Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book
This is an absolutely wonderful book. I read it in two huge gulps. It contains nothing I didn't already know, so as far as that goes, I didn't get anything out of it. But its value does not lie in revealing new information. It lies in the way the information is handled.

But for many people, at least some of what the author presents will be new, because many...
Published 15 months ago by Garry Puffer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Covering 50 years of lies takes many pages.
I'm still working my through this book and so far find it repetitive as the author argues his point against statements or arguments made by other people. I'm one of those who feel others than Oswald (if Oswald was even involved) were responsible for Kennedy's death and am still waiting to learn who Moore feels did it. It may end up being a good write, but you have to be...
Published 6 months ago by Bill Hart


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, October 23, 2013
By 
Garry Puffer (Riverside, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing JFK: 50 Years, 50 Lies: From the Warren Commission to Bill O'Reilly, A History of Deceit in the Kennedy Assassination (Paperback)
This is an absolutely wonderful book. I read it in two huge gulps. It contains nothing I didn't already know, so as far as that goes, I didn't get anything out of it. But its value does not lie in revealing new information. It lies in the way the information is handled.

But for many people, at least some of what the author presents will be new, because many of the small details have not filtered down to the average American, and some not even to the average JFK assassination enthusiast, I would think. For example, I would bet money that many people do not know that the phrase “with a Coke” was excised from sworn testimony. See, the problem of Oswald encountering a policeman on the second floor with a Coke in his hand caused a lot of problems for the time line needed to get Oswald from the sixth floor to the second, and those precious moments spent putting change in the machine, getting the bottle, opening it, and turning around walking a few steps before encountering the policeman, well, those moments needed to be taken back. So the story changed, and the new story had Oswald buying the Coke after the encounter. It's thousands of little things like this that make no sense if the story is as simple and clear cut as the WC apologists claim.

The format of the book is very reader friendly. 50 lies, one after the other. Boom, boom, boom,..., and most dealt with in a few pages. But there's a lot going on in those pages. And every lie is clearly a lie. NO (honest) person can argue that the lies he presents are in fact true (see S. V. Anderson's one-star review for an example of someone trying, though). Each lie is proved very simply to be a lie. CE399 takes up several of the lies by itself, because there are lies embedded in lies. Anyone who thinks a computer simulation proves the Magic Bullet Theory is an idiot. At best it proves the theory is possible. At best. The author shows that it's not even possible. Another lie is that that the Zapruder film proves that Oswald was the lone shooter (ABC News). One more example: the “Jet Effect,” as propounded by Dr. Luis Alvarez in the American Journal of Physics to explain how Kennedy's body could have been propelled backwards by a shot from the rear. Dr. Alvarez proves that having a Ph. D. does not make you infallible. The Jet Effect, by the way, was invented only after Jim Garrison showed the Zapruder film in court.

For anybody who sort of believes that, well, maybe there might have been a conspiracy, this book is for you. It's a handbook for how to handle the crap that the Lone Nutters try to confuse you with, along with probably the most effective presentation I've ever read for someone who is sitting on the fence.

Things I really liked about this book:
1) It's the first book I've read that referred to David Von Pein, well known to internet message board readers and host of a website that contains, I think, every available TV video of JFK assassination coverage. High quality too. One wonders how he succeeded in getting CBS, etc. to agree to his archiving these videos on his website. They're usually more protective of their copyright. Mr. Von Pein is pretty much universally regarded as a troll and shill (he denies he's paid for it, though), arguing vociferously for the WC and insulting those who don't agree. Taking him on is like trying to punch out a chainsaw. There is a common critique of conspiracy researchers that the author writes about: that of their amateur status, and I've wondered for a long time about Mr. Von Pein's credentials. Try as I might I cannot find out anything about him. Another fellow who posts a lot on Amazon and thinks Von Pein is okay and correct, told me that Von Pein is a restaurant owner. But this bit of hearsay is all I have to validate his credentials as a researcher. I would pay top dollar for a book about this guy. It was nice to see him taken down a bit in published form.

