and drunk lake and river water several times. This system does not remove all the bad taste, but lake water does NOT taste like fish after going through it. It is very much drinkable in a non survival situation. In a survival situation this same water taste like a wonderful cool glass of bottled water...just plain refreshing! Having the ability to refill my canteens and water bladders, with great confidence that no one will become ill from it, is the only reason you need to buy this water purifier. However, not having to plan your outings around the ligistical aspects of hyration takes a load off your mind as well as your back. There are many ways to purify water, but none faster than this and with the use and approval of all US Special Forces and the SAS, as well as most of the worlds militarys and rescue organizations, if there was ever a flaw in the "Katadyn Pocket" design, it's been correected long ago during it's 50+ year history. At a possible 13,000 gallon filter life, I will be handing this down to one of my sons, and he can possible wear out the original filter and start on the replacement.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2011
after all this years, there is not another filter in the market that can provide you with such a huge lifetime (over 49,000 liters), great filtering capabilities (0.2 microns), small size/weight, simple and super reliable design and fast effortless filtering, for this price.
The only thing missing from this filter is chemical filtration which you get by attaching an in line carbon filter to the output hose.
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
The Katadyn Pocket Replacement Element is the exact replacement for your Katadyn Pocket Microfilter.

The original filter is still going strong but nothing like piece of mind keeping one handy in case the ceramic cracks from a drop or freezing temps.

Comes with the new filter element as pictures, plus some items that was not expected, like: a new outlet hose and bottle clip, extra pump o-ring, lube, and a bag to keep it all in.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
The good:

1. Compact
2. Very well made

The bad:

1. The manual says that if you pump the filter "dry" horizontally it will not be harmed by freezing. This was not the case and the filter element broke into a thousand pieces. The filter was never dropped or abused and was always pumped dry. Even so after freezing it broke into a thousand pieces so the freezing IS an issue.

Summery

Do not believe the manuals claim that freezing will not harm it if it is pumped "dry". If you live in a freezing climate like I do this filter MUST be disassembled and dried out or you just might find it broken one morning. My suggestion is do not use this filter if you encounter freezing weather allot or if you don't want to completely dry out the element during freezing. Don't trust the manual's claim that it "will not be harmed by freezing temperatures..."
33 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2011
This replacement was shipped in perfect condition. It is small, lightweight, and ready for use in the Katadyn Pocket Water Filter. It's perfect to have in an emergency, or when camping to prepare water for cooking, drinking or any other use. Because dried food is lighter and easier to transport, it's perfect for rehydrating meals. This is a great compliment to the actual filter and perfect for any one concerned with being prepared.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
Silver infused. Enough said.
Katadyn has great products and though they are pricey. So is a hospital stay.
Don't think about taking shortcuts in even brushing teeth. You will be surprised how much water stays in your mouth and how little it takes to stop your fun.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2015
This filter is the state-of-the-art in portable water filtration. It is the replacement for the Catadyn Pocket Water Filter that is used world-wide to even treat microbiolically infected water. So using this on a local lake or stream or water drain runoff storage tank is a most ideal option. I last used this on a hike around, Mt. Rainier on the Wonderland Trail. The ten day trek was much more enjoyable knowing I can have available pure, clean and safe drinking water from any water source along the 95 mile route. This replacement has an upgraded spout that allows an output tube to be securely fitted. The previous model lacked this feature making bottle-filling quite cumbersome. This replacement is a hiker, prepper, outdoorsman necessity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2012
When you buy the Katadyn water filter it is always best to have a backup filter. It will filter up to 13,000 gallons. I bought the water filter and this backup. A bit expensive but one of the best to have when you need something of great quality. I would recommend it to all my friends and family members. I also recommend a water distillation unit as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
I purchased a Katadyn pocket water filter about 30 years ago. It has stood the test of time and many backpack trips.I decided to replace the element as a precaution, not as a necessity. The new replacement element arrived in a package that demonstrated Katadyn's commitment to quality and care. Simply stated, the packaging was well thought out and elegant. The element, with a modification to outflow spout, was the same quality product that convinced me to purchase the pocket filter some 30 years ago. You get what you pay for, and in this case an excellent product.
Mike Tobicoe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
We went camping about a week ago, and filtered enough water for 3 guys for a week, and no problems. Works out really nice for camping, and canoeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.