Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Suspense at its Best
Alex Romero fears his days at the elite Bullet Catchers agency may be numbered after the fiasco surrounding his last case. But his boss offers him another chance and he's off to Miami to protect Jessica Adams, a high-profile newscaster who apparently is being stalked by an overzealous fan. However when he breaks into her apartment to scare her and show her how much she...
Published on September 18, 2005 by Marilyn Puett

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but disappointing
I got this series based on all the rave reviews and am a big fan of romantic suspense, so after only reading half of it, I went back to reread the reviews wondering how I could have purchased an entire series if it was only a soso rating. Well, this is one time I can't trust all the five star ratings. Having said that it was a decent fast read. I found myself flying...
Published on February 26, 2010 by A Book a Day


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Suspense at its Best, September 18, 2005
By 
Alex Romero fears his days at the elite Bullet Catchers agency may be numbered after the fiasco surrounding his last case. But his boss offers him another chance and he's off to Miami to protect Jessica Adams, a high-profile newscaster who apparently is being stalked by an overzealous fan. However when he breaks into her apartment to scare her and show her how much she needs his help, he discovered he's scared the wrong Miss Adams. In his presence is Jasmine Adams, Jessica's twin sister who has come to Miami to impersonate her twin while Jessica goes undercover for an important investigation. Soon Jazz realizes that her sister is missing and fears she may be dead. She and Alex become reluctant partners in an investigation that leads them into the underbelly of Miami and puts them both in danger.

KILL ME TWICE is easily the best romantic suspense that this author has written. It's filled with sexy dialogue, intriguing characters, red herrings galore and enough sizzling sexual tension to light up Las Vegas. The plot is superb and will keep the reader guessing til the villain is revealed.

This is the first of a series of Bullet Catcher books. Next up is THRILL ME TO DEATH, Max Roper's story, in 2006.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First in the Bullet Catcher series, October 1, 2006
Alex Romero is given one assignment- to keep Jessica Adams safe, and stay out of her bed. What Alex didn't expect was her twin sister to be the one pretending to be Jessica. Jazz Adams is nothing like her sister the newscaster. She has spunk, and an overly eager sense of determination to find her missing sister, but who can she trust? Before Jessica disappeared, she asked Jazz to pretend to be her and to tell no one who she was. With only Alex on her side, the two must unravel the clues to find Jessica before it is too late.

As my first Roxanne St. Claire novel, it was a fairly decent read. The suspense held throughout the story line. I noticed how so many people mentioned the many twists and turns, I however, did not think they were as cleverly done. Maybe it is just that I read at least a book a day if not two with a good majority being mysteries, but it was a bit predictable to me. Maybe that's because there just weren't enough red herrings to really make the twist a shocker. Even with the predictability on my part though, it was a good romantic suspense. I look forward to reading the next in the bullet catcher series.

Is it worth buying?

Yes, I do feel most people will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a terrific story with strong characters, mystery, romance, and action., October 17, 2007
By 
Alyce In Wonderland "The Looking Glass" (Over the hill or underland, or just behind a tree) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Bullet Catcher Series:

Kill Me Twice

Thrill Me To Death

Take Me Tonight

I'm always excited when I find a new author to add to my home library. Roxanne St. Claire can really tell a story. Her descriptions of the locations in the tale are vivid without being too wordy. Her characters are well developed and realistic. There is plenty of mystery and lots of fast- paced scenes to keep you turning the pages.

Alex has been assigned the duty of guarding a well- known news reporter. As a body guard among an elite team known as the 'Bullet Catchers', he takes his job seriously. When he arrives to take on his assigned task, he is surprised to find that his client has been replaced by her twin sister.

Jazz and her twin, Jess, are as different as night and day. While Jess is busy building her career as a famous anchorwoman, Jazz prefers risking her life as a private investigator. When Jess wants to take a week off at the news station to research a ground- breaking story, Jazz agrees to pretend she is her sister on the evening news. When Jazz arrives at her sister's apartment she is shocked to learn that she has a new body guard. The last thing Jazz wants or needs is a man following her around.

Over the following days, Alex and Jazz learn that Jess is in trouble. Until she is found, Alex has been reassigned to guarding Jazz in her sister's place. Jazz wants to follow every dangerous lead to her sister's whereabouts. Alex is determined to keep her from running straight into a trap. They make a pact to work together until Jess is saved. Their biggest challenge becomes fighting their attraction for one another so they can concentrate on saving Jess.

This book is a real page- turner. The only thing that made it a bit less enjoyable for me was the fact that Jazz's character was quite cold. She is jaded from a past relationship and will not bend when Alex tries to keep her safe. He compromises again and again in their search for Jess, but she insists upon doing everything her way... even to the point of taking unreasonable risks. She constantly disappears without warning, leaving Alex to frantically search for her. When their relationship progresses to "the next level", Jazz tells him that she only wants him for sex. It got to a point where I really could not like Jazz. I was wishing Alex had a woman with a bit more heart. Still, the story is definitely worth all 5 stars.

Want to read the whole Bullet Catchers series? Here are the sequels:
Thrill Me to Death (The Bullet Catchers, Book 2)
Take Me Tonight (The Bullet Catchers, Book 3)

More Roxanne St. Claire favorites:
Killer Curves
French Twist

If you enjoy romantic tales between protective men and modern women, try these:
Hard Evidence
Extreme Exposure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for the next Bullet Catcher!!!, October 18, 2005
Alex Romero is the Bullet Catcher's official ladies man. Skilled at his job, the gorgeous bodyguard's biggest challenge is fighting off women. His last assignment has placed him on professional probation. The amorous attentions of the client's wife were frowned upon by her husband and his boss. Now he has the chance to redeem himself. Protect a news anchor and no hanky panky!

Jasmine 'Jazz' Adams, PI, is determined to help her sister and catch the creep stalking her twin. When a certain sexy bodyguard insists on taking charge, she resists. But when the danger to her sister escalates, Jazz turns to Alex for help. Combining their skills, the two work together against the growing threat. As their desire for each other builds, so does the danger.

What a great book! Jazz is a strong-willed heroine. Gorgeous, smart and very, very sassy! A perfect match for Alex. He needs someone to stand up to his domineering ways. But don't get me wrong, Alex is divine. He's handsome, honorable, confident and has a to-die-for sexy accent! I can still "hear" him whispering erotic Spanish love words. The tension and passion between these two is amazing!

Kill Me Twice is a riveting thriller! Well-written with a plot full of suspense, I never saw the ending coming. Ms. St. Claire has created a dynamic, action-packed mystery and has successfully woven in a sensual love story. I am hooked! I love The Bullet Catchers and am anxious for the next installment!

Annabelle

Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Read With Plenty of Twists!!!, October 10, 2005
"Kill Me Twice is a roller coaster ride that will take the reader from a simple body guard protection situation to, the kidnapping of a twin and the connection to the underbelly of the adult movie industry. Dynamic characters pepper the pages and I dare you not to fall a little bit in love with Alex Romero, a true dark, handsome, and protective hero.

Jasmine "Jazz" Adams has a twin that is investigating a story that requires her (Jazz) to pretend that she is her sister Jessica. The reason behind the twin switch... so no one at the news station knows that anything is wrong. Jessica wants to be on a network, and this story might just be her ticket to the big time. Well, Jazz has no idea that her sister has been receiving threatening letters and e-mail, and she also has no idea that her new boss has hired a bodyguard to protect her. Imagine her surprise when she goes to her sister condo and is jumped right at the door by said protector!

Things are about to get a lot scarier though when things don't start adding up regarding her sister's disappearance. Instead of phone calls, she gets text messages, it looks as if her sister comes home but leaves no notes. This is not like Jessica and Jazz starts to worry. If this is not enough, she has to deal with the sexy Alex. He is causing a whole of emotional upheaval for her but at the same time he's keeping a distance between them that she doesn't understand. Is this mess going to turn out all right?

Alex has been told that he has to keep his principle safe and he can't touch her. Not a problem until he gets a good look at her. Than he finds out that Jess is actually Jazz and the one person he must keep safe is MIA. The search for Jess though leads to places that they can't even believe. It appears that she has participated in an adult video, but Jazz swears that her sister would never do that. The new boss seems to have deep feelings for Jess, but Jazz swears that she would never sleep to get to the top. Things are not adding up and the longer she's missing the more trouble it means. Will he be able to keep the girl safe and his heart as well?

This was a very fast read. I literally stayed up all night to read it! There were plenty of twists and turns and Jazz and Alex were a perfect combination, which made reading their romance a pleasure. The conclusion was drawn nicely and I even managed to squeeze out a tear or ten they're at the end. (No, this doesn't give anything away...trust me) I highly recommend Ms. St. Claire and I look forward to getting a hold of her next read!

Official Reviewer for Romance Designs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but disappointing, February 26, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this series based on all the rave reviews and am a big fan of romantic suspense, so after only reading half of it, I went back to reread the reviews wondering how I could have purchased an entire series if it was only a soso rating. Well, this is one time I can't trust all the five star ratings. Having said that it was a decent fast read. I found myself flying through the second half because I just wasn't emotionally invested in it, however it still held entertainment value. There were too many things that were cliched, typical, and sometimes nonsensical. The heroine, Jasmine Adams, is described as georgeous and intelligent with the body of a centerfold and has a photographic memory to boot. She's come into Miami to cover for her twin sister when her sister needs to go undercover to scoop a story. When she gets there, her sister has disappeared and all signs lead to her being in trouble, but "Jazz" ignores these signs and covers for her so no one realizes she's missing. With that photographic memory of hers and a background as a Private Investigator, she doesn't remember simple things like names, faces, or other details. It was actually quite annoying. Luckily for her, waiting to guard over her is a hired bodyguard, Alex Romero, who was sent to watch over her sister, but instead watches over her since her sister is missing. Alex is a bullet catcher, an elite group who are hired only by the rich and famous to protect, defend, investigate, etc.... It's lead by an ex CIA operative Lucy, also gorgeous and intelligent.

Throughout the story, Alex essentially babysits for Jazz while she bulldozes her way into figuring out where her sister is, but only at the half way point does she start to believe her sister may actually be in trouble. There are lots of red herrings and people introduced who could be the bad guy to keep up the mystery and subplot over subplot for an element of surprise towards the end, but in a way, you just don't really care that much.

I also didn't really buy into the chemistry between Alex and Jazz. There's some sexy scenes between them, but I couldn't really see him falling for her. She's brave and brash, but annoying to the core and doesn't listen to anything including her own intuition. Some things are contradictory, like Alex telling Jazz not to leave the room with this guy Ollie who they're not sure they can trust. Her intuition says she can trust Ollie so she leaves the room with him and halfway to their destination she starts second guessing herself and pulls out her gun just in case. So, prudence is wise, but if you're not sure and you need a gun, why leave with him in the first place? It's alot of stupid moves like that which simply didn't impress me. If you're smart, then do smart things. If you have a photographic memory, then remember things. Also, when I got to the end, quite frankly, I wouldn't hire the bullet catchers to do traffic control, nevermind save my life. The way it all goes down does not instill confidence at all.

So why did it even get three stars from me? Well, it wasn't bad, just confusing. The writing includes alot of dialogue which I prefer to flowery descriptions of scenery and mundane things like three page descriptions of someone's outfit. The only draw back to this was that I sometimes couldn't tell who was saying what and very likely could have chalked it up to typos. There were quite a few, but overall it was still entertaining and I did like Alex the hero. Being the first in the series and seeing as how I have all of them, I won't give up yet. I liked the other bullet catchers introduced in this book and hope that there's more attention to consistency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Won't See It Coming, November 17, 2005
By 
Arwen "AKA Arwen" (Austin, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I just put down <u>Kill Me Twice</u>. It's the latest from one of my fave authors, Roxanne St. Claire. Rocki (who writes chick lit as Rocki St. Clair) has done something I didn't think possible. She ratcheted up the sexual heat in this book to the point you could deep fry an iceberg! YOWZA! It was instant combustion between Jazz and Alex. Putting the book down was more than difficult. I even snuck off to the restroom for a 20 minute break so I could read more! Rocki, if I get fired, it's all your fault!