2) The book is very much up to date, using information only recently revealed, such as Barry Krusch's proof that someone rearranged boxes on the sixth floor at the “sniper's nest” AFTER all shots were fired. Couldn't have been Oswald. He didn't have time. Hmmm.

3) The author knows an awful lot about the JFK case. He has apparently read every relevant book and beyond. He pulls in information from an incredible variety of sources.

Things I wondered about:

1) It is apparent that the author believes wholeheartedly in the Grassy Knoll shooter. So did I. For years. And then last year I read Sherry Fiester's “Enemy of the Truth.” Fiester is, to my knowledge, the only forensics expert in blood spatter and bullet trajectories to ever examine the case. Her conclusions are slightly different. They still require an extra shooter, just a slightly different forward location. One that makes more sense to me than the Grassy Knoll. Possibly the men behind the fence were there for a different reason. I don't know, but I know I'm not as positive about the GK solution as I once was. What I wondered was if the author was merely unaware of Fiester's book, or if he knew about it but dismissed her conclusions. A shot from Fiester's location might have sounded not unlike a shot from behind the fence.

2) I wondered if the author was also unaware of the role Mary La Fontaine played in trying to discredit Chauncey Holt, miraculously locating another set of three tramps shortly after Holt told his story (this group of tramps is easily shown not to be the famous three in all the photos, and neither is Howard Hunt one of them, by the way). What she did puts her into the cover-up camp, but the author has only praise for her and her husband's writings. The La Fontaines are not well regarded in the conspiracy community. So I wondered about this.

One thing I did not like:

In his treatment of the lie concerning Occam's Razor, the author is absolutely correct in skewering the WC apologists for their misuse of this. Their major sin is in not being honest and admitting that their own story is incredibly baroque, far more complicated than any of ours. Personally, I am sick of having some LN nut jump out of a dark alley and pull Occam's Razor on me. I have begun carrying Occam's Glock to protect myself.

What I did not like was that the author, as does everyone else who's dealt with Occam's Razor in regard to the question of conspiracy (with the exception of David Ray Griffin, who uses it correctly and devastastingly against the 9/11 official story), misunderstands the Razor. He says that Occam's Razor states that the simplest solution is probably the true one. Actually, Occam's Razor doesn't say anything about truth. Nor was it even devised for use in instances such as this. Basically it is a principle created for use in scientific inquiry to choose among competing hypotheses. But a basic notion in using it is that all the hypotheses are equal in explaining the data at hand. If one explains it better, then even if it's more complex, you choose that one, but if all of them are equal in explaining the data, then you should choose the one containing the fewest assumptions, the simplest one. That seems reasonable because there is no other way to choose, and you've got to choose to be able to continue. The thing is, you might be wrong. The truth of the hypothesis will be decided elsewhere, when others can verify your results. That's science. That's quite a bit different than saying that the simplest solution is probably the true one. I forgive the author for this because I think 98% of humans who have heard of Occam would state the Razor exactly as he has done. But it's not right. Besides, I don't think there are any two theories in the JFK affair that equally explain the evidence. Occam isn't needed anywhere, and simplicity has absolutely nothing to do with anything in this ungodly complicated affair.

I also have to say that I really appreciated the lack of formatting errors and spelling or grammatical mistakes that I find too often in non-expensive e-books. There were a couple, but that's all, and it makes reading a book so much easier when the reader isn't constantly jarred by mistakes. Kudos for this and multiple kudos for this fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debunking the Debunkers; Or Conclusively Telling Posner et allus How Supporting the WR Is without Merit, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dr. Moore's book is superb. It is written in a highly approachable style and thoroughly documented.

