Customer Reviews


349 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


290 of 302 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great "in other words" Explanations
Great "in other words" Explanations - of course you can find operating instructions on your Kindle Fire - however, consider this: A wonderfully written Kindle Fire operating manual you can use at the same time you are working on your Kindle Fire!

This is my key reason for having a useful "Dummies and Reference Guide" that you can turn the actual paper pages as...
Published on December 7, 2011 by Michael -

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing
Not done reading the book just yet, but it relies very heavily on screen shots from the Kindle.

The problem is that the pages are really too small to comfortably accommodate the screen shots, which are so integral to the flow and understanding of the text. The result is contant "squinting" at the pages, and an inabilty to fully read/discern all the screen...
Published on February 1, 2012 by jvb


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

290 of 302 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great "in other words" Explanations, December 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great "in other words" Explanations - of course you can find operating instructions on your Kindle Fire - however, consider this: A wonderfully written Kindle Fire operating manual you can use at the same time you are working on your Kindle Fire!

This is my key reason for having a useful "Dummies and Reference Guide" that you can turn the actual paper pages as you work on your Kindle Fire. This guide gives you great illustrations and explains more than what you have on your Kindle Fire.

INTERESTING TIP: In this book you'll find you can download to your computer and then print it out as a manual, or print out just the pages you would like to. You'll get it in about a minute - it will be saved on your Amazon Cloud and on your computer and on your Kindle Fire.

If you are use to the "Dummies" style books you will appreciate the way it is written and that you don't need to read it from cover to cover; just go to the part you need information on.

Enjoy your Kindle Fire even better with this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for Kindle Fire owners, December 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is required reading for anyone unfamiliar with the touch interface. The Kindle Fire (like the IPad) incredibly does not include an instruction manual, in spite of the fact that it is a new product based upon a touch interface that far from intuitive! In order to get the manual, you must find it...(guess where? on the Kindle!) perhaps an easy task for tech savvy twenty somethings, but not so much for the middle aged folk.

Enter "Kindle Fire for Dummies", a clear and comprehensive guide to the Fire,that should have come in the box. You can open the Kindle box with this book in hand, set up your reader in Chapter One, and slowly and methodically encounter the dozens of menus one at a time in a coherent fashion. Use of the Kindle Fire is covered in a clear linear fashion, providing instructions on menus and interface first, and functionality in increasing depth. Best of all,you can skip ahead to whatever feature you are desperate to master. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Fire for Dummies, December 13, 2011
This is a useful guide for the kindle fire. It is structured logically seems to have sections that cover most things, that is i haven't identified something it doesn't cover yet. It is clearly written. Maybe the illustrations could be a little larger, but in terms of getting started, sorting out quirks and helping me get the best out of the kindle fire its good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, February 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire For Dummies (Paperback)
Not done reading the book just yet, but it relies very heavily on screen shots from the Kindle.

The problem is that the pages are really too small to comfortably accommodate the screen shots, which are so integral to the flow and understanding of the text. The result is contant "squinting" at the pages, and an inabilty to fully read/discern all the screen shots.

Otherwise, the book seems to be simply and clearly written. Bottom line: I purchased the book online; had I thumbed through it ahead of time, I would have opted for a book in a larger, more-readable format. I did find that the book is quite concise, however, snd did not have much of the "puffery" and verbiage associated with many books in the Dummy series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THANK YOU, MS. MUIR!, December 10, 2011
By 
E. G. Bray (Bloomington, IN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kindle Fire For Dummies is well-written and really helps you get up to speed quickly on Kindle Fire. I especially liked all the interesting tips about features I might have missed otherwise. Want to make the most of your Kindle Fire? Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected., February 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire For Dummies (Paperback)
I have used other "Dummies" books before buying this one. This book did not give the guidance that was needed to learn the different uses of the Kindle Fire. It tells what the features of the Kindle are, but sometimes leaves you hanging as to how to use, and where the features are located. The figure
pictures are poor and sometimes hard to "figure" out what you are looking at. Unless you have your Kindle with you and you are able to make sure that you are on the screen in question, you can get lost. It is as if the book was written in a hurry. I love my Kindle Fire, but I was hoping this book would be a guide to educate me. The more a customer knows about an item they have bought, the better they will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, January 17, 2012
By 
J. R. "Judith A Rogow" (Ridgecrest, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire For Dummies (Paperback)
Unfortunately, none of the usual problems - setting up mail or deleting URLs - were solved in this hastily written book.
Other concerns - marking books read or deleting them from the cloud - were not addressed at all.
Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless purchase, March 6, 2012
By 
CAK (Gloucester, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazon clearly hopes that I'll use my Kindle to buy lots of content from them...and I will. The manual that comes on/with the Kindle is perfectly sufficient for managing this content and, yes, I suppose if you haven't jumped into the joys of swiping and twitching, the book may provide a good guide. But if, and this is what I had hoped it would do, your purpose was to find out how to get content from all the free sources out there -- not just Amazon -- for example Project Gutenberg -- and then how to manage THAT content on your Kindle...good luck. This book doesn't mention any of these wonderful sources and doesn't provide you with any assistance for how to manage to get that content onto your Kindle. I'm not surprised Amazon itself doesn't include this information but the book should have. Despite Amazon's hopes for my purchases their phone support was just wonderful in helping me learn how to copy/paste/upload mobi files. I'm so glad because this book wasn't anything more than a base level copy of Amazon's already quite clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as helpful as i hoped, January 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire For Dummies (Paperback)
The Fire is the first tablet I've owned and experienced. I thought this book would be good for my inexperience. All in all, this Dummies book is ok. I had hoped for something a little more than what is contained here. Most of the book contains overviews of what is on the Fire (helpful). It doesn't get too down-and-dirty with too many details of how-to's, though. I'm keeping the book because at some point I'm sure I'll located a tip or two that might prove helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle fire for dummies, February 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire For Dummies (Paperback)
Have to say after about 20 "for dummies" books that this is a disappointment. I suppose the simplicity of the device just doesn't need much explaining. Not enough help to warrant the cost.
Kindle Fire For Dummies (For Dummies (Lifestyles Paperback))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kindle Fire For Dummies
Kindle Fire For Dummies by Harvey Chute (Paperback - December 20, 2011)
$16.99 $12.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.