Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Kevin Smith: Too Fat For 40 [BluRay] [Blu-ray]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lori Mckenna Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 15, 2011
The other reviewer is obviously not a Kevin Smith fan and just caught something randomly on tv. Kevin Smith does NOT do stand up comedy. If I am wrong I apologise but how can someone complaing his jokes and punch lines suck when he is not telling jokes and punch lines?
Kevin's does Q and As. People ask him questions, sometimes he answers them straight up and sometimes he has a story to go with his answer. Some stories are awseome and funny, (serving jury dude with a tear in his rectum), otheres are not as funny but he tells you about himself and things that you wouldnt know. I don't know any celebrity as well as I know Kevin because poeple ask him about himself and he actually answers!
Too Fat For 40 is our first unedited Q and A we get to watch at home and it is the best! Cant wait for the next one!
22 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2016
Kevin Smith is one of my all time favorites he is funny and intriguing I love his movies and podcasts and would love to one day meet him in person and shake is hand and then ask him what the hell was his last movie about that weird walrus creature lol oh man he has one demented imagination guess thats why i like him though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2015
Kevin Smith is a truly gifted (and extremely funny) story-teller. He may orchestrate his show such that he gets the question (s) that he wants -- but you'd never know it. His delivery has an easy, laid-back feel to it, so its like hanging out with the funniest person you know. He is honest, and comes across as an average guy. I have watched this with my kids (16 and 19) and they love it as much as I do. (which probably tells you more about my family than it does about Kevin Smith, but I could watch it over and over again, and still laugh til I cry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2014
We lost George Carlin, and gained Kevin Smith. His movies may be a tad uneven, but his humor during live stand-up is off the hook. What a great time to sit and laugh as Kevin talks love, lust, the secret to smoking cessation and directing Bruce Willis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2012
I love Kevin Smith. He manages to take a simple question and turn it into an hour long response. The tangents his stories break off into would seem aggrivating if they didn't have a point. But every story connects to his point. Most people would have written these stories down and published books. Kevin talks about his stories instead. He knows his audience. I hope he never stops.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon December 9, 2011
Kevin Smith is a smart funny guy. Too Fat For 40 is a decent nearly two hour monologue. There are side splitting funny moments and then there are those moments where he went on a bit too long. Overall, this is a good watch, one time, no real repeat value here.

In some ways Kevin Smith has gone past his use by date. Maybe I've just heard him too much, with his podcast, many interviews on television and the radio, and all of his movies; his message is getting a little bit long in the tooth. He's still a funny guy, and enjoyable; he's just a little more predictable.

This event was funny overall. He claims it's a Q and A, and well, yes there is question and answers. This was recorded a while after his Southwest Airlines mess, so he doesn't rant about it. Some of the images of him with his wife are excellent. And he really has come to full comfort with his weight.

I think his 2006 stand up was much better. In fact I still do some of the stupid quotes from that event with my son (comics still gets a smile from both of us). An Evening With Kevin Smith 2: Evening Harder

As with everything Kevin Smith, there is strong language, and the jokes run the gamut of all sexual orientations. Even though this is not rated, it is certainly mature humor. Sensitive viewers need not apply. A simple test, a recurring joke is about a fat man being serviced by another guy. The fat guy lifts his belly and slaps the other guy's head with his belly at the big moment. If that isn't offensive, then this movie will be just fine.

Wish it was a little funnier, but is well worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2012
Kevin Smith has several DVD's and Blurays that are solely focused on his Q and A's, so for this one to stand above the rest, it would have to be unique. It is. He answers just one question, and spins it into several hours of hilarity that I wouldn't want to spoil for anyone here. Needless to say it's well worth your time and cash to check this out, and also, to go see him in person when you get the chance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
This guy has a story for everything. This is what he does, tell stories with a funny twist. All the while he is cutting up his life his mom and wife are in the audience. If you watch this show you'll understand why I mentioned that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2013
He gives you the blow by blow on the "too fat to fly" controversy that was reported in the national media. He also talked about his decision to quit directing. A very worthy follow up to the previous films of his Q&A.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2012
If you've seen his previous "evening with" shows, you'll find this one fun. The HUGE annoyance for me was he keeps saying "and what not" over and over again! Becomes distracting. The part where he's talking about working with Bruce Willis was my favorite part.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse