Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and surprisingly funny
Anyone who wants to believe that Katharine Hepburn was as fascinating in life as she was on the screen - and put me on that list - will love this book. A. Scott Berg's memoir, Kate Remembered - and please note that the author informs at the onset that this is a memoir, not an official biography - captures a Hepburn who is always on, always ready with a pithy one-liner,...
Published on July 24, 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promises too much, but still worthwhile
This book is interesting and valuable because it provides a glimpse of Miss Hepburn in her later years vouchsafed to few.
As is so often the case however, the media coverage of this book promises far more than the book delivers. Moreover, there is far too much of the author here, and not enough of the subject. With the exception of glimpses of the history of the...
Published on July 14, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and surprisingly funny, July 24, 2003
This review is from: Kate Remembered (Hardcover)
Anyone who wants to believe that Katharine Hepburn was as fascinating in life as she was on the screen - and put me on that list - will love this book. A. Scott Berg's memoir, Kate Remembered - and please note that the author informs at the onset that this is a memoir, not an official biography - captures a Hepburn who is always on, always ready with a pithy one-liner, always capable of a grand gesture, but who never seems fake or dishonest. It was impossible for me to read this without hearing her distinctive voice every time Berg quoted her.
Although this does repeat some of the material in Miss Hepburn's own two forays into writing, and perhaps they have more of an authoritative voice since they came from her pen, it is worth reading for the gaps it fills and for Berg's tender treatment of his subject.
To be honest, it is worth the entire cover price just to read about the surreal dinner party the evening that Michael Jackson came to dinner. Hepburn's one-liners interspersed with Jackson's silence and the other guests' continually failing attempts to make conversation is laugh-out-loud funny. When it became obvious that Jackson had never even seen a Hepburn movie (but said how much he loved them), I was laughing so hard, I dropped the book.
Berg grabbed me on page one, and held my interest through the end.
Read it. By the time you reach the end, you will probably want to go out and rent several of Hepburn's movies, if you don't have them already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essence of a Life Captured, July 13, 2003
By 
Archer Hope "J.C." (Radford, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kate Remembered (Hardcover)
Easily the best biography I've ever read. It truly captures the essence of the legendary woman in an intimate and honest light. Berg does an excellent job of capturing the details of what made Katharine Hepburn who she was and chronicles a life that defines a century. The book includes moments of genuine hilarity (such as Michael Jackson coming to dinner) and heartbreak (the death of her beloved Spencer and her own failing health). If you're looking for titillating details or long-buried-secrets this isn't the place to look (sure, there are some small surprises and her personality is more clearly defined, but there's nothing truly shocking) but if you want to get a better understanding and new respect for one of America's most influential and groundbreaking women, Berg's portrait of a lady will be a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect companion to other Kate books, July 15, 2003
This review is from: Kate Remembered (Hardcover)
Having read Hepburn's autobiography (which the author shamelessly tells of acting as her informal editor for) and another book that tells her story behind the making of the African Queen, Kate Remembered is one of those "gotta run out and buy" books we closet Hepburn fans love to read.
Once the reader gets beyond the story of the relationship between Berg and Hepburn and Berg and his other interview subjects (which I am strongly averse to, and think most people will find rather boring - after all, we didn't pay to hear Berg's professional conquests), there are some real gems in this book. My favorites are the times when Hepburn confesses her humanity and admits her mistakes. This is truly Berg's sole victory - revealing the human side of one of America's most private and cherished celebrities.
Obviously Berg had his foot in the door early, born to a father inside the industry. True, the whole thing smacks of elitism, yet Berg can't resist telling on the people who used Hepburn and others to step over to reach another star (including Michael Jackson). Was he not much the same?
Another thing that sticks in one's mind is how Berg plays up Spencer Tracy's alcoholism but downplays the fact Hepburn constantly reminded him at her house, "drinks are at 6, dinner is at 7." Need I say more?
All in all, an enjoyable read. The dialogue is cleverly written and does make one feel as if they're an onlooker. But the relationship between Berg and Hepburn, and choosing to include it in the book is, well, rather messy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly written by a good friend, January 21, 2004
This review is from: Kate Remembered (Hardcover)
One quickly gets the sense that this timely biography of the inimitable Hepburn was written by someone she knew and trusted, someone who would do a good and honest job of getting her life, thoughts, loves, friends, and history recorded in a way that did them kindly justice. Much has already, of course, been written by this icon, but Kate (the book) is full of fresh and intimate looks at her life with more emphasis on her thoughts and memories than other more straightforward biographies. It becomes something of a cross between the introspection of a memoir blended with the fact-based details of a biography. Katherine Hepburn's own voice comes through clearly in the many quotes with which author Berg seasons his book.
Wonderful. Highest recommendation for those who can't get enough about this very special woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promises too much, but still worthwhile, July 14, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kate Remembered (Hardcover)
This book is interesting and valuable because it provides a glimpse of Miss Hepburn in her later years vouchsafed to few.
As is so often the case however, the media coverage of this book promises far more than the book delivers. Moreover, there is far too much of the author here, and not enough of the subject. With the exception of glimpses of the history of the author's relationship with the subject,and the story of Miss Hepburn's last years as seen by the author there is very little here that is new to anyone who has read Miss Hepburn's autobiography. In addition, someone whose image of Spencer Tracy consisted solely of what this book purports to tell us would be hard-pressed to figure out why anyone would like- much less love him. He was a far more intelligent and likeable person than Mr Berg tells us, and he is done an injustice here, as he has been in most of what has been written of him, which has been mainly concerned with his alcohol problem.
