Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He is not a stand up comedian, he is himself!
The other reviewer is obviously not a Kevin Smith fan and just caught something randomly on tv. Kevin Smith does NOT do stand up comedy. If I am wrong I apologise but how can someone complaing his jokes and punch lines suck when he is not telling jokes and punch lines?
Kevin's does Q and As. People ask him questions, sometimes he answers them straight up and...
Published on October 15, 2011 by layomi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice follow up to the previous Kevin Smith Q&As
He gives you the blow by blow on the "too fat to fly" controversy that was reported in the national media. He also talked about his decision to quit directing. A very worthy follow up to the previous films of his Q&A.
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He is not a stand up comedian, he is himself!, October 15, 2011
The other reviewer is obviously not a Kevin Smith fan and just caught something randomly on tv. Kevin Smith does NOT do stand up comedy. If I am wrong I apologise but how can someone complaing his jokes and punch lines suck when he is not telling jokes and punch lines?
Kevin's does Q and As. People ask him questions, sometimes he answers them straight up and sometimes he has a story to go with his answer. Some stories are awseome and funny, (serving jury dude with a tear in his rectum), otheres are not as funny but he tells you about himself and things that you wouldnt know. I don't know any celebrity as well as I know Kevin because poeple ask him about himself and he actually answers!
Too Fat For 40 is our first unedited Q and A we get to watch at home and it is the best! Cant wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Smith is a God, November 13, 2012
This review is from: Kevin Smith: Too Fat For 40 (DVD)
I love Kevin Smith. He manages to take a simple question and turn it into an hour long response. The tangents his stories break off into would seem aggrivating if they didn't have a point. But every story connects to his point. Most people would have written these stories down and published books. Kevin talks about his stories instead. He knows his audience. I hope he never stops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Best Yet., April 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kevin Smith has several DVD's and Blurays that are solely focused on his Q and A's, so for this one to stand above the rest, it would have to be unique. It is. He answers just one question, and spins it into several hours of hilarity that I wouldn't want to spoil for anyone here. Needless to say it's well worth your time and cash to check this out, and also, to go see him in person when you get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Smith is fantastic as always, April 30, 2014
By 
Seth Irwin (Lebanon, NH, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kevin Smith: Too Fat For 40 (DVD)
Well, Kevin Smith is fantastic as always. I am a huge fan of his podcasts and this is basically a 4 hour live podcast. Wonderful and hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, March 16, 2014
This review is from: Kevin Smith: Too Fat For 40 (DVD)
One of the most interesting Q+A's with a director that I've ever seen. Kevin Smith provides so much insight and interesting stories throughout the show, you won't be able to stop watching. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars story teller, October 7, 2013
This guy has a story for everything. This is what he does, tell stories with a funny twist. All the while he is cutting up his life his mom and wife are in the audience. If you watch this show you'll understand why I mentioned that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice follow up to the previous Kevin Smith Q&As, September 19, 2013
By 
He gives you the blow by blow on the "too fat to fly" controversy that was reported in the national media. He also talked about his decision to quit directing. A very worthy follow up to the previous films of his Q&A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, August 11, 2013
Completely wrong and hilarious; but what else would you expect from Kevin Smith?! As long as you can forget his mom is in the audience you will be cracking up and not feeling horribly awkward!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stop saying "And what not", September 7, 2012
This review is from: Kevin Smith: Too Fat For 40 (DVD)
If you've seen his previous "evening with" shows, you'll find this one fun. The HUGE annoyance for me was he keeps saying "and what not" over and over again! Becomes distracting. The part where he's talking about working with Bruce Willis was my favorite part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well Yeah, It's Kevin Smith, He's a funny guy, December 9, 2011
This review is from: Kevin Smith: Too Fat For 40 (DVD)
Kevin Smith is a smart funny guy. Too Fat For 40 is a decent nearly two hour monologue. There are side splitting funny moments and then there are those moments where he went on a bit too long. Overall, this is a good watch, one time, no real repeat value here.

In some ways Kevin Smith has gone past his use by date. Maybe I've just heard him too much, with his podcast, many interviews on television and the radio, and all of his movies; his message is getting a little bit long in the tooth. He's still a funny guy, and enjoyable; he's just a little more predictable.

This event was funny overall. He claims it's a Q and A, and well, yes there is question and answers. This was recorded a while after his Southwest Airlines mess, so he doesn't rant about it. Some of the images of him with his wife are excellent. And he really has come to full comfort with his weight.

I think his 2006 stand up was much better. In fact I still do some of the stupid quotes from that event with my son (comics still gets a smile from both of us). An Evening With Kevin Smith 2: Evening Harder

As with everything Kevin Smith, there is strong language, and the jokes run the gamut of all sexual orientations. Even though this is not rated, it is certainly mature humor. Sensitive viewers need not apply. A simple test, a recurring joke is about a fat man being serviced by another guy. The fat guy lifts his belly and slaps the other guy's head with his belly at the big moment. If that isn't offensive, then this movie will be just fine.

Wish it was a little funnier, but is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kevin Smith: Too Fat For 40
Kevin Smith: Too Fat For 40 by Joey Figueroa (DVD - 2011)
$19.93 $14.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.