Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Sweepstakes in Prime Music Shop Now HTL

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars39
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$20.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on August 9, 2011
This is the book on Facebook that many marketers have been waiting for.

Most books on Facebook delve deeply into the community and social aspects but don't really cover the different beast that is Facebook Advertising. While you need to understand how to address and network with the Facebook community in order to market to them, to run any kind of Facebook Advertising campaign you really need in-depth information on how to set it up and effectively make use of all the various targeting options. This book provides just that.

It goes deep into all the different ways to target and create your ads and how to optimize your campaigns for maximum performance. It covers everything about using the Facebook Ads Manager (not a very intuitive system) and also gives invaluable information on various segments you should target depending on the audience demographic you are trying to reach. The real key to Facebook Advertising is utilizing the demographic targeting capabilities to your best advantage, and this book explains that fully, with checklists and step-by-step guides that you can utilize immediately.

Marty covers all this in his own inimitable, yet accessible style, providing an easy read yet an invaluable reference tool. I've heard him speak at many conferences over the years and he's always engaging, yet thought provoking, guaranteed to take a concept by the horns and make you think of it in a different way. His written style is the same way and your approach to Facebook Advertising will never be the same.

While newer marketers, small businesses or entrepreneurs might find all this a bit daunting and technical, learning to truly take advantage of the the Facebook Advertising platform will put you way ahead of most of your competitors and allow you reach one of the largest, and still growing, groups of potential customers on the web. Don't let that opportunity pass you by. Marty and his team have run hundreds of Facebook campaigns for companies large and small, and have learned a lot along the way. He shares a lot of that learning here, so we can also take it and use it to our advantage.

This book will sit on my reference shelf for a long time. Thanks, Marty.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon May 17, 2012
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I got this book, thinking it might be helpful in finding some easy ways to help my wife promote her modest home business. Shows how little I understand about Facebook. This book is really meant for serious business folks who are looking to maximize a Facebook presense and are willing to spend for it.

I'll be honest, after getting through a chunk of the book, there just wasn't much reason to go on, because it was not what I needed. BUT, that being said, the book is excellent at what it exists for and I would still very much recommend for the right audience. This is not a "Facebook advertising for Dummies" is detailed, sometimes a little technical and not a super fast read. You need to be serious about using Facebook advertising. If you are, you'll find the book useful. It even comes with a few modest coupons to help you get started with some of the services discussed in the book. This does make one wonder how "objective" the author is...but there wasn't anything so overtly skewed that the book loses credibility.

Sorry I can't give you more details. I just bought it expecting one thing and really got another...totally my fault.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 17, 2011
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The first edition of this book was published in August 2011. I read it in October and some of the system changes Facebook implemented a few weeks ago have already outdated some of the material. The author references the fast paced nature of Facebook's evolution many times and writes about some of the legal uncertainties advertisers face in the future of targeted online marketing. This indicates that many updates and editions of this book will be released, let the buyer be aware of this and make certian that your are getting as current information as possible. Having said that, there is also some very timeless, relevant and sound advertising/marketing knowledge to be gleaned from this book.

This would be an overwhelming book to a person in a small start up. On the positive side the author's experience is an excellent resource of examples and how to apply market knowledge to advertising campaigns. However, it is a lot of information to digest for a beginner or inexperienced advertiser. It would be a bit like drinking from a fire-hose and probably bring a beginner to a standstill.

I would have also liked to have seen the information organized better. I like to have books like this available as quick references that I can pull off the shelf and quickly look up and specific area, but it is just not set up that way. On the other hand there is a wealth of great information here, some in didactic principle and some in the form of (real and fictitious) examples.

Bottom line; I would recommend this book for people with 'some experience' to 'expert marketers and advertisers' there are nuggets in this book that nearly anyone can learn from.

If you're a new start up or a mom & pop shop be aware that this could be information overload. You might try some of the free video sources just to get your feet wet (set a budget that would be equivalent to what your comfortable paying for a little education) just search for 'How to advertise on Facebook.' After getting something going, then I would suggest reading this book. At that point you'll have enough experience to apply some of this author's insights.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
"Killer Facebook Ads: Master Cutting-Edge Facebook Advertising Techniques" by Marty Weintraub is an excellent guide for anyone wanting to advertise on Facebook. Weintraub is the CEO of aimClear, an online marketing agency, and his experience with advertising campaigns with social media is evident in this thorough and informative book. It is essentially a textbook on using Facebook ads successfully.

