Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid entry into the AE saga, but nothing groundbreaking.
Khaos Legions, the newest Arch Enemy album at this time of writing, is not their best work, nor is it their worst (there is no such thing as a "bad" AE album, but I've found Anthems of Rebellion to be their weakest overall). I'm just going to do a by-the-points review here:

1. Angela's vocals - sounds like the vocal mixing/enhancing on "Doomsday Machine." No...
Published on June 11, 2011 by Jack Sanders

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Filler
Arch Enemy has always been at their best when they realize and play off of the contrast of the melodic genius of Michael Amott against the demonic growling of Angela Gossow.Their very best tracks over the years, 'Burning Angel', 'Dead Eyes See No Future' etc have always highlighted that dynamic tension. Kaos Legions does contain some great songs, especially 'No Gods, No...
Published on August 8, 2011 by SnowCrash7


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid entry into the AE saga, but nothing groundbreaking., June 11, 2011
This review is from: Khaos Legions (Audio CD)
Khaos Legions, the newest Arch Enemy album at this time of writing, is not their best work, nor is it their worst (there is no such thing as a "bad" AE album, but I've found Anthems of Rebellion to be their weakest overall). I'm just going to do a by-the-points review here:

1. Angela's vocals - sounds like the vocal mixing/enhancing on "Doomsday Machine." No complaints here.
2. Sound/production - masterful. It's loud, crystal clear, and you can hear every little nuance. Production is an A+.
3. Unfortunately, the lyric material is nothing new. Didn't we already gloss over the whole rebellion/resistance/revolt theme on "Anthems of Rebellion?" Maybe so, but here, it's supported with heavier, better music than AoR. The theme gets tiring after a while though, especially when it's just not an interesting subject for metal music anymore. I've sworn off Otep after "Smash the Control Machine" because of the same, boring material...and now AE has to have two albums with the same themes? We need to hear something new, guys. Please.
4. Riff-wise, the Amott brothers are seriously out of ideas. Listening to the whole album, I've heard at least 4-5 major riff passages that directly ripped off older AE riffs. One of the biggest offenders is the intro to "Cult of Chaos" - right up to the break into heaviness, it sounds almost exactly like the intro to "Nemesis" of the Doomsday Machine album. A second offender is one section in "No Gods, No Masters," which sounds like it was ripped directly from "Revolution Begins" off of the Rise of the Tyrant album. For shame! Otherwise, you're going to hear some very familiar dual-guitar work and the signature Amott guitar riffs. There is also a considerable amount of absolute shredding, which is never unwelcome.
5. There is at least one new piece of the overall sound that I haven't heard with Angela-era Arch Enemy, and that is blast-beats. They show up a few times throughout the album, but they never become obnoxious.

Overall, this AE album is quite certainly a solid entry into their album line-up, but nothing that's going to transcend the metal scene as we know it. The guitar work is familiar, Angela's vocals are still going strong, the music and its production/engineering is fantastic, BUT theme-wise, it gets tiring quickly and the riffs often borrow from older songs. I do have to say though, that it does dominate over a good many metal albums released in the mainstream today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back with a melodic death metal vengeance!, April 29, 2012
By 
Nikiforos V. Skoumas (Athens Greece, Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Khaos Legions (Audio CD)
"Khaos Legions" is the 9th studio album by Swedish-German melodic death metal band "Arch Enemy" featuring the long-established line up of guitarist Michael and Christopher Ammott, bassist Charlee D'Angelo, drummer Daniel Erlandsson and front woman Angela Gossow.

Music-wise "Khaos Legions" is equally based on melodies and riffs which makes for well balanced songwriting; The rhythm section is furious bringing to front double bass attack, thick toms complemented by down-tuned guitar riffs and rhythm guitar parts-still- the melodic guitar lines never fair to establish a firm presence on each and every song on the set-list.

It is at this point that one has to give credit to the band for understanding the importance of keeping things simple: Ammott's six-string melodies are cleverly crafted, simple (but not simplistic) and memorable; Angela for her part adds the growls distorting her voice in such a way where it is still possible for one to make out the lyrics. Most importantly the songs on "Khaos Legions" are clearly structured- an opening riff, a main body, a melodic verse and a chorus; so any performance is very well contained within the songwriting which makes for very disciplined musicianship.

Standout songs on this impressive 15-track collection include "Yesterday is dead and gone", "Bloodstained Cross", "No Gods, no Masters", "Thorns in my flesh" and "City of the Dead". If you are a fan of extreme yet melodic metal which plays by the rules of popular songwriting, then "Khaos Legions" is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid, satisfying release, February 17, 2013
This review is from: Khaos Legions (Audio CD)
Yes, Arch Enemy are a Swedish melodic death metal band that formed in the Nineties out of the ashes of a few other groups (i.e. Carnage, Carcass, Spiritual Beggars). And yes, they do wear their influences (i.e. Carcass, Slayer, At The Gates, The Crown, Metallica), proudly on their sleeves. But Arch Enemy are a band with their own sound. This is partially due to the fact that they have a vocalist (Angela Gossow), who is not only a female, but she is also one of the most brutal vocalists in all of the genre. But this is also partially due to the fact that very few other bands have been able to balance intense, blood-pumping metal with contagious melodies so successfully. So, even though they are one in a countless number of bands that have become more popular in recent years due to the resurgence of metalcore, they were still one of the earliest -- and therefore most important and influential -- groups to emerge from the Gothenburg scene in the mid-to-late 1990's and early 2000's.

