Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Martha Stewart American Made Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now HTL

Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$19.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on February 6, 2014
author Katie Nicholl must have been on a boatload of stimulants, or something, when she wrote this. You get the image of her at her computer, typing away madly, with a crazed, wide-eyed look, maybe drooling a little. (I am on meds for all kinds of things so this is definitely not a stab at people with disabilities my or any other kind.)

I was able to stomach a single chapter of breathless, over-the-top, excruciatingly embellished hyperbole before giving up. It's so overwrought it actually makes you tired to read it.

I love Babykins and Big Willy and have followed them and collected magazines for years, but this book is for a whole 'nother level of Kate worshiper: "Whack-job."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on June 3, 2014
Clearly this is the official and accepted version. It can be narrowed down to this: Kate (cinderella) has only ever been sweet, kind, loving and generous. There was never any plotting on her part. Her sister Pippa has also been perfect. Okay, a teeny bit madcap. Her parents, the Middletons, have always been, golly gee, just the nicest. Never been social climbers, don't even think it. Wills (the handsome prince) has been so sweet...if a tiny bit stubborn and willful---but that's to be expected from the future king, right?And he only becomes"livid" when the paparazzi annoy him. Kate did not flip out when Wills broke up with her, as it was a wonderful time of self reflection and growth. Maybe her chance to be princess was becoming tentative, but she grew so much! The Queen did NOT say "Oh Crap" when dear Wills wanted to marry a commoner, but danced with joy. Maybe this could save and redeem the royal image? Another beautiful girl with beautiful clothes who is sweet and humble? YES! The royal family are not snobs. The like to follow protocols so the Queen will not feel confused, and they love tradition. So...if you like the happy disney version, this one is for you. Oh, P.S. Kate does Not have an eating disorder. At 5'10 and size zero she, umm, has a fast metabolism and is very active. We repeat, No issues here.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on February 11, 2014
Nothing new to report in this book. I was looking for something of interest or new. Nothing. If you know nothing about DOC you might find it interesting. If you have NOT read the papers in the past six years - skip.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on November 18, 2013
I've read a lot of books on the Royal family. I'm not a Royalist, but I'm not someone who hates them, either. I just find their type of fame/privilege quite interesting and have enjoyed reading the behind-the-scenes books.

While I found this book interesting and a fun read-- I couldn't help but think (time and time again) that it almost sounded like PR material from Ma Middleton herself. It appears, in Ms. Nicholl's eyes, that The Duchess can do no wrong. Can't hold down a job because she needs to be at William's beck and call? Poor thing. She takes her top off and is photographed? Sad, sad, Duchess.

It does not touch much on Kate and William's break-up, especially the parts where he yelled "I'm free" out in public and tried very hard to date...only to realize not many ladies wanted to be the future Queen. In Katie Nicholl's version, they broke up, Kate had a few tears and then they were happily back together.

Seems like anything that could show her in a negative (or at least a more honest) light is promptly dismissed and swept under the rug. What a shame, as this could have been a much more interesting book had the author written anything besides Kate Fluff.

I honestly believe many of the sources were from the Middleton family or at least close friends, which explains why it is full of fluff. A good read-- but definitely Middleton propaganda.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on September 20, 2013
A very fluffy read, gossipy and it takes little effort to comprehend. Most of the information about Kate and the Royal Family are retreads, but still fun and light. It may be best if any interested party waits for this to be on the shelves of their local library. I got it as a birthday gift for myself and plan on passing it around to my friends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on October 3, 2013
It's well researched and obviously the author tries to get every piece of information about this elusive woman, but it is written like a magazine article with all the cliches ("proud parents of a newborn," "wanted the best for their girls," "delighted to meet her future-son-in-law"). It doesn't add anything to what everybody knows already about this couple.

Also, when reading you can't shake of the thought of reading a gossip. "How do I know THIS is true??"

