Customer Reviews


633 Reviews
5 star:
 (414)
4 star:
 (142)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We'll never stop, we'll never quit, 'cause we're Metallica!"
Well, here it is, kiddies: Metallica's skull-crushing, bone-breaking, faster-than-the-speed-of-freakin'-light thrash metal debut. This is the one your mother warned you about. This album may cause uncontrollable fits of energy, headbanging, and moshing. Keep out of reach of children. (Give them St. Anguish instead... on second thought, never mind. No one should have to...
Published on July 7, 2005 by Eggplant

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still good, but needs a re-mix.
Okay, couple things I need to get out of the way since this is a review of the vinyl version of this album. First, to enjoy this vinyl record fully, you NEED good equipment to play it on. I'm talking at or near audiophile-level hi-fi equipment, with the turntable being nothing less in build quality than something like a Technics SL-1200.

That being said, it...
Published on October 24, 2008 by Noah W. Woods


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We'll never stop, we'll never quit, 'cause we're Metallica!", July 7, 2005
This review is from: Kill Em All (Audio CD)
Well, here it is, kiddies: Metallica's skull-crushing, bone-breaking, faster-than-the-speed-of-freakin'-light thrash metal debut. This is the one your mother warned you about. This album may cause uncontrollable fits of energy, headbanging, and moshing. Keep out of reach of children. (Give them St. Anguish instead... on second thought, never mind. No one should have to suffer through that...)

What makes this album such a metal classic? The pounding drums and rythyms? The violent cover? The shredding solos and riffs? A 20-year-old James Hetfield's harsh, unpretty vocals? The controversial cover? Well, yes, of course, but one thing makes it even better (although Master Of Puppets remains my favorite): back when they recorded this album, Metallica were no one. They weren't the (now self-parodic) juggernaut they would eventually become. They were four lucky fans who got together, played their hearts out, and had the time of their lives doing it. (Check out James Hetfield's picture on the insert - he has acne!) You can really feel the energy coming from this record.

So, yeah, anyway, if you don't have this one already, see to it that you obtain it (along with Ride The Lightning and Master Of Puppets, and, if you like, the black album and ...And Justice For All). There are really no standout tracks because they ALL rock. If you can think of a better album to slap My Chemical Romance in the face with, I'd sure like to hear it.

Yeah, it wasn't all that long ago that they were a little thrash band from the Bay Area...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Holy Bible of Thrash, October 17, 2006
This review is from: Kill Em All (Audio CD)
The original Metallica: James Hetfield (Vocals, Rhythm Guitar), Cliff Burton (Bass Guitar), Lars Ulrich (Drums) AND DAVE MUSTAINE (LEAD GUITAR)!!! Most of the leads and riffs you'll hear on Kill 'Em All were written by Dave Mustaine which is why the 1st Metallica album sounds more like a Megadeth record than any other Metallica record. Kirk Hammett stepped in admirably to fill Mustaine's huge shoes but one is only left to wonder, if Mustaine had stayed in Metallica would they be the running joke that they are today? Probably not. Anyway, Kill 'Em All is a flawless rundown of Metallica classics from The Four Horsemen to Motorbreath to Seek and Destroy, the riffs just keep coming. Of all the Metallica albums, this is the one that I listen to the most. Some critics and fans may say that their subsequent albums (Master of Puppets, Ride the Lightning) are better but to me this is the truest representation of what Metallica was meant to be. An absolute must-own classic! P.S. Why would they reissue this album and omit two of it's strongest tracks (Blitzkrieg and Am I Evil)?!?!?!?!?

Tracks rated 1-10:

1. Hit the Lights (9.5/10)

2. The Four Horsemen (11/10)

3. Motorbreath (9/10)

4. Jump in the Fire (10/10)

5. Anesthesia (Pulling Teeth) (9/10)

6. Whiplash (10/10)

7. Phantom Lord (11/10)

8. No Remorse (9.5/10)

9. Seek and Destroy (10/10)

10. Metal Militia (9/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kill Em All by Metallica, August 17, 2010
This review is from: Kill Em All (Audio CD)
Kill Em All by Metallica.

Kill Em All is the first album by Thrash Metal band Metallica and as such one of the first Thrash Metal Albums in history. However it is noted by the author of this review that bands such as Venom were making Thrash Music before Metallica, but what I mean by that statement that I made was that Kill Em All the first real step in the commercial success of Thrash Metal as a genre.