Moore's book points out the hype and dribble based in the reliance of Gerald Posner and Vincent Bugliosi on the flawed and not so complete Warren Report. Aside from the explanation in Crossfire of the two TSBD breakrooms, Moore's book is the only source to completely highlight the terms of its significance in Oswald's not having shot President Kennedy.

Specifically, the lunchroom was located on the 1st floor of the TSBD and employee termed "the Domino Room" probably for its pattern and decorations. The 2d floor TSBD was actually a snack and vending machine breakroom. The confusion was purposely created by the Warren Report which falsely lead reader's to believe that only the 2d floor Breakroom was associated with Lee Oswald on Friday, 22 November 1963. The thoroughness of Moore's discussion is refreshing.

Another area of completeness concerns the account Moore gives of police officer Tippit's last patrol on that deadly Friday. Further, it strongly points away from Oswald as being the police officer's shooter.

The book reads quickly. This is a book to acquire, read and retain for its arguments against the simplistic hype and venom of debunkers such as McAdams, von Pein, Posner, Bugliosi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Antithesis to the Lone Gunman Tomes!, October 7, 2013
This review is from: Killing JFK: 50 Years, 50 Lies: From the Warren Commission to Bill O'Reilly, A History of Deceit in the Kennedy Assassination (Paperback)
This particular subject has been flogged, folded, spindled and mutilated many, many times over the past few decades. However, Dr. Lance Moore puts a fresh slant on an old controversy: the veil of mystery over John F. Kennedy's assassination. Chock full of information, sources, quotes and intriguing concepts, Killing JFK: 50 Years, 50 Lies offers the reader a veritable plethora of cover-ups, painstaking examination of quotes from numerous sources, documents, transcripts, and even a literal frame by frame analysis of the infamous Zapruder footage. Dr. Moore weaves a compelling account, eschewing the typical chronological order of events, to create a non-linear series of key times, dates, and people-both famous and not-so-famous-into his narrative,thoroughly exploring every nuance of the fateful day (and, more significantly, the ensuing events subsequent to the tragic event). Was Kennedy's death the result of one deranged gunman? Or are the conspiracy theorists correct, with all the dark implications of what could eventually come to light? Moore gives a painstaking examination of every link in this ponderous chain, leaving little if any nook, cranny or crevice unexplored. It's hard to put this one down although, due to the aforementioned non-linear format in which he presents the information, it can indeed be picked up again and again. That will serve the reader well, as there is sheer sensory overload here. This onion has many layers to unravel, which will keep the reader absorbed for many hours. There's room on your shelf for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, well researched amd well done look at the JFK case, September 1, 2013
By 
Vince Palamara (South Park/Bethel Park, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killing JFK: 50 Years, 50 Lies: From the Warren Commission to Bill O'Reilly, A History of Deceit in the Kennedy Assassination (Paperback)
Lance Moore is to be highly commended for a very witty, well researched, and well written account of the JFK assassination case; very well done, indeed. I was most impressed with Moore's overall knowledge of the murder, his take on the evidence for conspiracy, and, last but certainly not least, his thorough dismantling of Warren Commission apologists like David Von Pein, John McAdams, Vince Bugliosi, and Gerald Posner.

Perhaps what is most impressive about this fine volume is its compatibility and user-friendly feel: it is worthwhile for both the novice AND the well-read, seasoned researcher (and all points in between). It never ceases to amaze me how many really good books on this subject have been written in the last few years; Moore's book is another instant classic.