The book contains nine chapters and three appendixes. They are all very informative, and one finds out very quick that this is not some simple light marketing fluff, but rather a serious guide for marketing on Facebook successfully. The first chapter explains how Facebook opens up new worlds for marketers and provides a good overview of dos and don'ts for social marketers and what lays ahead.

The second chapter explains key performance indicators and how to apply branding, direct response, sales, and so forth with this media. Chapter three focuses on understanding the Facebook ad creation UI. It is a good overview of the ad creation process that includes ad design, demographic targeting, and campaign pricing. The text is very user friendly in helping you create ads if you have never done so before.

In chapter four, the author looks at how to optimize account structure and learn about ad layouts and the importance of up-front demographic research. You learn how to use the Power Editor here if you don't know how to use it already. Chapter five focuses on targeting who you advertise to, and the author claims this is the crux of the book. What makes Facebook such a great place to market is the ability to target just who you place ads in front of. Chapter six continues with targeting strategies and how to focus on specific demographics.

The next chapter, seven, shows how to build ads that resonate to your targeted user. This chapter will help you write ad copy and choose images to push the emotional buttons of those you advertise to. Chapter eight deals with payment options, budgeting, bidding, landing pages, tracking, and dialing in optimization tweaks to ensure your ad campaign is successful. And finally, chapter nine details essential Facebook Ads metrics. This will help you optimize a Facebook Ads account, or increase the efficiency of ads that remain running.

The Appendixes include checklists, marketers to follow on Twitter, and a list of Facebook targeting segments. The book also comes with a $25.00 promotional code to try out Facebook Ads.

This book is not about social media marketing. It is about Facebook Ads. There is a big difference. Therefore, if you are looking to use Facebook Ads in your marketing campaign, this is a must book to help you do just that. If not, there are other resources on social media marketing. I highly recommend this book for those that want to include Facebook Ads in their marketing campaign. This book is very informative in that niche.

Reviewed by Alain Burrese, J.D., author of the upcoming Tough Guy Wisdom series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on October 10, 2011
This book is one of the most detailed books I have read on Facebook advertising to date. The author does a great job of delivering actionable insights that marketers can take back to their ad campaigns. Believe it or not for me the most beneficial part of this book was what was in back (albeit now a little less relevant since Facebook rolled out interest group targeting options recently). He basically outlined groups of interests for you so you can simply copy and paste them into your campaign. The amount of time this saves you is unbelievable.

You couldn't pay anyone really to get the interest group buckets he has put together for you. That alone makes this book a steal of a deal IMO. Really satisfied with the purchase and have no problems giving it a 5 star review.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've read several "how to" guides regarding Facebook advertising, and I've spent a few hundred dollars following some of that advice thinking I was doing it right. After reading this book, and investing $50 for a test of some of Mr. Weintraub's strategies in one Facebook marketing campaign for a blog I publish, I am very impressed - the clickthrough ratio is a lot higher on this campaign (or I was really lucky). If you're looking for some solid advice on what the Facebook advertising platform is and how to do it for yourself, I would strongly suggest picking up a copy of this book.

The author has an engaging writing style - I didn't feel as if I was being talked down to by a "know it all" nor did I think the communication was overly simplistic for the computer illiterate. If you have used the Facebook advertising platform before, some of this will be familiar to you but I encourage you to not skim over those sections as I was very tempted to do, as I did learn a few things I never knew but probably should have know, specifically on some of the "drilling down" further methods in your targeted ad campaign.

The book also comes with a $25 facebook advertising credit; while I haven't used the credit yet, it is basically paying for the cost of this book here on Amazon and it can't be beat.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 6, 2013
I am have been involved with and been a part of setting up several businesses in what is now termed the "old" economy. I am also a business consultant teaching business development and marketing to start up businesses in the new economy. As such I am always looking at new ways to help market businesses. As such I have discovered the marketing power of using Google ad words to promote a business web site, rather than the old now almost defunct advertising books. By using ad words I have grown businesses revenues fourfold, virtually overnight by using ad words to promote a web site to the top of the first Google page. This incredible increase during a recession period was done at very little cost compared to profit. As a businessman and someone who has taught marketing it has amazed me how powerful the internet has become and how quickly it can positively alter business revenue. As such I ordered this book to understand the power of Facebook advertising as yet another marketing tool in the on-line marketing revolution.