Arch Enemy's eighth studio record, 2011's "Khaos Legions," is a surprisingly thrashy effort with boatloads of memorable guitar pyrotechnics. It begins on a bit of a subdued note, though, as "Khaos Overture" is an ominous intro track with siren-like guitar melodies backed up by a thumping, martial drum beat and creepy spoken-word vocals. But brutality then erupts as this intro piece flows into the all-out thrash fury of "Yesterday Is Dead And Gone," which explodes with blistering, buzzsaw speed metal picking, wah-tinged guitar leads, and positively monstrous death metal bellows from Gossow. It also lets rip a nicely melodic solo, too. And "Bloodstained Cross" is equally as intense, packing in a lot of thrashy and fiery guitar crunch, piercing vocal shrieks, and busy, blasting drums into its five-minute playing time. Some tasteful, Iron Maiden-ish tuneful guitar leads and two solos -- one being a screaming melodic solo, and the other being a wild, shredding one -- are also featured, here. "Under Black Flags We March," then, brings back some of those Maiden-derived twin-guitar harmonies, and augments them with stomping, chug and churning guitar hooks, and an ominously grumbling bass intro.

Next comes "No Gods, No Masters," which finds a rhythmic, thumping drum beat underpinning really tasty and textured, latter-day Carcass-esque melodic guitar leads and solos. "City Of The Dead" works in familiar fashion, with a creepy intro before a blistering, shredding solo comes screaming in, taking the song into brutal territory. But "City Of The Dead" is mostly of note for its extensive use of particularly epic, lengthy, mazy, and wailing guitar soloing. "Through The Eyes Of A raven" offsets a chunky, head-bangable main riff with soaring melodic leads and ripping solos. (It is home to one of the album's most excellent and technical solos.) Then, a pretty, acoustic-plucked outro enters the fray, thus helping to add even more texture to the mix. All of which make it a fine midpoint for the album, but not the highpoint. The succeeding "Cruelty Without Beauty" takes that prize, with its well-placed fast tempo change that rockets into propulsive blast beats and fiery, Slayer-worthy riffing. And even though some haunting, symphonic-sounding flourishes do crop up, here, they are overshadowed by the tune's awesome soloing section. (It finds guitarist Michael Arnott doing his best Kirk Hammett impression, while his younger brother, Christopher, impersonates Dave Mustaine.) Suffice it to say, it is one extremely infectious and air-guitar-able bit of soloing.

Of the six songs that remain, two are short little interlude-type tracks (those being "Turn To Dust" and the tranquil acoustic-tinged "We Are A Godless Entity"). And of the actual, proper songs, most of them are surprisingly brutal. Take "Cult Of Chaos," for example, as it is a barn-burner filled with excellent thrash riffage and tight and precise drumming. The gruesomely-entitled "Thorns In My Flesh" is another highlight, as it boasts a bunch of soaring, ripping, and epic guitar soloing, wah-wah-tinged leads, and some crunchy, churning licks. "Vengeance Is Mine" is another charging, rambunctious, thrashy shred-fest that boils over with fiery, In Flames-y melodic solo work. And so is the set closer, "Secrets," which features still more thrashy guitars and drums, as well as quite a bit of complex, technical, and multi-parted solos.

