Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 7, 2011
Great "in other words" Explanations - of course you can find operating instructions on your Kindle Fire - however, consider this: A wonderfully written Kindle Fire operating manual you can use at the same time you are working on your Kindle Fire!

This is my key reason for having a useful "Dummies and Reference Guide" that you can turn the actual paper pages as you work on your Kindle Fire. This guide gives you great illustrations and explains more than what you have on your Kindle Fire.

INTERESTING TIP: In this book you'll find you can download to your computer and then print it out as a manual, or print out just the pages you would like to. You'll get it in about a minute - it will be saved on your Amazon Cloud and on your computer and on your Kindle Fire.

If you are use to the "Dummies" style books you will appreciate the way it is written and that you don't need to read it from cover to cover; just go to the part you need information on.

Enjoy your Kindle Fire even better with this book!
1313 comments| 292 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2011
This book is required reading for anyone unfamiliar with the touch interface. The Kindle Fire (like the IPad) incredibly does not include an instruction manual, in spite of the fact that it is a new product based upon a touch interface that far from intuitive! In order to get the manual, you must find it...(guess where? on the Kindle!) perhaps an easy task for tech savvy twenty somethings, but not so much for the middle aged folk.

Enter "Kindle Fire for Dummies", a clear and comprehensive guide to the Fire,that should have come in the box. You can open the Kindle box with this book in hand, set up your reader in Chapter One, and slowly and methodically encounter the dozens of menus one at a time in a coherent fashion. Use of the Kindle Fire is covered in a clear linear fashion, providing instructions on menus and interface first, and functionality in increasing depth. Best of all,you can skip ahead to whatever feature you are desperate to master. Worth every penny!
0Comment| 112 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2011
This is a useful guide for the kindle fire. It is structured logically seems to have sections that cover most things, that is i haven't identified something it doesn't cover yet. It is clearly written. Maybe the illustrations could be a little larger, but in terms of getting started, sorting out quirks and helping me get the best out of the kindle fire its good.
0Comment| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2012
Not done reading the book just yet, but it relies very heavily on screen shots from the Kindle.

The problem is that the pages are really too small to comfortably accommodate the screen shots, which are so integral to the flow and understanding of the text. The result is contant "squinting" at the pages, and an inabilty to fully read/discern all the screen shots.

Otherwise, the book seems to be simply and clearly written. Bottom line: I purchased the book online; had I thumbed through it ahead of time, I would have opted for a book in a larger, more-readable format. I did find that the book is quite concise, however, snd did not have much of the "puffery" and verbiage associated with many books in the Dummy series.
22 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2011
Kindle Fire For Dummies is well-written and really helps you get up to speed quickly on Kindle Fire. I especially liked all the interesting tips about features I might have missed otherwise. Want to make the most of your Kindle Fire? Buy this book!
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2012
Amazon clearly hopes that I'll use my Kindle to buy lots of content from them...and I will. The manual that comes on/with the Kindle is perfectly sufficient for managing this content and, yes, I suppose if you haven't jumped into the joys of swiping and twitching, the book may provide a good guide. But if, and this is what I had hoped it would do, your purpose was to find out how to get content from all the free sources out there -- not just Amazon -- for example Project Gutenberg -- and then how to manage THAT content on your Kindle...good luck. This book doesn't mention any of these wonderful sources and doesn't provide you with any assistance for how to manage to get that content onto your Kindle. I'm not surprised Amazon itself doesn't include this information but the book should have. Despite Amazon's hopes for my purchases their phone support was just wonderful in helping me learn how to copy/paste/upload mobi files. I'm so glad because this book wasn't anything more than a base level copy of Amazon's already quite clear instructions.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2012
Unfortunately, none of the usual problems - setting up mail or deleting URLs - were solved in this hastily written book.
Other concerns - marking books read or deleting them from the cloud - were not addressed at all.
Don't waste your money.
55 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
I have used other "Dummies" books before buying this one. This book did not give the guidance that was needed to learn the different uses of the Kindle Fire. It tells what the features of the Kindle are, but sometimes leaves you hanging as to how to use, and where the features are located. The figure
pictures are poor and sometimes hard to "figure" out what you are looking at. Unless you have your Kindle with you and you are able to make sure that you are on the screen in question, you can get lost. It is as if the book was written in a hurry. I love my Kindle Fire, but I was hoping this book would be a guide to educate me. The more a customer knows about an item they have bought, the better they will like it.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2012
The Fire is the first tablet I've owned and experienced. I thought this book would be good for my inexperience. All in all, this Dummies book is ok. I had hoped for something a little more than what is contained here. Most of the book contains overviews of what is on the Fire (helpful). It doesn't get too down-and-dirty with too many details of how-to's, though. I'm keeping the book because at some point I'm sure I'll located a tip or two that might prove helpful.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2012
Have to say after about 20 "for dummies" books that this is a disappointment. I suppose the simplicity of the device just doesn't need much explaining. Not enough help to warrant the cost.
Kindle Fire For Dummies (For Dummies (Lifestyles Paperback))
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse