Customer Reviews


7,468 Reviews
5 star:
 (4,736)
4 star:
 (1,047)
3 star:
 (309)
2 star:
 (165)
1 star:
 (1,211)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,369 of 1,572 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars O'Reilly Delivers, Unlike Most Reviews of the Book
It seems that most reviews of the book are by one of two types of reviewers: 1. the reviewer either loves or hates O'Reilly, or 2. the reviewer either loved or hated how it was written. Here is my take, leaving the personal feelings about the author aside, Killing Lincoln delivers on its mission. Many rip O'Reilly apart for it not being an in depth treatment of his...
Published on January 20, 2012 by history_bookworm

versus
2,323 of 2,852 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's been done, Mr. O'Reilly, and more accurately.
As someone who has studied Lincoln and books on the assassination since I was about 8 (that would be, sigh, about 50 years), I figured I'd give O'Reilly's book a try, assuming that since he had written it so shortly after some great Lincoln books (Abraham Lincoln: A Life, by Michael Burlingame; Blood on the Moon by Edward Steers) that there must be something unique about...
Published on October 3, 2011 by Anthony B. Ford


‹ Previous | 1375 376 377747 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great way to bring history to life, February 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
Love this book. i did read a lot of bad reviews before I bought it and made me hesitate on spending the money, but i am glad i did. the way it is written, makes it very enjoyable to read, and makes me feel as if i am part of the community where all this is unfolding. Most other books i read on the subject were so boring that it took me a while to finish them, and by the time i did, i could hardly remember any details. Most likely I was zoned out reading them. I highly recommend it. Great way to bring history to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK-Easy to see why it's on best-seller list!, November 16, 2011
By 
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
Bill O'Reilly has hit a home run with this book, Killing Lincoln.

O'Reilly has crafted a familiar theme with a lot of details not readily found in books on the same subject. I read it over the course of a few days and could not put it down. I have a shelf full of Civil war books including familar authors James M. McPherson, Michael Shaara, and Stephen Sears-and Bill O'Reilly's book is more than deserving to share the revered space. Excellent book, a must-read and O'Reilly is a patriot for giving this to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!!!!!!!!!!, November 16, 2011
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
I just finished Killing Lincoln. I totally enjoyed the book. I learned several new things. I would highly reommend it to anyone!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
I am a fan of all things Abraham Lincoln. This was a well researched and written book. I learned things of which I was not aware before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book., September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
Killing Lincoln is as well written as Killing Kennedy. But its all just history whereas Killing Kennedy is part of our life. SS, Wash DC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., March 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
Excellent read. My husband loved it. A great detailed explanation of the historical events. Every American should read this book. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Read, November 21, 2011
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
The people that are writing bad reviews on this book have obviously not read the book! They are spouting off errors--and the errors are amazingly blatant lies of what is actually in the book. Frankly, I'm astonished as well as perplexed and very puzzled by the exceedingly negative reviews. For those that love history and that want a very interesting read--buy this book. I read it out loud to my husband during a road trip, and we were both totally absorbed with the unfolding of this fascinating historical book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acurate book and a great read 5 stars !, November 16, 2011
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
This book is one of the best reads I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying.
A dose of history we all should come to know and better understand. I would
recommend this book to anyone,even my picky friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read., September 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wish all history could be this entertaining to read. Hats off to the authors, looking forward to your other "killing" books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My husband listens to audio cd's on the drive to work. I'm always looking for books to hold his interest. This book seems like it will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1375 376 377747 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever
Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever by Martin Dugard (Hardcover - September 27, 2011)
$28.00 $16.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.