Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python on xanex
Dear readers, if you have never seen the Kids In The Hall series, you will not understand the nuances and brilliance of Brain Candy. If you have, you will feel like you have discovered the Holy Grail.
Synopsis: researchers discover a pill to make everybody happy, and suffer the consequences. The great part, the Kids play all the parts, and there are little skits...
Published on August 5, 2002 by T. A. Wauldron

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie.
To quote a New York Times reviewer:
"I was privy to an early test screening of this, and it was weirder and better than the final product. Even the final, watered-down version beats the hell out of most safe so-called comedies, though."
I had a friend that also got to see the "original ending" which he claims was among the funniest things he...
Published on July 2, 2004 by R. Nevitt


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python on xanex, August 5, 2002
By 
T. A. Wauldron "iamtoddicus" (Magalia, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dear readers, if you have never seen the Kids In The Hall series, you will not understand the nuances and brilliance of Brain Candy. If you have, you will feel like you have discovered the Holy Grail.
Synopsis: researchers discover a pill to make everybody happy, and suffer the consequences. The great part, the Kids play all the parts, and there are little skits within the big picture.
If you are expecting slapstick, forget it, this is sophisticated humor. The absurd rules. THIS is what the Kids are best at, and this is the best I have seen. From Canadian police trampled by people fleeing a public rest room, to catatonic test subjects, this film rocks. Kudos to Dave Foley, who made it big with NewsRadio (man do I hope they release that series on DVD). He plays the stright man the whole way through, and actually gets the meatiest parts. The rest wear dresses, but look pretty good....
If you are a Welcome to Woop Woop fan, or a Monty Python fan, if you can find this movie, BUY IT!! This is a watch and watch again movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most Well-Written and Talented Movie I've Ever Seen!, February 5, 2001
By A Customer
Like many of the past reviews have said, it takes a certain mindset to enjoy this movie, but once you do get into it, you'll realize that it is one of the most well-written movies released in a very long time. Even though some Kids in the Hall fans were unimpressed with this movie, to really examine it and look at the making of this movie, you can't deny that these guys have serious talent! To play over 40 different characters, and do it well, and write it to where one character played by someone doesn't interact with another character played by the same person took a lot of hard work and creativity. What I like most about this movie are the little things within it that you wouldn't pick up the first couple times. I've seen it at least 30 times ande every time, I pick up something new I never noticed before. The scuba diver, the posters in the background, certain connections that are spanned apart from each other, etc. The way they portray certain characters, like the CEO and his team members, are so realistic that you have to laugh at it even more because you know there's people just like that. They make fun of the culture by playing it realistic. In summary, it is a movie to be watched many times on end. It is a very dialogue and character based movie ("I'm your nightmare, Mister!", "You're not getting dollar one, you ugly man!")...okay you just have to see the movie. But the more you are interested in psychology, the more you will enjoy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie., July 2, 2004
By 
R. Nevitt (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To quote a New York Times reviewer:
"I was privy to an early test screening of this, and it was weirder and better than the final product. Even the final, watered-down version beats the hell out of most safe so-called comedies, though."
I had a friend that also got to see the "original ending" which he claims was among the funniest things he had ever seen in his life. I personally thought the movie was great, and have enjoyed it a couple of times on DVD. I really think though that the DVD could have benefited from having the alternate ending and aditional footage added back in.
As I understand it though, Paramount executives don't care about anything but patting each other on the back while their studio slips into oblivion. They released the DVD of Clue with a mono soundtrack. Look at how Paramount destroyed their most profitable cash cow "Star Trek." So the chances of us getting to see that alternate ending of Brain Candy is darn near slim to none. It really is unfortunate... it sounds fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's your happiest memory, January 11, 2000
If you see one film this year make sure you want to see that film, and if you don't than this could also be a good choice. With more tag lines than austin powers it's a tragidy that more people have not seen this movie. It's one of those lost film jewels for me, which I have watched repeatedly ever time a friend comes over and wishes to be exposed to it's tender human conflicts and red socks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, if you like SCTV, Kids in the Hall, Monty Python, etc., February 6, 2006
By 
LMarie (Motown, USA) - See all my reviews
This is one of my favorite all-time comedies.

If you've had a chance to see the skit comedy of "Kids in The Hall" (and it's nothing like Dave Foley's "News Radio"), this movie is above & beyond what they were able to do with the show.

If you haven't seen "Kids in The Hall", take a look for old rerun episodes on Comedy Central. It is similar to SCTV - oddball skit tv by some wildly funny Canadians. I actually find "Kids" to be funnier than Monty Python.

This movie has a plot, silly characters, and a relatively satisfying ending. It contains a few funny musical numbers, too.