First off it is important to understand the history of this particular album. When Metallica was originally founded it was not James Hetfeild, Kirk Hammit, Lars Ulrich, and Cliff Burton. Rather it was James Hetfield, Dave Mustaine, Lars Ulrich and Ron McGovney. However Metallica dropped Ron McGovney in favor Cliff Burton who was among one of the greatest Bass Guitar player of all time.

The important part other than the addition of Cliff Burton is Dave Mustaine's roll with Metallica. Dave Mustaine wrote or co wrote five songs on Kill em All, most of which were altered by Metallica after Mustaine was fired (mustaine claims it was to minimize his roll in the band). Anyway the resulting events culminated in a feud the help create and then lead Megadeth to multi million Album selling success in their own right. I'd go into more but this is a review not a history lesson.

The main disadvantage for me here is that I am looking at this from hindsight and not foresight (kill em all came out officially in 1983 before I was even born) but I'm going to try to as accurate as I can.

Each of these songs are at a blistering pace that helped establish Thrash metal. The Album itself is remarkable well done considering it's budget at the time. With each song you will get fast riffs overlaid with blistering drum action.

Hit the Lights (Dave Mustaine receives song writing credit) is a lightning fast opening to a lightning fast album that takes you and drags you across the ground with it's pulsating guitar work and it only gets better from there.

The Four Horseman which was originally wrote by Dave Mustaine but was rewrote by James Hetfeild after Mustaine was fired. At the time the Four Horseman was an incredibly fast song but it's power has lessoned somewhat do to the Megadeths releasing of the song (mechanix) which did the entire song far faster than Metallica did, which was part of Dave's attempt to try to beat Metallica. The Metallica version is about the apocalypse (the Mechanix is about Dave Mustaines sexual fantasies of the women that would enter the garage he once worked at to get their car worked on.) The best part of the Four Horse Man is the guitar solo near the end. However I prefer the live version on Some Kind of Monster to this version and I prefer the Mechanix (Megadeth) overall.

Motorbreath could almost be an anthem for Metallica in those early days. It shows the overall speed capability of Metallica overlapped extremely well with the guitar playing of Kirk Hammit. (I think Kirk Hammit is extremely talented, I just don't like him all that much. Far as metal goes, when all the other band members say they are metal hardcore, I believe them. I don't believe Kirk Hammit.) Motorbreath is one of the shortest metallica penned songs ever made. A whooping 3:08, but it is a very good 3:08. The live version for this is also better.

Jump in the Fire was originally penned by Dave Mustaine it is a slower paced song then the others which shows a lot more of James Hetfeild's guitar playing ability. It is a very good song but by chance one of my least favorites on the album. The sound of the song itself (not including solos) is not as hard as it could be. The Solos are top notch however (this is one of the points of contention by Dave Mustaine. Dave Mustaine claims that Kirk Hammit copied Dave Mustaines solos almost down to the exact beat)

(Anesthesia) Pulling teeth is the famous bass solo which up to that point was believe to be impossible. The fact is simple, it is one the most amazing things in the history of music, rock, and heavy metal. It shows that Cliff Burton truly was one the greatest bass players of all time. It is not a true song per say but rather an example of what could be done with a Bass Guitar. I would call it extreme Bass Guitar picking 101. Anyone who insults Cliff Burton should be referred to this track, and believe or not those people are out there.

Whiplash is one the most popular songs by Metallica from the Kill Em All Album, it should be noted for music collectors out there that there is a motorhead cover that is extremely good and somewhat hard to find. Course there is always Amazon. You want it there it is.

Whiplash is a fine example of a true guitar riff. Which is playing the same note or the same set of notes over an over in such away they empower the track itself and turn it into and epic masterpiece of guitar laden beauty. This is another one of their faster songs with a blistering high quality solo that helped establish what Thrash Metal really is.

Phantom Lord (Dave Mustaine gets writing credit). I know someone will hurt me for this but even though this is a great song there are sections of this that play like it could have been done by The Offspring. Course that does not take away from the song quality which is exemplary in those early days of Metallica. As usual there is an extremely good guitar solo in this but what really makes this song stand out and is also the point where this song no longer sounds like it could have done by the Offspring is the slow tempo bridge.

The Slow Tempo bridge is a 30 second section of Phantom lord that stands out by itself on the album. It is here where fan would here for the first time the sound the helped create songs such as, "Nothing Else Matters" "Welcome Home (Sanitarium)" as well as parts of the song "One" and the second section of Master of Puppets among many other such songs in Metallica's catalog. Which makes this song extremely important in the building of what became the best selling heavy metal band. After that is over we return to the typical blistering speed of the guitar riffing and the power solos that is Phantom lord. This is also where some of Lars Ulrichs best drumming efforts on the album are at.

