Customer Reviews

502
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

110 of 116 people found the following review helpful
on May 1, 2011
I was very excited when I purchased these boots. I had been looking high and low for a comfortable, stylish, and simple pair of full grain leather knee high boots. They work very well with casual and going out looks, including both pants and skirts. When I am not wearing them, I kept them zipped up and upright in order to preserve the natural shaping from the uppers, which are great. They broke in very well and keep their shape. However, after only a couple of months of wear (and not wearing every day), the soles cracked. My wonderful $150 boots are useless. The soles are cracked straight across, which will only get worse with more wear. I do not bend my soles in weird, contorted positions, nor do I stuff my boots into a bag, or any other thing that might have forced the toes to bend too far and cause the soles to crack. I am still waiting to hear back from Keen on this matter. Hopefully, they will give me my money back, as if this happened so quickly the first time, I am not sure I'd want another pair. The soles are glued on, so they are not replaceable. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend these boots, as much as I'd like to. Save your money.
2121 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
on July 17, 2012
Size Name: 8.5 B(M) USColor Name: OakVerified Purchase
I received these boots to Australia in June and within 1 month the sole of one of the boots has completely split in two.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
64 of 76 people found the following review helpful
on September 11, 2010
I ordered both these and the Kaci boots from Keen. I have large calves in comparison to my small feet but these looked like they might be relatively broad in the calf and couldn't find a circumference listed anywhere. Well, the circumference was about 14-14.5" which is way to small for my calves and the ankle is very narrow. This would have worked if the calf would have been wider but for me it didn't work. The boots are very nice looking but just didn't work for me. I did have a friend with thin calves try them on and they looked great on her but she said they rubbed too much around her ankle. The elastic gore at the top doesn't actually have much give so if you don't have relatively small calves these probably won't work for you but the leather quality and look of the boots was very nice. The Kaci boots by the way fit well (a bit tight at first but soft leather stretched quickly). They are a bit more rugged looking and a lot more casual but very comfortable and warm.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on January 2, 2012
Two months after I purchased these, the soles cracked right across the bottom. Keen was very helpful in returning them, but two months into wearing the new pair the soles are beginning to crack again. I will not be purchasing more Keens.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on October 13, 2014
Size Name: 6.5 B(M) USColor Name: Cathay SpiceVerified Purchase
These have scratches from one day of normal use and I was not given an option to exchange them. I have them in black and they are fantastic and scratch free after an entire season.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase
This is the first time I've written a product review but this time I feel like it might be beneficial to other potential buyers. I've been wanting black books and was waffling between a few different brands/styles, but while at a museum I saw someone wearing pair of these (in Oak), and after creepily checking them out from all angles I decided they were really nice and my mind was made up. I was super excited but it took them three weeks to arrive (a full week between order placement and being shipped). I've never had issues with such slow service from Amazon. I'll cut them some slack because there was bad weather during week two, but still, it was frustrating. When they finally arrived I was so happy!! ...and then really disappointed. All the beautiful detailing blends in and isn't visible in the black leather the way it was with the brown leather. The angle of the top and the buckles look great from the side, but with the classic Keen toe and lack of visible detail, it looks like a fancy rain boot from the front. The Oak version was really cute and the black is just really meh.

Fit-wise... also disappointing. I usually wear a 5.5 or 6 and ordered a 6, which fit well on my right foot, but was very tight on my left (and I know all left feet are slightly bigger, but I've never had an issue before). That was with thin wool ankle socks and skinny jeans. I could fit a very thick wool knee sock on my right foot, but could barely zip it up over my calf, and I'd say my calves are average size. I had the same worry as some other commenters because the calf part of the boot looks huge in some of the photos I found on ebay/other sites, but it was a comfortably snug fit with just jeans underneath. It definitely would have been too tight to comfortably wear knee socks under. I'm not sure what another commenter meant about fuzzy lining because mine are leather all the way down to the insole. I think they would have been great in warmer weather with a skirt.

The biggest problem for me was the space above my ankle on the front of the boot. There was enough space there (about an inch when I pinched the leather) that my heel lifted a lot with every step I took, even with the thick heel pads on the insoles. Putting in a heel insert would have essentially turned these into wedges, because the heel already has a bit of height to it. It was uncomfortable enough that I knew I wouldn't wear them, even if I ordered a half size up in a new color. Also, this is visible in the pictures and has been mentioned in other reviews, but the sole is very slick and hard. I thought it would be fine traction-wise if it was typical Keen rubbery sole material, but this stuff is hard and wouldn't be helpful on anything wet or frozen. I love all my other Keens and I reaaaaally wanted to love this boot but my search and my heart will go on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on November 1, 2012
Size Name: 6.5 B(M) USColor Name: BlackVerified Purchase
I absolutely love my boots!

Great quality so far, and absolutely no break-in period.

I would suggest finding somewhere that you can try these on before purchasing them online to make sure they will fit. The straps can be undone, but they don't seem to work at making the boot adjustable, as they make the boot shaft look a bit odd. This lack of adjustbility is why I gave them four out of five stars. They work well with almost any outfit and I get lots of compliments on them. They're very comfy, but as I said you would definitely want to try them on be before buying. Otherwise they fit my muscular calves very well and are super comfortable!

Great job, Keen!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on March 21, 2014
If you have 15" calves these will fit you! If you have 16" calves they will be tight but still fit. I ordered these from REI because I read about the sole splitting problem so now if they split within a few months or so I can return them with no hassle. Anyway, I have tried many pairs of boots looking for ones that fit wider calves. These finally fit!

I had the keen kaci high boots that fit wonderfully but I have worn them so much its time to find new boots. These are a stiff leather but very high quality. So they are stiff at first and seem stiff at the ankles but I'm 100% positive that they will wear in and be so comfortable. I can already tell the foot bed is extremely comfy.

I can wear these over skinny jeans, which then my calves are 16" with jeans on and they fit tightly. Would prefer a little more room but they will stretch and loosen up and be perfect after I wear them for a while.

They are extremely cute boots too! Love the buckles on the sides, the color (oak) is beautiful, the perfect shade of brown. If you have skinnier legs I think these will work just as well and look just as nice.

I usually wear size 7.5 to size 8 and I got size 8 because I seem to wear 8 in Keens and they fit really well. these are more narrow in the toes than other keen shoes so if you like more room, get another half size up. I could probably wear a size 8.5 in these boots but I think 8 will be fine.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 18, 2012
I love the look of the boots before you put them on. They do a strange flare thing at top and don't look right with a skirt or dress, one of the reasons I bought the boots. But, my biggest problem with them is they are not designed for a petite person--the shaft is too long, especially for a boot that came up in a search for mid-calf boots. Not all women are tall!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 7, 2013
Size Name: 8.5 B(M) USColor Name: BlackVerified Purchase
I like Keens and find them very comfortable. But I ALWAYS order them a half size larger than I do with any other brand. I don't know why they size them differently, but ordering up a half size is an easy fix.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.