Customer Reviews

400
4.3 out of 5 stars
Kinect Sports Season Two
Price:$15.96 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

200 of 206 people found the following review helpful
on October 27, 2011
Verified Purchase
I've played this game for a total of 10 hours now, and I've looked at just about every facet of the game. The game is not nearly what I expected, both in good ways and in bad. Here's a rundown of the different sports:

American Football: This is probably the most disappointing of the sports. It was the one I was looking forward to the most, and perhaps that is why I would consider it last. To start, you only get to play offense. The game begins with the kickoff where you wait for the ball to come to you and then run in place and try to dodge tackles. Then you take over on offense. The game only lets you pick between 6 passing plays. These get very repetitive after a while, and I noticed myself constantly calling for the deep pass every time because it's the easiest to run. When you score a touchdown/field goal or punt, the screen switches to a summary mode to show you what the opponent did. You never get to play defense or even see the other team score. It simply tells you whether they did or not. Then the whole process repeats until the game ends. As far as motions go, the sensor read my movements fairly accurately, but the running in place part did have some glitches. Don't expect to go through the motions just like a real quarterback, though. The motions are a bit dumbed-down. Overall I give this a 1/5.

Baseball: This was a bit better, but still disappointing. The batting part is pretty fun, as is running/sliding to first base if you don't hit the ball into the outfield. The pitching and defensive part of the game is a little boring. The pitching motions can be interesting, but the sensor didn't always read my movements correctly. I never once got a strikeout. I never even threw a ball (as opposed to a strike) for that matter. When the opponent hits the ball, you have a couple seconds to play to outfielder and get your hand in the right part of the screen to catch. This game tends to be much more fun when playing multiplayer though, as it gets to be more challenging that way. I give this sport a 2/5.

Darts: When I bought the game, I never thought I would play darts much at all. It seemed like another random sport they just decided to throw in there. However, after playing it a couple times, it has come to be one of my favorites. The computer difficulty levels are well programmed, as the Rookie level is not good at all, and the Champion level requires you to be on your A game. The sensor detects even the slightest movements of your arm as you aim. When you pull back for the throw, a target locks on to a part of the board where you started to pull back and your throwing movement determines how accurately the dart hits. You can change your throwing motion ever so slightly to get the dart to go higher or lower or left or right of where it locked on. You can even distract your opponent when its his/her turn to make them less accurate. I thought that was a bit clever. Overall I give this sport a 5/5.

Golf: I was somewhat pleased with this game, but unfortunately the motions for this are not as complex as I would have liked. When swinging, there is very little difference between trying to whack the heck out of the ball or gently moving your arms. The ball will go almost the same distance. The best way to change the distance your shot goes is by changing the club, not by changing how hard you swing. The holes are pretty fun, but ultimately the Kinect falls short of the Wii on this sports. I give this a 2.5/5.

Skiing: I was pleasantly surprised by the way this sport was put together. The motions used in this make it feel more like the real thing than the other sports. This is also the only sport that requires you to jump, which is one thing it has over Wii Fit (in which you can't actually jump off of the board). There isn't much else to say about this sport, but I give it a 3.5/5.

Tennis: This sport is probably my favorite. While the motions are pretty simple, it is more strategy oriented than the other sports. The Champion difficultly level is actually quite challenging. I noticed that after playing it so many times my shoulder and arm started to ache, but in a good way. Once again, there isn't much more I can say. The game is pretty simple, but it's still quite fun. The best part, though, is definitely multiplayer/Xbox Live gameplay. I give this sport a 4.5/5.

One of the features I also like about this game overall is the calorie counter. After every game you play, it estimates the number of calories burned and totals the number of calories burned from the entire playing session. This is a great motivator and makes the game more fun and exciting when trying to reach a calorie goal for the day.

I give the game as a whole a 3/5, about on par with the first Kinect Sports.
1414 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
156 of 164 people found the following review helpful
on October 27, 2011
It really pains me to write this review, because I was a hugely vocal fan of the original Kinect Sports. In fact, it was the game that convinced me to buy an Xbox 360. In many ways it was the perfect showcase for the Kinect's potential for virtual reality and video game exercise.

The best analogy I can come up with for Kinect Sports Season Two is that Kinect Sports Season Two is to the original as the movie The Matrix Reloaded is to The Matrix. On its own merits it's not a horrible game, but when compared to the iconic original there's just something really lacking.

Much of the feel of Kinect Sports Season Two is carried over the original, for better and worse. The graphics are still cartoony and your Kinect avatar is still there. There's still a loud and exuberant announcer with a quasi-European accent. After gameplay, you're still treated to videos of yourself looking silly.

There are some interesting improvements. For all the sports you have the option of competing as a single player against the Xbox, head-to-head against another human, or online through Xbox Live. There's also a mini-game associated with each sport.

What's completely different, of course, is that there are six new sports. Some of them are excellent, others not so much so. I'll provide my take on each.

1) FOOTBALL: This is a "simulation" of American football. I put the word simulation in quotation marks because this isn't exactly John Madden Football.

You start out by receiving an opening kick. There's no challenge in this, you just raise your hand when you're ready to receive it. Then you run in place as opponents try to tackle you. Oddly, there's no way to break nor block tackles--you just keep running in place as fast as you can until someone takes you down (In fact, I found just flailing my arms was good enough).

Whoever designed the game either didn't understand or decided to take liberties with the rules of football. In real football, you try to advance 10 yards in four downs by rushing or passing. In this game, there's no rushing, only passing. And you have to move down the whole field in four downs and score a touchdown or a field goal.

In order to pass, you need to choose a play from a "playbook" (or have the coach call it). The "plays" are all simple patterns that all end up with one receiver to your left, one in front of you, and one to your right.

To start play, you're brought to a screen where you're the quarterback in back of your offensive line. You need to crouch down and then jump up (or say "Ready, Hike") to receive the snap. When a little green icon appears over one of the three receivers' heads, you need to make a passing motion with your arm in that receiver's direction. Time it right, and you make a completion. Once that happens, you run in place at breakneck speed again to try to gain more yardage.

Once you score or if there's a turnover on "downs", the system will simulate your opponent's drive (you don't play defense). The opponent will either score or punt, and then it's your turn again. Score more than your opponent and you win the game.

All and all, I thought the game was fun enough, and all that running in place was certainly good exercise. But there was just so much potential lost. At the end of the day, this was a game that really didn't use the Kinect's capabilities as well as it could have to come close to simulating the real sport, whether it was letting you catch a football, evade a tackle, run a pattern, or throw a football in something other than three general directions. I give the football portion 3.5 of 5 stars for fun, but it could easily have been more.

2) BASEBALL: In this game, you play offense and defense in a quick baseball game.

To bat, you stand with your side to the TV, and assume a batting stance. A ball is pitched toward you, and you swing an imaginary bat. If you make contact and hit a single you have to run in place as fast as you can (but strangely, this isn't needed if you hit a double, triple, or home run). Worse, whether you run fast or slow it doesn't seem to affect the speed of the on-screen player. In another case where the game developer clearly didn't understand the rules of baseball, you have to slide into first base (this doesn't happen in real baseball).

To pitch, you make a throwing action towards the TV. There are two types of pitches, a fastball (where you make a throwing action to the TV) and a curveball (where you make a throwing action across your chest. You can control the speed of the pitch by how fast your arm movement is. There's no defense or fielding, except in the case where a batter hits a fly ball directly to one of your players, in which case the player reaches his left arm out and catches the ball (seemingly in the same place each time, again not much of a challenge).

Sadly, I found playing baseball in this game to be a bit tedious and contrived. In some ways, the game shows the limitations of the Kinect; while the Kinect excels in games that require full body motion detection such as dancing games, it's at a bit of a disadvantage to systems like the Wii and PS3 for games that simulate holding an object like a sword or a bat (where the game needs to detect things like speed, angle and torque). The Kinect is certainly capable of this (all a developer needs to do is have the player hold a stick), but unfortunately we don't see it in Kinect Sports Season Two.