No Remorse starts out with a slow pace guitar riff combined with an epic Solo. However I do have a complaint on this one. Several sections of this I have a hard time hearing the vocalizations. However it's much more clear and hearable on the actual chorus line so it's not to bad. Just a minor weakness in a great album, hey nothing is perfect. The last portion of the song picks up the pace with some excellent and clear vocals that help improve the song as a whole. Overall I think it is the most forgettable song on the album even though it still very good.

Seek and Destroy, which is a very popular live song is the second to last song on the album. This song features exemplary slower tempo (but not slow tempo) double guitar work as they played extremely well together. At this point with the exception of the 30 seconds of Phantom lord this is the slowest section of the entire album. It continues that way with basic but very good guitar riffs for several minutes before the song takes off a little past the three minute mark.

This second part I think is the real gem of the this song and one the best parts of the album as a whole as it ratchets up with some of the best solo work on the album. Then the third part rolls around and the pace slows back down and continues on it's almost marching style of a pace of extraordinary heavy metal. However this third part was extremely well enhanced by the second part so that even though it is the same speed and sound as the first part, because of the second part, the third sounds better. Finally it trails off with some riffing and drumming before it finishes with a few seconds worth of near guitar solo work.

Finally, Metal Militia, my favorite song on the album. This song gives writing credit to Dave Mustaine. It picks up with some of the fastest guitar playing on the whole album, then it slows down for a solo riff with drum backdrop before resuming it's blistering speed with some of the most extraordinary vocals by James Hetfeild this album. I find myself surprised that this is not a bigger hit than the others on the album but people like what they like. At about 2:40 with a solo lead the song gets even faster for a bit and then it's a complex group of guitar riffs.

Finally around 3:30 the song resumes it's intensely fast pace as the song races onward in all it's metal glory. Finally the end the song and album with the sound affect of marching.

Overall the album is an excellent buy and even in this day and age it would be worth a 15$ price tag (in part because it's the debut album of Metallica). A lot of this album is actually very basic guitar playing styles just pushed to the extreme. This album was a lot of seeing what could be done, the later albums was more about coming up with something truly unique and dynamic.

Lars Ulrichs drumming was not as good as he would eventually become, and the sound is nowhere near as polished as would eventually be expected from Metallica. But it's a debut, you don't start out and just play Master of Puppets on day one. It takes time and experience to get there.

As fast as these songs are the songs in later albums are faster. Course that is to be expected as Metallica upgraded their craft through experience. But there is something to be said about original Metallica. I am a fan of Dave Mustaine but anyone who feels that this album is not worth having because of what was done to Mustaine is missing out on an incredible debut album. After all, how many bands have debut albums of this quality?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Killer" Thrash, July 17, 2005
This review is from: Kill Em All (Audio CD)
Metallica's 1983 debut wasn't exactly a good representation of them. "Kill `Em All" isn't nearly as dark as Metallica's later releases, like "Ride the Lightning." Plus, this album is a lot faster and thrashier. "Kill `Em All" is the sound of original thrash metal. Now, this band didn't give birth to speed metal (Motorhead did), but Metallica were the first to release a studio LP. Later in the 1980's, thrash would become very popular and bands like Anthrax, Testament, and Slayer would crop up.

Since this is the first available album that James, Kirk, Lars, and Cliff played together, it is somewhat immature. James' vocals are high pitched and some of his lyrics (i.e. "We'll never stop/we'll never quit/'cause we're Metallica!") are pretty amateur, but it's interesting to see what Metallica were like 20-some years ago. And "Kill `Em All" is still a very entertaining listen and great thrash. It may not be as brutal or rapid as say Slayer, but it's very catchy and full of fiery, breakneck-speed, buzzsaw guitar riffs and scorching solos.

