Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DEAR MUSIC APPRECIATORS
Dear Music Appreciators,

Much parental fuss has been made over KIDZ BOP. This is a music series by a record label called Razor & Tie that has been around for about ten years. Every year they release a couple of compilation CDs and up to four "special collection" CDs (such as "Kidz Bop Sings The Beatles"). The main concept is kids performing "kid-friendly"...
Published on February 1, 2012 by Andrew H. Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun music
Fun music, good CD series for the under-10 years old set. Catchy enough to catch kids attention, quality enough that parents don't mind listening too.
Published 21 months ago by ChrisMoo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DEAR MUSIC APPRECIATORS, February 1, 2012
This review is from: Kidz Bop 21 (Audio CD)
Dear Music Appreciators,

Much parental fuss has been made over KIDZ BOP. This is a music series by a record label called Razor & Tie that has been around for about ten years. Every year they release a couple of compilation CDs and up to four "special collection" CDs (such as "Kidz Bop Sings The Beatles"). The main concept is kids performing "kid-friendly" versions of Top 40 songs. "Today's Biggest Hits Sung By Kids For Kids" as the album cover proclaims. Some parents think this is great and some parents are horrified, what with all the sex, drugs, and rock and roll (but especially sex) vibes that are woven into many of today's top pop songs (and to have children listening to other children singing this filth...oh, the horror!)

I shall now throw in my two cents for what it's worth:

I am a reasonably religious and relatively respectable father of two. I think this stuff is fine and I can see why kids of a certain age or a certain phase might lap it up. The songs are edited to a degree and the kid performers turn in fairly quality performances.

Although the series is aimed at music fans 5-12, I would think it would hold the greatest appeal for the 5-9 range - a time when many kids will be more interested in the beats and the feel of the music - a time when kids just want something that sounds fun and cool that they can dance to. And "Today's Biggest Hits" certainly have plenty of big danceable beats that will blow the usual kiddie songs out of the water.

Many 10-12 year olds will already have moved on to the genuine article and for those that haven't, more power to them and their parents - they should keep listening to stuff like KIDZ BOP while they still can. And for kids that will be off and running on their own before you know it anyway, I see any kind of last remaining filters between them and the adult world as a good thing and not a bad thing.

Kudos to any parent for being too careful rather than not careful enough, but I say let the kids bop to the KIDZ BOP - the young ones probably just want to dance and the older ones should be commended for wanting to enjoy "kid-friendly" media for as long as possible.

Sincerely,

Constant Listener
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not ideal - but it's good music, February 3, 2012
By 
J. Marvel (DFW metroplex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kidz Bop 21 (MP3 Music)
I have to admit, in a perfect world, my children would listen to classical music, contemporary Christian, perhaps some instrumental jazz, and so on. However, for the tween in my house, this is a good compromise. She likes the driving beat and the up-to-date song list. I like that it's at least partially cleaned up. Compared to the garbage that comes pouring in from many radio stations, this is not bad.

For those who would complain about little kids hearing or singing along to songs like Edge of Glory... please think back just a bit to your own childhood. Now, I don't know about you, but I grew up singing songs like Puff the Magic Dragon. Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds. Even a little Def Leppard (Pour Some Sugar on Me - yowza). Never thought a thing of it. Sure didn't grow up to be a pothead because I unknowingly sang about Puff the Marijuana Dragon. Didn't become promiscuous because I sang along with Def Leppard. Never even picked up on the underlying meanings, not until years later.

Bottom line: the kids performing on this album are reasonably talented. The songs are well-chosen to appeal to kids. It's not too painful for an adult to listen to (especially after years of toddler tunes played ad nauseum). So, all in all, this one gets my thumbs-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a hit!!, April 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidz Bop 21 (Audio CD)
My daughter is slightly obsessed with this CD. The production is good, they sound similar to the radio versions but like kids. I appreciate that the songs are very current but edited to be more age appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the tween age, April 10, 2012
By 
ryan (CLERMONT, FL, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kidz Bop 21 (MP3 Music)
I purchased this for my nieces birthday bash this year and it turned out being more than i had asked for the music is very close to the original and in some instances better. Its perfect cause they use kids of the same age and the language is safe for small ears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, March 18, 2012
This review is from: Kidz Bop 21 (Audio CD)
My 6, 7, and 9 year olds love this edition. I like it too. They did a good job making they lyrics kid-friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids Bop 21, March 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidz Bop 21 (Audio CD)
This cd is awesome for a child. The songs have all been recreated and some words have been changed for a child to be able to understand and follow. It is not inappropriate and my son and I dance to it in the car almost everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids. Not bad for parents riding in the car., March 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidz Bop 21 (Audio CD)
My daughters love this CD and I don't mind it. Overall, a great item to purchase for your young kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids Bob 21, February 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidz Bop 21 (Audio CD)
This is one of the best current Kids Bop CDs. It has many current hits and is very danceable. Good for singing along too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kids Love, February 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidz Bop 21 (Audio CD)
The kids seem to really enjoy the songs and I can rest at ease knowing that there is no swearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MUSIC FOR KIDS, February 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kidz Bop 21 (Audio CD)
MY GRAND KIDS DANCED TILL THEY COULD NOT MOVE ANY MORE. GREAT MUSIC AND APPROPRIATE LYRICS FOR KIDS. MY ADULT KIDS ALSO LIKED THE GREAT MUSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kidz Bop 21
Kidz Bop 21 by KIDZ BOP Kids (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.