Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


271 of 282 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A video review of what the product looks like and how it works
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:45 Mins
Here's a quick video to show you what comes in the box, and how easy it is to use this compact smoke and fire alarm.
Published on February 23, 2008 by Heath Buckmaster

versus
364 of 401 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Every house should have a DUAL mode smoke detector
As a professsional firefighter/paramedic for nearly 13 years, I see a lot of fires. I do know that most detectors out there are NOT dual sensor....they are mostly only ionization detectors that detect flame. Remember it's usually not the fire that will kill you, it's the smoke and it's deadly component carbon monoxide. Photoelectric detectors detect these smoke...
Published on June 12, 2012 by Firstinlastout


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

271 of 282 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A video review of what the product looks like and how it works, February 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
Length:: 2:45 Mins

Here's a quick video to show you what comes in the box, and how easy it is to use this compact smoke and fire alarm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


364 of 401 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Every house should have a DUAL mode smoke detector, June 12, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
As a professsional firefighter/paramedic for nearly 13 years, I see a lot of fires. I do know that most detectors out there are NOT dual sensor....they are mostly only ionization detectors that detect flame. Remember it's usually not the fire that will kill you, it's the smoke and it's deadly component carbon monoxide. Photoelectric detectors detect these smoke particles and alert you.......ionization rarely do if it's a slow smoldering fire. If your sleeping, by the time the ionization sensors detect the actual flames, the smoke and the CO will most likely have already gotten to you and you will be dead. That's why it's so VERY VERY important to have a dual-sensor smoke detector. This item is NOT a dual sensor and the manufacturer clearly states every home should have both types of sensors to protect you 100% from fire related death/injury. Always look for a photoelectric/ionization detector and buy one. Have one in your hallway, in the main living room at the very least and I always like to put one in each room because I am overly cautious. Also make sure to have a B-C extinguisher on hand near the kitchen to put out kitchen grease fires....the #1 cause of residential structure fires. Hopefully you can put a small one out, but if you discharge the entire extinguisher and the fire is not out......evacuate the house immediately and make sure you or someone called 911 prior to exiting your home. Stay safe !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, small and it works, March 20, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
We needed a few more alarms around the house and these were priced right.
They have a mount which secures to the wall, the sensor unit can be taken down by rotating off the mount. They even come with batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Smoke Alarm, August 14, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
I've had five of these in my house for a couple of months now and haven't had a problem with any of them. I've had many, ahem, opportunities to test them thanks to my cooking skills (or lack thereof). They're very easy to install and, thanks to their small size, are less noticeable than the larger ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small alarm, but hard to clean., January 23, 2011
By 
Eric (Muskegon, MI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
I've had my alarm for 5 years. Its main advantage is its small size, especially these days where each bedroom is supposed to have its own smoke detector. It gets good battery life as well, I only had to replace the battery it came with just once. However I did have a problem with false alarms due to dust building up inside of it. The fact that the room has a ceiling fan did not help. This unit is difficult to clean inside. The small slots in the front of the unit go to the horn, not the ionization detector. A vacuum cleaner will not be able to throughly suck up the dust that will eventually build up inside the front cover. There front cover is not meant to be removable.

If you've got pets and/or a ceiling fan then, maybe a bigger unit with lots of slots for easy vacuuming would be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have one in each bedroom - VERY LOUD!, December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought a home in October that didnt have smoke detectors in the bedrooms so I bought these. Install was easier, they look nice and clean. They come with batteries which is a big plus. All of the batteries had power, they tested well.

My first run in with the alarm was actually Christmas day when my family burnt bacon in the kitchen. Sure enough the entire house was SCREAMING, these things are loud. If there is smoke in your house, honestly these sensors will detect it WAY before your nose or eyes do and mine were all on the second floor!

For the money you cant go wrong, they definitely do their job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job, March 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
Although I list more cons than pros, the pros far outweigh the cons.