What are you waiting for? Get this book asap. it is a "keeper": you will read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another book to add to one's Kennedy collection., July 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing JFK: 50 Years, 50 Lies: From the Warren Commission to Bill O'Reilly, A History of Deceit in the Kennedy Assassination (Paperback)
Here is an author who doesn't beat around the bush, mince words, or tip-toes around any issues, or the Warren Commission zealots. He calls a spade a spade. I enjoyed that aspect of this book, especially in how he rebuts Posner and his "Case Closed", Bugliosi and his "Reclaiming History", Bill O'Reilly's "Killing Kennedy", and others. True, many of the issues he covers wouldn't necessarily be new to The Kennedy Assassination researchers, however, he takes some of the greatest of lies, confirms them, adds to them, and then lays them out where he pounds the poop out of them. And before it's over with, Moore gets right down to business and expresses what this means, for this once great "republic", which many other authors seem to avoid. No I did not like that the book didn't have an index. And I also thought his soft handling, of Mr. Earl (snake in the grass) Warren, was a bit back-peddling. On the one hand, he tells us that this sinister plan wasn't an ideology issue, but then asks, why would Warren do what he did, when he too, like Kennedy, were both liberals. You were right on the ideology issue Mr. Moore; only, Warren too was all part of the package. Trust your own words. Bottom line; I am glad I purchased this book and it gives me a host of references and thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was an easy and interesting read, July 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing JFK: 50 Years, 50 Lies: From the Warren Commission to Bill O'Reilly, A History of Deceit in the Kennedy Assassination (Paperback)
This was an easy and interesting read. I've read many books on the JFK assassination and with each one I find something new. This author also has a sense of humor in his writing. Another good book on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORST LIES ORIGINATED IN ARLEN SPECTOR, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing JFK: 50 Years, 50 Lies: From the Warren Commission to Bill O'Reilly, A History of Deceit in the Kennedy Assassination (Paperback)
READ IN OFFICIAL 26 VOLUMES DEPOSITIONS HE TOOK OF PARKLAND DOCTORS AND NURSES.
THE WOUND THEY SAW ENTAILS FRONT SHOOTER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars America can never move forward until the lies and deceit ..., July 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
America can never move forward until the lies and deceit regarding the assassination are confronted and exposed. Shockingly, all discoveries and new information in the case has been unearthed by amateurs-with silence, smear and obfuscation the official response. This is a quick primer on the official deceit, and why we need to investigate the activities of Allen Dulles and Co.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exposing the biggest killer and liar of them all, November 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing JFK: 50 Years, 50 Lies: From the Warren Commission to Bill O'Reilly, A History of Deceit in the Kennedy Assassination (Paperback)
Excellent book. Thank you Dr. Lance Moore for pointing out the fallacies of one of America's greatest works of fiction. This fictitious account of pseudo-history prompted congressman Hale Boggs to say "I am so ashamed to have put my signature on this document. Everything I have seen leads me to believe it is an orchestrated cover up of the real killer which was Lyndon Baines Johnson"

"Fifty years and Fifty Lies" in a point made by Dr. Lance Moore merely points out the most obvious and easily refutable lies.. There is another book out that points out the mathematical improbability of so many deaths occurring among the witnesses who had seemed immensely prone to either suicide or total mind numbing amnesia. For many , it was one or the other.

The most disturbing thing about America is there are so many intellectually lazy citizens who are either naïve or too indifferent to do their homework and these people believe the fantastic story told by the Warren Commission ( Those three bullets did everything except for side straddle hops on their way down to the target ) and the farces put into print by Lyndon Baines(bull-s***) Johnson. , who was a pathological liar and a serial killer. The Warren Commission reports are a s phony as Lyndon Johnson's Silver Star.

Dr. Lance Moore is an incredible writer with an easy to read style. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NEVER BE AFRAID OF DIISCUSSION, October 15, 2013
This review is from: Killing JFK: 50 Years, 50 Lies: From the Warren Commission to Bill O'Reilly, A History of Deceit in the Kennedy Assassination (Paperback)
Dr. Moore has given us a thoughtful and well-documented look into one of the most glaringly important events in our history. He simply voices the question and concerns of thousands of people. Fiction writers such as David Baldacci andf Lee Child have reminded us that the "official" view of our government is not always totally correct. Memories of Nicaraugua, Persia, Chile, Mexico and too many other places attest to that rerality.

The fact that questions will not go away demand open minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.