Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars original health insights from a world traveler, April 16, 2011
This review is from: Keeley's Kures: Alternative practices from the trails and trials of a world-champion hobo-adventurer (Paperback)
A book for independent thinkers who don't run to the doctor for a pill at the first sneeze. Keeley easily Kured my computer related problems with the simple suggestions to support the forearms with different sized and shaped books in front of the keyboard and to raise or lower the monitor to relieve neck and eye strain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and enlightening!, April 16, 2011
This review is from: Keeley's Kures: Alternative practices from the trails and trials of a world-champion hobo-adventurer (Paperback)
What differentiates Keeley's Kures from similar primers is that this one reads like a bona fide story ... a zippy page-turner whose net effect reminds us that everything is indeed connected to one magnificent whole. Reading this brought to mind my medical epiphany while temping at MSU years ago. I had the unique opportunity of working in both the College of Human Medicine (compartmentalized / exclusive / arrogant / chilly ) immediately followed by a 6-month stint at the College of Osteopathic Medicine ( unified / inclusive / humanizing / warm). The sharp juxtaposition was almost palpable.... I literally needed a sweater each time I crossed the hall from COM to CHM b-r-r-r-r-rrr!
Keeley's Kures brings back the warm. Dynamite index and editing. Five Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A field guide to maintaining the meatware, April 16, 2011
This review is from: Keeley's Kures: Alternative practices from the trails and trials of a world-champion hobo-adventurer (Paperback)
The May 1979 issue of Penthouse featured an article on Hobo's; it changed my life - at a young age the open road was calling. Eventually I dropped out of college and hit the rails - I covered most of the 50 states (and a fair bit of Canada) jumping freight trains from place to place. It was during this time I first crossed paths with Bo Keeley. I share the same reaction of many others who have read Keeley's Kures - why wasn't this information distilled into a useful format a long time ago? This is exactly the sort of practical health management information a person in their mid-40's needs to read - especially with the chill of mortality closing in from not being able to run so fast, walk so far, or see so well. Keeley's Kures is not just a fun read, it's an excellent reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many benefits, so seldom revealed, April 13, 2011
This review is from: Keeley's Kures: Alternative practices from the trails and trials of a world-champion hobo-adventurer (Paperback)
... or at least many of us. What's so desperately important about this marvelous little book is that as the sub-subtitle states: it engenders "a cheerful frame of mind, reinforced by options of alternative medicine, may mend [to] put the ghosts of fear of traditional doctors and hospitals on the run." What Bo Keeley provides in his several road-bred experiences are practical solutions that aren't even discussed inside most doctors' offices. They work. At least one of them does: my heretofore insusceptible carpal tunnel is now 'on the run' thanks to the simple exercises and rest practices.

The sleeper helpers from KK lie in the final chapter entitled "Timely Issues." I especially appreciate Keeley's sober yet indignant judgment of the Modern American Cancer (Enabling) Juggernaut, along with how he would otherwise choose to have cancer--especially symptomless cancer for elderly people--handled. Such a perspective may save tens of thousands, if not millions, of souls from premature, debilitated departure. My mother was systematically nuked and poisoned for a cancer that had no noticeable symptoms, and sure enough her 'system' rapidly perished; I didn't know enough to ask questions. The Kures helps you ask intelligent questions and step up to taking responsibility for the care of yourself and those you want to keep around awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Desert hot springs and Psoriasis, November 8, 2013
This review is from: Keeley's Kures (Kindle Edition)
KEELY'S KURES is well documented and informative for natural cures. Thanks to expert advice and discovering an alternative approach to dermatologist. I have received professional treatment and alternative approach to medicine for Psoriasis. This year was a big success in discovering real cure thanks to Bo keely desert skills at the hot springs and other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some very practical things to know from someone who does, May 26, 2011
By 
Jay S. Solinger "Rick 325" (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keeley's Kures: Alternative practices from the trails and trials of a world-champion hobo-adventurer (Paperback)
This book is written by a person with real medical expertise as well as street knowledge of how to treat and prevent problems without the use of medicine. Not every "kure" will be useful because there are cures or preventions for many things that not all of us will get. Yet many things can be prevented or cured with a little street knowledge backed up with real medical study. For example I had always wondered how to prevent bladder or kidney stones and Bo Keeley tells you exactly what you need to do if you want to avoid or get rid of this ailment. I like the book and would recommend it for what it is. It does not give a cure or prevention for everything but speaks of many things that the author has personally dealt with in a way that is educational and amusing in the same breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars life is the best teacher, May 14, 2011
By 
This review is from: Keeley's Kures: Alternative practices from the trails and trials of a world-champion hobo-adventurer (Paperback)
I've become jaded by doctors visits where there is either no diagnosis or the diagnosis is a random stab in the dark and is not helpful. There are clearly subtleties that modern medicine is too rigid to address. I am thankful for this book because it provides concrete, practical remedies by a person who is immersed in the world not boxed up in a clinic. I can vouch that bo has the methodological and systematic approach to life required to distill an effective kure. I am glad for the alternatives this book provides, and the lessons gleaned directly from life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kampfire Kures, April 20, 2011
This review is from: Keeley's Kures: Alternative practices from the trails and trials of a world-champion hobo-adventurer (Paperback)
This book is a treasure, based, as all good folk medicine is, on personal
experience overworked with professional know-how. Gather 'round the Keely kampfire
and listen to a modern day medicine man spin healing tales. I love it. Doc Bo continues
to carve out trails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and full of adventure, April 18, 2011
By 
This review is from: Keeley's Kures: Alternative practices from the trails and trials of a world-champion hobo-adventurer (Paperback)
I first met Bo Keeley in 1999 when we were both part-time faculty at Palo Verde College in Blythe, CA. As a newbie in the desert, I learned a lot of practical survival hints from Bo. I still travel with a blanket in the car for warmth in winter or shade in summer; turn around while hiking to see what the terrain will look like on the return trip; and have sucked on a smooth pebble to keep from dehydrating in a pinch. I don't know how many times I've quoted Bo or retold the stories of his adventures, many of which I read in manuscript or emails over the last decade. I am glad to see this book in print and am ordering two copies -- one for my sister, who travels a lot, and one for the glove compartment, in lieu of a traditional first aid book. I appreciate the alphabetical organization of the book and the index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the price and then some, April 17, 2011
This review is from: Keeley's Kures: Alternative practices from the trails and trials of a world-champion hobo-adventurer (Paperback)
If you only learn that bubblegum can be used in an emergency to close a thorax wound--a potentially life saving technique--from this book, it will have already paid for itself. Keeley's Kures though, has dozens of useful tips covering a host of illnesses--from asthma to carpel tunnel syndrome--and emergency situations--from altitude sickness to snakebite. Pick it up, keep it handy. It might just save you from an unnecessary doctor visit or six.
Peter Gorman, author of Ayahuasca in My Blood--25 Years of Medicine Dreaming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.