The movie rarely appears on TV or cable. If you like offbeat humor, this is a movie you may enjoy seeing over & over again. This is likely a movie that you'll have strong feelings about - either you think it's terrifically silly fun, or just plain stupid. If you like goofy humor, check it out. It is much less expensive than the KITH DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids In The Hall in their best, most screwed up humor yet, March 13, 2000
By 
"mystic80" (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
Despite a critical lashing from critics everywhere, the Kids In The Hall still contain their randomized form of humor. The plot follows a wonder drug created by a reluctant scientist and his team. As a result of a seriously greedy corporation and it's CEO, the wonder drug is Gloominex, a drug that cures depression and will make you happy. It becomes a national phenomenon instantly changing lives for the better...or so they think? A backfire ensues with the drug affecting people mentally and the scientist in jeopardy. Definitely for the Kids In The Hall fan and the group plays over 30 characters. Particularly amusing sequences include Scott Thompson as a closeted husband in a dance number and Thompson as the old lady, Bruce McCulloch as a depressed rock singer and eye patch bearing hotshot, Kevin McDonald as the scientist. Film has all the qualities of the TV show with the random funny humor and the cast members as their various characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shove this movie up your mind!, April 26, 2000
By 
If you are a fan of The Kids in the Hall TV show, then you will love "Brain Candy!" It's the story of a scientist who invents "the most effective anti-depressant ever," Gleemonex. A greedy pharmecudical(sp) company releases this wonder-drug without a lot of testing and its consumers begin going into comas. This movie is in true Kids in the Hall form, so if you're not familiar with them you may not quite understand it. But if you are a long-time fan, like me, you will love it! In my opinion, every KITH fan should own a copy of "Brain Candy!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest comedies of all time, May 7, 2002
By 
D J Cull (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is an accomplished and brilliant piece of cinema. It is genuinely funny and yet at the same time has the blackest of black hearts. I truly believe this film is up there with Doctor Strangelove as one of the greatest comedies ever crafted for the big screen. The performances are perfect and the characters are brilliant exercises in the minutae of life. The film also has a strong and potent message. I am not sure that another cinema outing for the Kids in the Hall would be as strong despite their brilliant TV show, possibly if only because they have such a lot to live up to. I only wish more people could have seen this film at the cinema but I'm very pleased to see this film coming out on DVD and will buy it the day it is realised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They did it!, April 29, 2003
By 
What can be said about this amazing, well written, laugh out your chair movie? It's clever and shows that the Kids can go from the TV screen to the big screen. I've been a KITH fan longer than I can acurately remember, and after hearing about Brain Candy, I was a little skeptical (especially after reading some of the reviews.) But one day I decided to cough up the 20 bucks to get it and it's one of the greatest things I could have done. I really hope the guys find time to do another movie, but I'm sure nothing at all will ever beat this masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the most depressing comedy ever made, January 29, 2007
The Kids in the Hall were ahead of their time in their first feature (1996) with their pointed satirizing of the (still) current psychiatric drug craze. "Brain Candy" sews together various vignettes of dysfunctional people (all portrayed by KITH in different costumes) and centers them around a group of scientists at Roritor Pharmaceuticals who are developing Gleemonex, the ultimate anti-depressant. Gleemonex chemically guides patients to their happiest moment, and allows them to re-experience that moment's feeling forever. Chemically. As one of the scientists puts it: "Gleemonex makes you feel like it's 72 degrees in your head. All the time."

The drug is a huge success, but tensions rise between the scientists and marketing department when some of the initial test patients become so caught up replaying their happiest memory they become comatose.

The premise of "Brain Candy" is very similar to Hirokazu ("Nobody Knows") Kore-eda's 1988 film "After Life." In that film, social workers at a purgatory-ish way station assist the recently deceased with creating short films of their happiest memories, which will be replayed for eternity. "After Life" is an emotionally enriching, empowering film -- mainly because the characters are already dead; their lives and freedom on earth haven't been stolen and replaced. Chemically. I recommend watching the two films together sometime.

I'm not sure what my final position on psychiatric drugs will be. I'm pretty certain no amount of talking will calm down someone who's just had a psychotic break, but I do think our society tends to rely too much on pills for long-term solutions, which makes "Brain Candy" fairly important viewing for those considering dealing with medicine, even if the film is generally silly and obnoxious. Personally, I see psychiatric drugs as a cast with talk therapy as an aid to properly set the bone. Though sometimes I feel like William Hurt in "Accidental Tourist" when my girlfriend insists I take my medicine when I lose my temper.

Anyway, there were two endings shot for "Brain Candy." The filmmakers opted for the more upbeat one (though the film is still a downer overall.) I wish Paramount would release a special edition with the alternate ending, as well as some other cut scenes, including one featuring Janeane Garofalo. Until they do, you'll have to track down a bootleg from a fan.

Pac-Man Fever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kids in the Hall: Brain Candy
Kids in the Hall: Brain Candy by Kids in the Hall: Brain Candy (DVD - 2013)
$21.99 $16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.