Customer Reviews


235 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boston Legal - Pure Genius
The genius that is David E Kelly and Boston Legal. There have been a handful of shows that I consider to be the very best of what television has to offer and Boston Legal is at the very top of the list.

At the centre of the show is the relationship between Alan Shore and Denny Crane. These charachers have so richly been brought to life by the remarkable talents...
Published on April 28, 2009 by abelaro98

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Denny Crane's last hurrah
David E. Kelley's writing, when focused on political or social issues, is still brilliant in this final season of Boston Legal. The bits that used to be comic relief in the previous seasons, though, have taken center stage, and cast a dark shadow over the deeper ideologies presented.

We're left scratching our heads as to why the scripts spend so much time on...
Published on June 28, 2009 by Raygraph


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boston Legal - Pure Genius, April 28, 2009
By 
abelaro98 (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boston Legal: Season 5 (DVD)
The genius that is David E Kelly and Boston Legal. There have been a handful of shows that I consider to be the very best of what television has to offer and Boston Legal is at the very top of the list.

At the centre of the show is the relationship between Alan Shore and Denny Crane. These charachers have so richly been brought to life by the remarkable talents of James Spader and William Shatner.

Who would have thought William Shatner of all people would go on to play one of the truly wonderful and eccentric characters on TV. You never know where the character is going to go, but you know you're in for one unbelieveable ride!

He is equally matched and more so in my eyes by that of James Spader. He continues to amaze me as to how he delivers superlative performances episode after episode. It's just staggering to watch his talent at work and it has been an absolute pleasure to have watched him in all his Alan Shore glory. During the 5 year run, he was at the very best of his game and not many could truly match him in this regard.

The relationship between the two is what makes the show truly great. Having watched the characters develop over the years, starting with "The Practice" has been pure joy and something that doesn't come along often.

I have also enjoyed watching the other characters througout it's run. It's great to see Candice Bergen display her wonderful talents yet again on the small screen. She gets better as she gets older! Her first episode on the show, "Schmidt Happens" is still one of my favourites and the banter between Bergen and Spader is one to behold.

Christian Clemenson and Tara Summers both deserve a special mention for both drawing out and making the characters of Jerry and Katie all their own. I could so easily watch both of them in their own spin-off!

And finally, the show would not be what it is without the glorious writing talents of David E Kelly. I just marvel at the writing and without it, there would be no Boston Legal.

As much as I hate to see the show disappear from the small screen so soon, it is better to get out on top and that is where it will always be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Good Things..., May 3, 2009
By 
Captain Jag (Juneau, Alaska) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boston Legal: Season 5 (DVD)
This is the final season of Boston Legal, one of the most intelligent and funny shows ever to air. It will be sorely missed by those desiring tv shows with actual substance, but judging by the continued popularity of dreck such as American Idol and Dancing with the Stars those people are few and far between.

The fifth season is wonderful, albeit short. Aside from the slightly awkward "Thanksgiving" there is not a weak episode to be found. I highly recommend this and all other seasons of Boston Legal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THEIR BRIEFS ARE FOLDED, June 7, 2009
This review is from: Boston Legal: Season 5 (DVD)
For five years viewers of television have had the opportunity to watch a show that was interesting, intelligent, motivated at times by the cause of the week and definitely funny as hell. It's too bad that these sorts of shows never seem to catch on with the viewing public. Then again, given network televisions desire for an immediate hit and ridiculous choices to alter their schedules on a whim, it's easy to see why a deserving show might slip through the cracks or be lost amid the weekly shuffle. Such is the case with BOSTON LEGAL.

After five seasons on the air, BOSTON LEGAL has closed the doors to the offices of Crane, Poole and Schmidt. Which is too bad for television audiences since another great series bites the dust to only be replaced with the cost effective reality show of the week or perhaps a star vehicle for the pet of some producer. Then again it makes for great news for DVD fans because as well as the show did, it was given the chance to be released on DVD. And this last season just released gives us the chance to savor the episodes from season five like fine wine.

For those who have never seen the show, start with season one and catch up or perhaps I could give you a short summation of how the show has evolved. As it opened we were there to see the arrival of up and coming attorney Alan Shore (James Spader) who was coming off of THE PRACTICE, another great law series that ended before it's time. Alan has just taken on a job with the firm and walks into what will become the usual turmoil as one of the senior partners has a breakdown. Get ready because this is the norm.

Spader's Alan Shore is a campaigner. He believes in a number of things and is the voice of the writers as they use him to defend the little guy and take on the big guns. Everything from big tobacco to pharmaceutical companies is tackled by Shore by the end of the fifth year. But Shore is not your normal attorney. Instead he is prone to rampant rambling while he pursues the justice he seeks in each battle. He's also a letch of the highest order, viewing nearly every woman he sees as a conquest while at the same time emulating the highest respect for them all.

