Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book That Should Be In Every Facebook Marketers Toolkit
This is the book on Facebook that many marketers have been waiting for.

Most books on Facebook delve deeply into the community and social aspects but don't really cover the different beast that is Facebook Advertising. While you need to understand how to address and network with the Facebook community in order to market to them, to run any kind of Facebook...
Published on August 9, 2011 by Mary T. OBrien

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good & Bad of Facebook Ads
The first edition of this book was published in August 2011. I read it in October and some of the system changes Facebook implemented a few weeks ago have already outdated some of the material. The author references the fast paced nature of Facebook's evolution many times and writes about some of the legal uncertainties advertisers face in the future of targeted online...
Published on November 17, 2011 by James D. Nichol


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book That Should Be In Every Facebook Marketers Toolkit, August 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
This is the book on Facebook that many marketers have been waiting for.

Most books on Facebook delve deeply into the community and social aspects but don't really cover the different beast that is Facebook Advertising. While you need to understand how to address and network with the Facebook community in order to market to them, to run any kind of Facebook Advertising campaign you really need in-depth information on how to set it up and effectively make use of all the various targeting options. This book provides just that.

It goes deep into all the different ways to target and create your ads and how to optimize your campaigns for maximum performance. It covers everything about using the Facebook Ads Manager (not a very intuitive system) and also gives invaluable information on various segments you should target depending on the audience demographic you are trying to reach. The real key to Facebook Advertising is utilizing the demographic targeting capabilities to your best advantage, and this book explains that fully, with checklists and step-by-step guides that you can utilize immediately.

Marty covers all this in his own inimitable, yet accessible style, providing an easy read yet an invaluable reference tool. I've heard him speak at many conferences over the years and he's always engaging, yet thought provoking, guaranteed to take a concept by the horns and make you think of it in a different way. His written style is the same way and your approach to Facebook Advertising will never be the same.

While newer marketers, small businesses or entrepreneurs might find all this a bit daunting and technical, learning to truly take advantage of the the Facebook Advertising platform will put you way ahead of most of your competitors and allow you reach one of the largest, and still growing, groups of potential customers on the web. Don't let that opportunity pass you by. Marty and his team have run hundreds of Facebook campaigns for companies large and small, and have learned a lot along the way. He shares a lot of that learning here, so we can also take it and use it to our advantage.

This book will sit on my reference shelf for a long time. Thanks, Marty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed...but NOT for an amateur Facebook business, May 17, 2012
By 
RMurray847 (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I got this book, thinking it might be helpful in finding some easy ways to help my wife promote her modest home business. Shows how little I understand about Facebook. This book is really meant for serious business folks who are looking to maximize a Facebook presense and are willing to spend for it.

I'll be honest, after getting through a chunk of the book, there just wasn't much reason to go on, because it was not what I needed. BUT, that being said, the book is excellent at what it exists for and I would still very much recommend for the right audience. This is not a "Facebook advertising for Dummies" book...it is detailed, sometimes a little technical and not a super fast read. You need to be serious about using Facebook advertising. If you are, you'll find the book useful. It even comes with a few modest coupons to help you get started with some of the services discussed in the book. This does make one wonder how "objective" the author is...but there wasn't anything so overtly skewed that the book loses credibility.

Sorry I can't give you more details. I just bought it expecting one thing and really got another...totally my fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good & Bad of Facebook Ads, November 17, 2011
By 
James D. Nichol (Upper Midwest, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The first edition of this book was published in August 2011. I read it in October and some of the system changes Facebook implemented a few weeks ago have already outdated some of the material. The author references the fast paced nature of Facebook's evolution many times and writes about some of the legal uncertainties advertisers face in the future of targeted online marketing. This indicates that many updates and editions of this book will be released, let the buyer be aware of this and make certian that your are getting as current information as possible. Having said that, there is also some very timeless, relevant and sound advertising/marketing knowledge to be gleaned from this book.

