Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's what I expected
This is an album of Los Lonely Boys doing some of their best/most well-known songs (along with a few covers) in an acoustic fashion.
Someone who rates it 1 star because "DUURR..tHEres nOtHINg NeW oN hEre!!".. is obviously not actually rating the music contained on the album in question, but using the review space for said album to voice their disdain for the fact...
Published on October 2, 2010 by Raoul Duke

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LLB
I sure like these kids, but this album is a bit a re-hash...enjoyed it though.
Published on November 1, 2010 by Robert Hardman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's what I expected, October 2, 2010
By 
Raoul Duke (Just outside of Barstow) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Keep on Giving: Acoustic Live (Audio CD)
This is an album of Los Lonely Boys doing some of their best/most well-known songs (along with a few covers) in an acoustic fashion.
Someone who rates it 1 star because "DUURR..tHEres nOtHINg NeW oN hEre!!".. is obviously not actually rating the music contained on the album in question, but using the review space for said album to voice their disdain for the fact that they want more new music from the band. (It's a perfectly reasonable wish, but in my opinion this is the wrong way to express it.)

That being said, the boys are in fine form here. The soaring harmonies, the catchy melodies, and the formidable instrumental talent are all familiar, but the acoustic setting adds a new dynamic of musicality for my earholes to enjoy.

If you are already a fan of Los Lonely Boys and you also happen to appreciate acoustic instrumentation, I don't think it's possible to go wrong here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Performances !, October 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been listening to this beautiful album all day and can now give my review of it. It is so good! Don't even give it another thought - just go buy it! I want to know who got to pick the performances on this one - they are superior! The sound of the acoustic guitar on most of the tracks is really unique also. This is really what I needed right now - thank you Los Lonely Boys! Not a bad song on the whole CD - love it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have!, October 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keep on Giving: Acoustic Live (Audio CD)
If you love "Texican Rock n Roll" then "Keep On Giving" acoustic style is for you. If you don't know what "Texican Rock n Roll" is, well then, this cd is "A MUST HAVE".

Los Lonely Boys are three brothers that have a magnificient talent of writing their own songs, composing their own music, and giving outstanding performances. The Garza brothers' blend is an amazing harmony that will stun you. Their energy exudes through the music, and you can feel every note electricfying your body. The beautiful heartfelt songs will capture your soul; but don't be surprised when you are laughing from The Boys' humor. The interaction amongst each other and with the crowd feels like nothing you have ever felt before while listensing to a cd. You will feel like you are at this concert while it was being taped live.

A smooth blend of Rock n Roll, Blues, Willie Nelson, Santana, Jimmy Hendrix, Richie Valens and Stevie Ray Vaughn is what you will experience when listening to Los Lonely Boys. This band has something for everybody.

You will not regret getting "Keep On Giving"...and I know you will be coming back for more! "Get Lonely".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving You Always, October 2, 2010
This review is from: Keep on Giving: Acoustic Live (Audio CD)
There is nothing like experiencing a LIVE Los Lonely Boys show. The only thing that could make it better is being front and center every single time I see them. I was leary when I first found out that LLB was going to begin their 2009 tour playing Acoustic shows. Was I ever wrong to doubt the genius of management and LLB. These shows were incredible, a little more intimate with the stories, the joking, and engaging the audience with their charismatic personalities. This CD captures the essence of who Henry, JoJo and Ringo are and what Los Lonely Boys is about. It includes many fan favorites and a classic "Beast of Burden" with Alejandro Escovedo on vocals, Carrie Rodriquez on fiddle and Dave Pulkingham on guitar who add more spice to this already tasty music burrito. This would be a welcomed addition to any LLB fan CD collection and for those fans who have actually gone to any of the Acoustic Brotherhood shows - you know what I'm talking about. I have a smile on my face just thinking about them.

I'll wait patiently for the new stuff. We have been fortunate to hear 1 song in the last couple of months. March can't get here soon enough but in the mean time, I'm going to continue to enjoy this CD and the others ... and If you want to get a potentional fan hooked - this is the CD to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Los Lonely Boys at their best!, October 2, 2010
This review is from: Keep on Giving: Acoustic Live (Audio CD)
This album is full of all the great LLB hits that you know and love! Even without the electric sound, everything about this album is electric. This is not your ordinary acoustic album! Their vocals sound amazing and the instrumentals are even more impressive. If you have ever wondered what it feels like to be up front and right in the action at one of Los Lonely Boys Acoustic Brotherhood Tour shows then this album is perfect for you. Adding to the collection of some of their most loved songs is "Beast of Burden" with Alejandro Escovedo and Carrie Rodriguez, a song previously only heard at a select few of LLB's live acoustic shows.

As for those that are hoping for lots of new music on this compilation album, this album is perfect to hold you over until Los Lonely Boys release a full album of new songs in early 2011!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Jubilent First Rate Live Acoustic Revue!, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When Los Lonely Boys successfully entered the 2010's in full force, they gave a
series of live acoustic performances that included two all-acoustic shows they gave
in Colorado in March of 2010 where it was successfully complied on this live album.
Keep On Giving--Acoustic Live! would have showcased the Garza brothers in one
of their finest performances as they perform a few of their classic hits, like Senorita,
More Than Love, Crazy Dream and Heaven as the live tracks are displayed vocally
in the seamstress three-part harmony displayed with a blazing guitar/bass interplay
between Henry and Jojo done in a tighter, extended format. The 13-track CD, their
first full-length album for an independent record label, called Playing In Traffic, they
come off more energetically as they do on their electric performances that includes
a long instrumental intro and solo section on Oye Mamacita, while the live set even
include successful versions of The Rolling Stones' Beast Of Burdon and Santana's
Evil Ways. However, despite several flawed moments, the band have managed to
put on a successful time-honoured live performance that rank as one of their finest
recordings while it feature guest appearances from Alejandro Escovedo and Carrie
Rodriguez (she plays a fiddle) where it make this disc a special and arresting must
as it deserves to be a homespun part for your MP3 set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised this wasn't a huge seller, October 28, 2011
By 
This review is from: Keep on Giving: Acoustic Live (Audio CD)
I am a fan of acoustic and "unplugged" sets in general and I think this is an excellent one. The unplugged style gives a different flavor to the songs you are already familiar with, such as "Heaven" and this set includes songs you can get nowhere else such as "Beast of Burden". Los Lonely Boys very good in concert and this gives a fresh spin on their music so overall, a very strong set - 4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acoustic Heaven!, October 19, 2010
After listening to this album, I wanted to share my views on it. "Keep on Giving" is exactly what it does. The title alone tells you what to expect and listening just proves the point. The music offers a different take on well known songs and every song is enjoyable, as a whole it is a very joyful experience. I believe music should make you smile and this cd does that ~ from beginning to end. On most cuts you can hear the band enjoying what they do, its not been overly done and you really get the bands personality and gifts shining through.Keep on Giving: Acoustic Live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So fun!, June 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keep on Giving: Acoustic Live (Audio CD)
Recorded in Colorado Springs and Boulder, and really fun to listen to. I'm from Colorado, so there you have that - love hearing the Boys talk to my town! The guitar riffs and drum kicks are awesome and it has all their best songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOS LONLEY BOYS, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Keep on Giving: Acoustic Live (Audio CD)
ANYTHING THAT LOS LONLEY BOYS DO IS FANTASTIC! ANYONE WHO HAS NEVER SEEN THEM IN CONCERT YOU HAVE TOO! LOVE THE BOYS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Keep on Giving: Acoustic Live
Keep on Giving: Acoustic Live by Los Lonely Boys (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.