Firstly this book is quite long and the content can be tedious to digest. It develops from an assumption of no knowledge an advertising campaign using Facebook as its store front. As a marketing expert the rudimentary marketing ideas laid out, looking at target focus, knowing your audience etc were quite straightforward. What was interesting for me is how to apply this knowledge to Facebook adverts and how to use the Facebook system to create adverts. I am not a computer whiz and it can be difficult for me to read Microsoft help pages and understand what I am supposed to do, to put right a programme that is not working. With this book I did not have any such problems as the process is described in great detail, with pictures of menus and programme boxes to help the novice understand how to do it. It really is a great book for a computer novice like me.

I do have a word of warning about this book that is echoed by others. This book is great at the programme fundamentals of using Facebook as an advertising tool and is very good at explaining how to use it to set up an ad campaign. What it is not good at, is creating an imaginative campaign with flair. This is still something a novice at marketing will have to learn elsewhere. The ad that will be created by using this book will work but there is little creativity within it. I can say that this is not necessarily a bad thing as my ad word campaign was not necessarily creative but it did work.

So for a novice on computers this book will help create a working Facebook ad. It will help raise the company profile to your segmented market, but it will do it without flair and it may look a bit monotone "samey" as other adverts using the same principles. This book is designed for the on-line novice marketeer and is very good for those in that category. Those who fall outside of this segment will get some ideas from this book but may find it lacking in some areas.

Great book for a novice on-line marketeer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon September 27, 2011
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Although I've dabbled in Facebook advertising for my small business, I was completely unimpressed with the results. After reading this book I know why.

The book's main concepts cover targeting your ads, creating compelling ads, and then measuring your results. Tried and true marketing concepts are applied to the unique variables that define the Facebook ecosystem.

Similar to other advertising opportunities, the key is creating an ad and properly targeting it. Unlike other opportunities, Facebook advertising is equalized. Everyone has the same sized ads and ability to target however they want. This is of huge advantage to small businesses.

Many of us have tried the ad that says "Like us on Facebook" and wondered why we didn't get a good Return on Investment. This book is about the other ads that actually produce results. How to create a headline that gets business combined with the correct picture that speaks to your target audience. I found myself jotting down really great ideas for my business while reading the book. Great examples and details dos and don'ts give the reader clear direction on what to do to grow their business on Facebook.

While Facebook might change the mechanics of ads, the concepts are going to remain the same. The chapters covering how to place an ad and read the results are probably the areas that will become the most dated but the author has an updated website that covers these changes.

The appendix of this book is worth the price of admission. In a variety of categories, keywords are listed for various hobbies. Want to market towards fans of Lord of the Rings--here are a few hundred words. Twilight fans took up almost an entire page.

If you want to advertise on Facebook, this is the place to start and keep referencing throughout your campaign.

One caveat. The book includes a $25 coupon on Facebook. Mine didn't work since I already redeemed another advertising coupon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 3, 2012
I saw Marty in person and a conference in Tampa which was hosted by bluglass..and he was a very dynamic speaker. He mentioned his book and had to check it out..its a great read and continue to reread certain chapters.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on September 9, 2011
Thank you Marty for writing this!

Most marketers use Facebook like they would run an AdWords campaign. Ultimately, that campaign fails and they blame the Facebook platform and complain social doesn't work.

It's not that social doesn't work - it does - and quite well - if you use it right.

This book walks you through the various ways to use Facebook to help you reach your goals.

I've been advertising successfully with Facebook for a while; but this book opened my eyes to yet other ways I could use Facebook to improve my marketing even more.

Everyone who is running Facebook campaigns should read this. Even if you have been successful with Facebook - this book will give you some new insight you didn't have before you ran it. If you are new to Facebook - start with this book - not the Facebook help files. Facebook wants you to spend money. Killer Facebook Ads will teach you how to spend money and get results.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.