Overall, baseball gets an unfortunate 2 of 5 stars from me, although again the running in place gives some decent exercise.

3) DARTS: This is where things start to turn around a bit. You start out by telling the Xbox where your TV is--above your head, at face level, or below.

From there, you're treated to a pretty realistic game of darts. To play, you hold your hand up as if you're holding a dart. A "cross hair" will appear on screen corresponding to your hand (and it's extremely sensitive). You "aim" your dart by moving your hand back, and you release it by moving your hand forward. The ensuing action feels much like genuine darts.

The rules are traditional. You start with 501 points and need to get down to exactly zero by scoring points on the dart board, which are subtracted from your point total. Some parts of the dartboard are worth more than others. In you find this a bit confusing don't worry--the program tells you exactly which part of the board you should be aiming for.

I'd say the overall feel of this game is excellent and really feels like real darts at times. Although I won't lie--there were some times when I'd be thrusting my hand forward and the system didn't even recognize me, or worse, causing my shot to go awry. I never really felt in 100% control of the dart as I would be in real life. Still, this one is 4 out of 5 for fun for being a realistic simulation.

4) GOLF: Here you can choose a 9 hole, 3 hole, or 1 hole competition. You choose different courses. To play, you stand with your side to the TV. Aiming your shot is extremely non-intuitive--you need to step forward or back to pivot your character's aim. And you really have no context with which to swing.

As for the swing, as long as you pull back and swing with one fluid motion, the game will let it fly, even if your actual technique is horrible or non-existent. Overall, I think the same gripe with golf that I have about baseball (and which I'll have later about tennis). Since you're not holding a controller, the Xbox will just interpret any wild swing you make with your hands as a swing. Sadly, I didn't find golf very realistic; in fact, if you're not careful it had the potential to ruin a real golf swing. The golf game here may appeal to very casual players who have never picked up a golf ball, but otherwise is forgettable. 2 of 5 stars.

5) SKIING: This one was a bright spot. The only other video game skiing I've done has been in games like Wii Fit Plus and We Ski which use the Wii Balance Board. In all those games, the balance board was just too sensitive and inaccurate to simulate skiing. With Kinect Sports Season Two, your body is the controller. To pass through gates, you lean to the side. To build speed, you crouch and lean forward. When you see a green zone, you jump to earn points.

Overall, this was a game that truly showed what the Kinect is capable of. 5 of 5 stars.

6) TENNIS: Finally, we come to Tennis. Again, with the Kinect's potential, you'd think that a tennis game would allow you a lot of great simulation--the ability to serve and volley, the ability to chase down shots, and so on.

But sadly, your range of actions is again extremely limited to serving, basic backhand, basic forehand, and no running or volleying. Even your swing speed doesn't seem to make a difference. About the most complex it gets is hitting a slice (or as they describe it "slowing the ball down") by swinging your arms from high to low. And as I said, there's something "missing" when playing without a controller or at least a prop in your hand so the system could detect racquet angle, type of shot, etc. Without these things, I'd give Tennis 3 of 5 stars.

To sum up, I'd give Kinect Sports Season Two a solid 3.5 stars (which on Amazon I'll round up to 4). It has some very bright spots and carries over much of what made its predecessor successful. But there just seems to be a lot of missed opportunity as far as innovation and pushing the platform and the series forward goes.
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on December 14, 2011
Verified Purchase
I'll preface this review by saying that I was a huge fan of Kinect Sports. Kinect Sports should be a part of every Kinect gamer's library.

While Kinect Sports was fairly global in its sports, Kinect Sports is leans more heavily toward American sports. You get football, baseball, golf, tennis, darts, and skiing as your main events. You also have a number of game activities based on the aforementioned sports. It's a solid package and is one of the few Kinect titles that offer online play.