Easy, fluffy read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on October 25, 2013
Really wanted to like this book, couldn't get into it. Couldn't even force myself halfway through. Thank goodness I checked it out from the library and didn't waste the money. Usually if a book is a slow read, but interesting, I will buy it so I don't feel pressured to return it. Definitely will not be buying this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on October 2, 2013
I enjoyed the book and it is a really good read. It brought back memories of reading about the courtship in newspapers and magazines in the United States and British press. It tells the story first of Kate's parents Michael and Carole Middleton who founded the successful company Party Pieces that made them millionaires, something of Kate's genealogy and her early years. The family life was very happy for the Middletons and Kate and her siblings Pippa and James had an excellent upbringing with caring parents. Nicholl indicates that William and Kate had met before they started University at St. Andrew's. Nicholl also describes Kate's change of plans from going to Edinburgh University to going to St. Andrew's. Nicholl indicates that although it could have been possible that Kate changed her plans for University because William was going, it is known only to Kate why she made the change. William and Kate started as friends and then connected and became serious about each other. William noticed Kate was "hot" when he saw her stroll down the runway at a University fashion show in the now iconic see through dress. Nicholl describes the 2007 split here Kate went out clubbing to show William what he was missing; William had felt pressured about settling down with her and broke up. They reconciled in 2007 although William waited until 2010 to propose to Kate. Covered also are William's close relationship with Kate's parents, Kate becoming acquainted with the Queen and Charles and others in William's family, the wedding plans, the royal wedding, and Kate's tours and first official royal duties. The book ends with the birth of the royal heir, Prince George of Cambridge. Nicoll has done excellent research and this is the book for Kate fans to buy.

I would have given it more stars had Nicholl not skewed some facts. She writes how William was embarrassed by his mother doing the Panorama interview and revealing Charles was involved with Camilla. It should be noted that Charles did his interview over one year before Diana's and he told the world he was unfaithful to his wife and his Secretary named Camilla as the woman he was involved with plus Charles told his biographer about Camilla (then married) as someone he would "continue to see." I think this is something a fact checker should have picked up on. Diana said there were three in the marriage but only after Charles admitted his adultery (subsequently the Parker Bowleses divorced). Why did it not upset William that his father admitted cheating on his mother and his father indicating he didn't love Diana? This is something that Nicholl did not pick up on (to please Charles perhaps). Also she indicates that the news "said" Diana was "having and affair" with Will Carling. Carling denied any affair took place.

And there is constant praise of Kate she had the perfect dorm room, did everything well, was stunning, dressed very well,did not smoke and took little alcohol. Kate did club and did drink and there were pictures of her with cigarettes.

In one case (which seemed to make William look like a wimp) when they were "just friends" and a young woman was coming on to William at a party, Kate rushed over put her arms around William and William said "I have a girlfriend" and mouthed to Kate "thank you." I don't know where the source of the story came from but it made Kate look possessive and William incapable of handling things. I found it offputting instead of making Kate look like a good friend.

Now for the work experience. The author maintains that Kate sent resumes to art galleries and didn't hear anything or get a job. That is hard to believe since I think some galleries would have kicked open the door and welcomed Kate as an employee. Kate got the job with Belle Robinson perhaps because the press was starting to wonder why she was unemployed after 18 months and allegedly the Queen wondered too. Kate then got the job at Jigsaw owned by Belle Robinson with very flexible hours. I cringed at reading about how she got advice from Camilla (of all people--I hope this is not true) to keep her "diary" free so she can be available for William. Camilla did a lot more than keeping her diary free to be able to marry Charles but that's another story. In any case, Kate left Jigsaw after a relatively short time and got her flexible hours at Party Pieces. Kate did little work in the years she waited for William. I am wondering if this part of her life really makes her any sort of role model, since everything was put on hold for William. Kate so far has not demonstrated much change in her work patterns. Nicholl goes in detail in Kate's attempt to start a children's clothing line ca. 2006 but at that time Kate was partying and vacationing with William so the problem would be (in my opinion) she didn't have time to get the business going.

All in all this is a good book but some fact checking and maybe less gushing about how "perfect" Kate is. She's a lovely young woman but there have been some critics of her pre marriage lifestyle.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on December 5, 2013
There's nothing new about the stories in the book. It's like reading the numerous magazines about Kate all over again. I don't recommend it. Don't waste your money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 15, 2014
We read this book for our book club. Unfortunately, it's a bit biased in Kate's favor (I sort of knew that going in, but it's important to keep it in mind while you read it). There are definitely some slow parts where her family is concerned, but I did find some interesting tidbits about her parents and how they lived abroad as children. I think her pursuit of William was very calculated and it's a shame someone won't spill those details. Now that's a book I would read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Kate: A Biography
Kate: A Biography by Marcia Moody (Hardcover - October 1, 2013)

Kate's Style: Smart, Chic Fashion from a Royal Role Model
Kate's Style: Smart, Chic Fashion from a Royal Role Model by (Lifestyle journalist) Caroline Jones (Paperback - July 1, 2013)

Kate: Loyal Wife, Royal Mother, Queen-In-Waiting
Kate: Loyal Wife, Royal Mother, Queen-In-Waiting by Jessica Long (Paperback - March 14, 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.