1. "Hit the Lights" begins with the guitars slowly fading in, then, after Lars does a little smattering drum pattern, Kirk and James set their fret boards on fire with fast running riffs. This song has an audible, beeping bassline, but the real highlight is the several careening, almost screeching guitar solos.
2. "Four Horsemen" is Metallica's very first single, and it's still in regular rotation at radio stations (where I live, at least). It's not as fast as the first track, but it's quite catchy. It has an almost galloping beat, at times, and two more long, winding, classical sounding guitar solos.
3. "Motorbreath" begins with a drum intro, and a thumping snare drum runs throughout, but the really fast chugging guitar riffs are what dominate, here.
4. "Jump in the Fire" has more fast, chugging guitar work, but these riffs are different because they're groove-y and very catchy. Plus, there's another long, increasingly fast guitar solo near the end.
5. "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth" is primarily, just one long solo. But it's not the work of Kirk or James... it's a bass solo! Cliff plays low, gluey, rumbling notes which make for a buzzing, beeping, ascending, occasionally wailing and wah-wah solo. A relaxed drum beat kicks in around the 2:40 mark, but Cliff makes this song world renowned among the metal community.
6. "Whiplash" begins with a low thumping of a bass drum, then James and Kirk come aboard and light up this track with "whiplash" speed guitar work and tempo changes. I enjoy how the beat builds to a point, then pauses, and James shouts "Here we go!" Briefly, at the end of this song, it becomes a stop-start beat.
7. "Phantom Lord" has another stop-start rhythm and riffs, and a couple pick slides, but James' vocals are almost inaudible because they're drowned out by the guitars. The beat then slows way down, but some heavy riffs and a pair of cascading Hammett solos speed it back up.
8. "No Remorse" is still a staple of Metallica's live show. It has rhythmic chug and churn riffs and one more, long, wailing guitar solo which makes this song gain density and speed.
9. "Seek & Destroy" has another very famous opening guitar melody, before it turns to crunchy riffs. This song is, musically, fairly repetitive, but it's still plenty catchy thanks to James' vocals.
10. "Metal Militia" is highlighted by more insane, rip-roaring guitar work.

So, "Kill `Em All" is a great thrash record and it has great musicianship. Even though it may not be the best representation of Metallica, and it's not as classic or essential as Metallica's second and third albums, it's still a great listen and it is very highly recommend for all metalheads. Plus, this is a very influential, original, and a milestone album, so if you want a complete heavy metal or thrash-metal collection, you definitely need to pick this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delivers what it promises., August 17, 2005
This review is from: Kill Em All (Audio CD)
METAL UP YOUR ASS! This is Kill 'Em All, and you get exactly what you payed for.
Fast, Hard, Thrashy, all words made up discribe this masterpiece.
It starts off with Hit The Lights, which in my mind is probably the least good song on here, but it only goes up hill now.
The Four Horsemen could be a posterboy for thrash metal, In everyway thinkable it is a song to be respected and listened to.
Motorbreath is also a unique song, the intro drumming is awesome.
Jump In The Fire is a fast thriller of a song, if you like fast check this one out.
Now for (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth. This song is simply a showcase of the unmatched talent which is Cliff Burton.
Whiplash is also one of the fastest songs on this cd, it never slows down for a second.
Phantom Lord really stands out for me because of the solo. I dont think i've heard a better solo to date, which makes it great.
No Remorse is quite a good song, its fast and thrashy, I just cant call it one of favorites.
But now onto my personal favorite, Seek and Destroy. Seek and Destroy is a combination of catchy lyrics, fast creative riffs, and amazing solos.
Metal Milltia is one of the thrashiest songs on here for sure, but after a few listens i just couldn't find it to be a hit for me.

