Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Kavik the Wolf Dog Mass Market Paperback – 1968


See all 24 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$1.18
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$10.00
12%20Days%20of%20Deals%20in%20Books
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback
  • Publisher: Scholastic (1968)
  • ASIN: B000H0HVAK
  • Product Dimensions: 7.4 x 5.2 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 3.2 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (39 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,476,010 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
35
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 39 customer reviews
I highly recomend this book to anyone who likes adventure.
A. Leska
In the tradition of Gentle Ben, Kavik the Wolf Dog is an incredible story of the power of loyalty and courage!
lafille17
I taught 4th and 5th graders for 23 years and read this book to every one of my classes.
Linda Roberts

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Chris Harford on May 28, 2003
Format: Paperback
Kavik was just an ordinary sled dog, except for one thing he is a half husky, half wolf sled dog. Kavik was also much more athletic than the other dogs, which is exactly why one businessman from California took a special interest in him. On his way to California Kavik is involved in a horrible plane crash, which kills the pilot and leaves Kavik hanging onto life by a thread. After being stranded in a metal cage for three days and facing things such as hunger, loneliness, and being attacked by wild animals, Kavik is barely alive when a boy finds him and frees him from his metal prison. The boy, with the help of his family, nurses Kavik back to health. The businessman comes looking for Kavik, and to the boy's dismay, takes him to his home in California. After spending countless weeks there, Kavik decides he has had enough and escapes from his home and tries to get back to Alaska. Along the way back, Kavik encounters many helping hands and many obstacles such as an old man and woman who live on a boat house, a pack of wolves, hunters, and miles of nearly impassible glaciers, all to get back to the family he loves.

I think all the characters in this book are very believable, especially since there is nothing like flying pigs or talking animals. This book kept me very emotionally involved because of all the twists and turns and because of all of the emotions involved in this book, ranging from humorous to heartbreaking. Kavik The Wolf Dog also teaches a very important lesson, that family is more important than anything. Not only does the book keep you involved, but it also has a great plot that has many surprises.
This story is a great book and it was hard to put down because it is one of the best books I have ever read.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful A Kid's Review on March 31, 2001
Format: Paperback
I loved this book! It may be dull at first, but soon you'll be hooked. I liked it so much, I didn't want it to end.
Kavik is a wolf dog who is a champion sled dog who belongs to Charlie One-Eye. He gets sold, but the plane flying him to his new "owner" Mr. Hunter it crashes, and Kavik is left to die. His only hope is a boy named Andy Evans who is out hunting. He is shocked when he finds Kavik, and wonders if he should take his gun and put him out of misery. But Kavik's golden eyes say "I'm not ready to die." Andy takes him home, and after a while, with the help of a nearby doctor, Kavik heals, But his courage is damaged from the crash. His owner returns to take him. Kavik is miserable in the puny dog run Mr. Hunter looked him in, and hates Mr. Hunter as well. One day when Mr. hunter is showing off Kavik, he runs away, on his quest to get home to Andy. Kavik gets a ride back up north on a boat with an elderly couple. He runs away from them, and meets a young female wolf and falls in love. Like in the real world, Kavik must fight another wolf for her, and he gets his courage back. But a hunter kills her, and Kavik continues to travel until he finally makes it home to Andy, and Andy gets to keep him. It is a wonderful book that has everything. Love, compassion, loyalty, adventure, action, and all that other stuff. You gotta read it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on November 27, 1999
Format: Hardcover
Kavik is a sled dog who is sold and flown over on plane. Only, he never arrives where he's supposed to be. The plane crashes and he's stranded in a cage for days. Then a boy named Andy Evans rescues him. Soon Kavik is well again and the champion sled dog's rightfull owner finds out that his dog survived and claims him back, but Kavik wants to stay with Andy. When Kavik arrives with his rightful owner, he is then 2,000 miles away from what he calls home. He's determined to arrive home again but it's a tough journey for a single dog.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Wayne S. Walker on May 29, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Kavik is wolf dog, three quarters malamute and one quarter wolf. He had been trained by Charlie One Eye to win the North American Sled Dog Derby at Fairbanks, AK. The dog is then purchased by George C. Hunter, who owns mining and fishing interests in Northern Alaska. However, the plane on which Hunter sends Kavik is downed in a storm. The pilot is killed, but Kavik survives, though badly injured, and is found by fifteen-year-old Andy Evans, who lives with his father and mother in northern Alaska. Mr. Evans works at one of Hunter's fisheries. With the help of Dr. Vic Walker, Andy nurses Kavik back to health.
Unfortunately, Kavik has been injured emotionally as well and runs in fear from other dogs in Copper City. When Mr. Hunter comes to the fishing village, Kurt Evans tries to tell Hunter about Kavik's fear but the owner takes Kavik anyway. However, Kavik keeps escaping and going back to the Evans home, so Hunter sends him on a boat to his other home in Seattle, WA. Hunter's trainer, Tom McCarty, sees that Kavik longs to go back north, so he "accidentally" lets the dog escape to start the 2,000 mile journey to northern Alaska. Along the way Kavik is taken to the pound, adopted by a sailing couple named John and Martha Kent, and allowed again to go. He is attacked by wolves, finds a wolf mate, and himself is hunted as a wolf. What will happen to the dog? Will he make it back to Andy?
Lassie Come-Home meets The Call of the Wild. I read Kavik mostly while on vacation and found it to be an enjoyable and exciting adventure. It is well written and easy to read. The Horn Book said, "Swiftly paced from the first page...dramatic and absorbing." There is very little objectionable. There is some savagery, but the book is about animals living in the wilderness.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?