This would be an overwhelming book to a person in a small start up. On the positive side the author's experience is an excellent resource of examples and how to apply market knowledge to advertising campaigns. However, it is a lot of information to digest for a beginner or inexperienced advertiser. It would be a bit like drinking from a fire-hose and probably bring a beginner to a standstill.

I would have also liked to have seen the information organized better. I like to have books like this available as quick references that I can pull off the shelf and quickly look up and specific area, but it is just not set up that way. On the other hand there is a wealth of great information here, some in didactic principle and some in the form of (real and fictitious) examples.

Bottom line; I would recommend this book for people with 'some experience' to 'expert marketers and advertisers' there are nuggets in this book that nearly anyone can learn from.

If you're a new start up or a mom & pop shop be aware that this could be information overload. You might try some of the free video sources just to get your feet wet (set a budget that would be equivalent to what your comfortable paying for a little education) just search for 'How to advertise on Facebook.' After getting something going, then I would suggest reading this book. At that point you'll have enough experience to apply some of this author's insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the interest group buckets at the back of the book, October 10, 2011
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
This book is one of the most detailed books I have read on Facebook advertising to date. The author does a great job of delivering actionable insights that marketers can take back to their ad campaigns. Believe it or not for me the most beneficial part of this book was what was in back (albeit now a little less relevant since Facebook rolled out interest group targeting options recently). He basically outlined groups of interests for you so you can simply copy and paste them into your campaign. The amount of time this saves you is unbelievable.

You couldn't pay anyone really to get the interest group buckets he has put together for you. That alone makes this book a steal of a deal IMO. Really satisfied with the purchase and have no problems giving it a 5 star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide on Facebook Ads, October 10, 2011
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
"Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques" by Marty Weintraub is an excellent guide for anyone wanting to advertise on Facebook. Weintraub is the CEO of aimClear, an online marketing agency, and his experience with advertising campaigns with social media is evident in this thorough and informative book. It is essentially a textbook on using Facebook ads successfully.

The book contains nine chapters and three appendixes. They are all very informative, and one finds out very quick that this is not some simple light marketing fluff, but rather a serious guide for marketing on Facebook successfully. The first chapter explains how Facebook opens up new worlds for marketers and provides a good overview of dos and don'ts for social marketers and what lays ahead.

The second chapter explains key performance indicators and how to apply branding, direct response, sales, and so forth with this media. Chapter three focuses on understanding the Facebook ad creation UI. It is a good overview of the ad creation process that includes ad design, demographic targeting, and campaign pricing. The text is very user friendly in helping you create ads if you have never done so before.

In chapter four, the author looks at how to optimize account structure and learn about ad layouts and the importance of up-front demographic research. You learn how to use the Power Editor here if you don't know how to use it already. Chapter five focuses on targeting who you advertise to, and the author claims this is the crux of the book. What makes Facebook such a great place to market is the ability to target just who you place ads in front of. Chapter six continues with targeting strategies and how to focus on specific demographics.

The next chapter, seven, shows how to build ads that resonate to your targeted user. This chapter will help you write ad copy and choose images to push the emotional buttons of those you advertise to. Chapter eight deals with payment options, budgeting, bidding, landing pages, tracking, and dialing in optimization tweaks to ensure your ad campaign is successful. And finally, chapter nine details essential Facebook Ads metrics. This will help you optimize a Facebook Ads account, or increase the efficiency of ads that remain running.

The Appendixes include checklists, marketers to follow on Twitter, and a list of Facebook targeting segments. The book also comes with a $25.00 promotional code to try out Facebook Ads.

This book is not about social media marketing. It is about Facebook Ads. There is a big difference. Therefore, if you are looking to use Facebook Ads in your marketing campaign, this is a must book to help you do just that. If not, there are other resources on social media marketing. I highly recommend this book for those that want to include Facebook Ads in their marketing campaign. This book is very informative in that niche.

Reviewed by Alain Burrese, J.D., author of the upcoming Tough Guy Wisdom series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent "How To" Guide for Facebook Marketing / Ad Campaigns, October 19, 2011
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I've read several "how to" guides regarding Facebook advertising, and I've spent a few hundred dollars following some of that advice thinking I was doing it right. After reading this book, and investing $50 for a test of some of Mr. Weintraub's strategies in one Facebook marketing campaign for a blog I publish, I am very impressed - the clickthrough ratio is a lot higher on this campaign (or I was really lucky). If you're looking for some solid advice on what the Facebook advertising platform is and how to do it for yourself, I would strongly suggest picking up a copy of this book.

The author has an engaging writing style - I didn't feel as if I was being talked down to by a "know it all" nor did I think the communication was overly simplistic for the computer illiterate. If you have used the Facebook advertising platform before, some of this will be familiar to you but I encourage you to not skim over those sections as I was very tempted to do, as I did learn a few things I never knew but probably should have know, specifically on some of the "drilling down" further methods in your targeted ad campaign.

The book also comes with a $25 facebook advertising credit; while I haven't used the credit yet, it is basically paying for the cost of this book here on Amazon and it can't be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you advertise online at all, this is a must read., November 17, 2011
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Weintraub hits a home run with this book, and if you advertise anywhere online, you will definitely benefit from reading it.

I've been reading books on advertising for years, and I have to say, not only has Weintraub done his homework, he explains everything so well you can't help but learn from him. He does what many authors in this arena do -- provides images to explain his points -- but I liked the way Weintraub did it better than in other books of this nature. He also has an informative writing style and I thought he did an excellent job with his explanations. Some who want only bullet points may find the style a bit heavy with facts & data, but I found Weintraub's descriptions and explanations be quite informative. Besides, I know how to skip over what I don't need to read, and it was nice to have the reference material there if I wanted to understand things a bit deeper.

I have to say, even if you're advertising on Google and not Facebook you will learn a lot!

The bottom line is that so long as we have the Internet, social media is NOT going away, and nobody has more personal data about its users than Facebook. So, if you want a solid Facebook advertising strategy to reach targeted potential customers, I'd say this is the best guidebook out there for getting the biggest bang for your buck. Hats off to Mr. Weintraub for saving me HOURS of experimenting (and costly frustrations). Killer Facebook Ads is well worth the cover price as it will easily pay for itself in your first ad campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Guide to Advertising on Facebook, October 25, 2011
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Facebook advertising overcomes one of the biggest obstacles faced by advertisers: How do you get the people who would be interested in your product or service to see your ad? Because of the information in Facebook profiles, ads can be targeted very specifically. Want to reach college-educated women ages 21 to 35 who like Zumba dancing? With Facebook, you can find them.

This book gives details of how to create, deploy, monitor and optimize Facebook ad campaigns. What should your headline say? What type of photo should you use, and where can you get photos? What calls to action work best? Killer Facebook Ads addresses all of this and more.

Even if you have never run a Facebook ad (or perhaps any ad) before, you will know exactly how to proceed with Facebook after reading this book. I recommend it for anyone who wants to reach the more than half a billion Facebook users. An excellent reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Facebook Ads, October 20, 2011
By 
Tom "ontrac1" (Flemington, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
One of the few books I've read lately where the title is actually appropriate rather than just a "hook" to get you to buy the book. Other reviewers have gone into an in-depth, chapter by chapter review, and since I agree with all the other 5 star reviews, I won't rehash in my review. I would simply say that if you have a business, small or larger, you need to be on Facebook and if you are on Facebook, you need to read this book. Buy it!! Read it and apply what you have learned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Facebook ad MUST READ., September 30, 2011
By 
Paulo Leite (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I never knew the almost infinite possibilities of Facebook ads... until I got this book.
In a nutshell, it shows all the many ways we can exploit Facebook's capabilities to reach our consumers with extraordinary precision and success. I loved the many examples... although I am not an experienced user. But still I feel a marketing professional will turn this book into a sales weapon.

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques
Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques by Marty Weintraub (Paperback - August 9, 2011)
$29.99 $21.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.