PROS
> The i9040 comes with a "saucer"-like base (which the instructions call a "bracket) you install on your ceiling (hardware included). It is much easier to install this featherweight plastic bracket than other designs.
> To install the detector in the saucer, you put the detector in place and twist. You can deinstall it with a twist in the other direction. So if you are planning to do alot of smoky cooking, you can simply take the smoke detector down and put it in a drawer or another room.
> Because you can easily de-install the detector, you can replace the battery on your countertop--which is much easier than fumbling over your head.
> The unit has a "hush" function. If you push the test button when the alarm is going off, it will "hush" for 8 minutes. This is a nice function when cooking. Of course, you'll need a ~ 2' stick to push it. A ˝" diameter by 18" dowel rod works well, and fits in my kitchen utility drawer.
> Battery installation is easy: A plastic ribbon makes it easy to pull out an old battery. The contacts are simple metal strips--you don't have to pry a 9-volt snap-socket apart.
> A 9-volt battery is included. A no-name brand, but it works. (Otherwise, at the very low price of this detector, a new battery could cost nearly as much as the detector. So, the "free" battery is notable).

CONS
> The i9040 is much smaller (4" in diameter) than my previous alarm (5 ˝"). Not a problem for a new installation, but in my case, one of the old mounting holes is visible and needs to be filled it. If your old alarm is also 5 ˝", then maybe a non-compact model would be better replacement.
> A diode flashes every 40 seconds to acknowledge that it is receiving power. Undoubtedly that saves the battery, but 40 seconds is a long time to wait to see if the light flashes.
> The battery contacts are identical, not polarized. That means you can easily install the battery wrong. Doing so won't damage anything, but the detector won't work. So press the test button after installing a new battery to test. Note that you have to push and hold for a while.
> The alarm is loud!!!. As a reflex action, I nearly tossed it across the room the first time I tested it. My ears are still ringing. If you are holding in your hand when you test, you might consider wrapping it in a heavy towel.
> The battery contacts are just strips of metal, not a solid 9-volt snap-socket, which make a "touch" contact. In kitchen ceilings, even battery snap-socket contacts are easily contaminated by cooking grease etc. I probably could have saved my repaired my old smoke detector simply by cleaning the contacts---but doing so would have been difficult. I recommend smearing silicon grease on the battery contacts and the detector contacts when installing a battery. The silicon grease will protect the contacts. Permatex 22058 Dielectric Tune-up Grease - 3 oz.
> There are no instructions on installing a new battery. Apparently you have to rotate a spring-loaded plastic lever so that it is underneath the battery.
> The alarm is loud!!!. If you install it a baby room, put it as far from the baby as possible.
> Because the unit is so compact, cleaning dust from the interior is difficult. You probably need "canned air" to blast the dust out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price!, October 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
The i9040 smoke detector is a very nice unit especially for the low price. The micro profile lends itself to a very compact unit but is very loud with its 85 decibel alarm. The unit comes complete with mounting hardware and battery. Don't let the low price discourage you, I highly recommend this detector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry smoke alarm, December 6, 2010
This review is from: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is a very small and cute alarm. They are also very inexpensive and I have seen them for less than 5$ each. The newest ones now have the hush feature that is activated by pushing the test button(some boxes still have the older image of the alarm without the hush feature). They just use the standard 9 volt battery. They only have an ionization sensor so it may be a good idea to get some photoelectric alarms also. The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because they seem to be built a little cheaply. I had one where the buzzer became detached from the lid and when the alarm was tested the sound was a bit muffled. Overall I think this is a very good alarm for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done, March 8, 2008
By 
FXP (New York City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
Not much to say for an economical detector. It has no frills, but its cheap price allows you to install more than would otherwise be the case. My advice is be sure you can easily get at them because when it goes off, you have to take out the battery to stop it. It will go off at the scent of smoke, so be ready for false alarms -- installation location is critical to your sanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.