Basically, If your a fan of Thrash Metal at its best, or a Metallica fan in general, get out there and add this cd to your collection !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Bang the head that doesn't Bang,' they said......., February 24, 2000
This review is from: Kill Em All (Audio CD)
Heavy metal is a dead genre now but this, Metallica's debut LP, ushers back in all the imagery of 1980's doom, gloom and talk show worry talk again every time you hear it. 'Kill 'em All' comprises ten tracks (twelve if you can get your hands on the 1984 rerelease with the Diamondhead and Blitzkrieg covers) that pulsate with a speed/thrash energy not heard since. Perhaps a little dated to younger ears today, there is a lot to enjoy on here. In the speed category we have 'Hit the Lights', 'Motorbreath' and 'Jump In the Fire', while 'Seek and Destroy', 'No Remorse', 'Whiplash' and the masterful 'The Four Horsemen' line the forefront of the thrash section. The terrific thing about this album is that its sound hardly betrays the tender ages of its creators (20 years old on average). This was hard, fast, nasty music which combatted well the growing armies of glam-metalheads who were also coming out of L.A. . While not as refined as 'Ride the Lightning' or as well produced as 'Master of Puppets', 'Kill 'em All' possesses an exceedingly powerful feel (if all bands had a freshman release as killer as this, the record labels wouldn't know where to put the money!)and if there is any filler ('Motorbreath' and 'Whiplash' only being the weaker tracks), it has yet to show itself to these ears. There's also a few extra goodies in here. Apart from being shown the ugly mugs of these good natured lads in their post-pubecent stages, there is the strange 'Anesthesia - Pulling Teeth'. I don't like it as a song but I can appreciate why it was included: essentially as a buffer zone between the raunchy power of 'Jump in the Fire' and the blind road racing rocker 'Whiplash'. Also look out for 'Metal Militia'. Forget its monotony of sound and imagine the marching metal troopers descending upon every aspect of pop culture you never liked and wrecking them to bits. That's what 'Kill 'em All' meant to me ten years ago when I first found it and, although I only rarely listen to it anymore (why bother when I can play every part of every song using my mind's own 'MP3 player'), I would surmise that that meaning still exists to some smaller degree for me today........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kill Em All, September 1, 2004
By 
Rebecca Lyle (Garland, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill Em All (Audio CD)
I guess I can't really tell you how much this album rocked when it first came out because I wasn't even born yet, but that alone should prove that this album has already withstood the test of time. I believe Kill Em All to be a showcase of everything Metallica was about. It is a showcase of talent and rebellion. Hetfield's Mach 10 rhythm guitar licks are probably what carries the album, but you cannot deny the talent of the rest of the band. Just listen to Burton in "Four Horsemen", he was a musical genious. Kirk's solos are just as fast and furious as ever, and Lars always holds it down. The lyrics are top form, as Metallica has always had awesome lyrics. All in all, these elements placed together make what I believe to be a classic debut album. Highly recommended for any metal head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not in the same league as the next 3, but good enough., November 22, 2002
This review is from: Kill Em All (Audio CD)
Metallica was the unquestionably greatest band of the 80's, metal or otherwise. This certainly isn't the album that proves they were the best(though its vastly superior to the wretched music most of America associates with the 80's), but it's good enough to show that they were destined to be at least one of the top bands of the era.
This is of course their debut album, and like many debuts, they've not fully developed their style, and though its got many glimpses of the brilliance that would follow, it is alongside some relatively mediocre material that would later be weeded out. This is certainly partially due to the fact that the material for this album was written before Metallica's line up had fully solidified, so Dave Mustaine has 4 writing credits, and Kirk Hammet and Cliff Burton don't have any song writing credits.(other than Buron's solos, of course.) Lyrically, it's not quite to standard Metallica yet, with some lame "We're a band" songs, and some dumb supernatural/occult-ish themes that aren't often found on their later albums. However, as is often the case with lousy lyrics, I don't care at all. The singing is a bit wacked out too. Hetfield barely sounds like himself on most of the album, and frequently doesn't sound human at all. He hasn't fully developed his vocal style, so he shrieks more than shouts occasionally, which rarely happens on later albums. Also, Lars Ulrich's drumming is quite rudimentary on this album. He never stood up to the other major thrash drummers, but he definitely got a lot more flashy and interesting on the next couple of albums. Though this is definitely their rawest album, it's important to define what precisely that means in this case. It's rawer in that it's simpler and rougher, but, as is not often the case, the rawest album isn't the heaviest, fastest and most intense. Granted this album doesn't have anything that's as slow or soft as some later material, it also is generally lighter sounding, and doesn't have anything that is even close to as heavy as later tracks like Fight Fire With Fire and Damage Inc.
In the end, the only real reason this album is weaker than later ones is that is simply less consistent, and less varied. The next 3 albums had maybe 3 weaker tracks between them, while this album is about half great, half still good, but unspectacular. Still, the great stuff can be quite brilliant. The Four Horseman, apparently primarily done be ex-bandmate Dave Mustaine, shows the direction of later albums, with it's extended instrumental sections and stunning solos. Seek & Destroy, one of the best known songs from this album, is similarly epic, with a surprisingly catchy chorus for a metal song. Jump In the Fire in easily my single favorite track, as it has my favorite main riff from any Metallica song.(no small feat)Also of particular interest is the bass instrumental, (Anesthesia)--Pulling Teeth which is particularly astounding considering Cliff Burton was only 19 or 20 at the time(As was the entire band). Motorbreath is the last real standout track, and is actually one of the tracks least representative of later Metallica due to its short length and relative simplicity, resulting in it being almost a straight punk-song with a solo thrown in and half metallicized riffs. Sadly, the rest of the album is not nearly as inspired, if far from bad. Sure, plenty of cool riffs abound, especially on No Remorse and Metal Militia, but nothing else found here really jumps out at you that much.
Still, this is a very solid, sometimes spectacular metal album, which should be of interest to any fan of the genre, or anyone interested in significant albums, as this is the first thrash album, making it indirectly responsible for the emergence of numerous metal sub-genres.(I should mention, Show No Mercy might have been first, cause they came out the same year and I don't have the specific release dates for them, though I doubt it, cause if it were I'm sure I'd have heard a bunch of Slayer-fanatics point this out.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album ive heard so far!!!, May 15, 2005
This review is from: Kill Em All (Audio CD)
The Great start to the beautiful genre known as "Thrash Metal." I like many others, are a huge fan of thrash metal, and this album does a great job to define what thrash metal means. Now I know that there are many other thrash albums out there, but this one in particular got my attention really easily.When I first heard this album my attention was emmediately turned to the songs "(Anethesia) Pulling teeth", "Whiplash" , "Seek and Destroy" and "The Four Horsemen"

