Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real, cool old-school bacpack, October 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kelty Captain Backpack (Sports)
Here are things that can be hard to tell before you actually get it in your hands:

Construction quality is top-notch. The type you would have found in a boutique company USA made pack from 20-30 years ago. This one is made in the Phillipines.

The zippers are YKK. The smoothest & best.

The front pocket is hard to figure in photos but basically it is a pleated, huge pocket that zips on the right and gracefully carries a ton of stuff. Awesome. Better than expected :-)

The shoulder straps have fantastic padding. Super comfortable. Best I've had.

The inside "slab" pocket is like a file divider. It is best for documents, like it says. A bit snug for a 15" laptop. Not to worry as the main compartment is huge and accommodating for the size of this pack. I think it could handle 3 laptops if needed w/ no problems! Again, very pleasantly surprised by the great capacity.

The orange color is pretty bright and a tad shinier than I anticipated, but it's bold and cool, especially for SF Giants fans like *me*!

Carry handle is nicely padded.

Sunglasses can fit in top pocket (hard to see in photos) but not bigger or wider glasses. Certainly great for phone or keys or iPod though.

So far I love this pack and it appears that it should last for quite a while. Appears to be a very good value.

Recommended! Buy with confidence.

UPDATED: Decided to order both other colors due to some more conservative business needs. Both nice, but the blue is *stunning* and a total keeper. Orange is a lot of fun, but too bright for biz use in my opinion (keeping it though because it is really cool looking and will use for lots of other stuff).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome backpack for the price..., April 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kelty Captain Backpack (Sports)
I own several other type of Kelty backpacks for hiking/back country and have thus been very satisfied with their backpacks, specially the prices compared to Osprey and North Face.

Main reason for purchasing this backpack is for school purposes.

Pros:
Very sturdy and durable both from the outside and inside, including the stitching and zippers. Internal compartments for pencils, calculator, etc and laptop/notebook, which is great. Shoulder straps are comfortable and offer plenty of length to make adjustments. And looks and feels great, too.

Cons:
I don't like the chest and waist straps. They kind of get in the way, but I am sure you can cut them off and it would take care of this problem. Other than that, it is a great backpack.

I can see this backpack lasting for many years to come under regular use. Definitely worth the $70 to $80 investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great backpack!, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kelty Captain Backpack (Sports)
I spent a long time looking around for a nice not-too-big backpack and am happy to say this Kelty Captain pack is exactly what I was looking for. The quality is outstanding, the fabric is soft but really sturdy, big substantial zippers are built to last, and the sewing flawless. Also, the shoulder straps are super comfortable. I have nothing but great things to say about this pack and know it will be along with me on many adventures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product, June 20, 2013
By 
Carl Lallerstedt (Grayson, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kelty Captain Backpack (Sports)
Nice style with heavy duty zippers. Had to make keepers for the extra strap material to keep it from hanging down while wearing the pack. Think it will last for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect bag, June 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kelty Captain Backpack (Sports)
a VERY high quality bag. zippers are heavy duty. bag is an old classic style. could not be more happy with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Style, function, durability, but too small!, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kelty Captain Backpack (Sports)
Great pack super durability everything about this pack is awesome; style function, cushion straps, compartments my only complaint is the size. It's much smaller then most day packs and it seems like it was designed to carry a lap top and A few text books based on the size alone not gear for hiking skiing etc because you wouldn't be able to fit much in there. Make sure you look at the dimensions before you buy which I did not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One flaw, September 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kelty Captain Backpack (Sports)
This is a pretty great backpack. It holds everything I need to commute and I love the vintage look, but the one flaw is that there's no water bottle holder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Backpack!, May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kelty Captain Backpack (Sports)
Comfortable and Sturdy. Also, I love the color, and it has plenty of space inside and even a laptop sleeve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kelty Captain Backpack (Sports)
Terrific product! Well made; nice materials; stylish design and trendy color (orange).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kelty Captain Backpack
$80.00 $71.95 - $286.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.