Admittedly, there is not much innovation to be found in "Khaos Legions." Regardless, this is a good, steady, steely piece of pure, unadulturatedly brutal-yet-simultaneously melodic death metal with chops aplenty. So what does this mean? It means that, when put in the simplest of laymen's terms, newcomers won't find much of interest, here, but it would be very surprising if all fans of both the band and genre are not satisfied with this album. And there's not much more to say about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Filler, August 8, 2011
By 
SnowCrash7 (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Khaos Legions (Audio CD)
Arch Enemy has always been at their best when they realize and play off of the contrast of the melodic genius of Michael Amott against the demonic growling of Angela Gossow.Their very best tracks over the years, 'Burning Angel', 'Dead Eyes See No Future' etc have always highlighted that dynamic tension. Kaos Legions does contain some great songs, especially 'No Gods, No Masters', and 'Blood Red Cross' which again are marked by that contrast of melodic genius and white hot brutality.
However the downside of this album is that there simply aren't enough songs like that. Too much filler. The downside of this album is captured and demonstrated in the entirety of Disc II where it seems that Michael either was not present or phones in his lines. Consequently that dynamic and exciting interplay simply isn't there on far too much of the album. What you are left with by that absence is nothing more than you could hear at your local heavy metal bar. And Arch Enemy are far more than that. I am actually a bit amazed that a group as accomplished as this doesn't realize what the factors are that make them so special and play more to those strengths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album!, July 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Khaos Legions (Audio CD)
This album pretty much blew me away. It was incredible and still had the Arch Enemy sound that has made me love the band in the first place. All I can really say at this point is buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arch Enemy, A First Time Listener's Opinion, June 17, 2011
This review is from: Khaos Legions (Audio CD)
I love all death metal genres and subgenres and had never listened to Arch Enemy, I was focused on heavier things like grindcore and tech death and had always preferred the original melodic death bands like In Flames, Carcass, and At the Gates to newer bands like Darkest hour or Arch Enemy. I was fully aware that Mike Amott played guitar, with his brother, and that *GASP* the band was fronted by a lady, but I just didn't feel the urgency to give up listening to Entombed, yet. Well after exhausting all the old bands and making it back to bands that I initially shied away from, I found myself staring at the new Arch Enemy album at Best Buy for $5.99 and couldn't in good conscience turn it down, and boy am I glad! This is probably the closest thing I've ever heard to Heartwork era Carcass. Angela Gossow is a dead ringer for Jeff Walker and her snarling rasp and growling roars are comparable to any number of frontmen throughout death metal. The music is riff driven mid-to-fast-paced, melodic death metal, with a modern American flourish for color. It's a less lazy Amon Amarth, trading blows with Arsis and Carcass. Songs have their own identity and what seems simple or chorus driven, is after repeated listening, ingrained in your brain! There is also some real heavy stuff, blast beats, razor sharp leads, and Gossow's killer vocals. In short this album is very good, and I will make it a point to go over their entire back catalog if this is the kind of super punchy death metal surprise I have in store for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still marching, still defiant - another impressive Arch Enemy album, June 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: Khaos Legions (Audio CD)
Khaos Legions is the latest offering from Swedish melodic death metal masters Arch Enemy. They're (deservedly) one of the most popular bands in metal, and they're also one of the most consistent, serving up an unbroken string of killer melodic death metal albums since the `90s. Khaos Legions is the band's eighth studio album, and it does not disappoint.

Khaos Legions doesn't diverge too much from the signature Arch Enemy sound, which is, essentially, the signature Swedish melodic death metal sound. You have the usual balance between neck-snapping rhythms, thrashing riffs and infectious melodies, plus of course the powerful harsh vocals of screamer Angela Gossow. As always, there are songs that are undeniably death metal and others that aside from the vocals could pass as power metal songs. Musically, Khaos Legions is a natural extension of the Doomsday Machine and Rise of the Tyrant sound, though lyrically the album brings to mind Anthems of Rebellion. "Under Black Flags We March" and "No Gods, No Masters" are great examples of this with their anthemic call to arms and message of defiance. It's one of those fast-paced and exciting albums that gets the blood pumping and has you raising your fists almost instantly.

If you're an Arch Enemy fan, you're obviously going to want to check this album out. It's nothing you haven't heard before from the band, but Khaos Legions is still a very impressive slab of melodic death metal from one of the few bands from the original Swedish movement that hasn't drastically changed their sound.

Edition Notes: There is a limited edition version of Khaos Legions that comes housed in a double digipack. It features a second disc with a handful of cover songs (most have been previously released) and a mail-in offer for an exclusive t-shirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going back in the right direction!, June 12, 2011
By 
This review is from: Khaos Legions (Audio CD)
I really like Arch Enemy & I was a bit disappointed w/ 'Rise of the Tyrant' but here w/ 'Khaos Legions' Arch Enemy got it right this time around! It's not a surprise that Arch Enemy tries to make aggressive music w/ melodic parts thrown in but while for me 'Rise of the Tyrant' seemed OK, this new disc is more FLUID from beginning to end & has everything in terms of style & production (the master mixer Andy Sneap back once again!) that you would expect from this band. Instead of listing "standout tracks," let me just tell you this album gets better as it goes along! There's no doubt if you are a fan of this band that you will be very pleased with this release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible CD! A must-own for any metal collection!, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Khaos Legions (Audio CD)
Great CD! Worth every penny! Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys metal! If you enjoy metal, you have to aggressively search to find the gems, as the radio plays the same old crap over and over, and while Sirius is much better, they hardly ever play most of the gems I've found by looking at metal label websites and metal magazine reviews online. Check-out some of the CDs that I have reviewed in my past, and I guarantee you will find something you may not have ever heard of! Stay metal and support our metal community! If you discover something you like on my past review list, click "yes" on where it says: "was this review helpful?"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Hard Hitting Pure Metal, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Khaos Legions (MP3 Music)
Bass lines to spur on the most creative approach to whatever Your sport. This is rad skate/ biking musak and accompanies me on grinds of all types
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Khaos Legions
Khaos Legions by Arch Enemy (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.