Anethesia pulling teeth, WOW is the only way to describe what I felt when i first heard it. That is probably the most cunning Electric Bass solo ive ever heard... Props to Cliff burton, MAN he packs one mean bass. The song Whiplash got my attention really quickly because that song was just overall the best song ive ever heard to drive a car too... the solo to that song sounds really cunning in the sense that its really fast. The song Seek and destroy caught my attention for one easy reason, that song packs major punch, it has the kind of riff that would make it an instant classic, and well, thats what happened... It turned into a major classic and i think it deserves it because that song kicks MAJOR ass! The song The Four Horsemen is DEFINATELY a song that should go down in the history of metal for the best put together! Love the Galloping riff!

Here are my ratings on the songs:

Hit The Lights (10/10)This song is a fine, fine example of a thrash metal piece!! long the solos!

The Four Horsemen (11/10) Id have to say that this is there best-put-together song on the whole CD, I really like the Galloping riff :)

MotorBreath (8/10) Sadly, this song didnt really get my attention,BUT it makes up for it by the way he sings it, the way he sings it also has a whole new rythym to the guitar parts, so thats pretty cool!

Jump In The Fire (9/10) The openning riff caught my attention INSTANTLY, but slowly died down because it was repeated so much... other than that this whole song ROCKS!

(Anethesia) Pulling Teeth (11/10)Like i said... its probably the most cunning Electric bass solo ive ever heard. Im a bass player myself and i HAD to learn it... and now its my favorite song to play on bass:) THANKS CLIFF FOR THIS AMAZING SOLO! and may he R.I.P!

Whiplash(11/10) I fell instantly in love with this song... its such a thrash song it makes my hairs stand up! The lyrics, i do admit, are quite cheesy... but who cares lyrics arent the best thing in a song in my opinion... the instruments are. The solo rocks so hard, this whole song rocks!

Phantom Lord (8/10) This song never really caught my attention, The main riff is quite cool though, just not the best of them.

No Remorse(7/10) I never found this song interesting, but i do like the starting ALOT!

Seek and Destroy (11/10)Everything in this song is PERFECT, nothing should change... its by far the PERFECT song.

Metal Militia (10/10) HOLY CRAP this song is FAST, everything in it is CRAZY, I LOVE IT! Its the perfect song to go skateboarding to in my opinion, i love this song SO much:)

The Other songs "Am i evil" and "Blitzkrieg" Are definately great for the reason that they define METAL :)

I personally love the starting to "Am i Evil" and then the really short solo at the start:)

Blitzkrieg never got my attention, but it still is a ROCKING SONG!!!!

I advise you buy this cd! NOW!

Capeesh?

Capeesh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Raw Metallica, February 2, 2005
By 
This review is from: Kill Em All (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1983 "Kill `em All" was Metallica's first album. The album was re-released in 1995. This album represents Metallica in their rawest form. Similar bands from the genre included: Exodus, Testament, Forbidden and England's Venom.

Metallic was formed in 1981 by drummer Lars Ulrich and vocalist James Hetfield in Los Angeles California. They have released ten full-length albums and show no signs of slowing down.

"Kill `em All" is Metallica at its most visceral level. The guitar riffs and solos explode with crackles of electricity. Lars Ulrich's drums thunder throughout each song. James Hetfield's throaty lyrics help push anyone listening into head banging ecstasy.

I would highly recommend this CD to anyone who wishes to explore the ferocity of heavy metal music. I also believe anyone interested in the west coast metal underground scene, that exploded in the early eighties, would find this CD essential to their listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kill Em All
Kill Em All by Metallica (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.