But take a PI who doesn't need any help and give her a bodyguard who is determined to help her anyway and you have an instant recipe for conflict. Jazz wants to find her sister and Alex thinks he's guarding her sister. He knows within the first few pages that Jazz is not the perfectly perky Jessica. But Jessica is in trouble and it's his job to save her. And her hardheaded, tease of a sister who thinks nothing of using his lust for her to distract him.

Jazz needs to ditch the Cuban. He is trouble in every way possible and he thinks she needs help finding her own twin. She does whatever it takes to work her angles... and I do mean HER angles... to get to Alex. The two of them heat up the streets of Miami as they take on the people who have her sister.

Roxanne hits you with a twist at the end that you will NOT believe! I was totally blown away and never saw it coming. Fabulous writing from one of the up-and-coming authors. And if you like this one, don't stop here! Her <u>French Twist</u> is just as good. Rocki has a knack for telling a story that sucks you in.

<u>Kill Me Twice</u> is the first in the Bullet Catcher series by Roxanne St. Claire. I'll be looking for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FULL OF SUSPENSE, SENSUAL TENSION, ONE OF ST. CLAIRE'S BEST!, September 28, 2005
By 
Marilyn Shoemaker (Seattle, Washington) - See all my reviews
KILL ME TWICE, the first in Roxanne St. Claire's Bullet Catcher series is set in Miami Beach with the most incredible sexy, talented, and hot Cuban born bodyguard you will ever come to know, Alex Romero. Alex is hired to protect Jessica Adams, a Miami newscaster who is about to write a very powerful expose which will put her at the top of her field and land her in New York. Jessica asks her identical twin, Jazz, a PI, to fill in for her at the Miami TV station so that she can go undercover to get her story. When Jazz arrives in Miami, she finds that Alex, a bodyguard has been hired to protect her twin, due to personal threats on her life. Now her sister is missing and not to be found. From there on, these two very capable, strong willed and fiery people team up and begin a journey and search for Jessica that will knock your socks off.

I found this book suspenseful, powerful, intriguing and extremely sensual. The Bullet Catcher organization is headed up by an amazing ex-CIA agent, Lucy Sharpe. Lucy also has on her team, two additional strong and sexy men, Max Roper and Dan Gallagher. The stores of these bodyguards and security specialists will be continued in future Bullet Catcher Series.

KILL ME TWICE, I believe will be one of Roxanne St. Claire's best romance/suspense novel. This book truly deserves five stars and more! I can hardly wait until THRILL ME TO DEATH (Max Roper's story) will be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so much..., February 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kill Me Twice (Hardcover)
Well, I was not very impressed with this book. Too many unexplained circumstances. No way in heck "Jazz" could pass as her twin to so many people her twin is close to.

And the whole exported porn storyline? Not romantic to say the least.

I wasn't impressed by the author's writing style, and there are way too many typos in the novel (she needs a better proof-reader). However, I was interested to see how the novel ended, so it did hold my attention to an extent.

I don't think I will be buying more of St. Claire's books, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USTED AMARA ESTE LIBRO! - You will love this book!, January 9, 2006
Hot, hot, hot - whether it's the sultry Florida sunshine, or the sexy scenes that sizzle with suspense, Ms. St. Claire has another hit on the bookshelves. KILL ME TWICE is a fast read that leaves the reader breathless till the very end. There are sparks from the start between Bullet Catcher Alex Romero, the handsome Cuban romeo who's hired to provide protection for TV anchorwoman Jessica Adams. Problem is, Jessica's not available ... she's hot on her own story and has hired her own expert, identical twin sister Jasmine ("Jazz") to serve as a personal stand-in for a few days. But something's not right. Either Jessica's in deep cover - or deep danger. And when Alex and Jazz team up (boy, do they team up!) to track down Jessica's whereabouts, look out! That's when the bullets really start flying.

Kudos to Ms. St. Claire on this first in her line os "Bullet Cathers" series. I'm looking forward to reading Max Roper's story later this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kill Me Twice (The Bullet Catchers)
Kill Me Twice (The Bullet Catchers) by Roxanne St. Claire (Paperback - May 16, 2011)
$22.99 $19.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.