Shore's biggest defender is the firm's high ranking senior partner, Denny Crane (William Shatner). Denny is perhaps the oddest character on the show. A womanizer as well, Denny is so self absorbed with his own fame that he often just says his name aloud with the expectation that in so doing he will intimidate any and all around him, which it usually does. Denny is also affected with what he calls "mad cow" disease, the early stages of Alzheimer's. As the show progresses, Denny and Alan become the greatest of friends.

Into the fold comes Shirley Schmidt (Candice Bergen), the voice of reason. Shirley is another senior partner and at one time the love interest of Denny until she broke it off. Shirley stands for the calm voice in the firm, the one who puts their foot down to stop the ridiculous from happening but who rarely sees her expectations met.

These are the three mainstays who began from season one and who remained until the end. Their interaction is tremendous, especially the friendship seen between Crane and Shore. Each episode ended with the two of them sitting on Denny's balcony in the office, enjoying a cigar and glass of scotch while they ruminated about things that happened during that episode. As the series progressed, you were witness to the closeness, the bond that developed between the two. Theirs was a unity rarely seen in even the best of marriages. As a matter of fact by the end of season five the pair was petitioning to use the same sex marriage to be joined in wedlock, not out of physical attraction but as a way to circumvent the laws concerning spousal support and decision making as well as current tax laws. These two men genuinely loved one another as much as two friends can.

By season five we also had several other main characters involved. John Larroquette was there as Carl Sack, a rather stuffy lawyer and love interest for Bergen's Shirley. His character basically replaced that of Rene Abourjonois who was the bad guy in the beginning (and who returns by the end). But Carl becomes as comfortable a character as the rest by mid-season five, making Larroquette's character another that you would enjoy spending time with.

Notable is Christian Clemenson as attorney Jerry Espenson. Suffering from a form of autism, Jerry began as a side character that walked the halls with his girlfriend, a mannequin he addressed as such. He developed into a character with obvious flaws that fought his own personal battles as well as those of his clients. The character came along with ticks and taps and pops, noises and movements he made including clutching his hands to his thighs, but in spite of those problems he was one that we all loved and wanted so much more for.

Tara Summers rounded out the main cast members at the end portraying Katie Lloyd, an attorney given the task of assisting Espenson. She also became the object of his affection though he steered clear of letting her know. The usual plot device of sexual tension between two characters was turned on its ear here as the duo often seemed on the verge of actually becoming interested in one another but instead moved in the opposite direction. At least for Lloyd's perspective.

All of the lawyers involved in this series were far from the normal lawyers we've become accustomed to over the years as seen on television. They were a quirky bunch who would take on cases ranging from client's whose parents died of cancer cause by smoking to that of an elderly lady attacking the networks for programming shows aimed only at the youth of America while omitting that made for older people, a segment they proved made up the vast majority of viewers. Yes, both of these topics came up in season five and made for interesting viewing.

Season five also brought about a number of changes at the firm. Shirley and Carl decided to marry, much to the consternation of Denny who has longed to reunite once more with Shirley. The closeness between Denny and Alan, as noted earlier, became deeper as Denny moved from the early stages of Alzheimer's to a deeper onset. And the romance that had lied deep beneath the surface between Jerry and Katie began to show signs of becoming a reality.

All lose ends were tied up nicely with a big bow by series creator David E. Kelly. And new possible threads were put into play when he made the firm about to close and facing bankruptcy. A buy out by the Chinese made for an interesting storyline as did Alan and Denny going before the Supreme Court one more time, the epitome of a lawyer's career, in the hopes of getting Denny the right to use non-FDA approved medication to stave off his disease.

Of the characters in this series each offered something special that made you care about them all and want to continue to watch them. To single one out might be considered slighting the rest. But for me, William Shatner deserved the highest accolades for his performance as Denny Crane. Saddled with the mantle of being Captain Kirk for generations of TV and movie viewers and as police office T.J.Hooker for the children of the 80s, Shatner shined as Denny Crane. Never once can you see him here and think of either previous character, a major coupe for an actor to do so. Denny may not always make the right choices, but by the series end, you have to be heartless not to love him.

While this may sound like numerous details of the show it falls far short. These were merely some of the high points in twelve episodes that brought the series to its rousing finale. And through it all the cast, crew and writers kept a tremendous sense of humor about it all, often joking through the characters about the end. More than once a character would ask "Do you think this is a case we should take?" only to get the response "Why not, it's our last season", tongue firmly planted in cheek each time.

