Customer Reviews


257 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie
I was SO surprised by this movie. The acting was very good, the scenery was beautiful and the story was such that it really made you think afterwords. Not because it was confusing, but because of the moral implications, etc. I would HIGHLY recommend this movie to anyone. Some of the fight scenes are a bit graphic, so just be aware.
Published 17 months ago by VLV

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of a cross between First Blood and Killer Elite. Tense and exciting. Fun to watch the two hunt each other. I say B.
"Sometimes things become part of you whether you like it or not." Benjamin Ford (De Niro) is a former American soldier who served in Bosnia in 1992. Emil Kovac (Travolta) is a former Serbian soldier who served in 1992. Twenty years later Ford lives alone in a remote cabin trying to forget the past while Kovac has been searching for Ford for twenty years. When the two meet...
Published 16 months ago by Tony Heck


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was SO surprised by this movie. The acting was very good, the scenery was beautiful and the story was such that it really made you think afterwords. Not because it was confusing, but because of the moral implications, etc. I would HIGHLY recommend this movie to anyone. Some of the fight scenes are a bit graphic, so just be aware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Acting, So-so Story, July 18, 2013
By 
When two powerful actors of our time star in a movie, there is no doubt that you have to watch it. The acting is nothing short than great on either side, DeNiro vs. Travolta, but I didn't dig the story that much. Never the less, it is a good movie and definitely worth watching. If you have seen and liked movies like Sleuth, either 1972 version or the 2007 remake, then you will like this one as well. DeNiro is truly at home and comfortable with his well-known grumpy yet intelligent attitude, while Travolta has taken a different yet challenging role. Honestly, I cannot say more about this movie without ruining it for you, since it is really a two man movie, so I just end my mini review here. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timely and disturbing, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Killing Season is a movie that thrills and leaves you thinking. It is timely because the tension echoes many of the current situations going on in society. In their own right each of the two in the movie have their reasons (and justifications) for their points and places. In the end (sorry, no spoiler here) the stark realization of the view from the other side really brings home the powerful moral of this movie. De Niro is his usual amazing self and Travolta delivers a nearly convincing eastern bloc persona. Well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of a cross between First Blood and Killer Elite. Tense and exciting. Fun to watch the two hunt each other. I say B., August 4, 2013
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killing Season (Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
"Sometimes things become part of you whether you like it or not." Benjamin Ford (De Niro) is a former American soldier who served in Bosnia in 1992. Emil Kovac (Travolta) is a former Serbian soldier who served in 1992. Twenty years later Ford lives alone in a remote cabin trying to forget the past while Kovac has been searching for Ford for twenty years. When the two meet up again a new war begins, this time it becomes personal. I have never really been a Travolta fan and lately it seems that De Niro is very hit or miss so my excitement was tempered for this one. I have to say I really did enjoy this and the movie kept me interested the entire time. The movie is basically just these two hunting each other in the woods while they try to get inside the head of the other and try and understand why this is happening. The only real problem with this is that when Kovac catches Ford he lets him get away and vice versa so it gets a little repetitive but that doesn't really detract too much from the enjoyment of the movie. Overall, kind of a cross between First Blood and the Killer Elite. I enjoyed it. I give it a B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good suspensefull film with many unexpecting turns~, August 9, 2013
By 
Jeremiah (Knightstown, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoyed the whole story line of the movie. It really had so many twists and turns that you didn't know what to expect next. They picked a beautiful scene for filming and you can really see the true beauty of this wonderful country.

John Travolta really did well portraying his character and use of the accent. If you had never watched John perform before you would think he really was from Bosnia. Robert Di Niro as always does a great job and cannot complain about his role in this film.

I did get a little annoyed with the back and forth torturing but that was what kept you waiting to see who has the upper hand next. I was a little disappointed with the outcome of the ending but then again I didn't expect that turn at all. I would like to see more films in the future with John and Robert acting together.
So watch and enjoy this suspenseful action film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was more interested in seeing how they could make Robert De Niro and John Travolta work out in a movie such as this. I didn't expect much, but was actually impressed with the flip-flop of predator/prey that took place. I didn't even recognize John Travolta at first. He plays a great crazy Bosnian. Some of the graphics are a bit intense so be ready to squirm if you don't like the sight of blood or torture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killing Season- Absolute Must Watch Film Stays With You Long After You've Seen It, November 22, 2013
This review is from: Killing Season (Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Saw this film last night and could not believe how good it was. Exciting as hell (top 30 action movie all time), and the story is excellent. Cinematography is excellent. Travolta (always good), and Deniro (best role for him in a long while) make Killing Season a must watch. Way above the cut movie about cat and mouse battle between two former soldiers (with each switching who is the cat, and who is the mouse throughout), but more importantly, about the devastating effects of war on a man's soul and psyche. This one will stay with you for awhile. Real emotional impact. I only regret not having seen this on the big screen.

Absolute must see in my opinion. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugh.., April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing Season (Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
John Travolta and Robert De Niro either needed a rent check or just needed something to do. This movie is absolutely horrible. The acting is bad, the story is bad, and everything else you can think of that you like in a movie is bad here. You also have to listen to John Travolta's Goldmember accent through the entire movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Travolta & De Niro, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If it weren't for Travolta and De Niro, two outstanding actors, I would have given this a 2. But both these guys are favorites of mine and played their roles well as usual, but the storyline didn't do a whole lot for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Man Vs. Evil, Redemption And Finally Forgiveness, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Killing Season (Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Killing Season is a taut, gritty, bloody thriller with two legendary actors who seem to give it their all in spite of a smaller scale picture. I was surprised at how people on IMDB or even other sites seem to be bashing this film. The movie isn't going to win any academy awards but the acting by both De Niro and John Travolta is totally solid. John Travolta's accent through out the film is convincing and I have seen him do much worse ones in other films that were not even close to being on par with this one. The movie is simple in its plot and it provides its audience with some fast paced action sequences and a rivalry between two men who are not really over a war that was fought eighteen years prior. The movie is bloody and brutal in many scenes but it isn't a big explosion shoot em up action film-so be warned if that is what you are looking for.

The movie is more of a hand to hand combat, cat and mouse thriller with some old school savagery. The film is interesting in the fact that it is two men facing off against each other and both are looking for some form of redemption. John Travolta is perceived as the villain but yet there is understanding as to why he is doing what he is doing. Robert De Niro looks like the protagonist but there is a darkness in him as well and he is fighting his own demons. I won't give away anything but the movie leaves you at the end with a much better feeling especially of hope then when it began. Killing Season is a terrific low budget thriller that is well worth a watch...And maybe more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Killing Season (Blu-Ray)
Killing Season (Blu-Ray) by Mark Steven Johnson (Blu-ray - 2013)
$29.99 $10.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.