Start reading Kill Alex Cross - Free Preview: The First 27 Chapters on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
This title is not currently available for purchase
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Kill Alex Cross - Free Preview: The First 27 Chapters [Kindle Edition]

James Patterson
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (191 customer reviews)

Pricing information not available.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Book Description

Detective Alex Cross is one of the first on the scene of the biggest case he's ever been part of. The President's son and daughter have been abducted from their school - an impossible crime, but somehow the kidnapper has done it. Alex does everything he can but is shunted to the fringes of the investigation. Someone powerful doesn't want Cross too close.

A deadly contagion in the DC water supply threatens to cripple the capital, and Alex sees the looming shape of the most devastating attack the United States has ever experienced. He is already working flat-out on the abduction, and this massive assault pushes Cross completely over the edge.

With each hour that passes, the chance of finding the children alive diminishes. In an emotional private meeting, the First Lady asks Alex to please save her kids. Even the highest security clearance doesn't get him any closer to the kidnapper - and Alex makes a desperate decision that goes against everything he believes. A full-throttle thriller with unstoppable action, unrestrained emotion, and relentless suspense, Kill Alex Cross is the most gripping Alex Cross novel James Patterson has ever written.


Editorial Reviews

Review

READERS LOVE I, ALEX CROSS!

"[Patterson's] books don't pussyfoot around when it comes to the villains. These are bad, bad people... [I, Alex Cross] is political, with a lot of intrigue in high places." (The Today Show Al Roker )

"I truly believe that James Patterson has an IV hooked up to his writing arm and Great Ideas, Great Plots, and Great Characters dribble constantly into his bloodstream...I, Alex Cross stuns." (TheReviewBroads.com )

"The stakes are higher than ever before...More than a crime thriller, it's an absorbing family drama." (NightsandWeekends.com )

About the Author

James Patterson has had more New York Times bestsellers than any other writer, ever, according to Guinness World Records. Since his first novel won the Edgar Award in 1977 James Patterson's books have sold more than 240 million copies. He is the author of the Alex Cross novels, the most popular detective series of the past twenty-five years, including Kiss the Girls and Along Came a Spider. Mr. Patterson also writes the bestselling Women's Murder Club novels, set in San Francisco, and the top-selling New York detective series of all time, featuring Detective Michael Bennett. He writes full-time and lives in Florida with his family.

Product Details

  • File Size: 818 KB
  • Print Length: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (October 1, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005LJWRS8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Alex Cross Book Yet!!! November 29, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
The new Alex Cross Book, Kill ALEX Cross is superb.It has suspense, lots about Alex's family which always makes for good reading. I couldn't put the book down till it was finished. Jkjmdj
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kill Alex Cross November 3, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Read the first 27 chapters and I give it 4.5 stars. I think it will be one of his best! Lots of suspense and I'm sure it will have the James Patterson thrills!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JAMES PATTERSON'S BOOK " KILL ALEX CROSS" January 18, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
an avid reader of all JAMES Patterson books, this one surpasses the best. Catches you attention so it hard to out down. Bought the limited Kindle edition of 27 chapters then couldn't wait for the full length edition in hard cover. would have bought the kindle edition but my grand-daughter-in-law beat me to it so read her copy. Great reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Patterson did it again..... January 2, 2012
By Jtk
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I read this book in less than 48hrs. There are so many twist and turns as always in his books. James Patterson never fails to make me feel, I don't want to put this book down!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To many books January 30, 2012
By redress
Format:Kindle Edition
Anyone one who has read all of the Alex Cross novels will notice that since James Patterson is writing so many books the charecters in his books become one dementional. I was very dissapointed in "Kill Alex Cross" I miss his fleshed out characters. Patterson need to go back to writing his books himself.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure James Patterson December 26, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One of my favorite authors wrote a superb thriller about one of my favorite characters! James Patterson just gets better with age.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not the old Paterson March 5, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I remember the summer I discovered James Paterson and I was hooked for a long time. I read everything our public library had and then started buying the new ones for myself.

But it's just not like that anymore. I guess the Alex Cross thing is getting old. They just don't do it for me like they used to. It used to be that I would stay up half the night to read one of his books, and then I got one that had incredibly large print (and it wasn't a large print) and really really short chapters. I felt very cheated. The book could have been have the size if the publisher had chosen to.

Very disappointed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I love James Patterson - but - this is absolutely not his best. Listen to the other reviews. Read it for yourself. I was so looking forward to getting a new novel by him, but based on this preview I am going to pass. It doesn't seem to have the best elements of a true Patterson novel and in fact was actually boring - I was so disappointed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

It is no surprise that in January, 2010, The New York Times Magazine featured James Patterson on its cover and hailed him as having "transformed book publishing," and that Time magazine hailed him as "The Man Who Can't Miss." Recently, NBC's Rock Center with Brian Williams profiled Patterson's prolific career, AARP named him one of the "50 Most Influential People Who Make Our Days a Little Brighter," and Variety featured him in a cover story highlighting his adventures in Hollywood.

In 2013, it was estimated that one-in-five of all hardcover suspense/thriller novels sold was written by James Patterson, his books have sold over 300 million copies worldwide, and he holds the Guinness record for the most #1 New York Times bestsellers of any author. And his success isn't based solely on thrillers like the perennially popular Alex Cross, Women's Murder Club and Michael Bennett series. Patterson is now also the current bestselling author in the young adult and middle grade categories.

He's been called the busiest man in publishing, and that's not just because of his own books. For the past decade, James has been devoting more and more of his time to championing books and reading. From the James Patterson Pageturner Awards, to his website ReadKiddoRead.com, to his College Book Bucks scholarships and his regular donations of hundreds of thousands of books to schools here in the states and troops overseas (see interviews on Fox & Friends, The Dennis Miller Radio Show and CNN.com), Patterson has passed on his passion of books and reading and supported those who do the same. Jim personally funded a major ad campaign re-printing a recent opinion piece on CNN.com about how it is our responsibility to get our kids reading. The ad has run in the New York Times, The New Yorker, and USA Today. Those ads are a call to action to parents to make their kids reading a top priority; and were featured by USA Today here. Patterson believes that we cannot rely on schools, teachers or the government to get our kids reading; only parents can make this crucial change in the reading habits of our kids. Here are links to some interviews on his first-ever dual lay down (two books, one for parents and one for kids, in one day): AOL's You've Got, NBC's "Today Show" with Hoda and Kathie Lee, USA Today and Family Circle, NBC's "Today Show" with Al Roker, as well as an interview with AARP.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for Similar Items by Category