Who knows how long it will take for a series to reach the heights that this one did. I am sure one will come along. But that right combination of writing, setting, cast and crew is a rarity in today's TV land. Until such time comes along when this happens, make sure you keep BOSTON LEGAL alive. The entire series on DVD is worth owning. And this one, season five, caps off a run that should be talked about for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Big Loss of Creative Humor, March 22, 2009
By 
J. W. Lins (Springfield, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boston Legal: Season 5 (DVD)
Not much to say really -- this kind of intelligent humor and character development will be sorely missed. Thank goodness for electronic preservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The FInal Season, December 29, 2008
By 
Well, all good things come to an end. With great shows, normally too soon. The fifth season of Boston Legal only has 13 episodes but they are all tightly written, humorous and timely, hitting all the major issues of the day in the way this show only could. That is the tragedy of this shows' cancellation. No matter what side of an issue one might fall, each week Boston Legal made you think about our social conflicts in a new and entertaining way. That forum has now been lost to make way for more reality shows, such are our times.

Also lost is the best pairing of actors on TV, Shatner and Spader. No friendship has ever been better acted or written on TV in my opinion. Seaon five gives us a fitting conclusion to thier relationship even if we didn't get the dramatic one we all expected if the show had gone on longer (I won't say more than that in case you have not seen it yet).

Overall this season was a short but well rounded conclusion to a great show that should have gone on much longer, but networks are finicky (see the second to last episode for more details on it's cancellation.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Denny Crane's last hurrah, June 28, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boston Legal: Season 5 (DVD)
David E. Kelley's writing, when focused on political or social issues, is still brilliant in this final season of Boston Legal. The bits that used to be comic relief in the previous seasons, though, have taken center stage, and cast a dark shadow over the deeper ideologies presented.

We're left scratching our heads as to why the scripts spend so much time on William Shatner's character, Denny Crane and his increasingly adolescent behavior. Perhaps this is why ABC canceled the show.

The acting continues to be fun, especially James Spader as Alan Shore, but it is dragged down by the sophomoric pranks and thoughts of Denny Crane. I enjoy a good dirty joke as much as the next red-blooded American, but to waste the soapbox that David E. Kelley created with the sexual yearnings of an aging, diseased lawyer seems moronic.

Still more entertaining than most shows, it misses the mark of the previous seasons, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Closing, (Part 5 of 5), August 29, 2009
This review is from: Boston Legal: Season 5 (DVD)
After all the crazy court cases all the togetherness and yes after all the cheep shots at themselves(Words, guns and all). The firm of Crane, Poole & Schmidt had to close its doors. After five OUTRAGEOUS season 'Boston Legal' gives its loyal fans the perfect closing.

Just as Carl Sack was beinging to like it up in Boston they finally discover they are broke and have to be bought out by a gigantic Chinesse conglomorite. At the very same time Denny finally has to face the hard truth that he now officially has Altzheimers. And of course, the great Alan Shore not only has to face the possibility of losing his job, but also losing his best friend the only question is how it will happen. The fifth season of this triumphant show really hits home and the heart. The bonds between the characters are as tight as they can be, hugs and all. Of course we can't have a final season with out prestigous guest stars such as Alan Ruck, William Daniels and Vallerie Burtenelli. The cases continue to range from the most serious to the outlandish along with great judges to make their own comments. The loose ends are tied up with a final trip to the U.S. Supreme Court where Alan Shore gives probably his most heartfelt rant and in the end....well I can't give that away now can I?

Please, enjoy these final 12 gems of this truly smart and origional show. If you haven't yet get a chance to see the previous 4 seasons because who knows when another incredible show like this will ever come again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's Not to Love Amout BL Season 5?, April 25, 2009
This review is from: Boston Legal: Season 5 (DVD)
Boston Legal season 5 is excellent, just as season 4 was. I'm disappointed that the show ended, though. They shouldn't have ended it. Again, one can't help but feel close to the characters. I really liked Alan Shore... he may have questionable morals, but I understand him. His character is someone who I can identify with... so it is a pity to see this end.

And the show hadn't started to do the downhill slide that all shows at some point, sooner or later, do. Maybe that was the right thing to do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Almost great, February 27, 2011
This review is from: Boston Legal: Season 5 (DVD)
Don't misunderstand me, I love Boston Legal. I think it is witty, charming, and on target in terms of the issues they tackle. But I'll never get to watch this final season. You see, unlike the previous seasons which were close-captioned, this one is not. Because of the deafness in my family, I'm unable to enjoy this one.

To all of the studios producing family DVDs: please make captions a priority!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boston Legal Final Season, July 14, 2009
This review is from: Boston Legal: Season 5 (DVD)
I feel the previous seasons of Boston Legal were much better than this finaal season: it seemed to have gotten more on the sense of silliness to the point of unbelieveable. When the cell phone of Crane continues to ring in the court session, it is a bit much. In addition, when Shore and Crane dance around with the Cheer Leading outfit, well, they are no longer acting like men, let alone Lawyers-it just seems to have got too far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.