Monthly Subscription
Current Issue: $0.00
September 1, 2014

Deliver to your Kindle or iPad, iPhone, Android reading app

 
 
The Kenyon Review (Free Exclusive Digest Edition)
 
See larger image
 

The Kenyon Review (Free Exclusive Digest Edition) [Kindle Edition]

by The Kenyon Review
2.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)

Delivered: Quarterly
Monthly Price: $0.00

  • Available on these devices
  • We will share your name and address with the publisher, but we will not share your email address without your permission. Learn more.
  • This subscription will automatically renew until you decide to cancel at any time. We’ll renew on your behalf at the lowest price available on Amazon at the time of renewal. Learn more about auto-renewal.
Please Note
All Kindle magazine subscriptions come with a free 14-day trial, but this exclusive digest edition of the magazine is always free for Kindle customers.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Editorial Reviews

Amazon is thrilled to offer Kindle literature and fiction fans an exclusive free digest of The Kenyon Review. The Kenyon Review is an international journal of literature, culture, and the arts. For over seventy years, The Kenyon Review has published award-winning poetry, stories, essays, excerpts and interviews in a quarterly format. Each issue is a selection designed to cultivate a reader's faith in the power of words to surprise, provoke, illuminate, and delight. This free exclusive digest includes sample content from the full edition of each issue of The Kenyon Review. If you like the digest and are interested in reading the complete issue, subscribe to the full edition.

While issues of the magazine feature previously unpublished work from some of the very best established writers working today, The Kenyon Review also has a legacy of discovering and publishing significant new talent-- a legacy that includes such writers as Flannery O'Connor, Thomas Pynchon, W.S. Merwin, Ruth Stone, and many more. The Kenyon Review continues the work of pairing established and emerging talent in each upcoming issue.

Work published in The Kenyon Review is routinely anthologized in prize collections such as the Best American Poetry, Best American Short Stories, the Pushcart Prize anthology, and collected in the PEN/O. Henry award series. The Kenyon Review authors have won many of the most prestigious awards for contemporary literature, including the Nobel Prize, the Pulitzer Prize, the Man Booker Prize, and the National Book Award. With each published issue, expect to read new work from the writers you love, and to learn about writers who will write the next generation of exceptional books.

Product Details

  • Publisher: The Kenyon Review (November 11, 2013)
  • Issues: 4 issues / year
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007D43ZLW
  • Your name, billing address and order information will be shared with the publisher.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
(24)
2.9 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poorly formatted for the kindle November 4, 2012
This is formatted like a Pdf for printed viewing. There are very wide margins which makes the text quite small. On every page I need to zoom in to fit the words to the screen which makes flipping pages cumbersome. Then when I go to the next page it needs to be zoomed again. I subscribe to other magazines that are formatted nicely and are easy to read. It makes it difficult to appreciate the content.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rendering issues April 16, 2012
I read the Editor's Note and the first two short stories with interest and enjoyment, but then I came to something titled "Handedness" that I can't make head or tail of. I suspect that the seemingly unrelated scraps of copy are meant to be captions for images that don't appear in my Kindle version, though even that wouldn't explain the seemingly random order of the text. I had hoped to solve this mystery by viewing the issue on Kindle for PC, but the journal is not available in that format, I find. Perhaps if I had a Kindle Fire...
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different but interesting. May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase
This isn't my usual type of read but it was interesting. I would recommend for a rainy day. Good pictures too.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some great--some not so great January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase
some of the authors wwere fantastic though several were a bit too far out there for me. overall i would recommend.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good November 14, 2012
By iatoak
Verified Purchase
this magazine is a good read. I was somewhat disappointed by the lack af range and somewhat depressing mood of all the articles. Maybe other issues would be different, but I don't have the money to waste on something just in case.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Kenyon Review (Free Exclusive Digest Edition) March 27, 2013
By Ron
Verified Purchase
On my Kindle I like to keep short stories and magazines for those times that I have to wait in waiting rooms, hospitals, at the mall or the parking lot while my wife is shopping.

I found the language and subject matter in the stories I read to be objectionable. I am not a prude, but I feel that it is an indication of a poor vocabulary when authors need to lean on profanity to move a story along. Sex scenes simply for the sake of a sex scene don't enhance the story, it digresses and is a indicator of a writers lack of imagination.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, fun, interesting lit fic June 27, 2014
Always something worth reading here - I find some lit journals inaccessible or a chore to start reading, but not this one.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
By terry
sorry formatting, not usable on ANY windows platform. Over 50% of all ePubs world wide use Windows platforms with aps as needed. Dumb move KR.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate it
Would not fully download and I am stuck with it in my cloud. BEWARE!!!!
Published 13 days ago by J. E GILCHRIST
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate it
I couldn't find it on my device, so I cannot really review it. Please advise.
Published 14 days ago by Deborah Cochran
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase
Wonderful magazine
Published 1 month ago by Michael Piper
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern View
It's interesting including wide range of Arts, but should include diferent cultures as well, it's the first time i get in touch with Review...it's Ok...
Published 3 months ago by oscar soles
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sample
This is a great sample of The Kenyon Review, a literary journal that I knew of but hadn't had the chance to actually read. Read more
Published 4 months ago by NM Reader
1.0 out of 5 stars reinstalls itself endlessly!
Strange, but I cannot remove this from my carousel or my device, despite all my efforts and calls to Amazon Kindle Customer Service.

No comments about content for now. Read more
Published 5 months ago by Jay
1.0 out of 5 stars Eh
I don't have time for this sort of collegiate stuff. And I have better sorces, VCU's "Blackbird," when I do.
Published 5 months ago by F. Carson
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious and dull
unless you are an english major with no imagination. even for free it's main usefulness was that I learned how to unsubscribe
Published 6 months ago by Geoffrey Wheatley
2.0 out of 5 stars read
I got this because it was free,stories were all right, it was OK but I would not pay for it.
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Jefrey Ball
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Journal Out There
This is only a sampler of the whole Kenyon Review, which I think is the best literary journal right now.
Published 12 months ago by Evan Weiss
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category