This book would have been far more interesting had Mr Berg chosen to interpose himself less between his subject and his audience. For example, Irene Mayer Selznick was clearly a significant figure in the life of Katharine Hepburn,but the amount of space given to her and her opinions in this book is excessive. Having said that, I must also say that she is the only person in Miss Hepburn's life who is presented in this book with any degree of depth.
In short, this book is interesting and valuable not because it tells us any "secrets" of any significance, or refutes much of significance written by others. It is a warm memoir which gives us snapshots of a remarkable human being, whose ability to cope in the sunset of her life makes her even more remarkable, as years of theory were put into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Job, Scott Berg!, September 6, 2003
This review is from: Kate Remembered (Hardcover)
Scott had the honor of being allowed into Katharine Hepburn's inner circle, and we are fortunate that he shared her life story with us. The bond they developed was genuine and the author did not exploit it, in my opinion.
The writing is superb -- readers are able to visualize each scene as though it is happening before our eyes. The dialogue is engaging. When Kate provided Scott with his own set of keys to her home and involved him in the ritual of pressing the car horn at Fenwick, you can't help but applaud him for being accepted as a member of her family.
The book flows very smoothly. The details regarding Hollywood and its actors provide great insight. The disclosures about Spencer Tracy, including his death were moving. The author's keen observations and personal comments add color to the biography. Whether you're a fan of Hepburn or not, "Kate Remembered" is an uplifting story about an amazing woman and the writer who considered himself her greatest fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good job of exploitation Mr Berg!!, January 19, 2009
This review is from: Kate Remembered (Paperback)
I came accross Scott Berg's book several years ago on the bargin table at Walmart. I should have left it there. Katharine Hepburn could not possibly be less than interesting, but I had to really work to finish this book. The book was more about the author and his agenda than the woman he called his friend. I found a man with a very big ego giving a less than flattering portrait of someone who he said was his friend. My impression of the author based on this book is that he was very good at exploiting his friend Katharine Hepburn. I hope I never have a friend like Scott Berg. Where I come from, friends protect and emphasize the positive qualities. For a loving look at Katherine Hepburn I would recommendAt Home with Kate: Growing up in Katharine Hepburn's Household It was written with love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, February 20, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Kate Remembered (Hardcover)
I agree with the reviewers who have expressed feelings of disappointment. This book gives very little insight into the Katharine Hepburn, and too much insight into Scott Berg. I had hoped to learn some of what Katharine Hepburn thought and felt about so many things she experienced in her very full and interesting life. Not much of that is revealed here, and very little else is covered here that was not in Hepburn's autobiography "Me," which I heartily recommend instead of this book. The author met Hepburn in her later, lonely years, and describes the deterioration of her body and mind in great detail. I doubt this is what Hepburn had in mind when she told him her story, and this is not what a true friend does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I knew what to expect . . ., August 3, 2003
By 
Terry Mathews (a small town in east Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kate Remembered (Hardcover)
After Ms. Hepburn's death earlier this summer, A. Scott Berg spent a lot of time on television talking about his book. He made it clear, or so it seemed to me, that KATE REMEMBERED wasn't so much like his other definitive, meticulously researched biographies had been. This book was, rather, a personal recollection of a 20 year friendship which had begun while Berg was writing the Goldwyn biography.
I wasn't expecting sensational revelations about her life -- although I didn't know Howard Hughes was profoundly deaf. I expected a glimpse into the later years of what was arguably one of the most interesting lives of this century.
Katharine Hepburn was fiercely independent, physically strong, and intensely curious -- three qualities that served her well as she embarked on a life journey that would see her become Hollywood royalty, an American icon and "the other woman" in a famous love triangle.
Berg's writing style is at once comfortable and compelling. I loved the anecdotes about other Hollywood notables. The one that's been played out most in the media talks about Michael Jackson trying to use Hepburn to gain an introduction to Greta Garbo. I found the story about Warren Beatty much more interesting. After a dinner at Hepburn's rented home in Hollywood -- she was there filming A LOVE AFFAIR ---
Ms. Hepburn said of Annette Benning (Beatty's wife): "Poor girl."
When Berg asked her why she felt that way about Mrs. Beatty, as they both seemed in love,
Ms. Hepburn said,
"With the same man."
This is not a definitive biography of Katharine Hepburn. That book will surely come. KATE REMEMBERED is an intimate look at one of our greatest actresses. A. Scott Berg has honored Ms. Hepburn (and himself) by chronicling what he learned during their decades long friendship and by recording "Kate Remembered."
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Thought It Was Supposed to Be About Her, July 17, 2003
By 
S. L. Leuchs "stacemay1" (Glendale, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kate Remembered (Hardcover)
While I was very excited to read 'Kate Remembered,' I couldn't help but feel disappointed because it was more about Scott Berg's reaction to Kate than about Kate herself. I understand that they had been great friends and of course, should mention things like their first meeting and things they did together, but that should be it.
This book was supposed to be about her, not him. Berg spent almost half the book talking about his research for his Goldwyn and Lindbergh bio's and talking to Irene Selznick than about Kate herself. I was expecting some of what he gave, but more of what should have been there.
I was expecting there to be recounts and memories of Kate, but I thought it would be more Berg talking with others about their favorite "Kate experiences." While I expected him to interject some of his views and times with her, I wasn't expecting him to talk about himself throughout the entire book.
I was also disappointed in the lack of pictures. They were only at the beginning of each chapter and were not on gloss pages. I was hoping that there would be pictures of Fenwick and Old Saybrook and many of the other things, places, and people he was talking about.
The only reason I gave this book 3 stars was because it was about her. While I suggest that you read it as a completor to other books about Kate, stick with "Me" or the biography that Barbara Lemming did about her. Even the Garsin Kanin book that she absolutely hated would be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kate Remembered
Kate Remembered by A. Scott Berg (Hardcover - July 11, 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.