Customer Reviews


6,877 Reviews
5 star:
 (4,274)
4 star:
 (957)
3 star:
 (281)
2 star:
 (155)
1 star:
 (1,210)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,311 of 1,511 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars O'Reilly Delivers, Unlike Most Reviews of the Book
It seems that most reviews of the book are by one of two types of reviewers: 1. the reviewer either loves or hates O'Reilly, or 2. the reviewer either loved or hated how it was written. Here is my take, leaving the personal feelings about the author aside, Killing Lincoln delivers on its mission. Many rip O'Reilly apart for it not being an in depth treatment of his...
Published on January 20, 2012 by history_bookworm

versus
2,294 of 2,811 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's been done, Mr. O'Reilly, and more accurately.
As someone who has studied Lincoln and books on the assassination since I was about 8 (that would be, sigh, about 50 years), I figured I'd give O'Reilly's book a try, assuming that since he had written it so shortly after some great Lincoln books (Abraham Lincoln: A Life, by Michael Burlingame; Blood on the Moon by Edward Steers) that there must be something unique about...
Published on October 3, 2011 by Anthony B. Ford


‹ Previous | 1434 435 436688 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Neocon Nonsense and Historical Manipulation, November 11, 2011
By 
Rich P. Ravarino "A Simple Man's View" (Salt Lake City, UT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
Pure revisionist trash, not worth the paper its printed on, nor is it worth the electrons that will be forced to light this drivel if you are a Kindle customer. Check out Patrick J. Buchanan's new book Suicide of a Superpower, it is much more thought provoking and historically accurate. O'reilly tries to demagogue Lincoln into some kind of 19th Century superhero, while ignoring much of the actual history of the day, including glaringly, the work of the British to bring about the civil war and the war over greenbacks vs. bank notes. Truly a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 133 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read The Real Lincoln by Thomas J. DiLorenzo, November 8, 2011
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
No chance whatsoever this book will be number one. No chance. It is clear to me that people are slamming the review section for this book with positive reviews because of some pinhead scheme. We have technology to see this stuff folks, and I for one will not stand for it. I hereby officially request this book be removed from the shelves so people aren't duped into thinking its a good read. Billy has an overdeveloped sense of his own self worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't mean to slam this book, but..., November 11, 2011
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
The assassination of presidents is a noteworthy subject - for no president gets assassinated for being simply average. He must be either especially good, or especially evil. Had Mr. O'Reilly penned a tome half the length of this one, and in it given a fair answer to this question, I might have been tempted to finish it. If this book gave a fresh look at the injustices that Lincoln committed against his fellow countrymen and their constitution in the name of liberty, I missed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


171 of 289 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False perception, November 8, 2011
By 
Jeremy Scott (MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
O'reilly gives Lincoln a false image of being one of the greatest presidents in the history for our Constitution and civil liberties. However, Lincoln violated the constitution on many occasions. I suppose Bill could care less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 116 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars propaganda by the book, November 8, 2011
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
Much of the information found in the book has "missing fact" obvious "holes" making the historical fact more a story crafted to meet his points of view. Please don't fund this kind of mis-information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 118 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst book on Lincoln, November 8, 2011
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
My friend loaned me his copy of Bill's latest book. I somehow managed to get through it, though I was tempted to send it back to my friend in pieces many times. Aside from the awful writing and amateurish story-telling, the book glosses over or simply omits critical facts altogether. I have read previous O'Reilly books and while they will not go down as time-treasured works in any sense of the term, this one stands out as particularly useless. I'm glad I didnt spend money on it and if I had, I would have had to come up with some other use for it to make it worth the money. Toilet paper perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 207 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rewriting history from a pinhead perspective., November 8, 2011
By 
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
Declaring a president to be great, one must take into account that president's main objective, to uphold the Constitution, as well as protect and defend it. O'Reilly fails to take into account that Lincoln did more to defile the Constitution than any other president, even Nixon. Lincoln suspended habeas corpus, was responsible for the murder of hundreds of thousands of his own countrymen, and hid behind a cause he didn't even believe in. He was a power monger who couldn't care less about slaves. Too many true stories about Lincoln to pick up this piece of garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dear Bill, November 8, 2011
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
Every time I have ever watched your television show, listened to your radio program, or read an article or book that you've ever published, you've come across as nothing more than a pompous fool. I do agree with you on a few things, but I think you have some serious issues and frankly I believe you are far too close-minded to be influencing the sheep like minds of some Americans out there who cannot differenciate between your words of poison and solid truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Essentially, US history turned into a cheap romance novel., November 8, 2011
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
Finished this yesterday. Quick read, so I feel a bit shafted. Should've known, my fault. YOU DON'T TAKE AMERICAN HISTORY AND BASTARDIZE IT BY TURNING IT INTO A SILLY ROMANCE NOVEL. YOU JUST DON'T. It isn't "technically" a romance novel, but the subject matter mixed with a fairly juvenile milieu just sweats of romance novel. It'll hit the garage sale this spring, it's not going on the shelf. De Toqueville deserves much better shelfmates.

Bottom line, buy it if you can get it for $5 or less. Don't pay anywhere near sticker for this. For the first time in my life in reading politically inspired books, I actually feel bad about the trees that gave their lives for this piece of crap, and I've worked as a logger and sold firewood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An honest opinion, November 8, 2011
This review is from: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Hardcover)
This is a terrible piece of work. Biased, inaccurate, ignorant and sloppy. Bill is a dumb clod who doesn't even know who Keynes was. He should not be allowed to publish anything. Also, I want everyone to know that he refused to air his own online presidential poll because Ron Paul voters "slammed" it. He's as biased as can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1434 435 436688 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever
Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever by Martin Dugard (Hardcover - September 27, 2011)
$28.00 $16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.