In addition to the game itself, there is a free download (DLC aka downloadable content) for Kinect Sports Season 2 called the Kinect Sports: Season Two - Challenge Pack #1. This DLC adds more game modes and as well as challenges to send to friends. Each sport receives a new experience: Crazy Kicker (Football), Frantic Fielder (Baseball), Cool Ringings (Skiing), Champion Chip (Golf), Rapid Returner (Tennis) and Smart Shot (Darts).

The main football event allows single player, multiplayer, and Xbox Live match play. Single player is you against the computer. Multiplayer is a 2-player game. You can either play against each other (VS) or with each other (CO-OP). Xbox Live match play is where can play against people through the Internet. Xbox Live online play requires an Xbox Live Gold account as the Xbox Live Free account does not allow online multiplayer.

The scope of the football game is fairly limited. There are 3 difficulty levels (rookie, pro, champion). You can return kickoffs and play as the quarterback and wide receiver. There is no defensive play which is a disappointment. As soon as you receive the kickoff, you are to sprint down the field. Your character will handle the juking while you provide the locomotion. The higher you lift your knees, the faster your character will sprint. Once you have been tackled and have become the quarterback, you have 2 options. You can either let the computer pick a play for you to run (called Coach's pick) or you can select playbook and manually choose a play. If you chose to manually choose a play, you have a small selection of plays. You only have 4 downs to go the entire field but don't worry. All the plays can net you a lot of yards. 20-40 yard plays are very commonplace. On fourth down, you can choose to kick the field goal.

You can either play by going through the motions or using voice commands. Both work well but it felt more like football to go through the motions. For example, you crouch to get under the center, and then when you want to hike, you stand up. Or with voice, you would say "ready, hike". As the quarterback, once you hike the ball, your receivers will sprint down the field. When the wide receiver is open, the icon above their head will turn green. So it's a matter of recognizing who is open. You can throw to a receiver when their icon is not green but your chance of completion drops. To throw to the receiver, you just pivot your body and throw. The harder you throw, the more chance you have to have the receiver catch the ball in stride instead of stopping for the ball and then running. Catching the ball in stride increases your chance of running the distance to the end zone. Once you have thrown the ball as the quarterback, you instantly switch to being the receiver. Once you catch the ball, you simply sprint for the end zone, with the computer handling the juking and dodging of defensive players. In case you haven't realized it yet, there is a lot of sprinting in this game!!! Once you score a touchdown, kick the field goal, or turn the ball over on downs, the computer's offense will take over. You then watch whether the computer can score. You do not get to play defense. After that, the ball comes back to you and you keep going back and forth until the time runs out.

Football is a lot of fun. It is very tiring because you have to sprint every few seconds. If you hated the track and field in Kinect Sports 1, you may hate the constant sprinting in football. While the game play is great and fun, it's very limiting. You only 6 plays to choose from and they're all passing plays (though since you have to go the entire field with only 4 downs, you wouldn't want to do running plays). Also, the inability to play defense is disappointing. The football may also be better with single player than multiplayer because in single player, you are playing both the QB and the wide receiver. If you are playing co-op with a friend, you either get to be the QB or get to be the receiver. The QB only has to turn and throw the ball. The wide receiver has to do all the running. However, if you are playing against your friend, both of you have to be QB and receiver. You can use either your voice or your body, and you'll find out you'll like a combination of both. For example, when selecting plays, I just say the play.

No minigames for football come on the disc. You must download the free Kinect Sports: Season Two - Challenge Pack #1 in order to get the Crazy Kicker minigame. Crazy Kicker is great fun and is a football minigame. If you've played the soccer minigames of Kinect Sports 1, you'll feel right at home. In this case, with Crazy Kicker, you are the field goal kicker. The football is placed at different locations around the football field and you have to kick the field goal. So you'll be moving your body to the left or right side of the room to orient your character for the kick. Then you kick the ball. It's a timed even so the faster you kick, the more points you can score. You definitely can't dawdle if you expect to get a good score. In addition to distance and position, there are other factors such as the wind. You are given a number of footballs to begin with. Miss a kick and you lose a football. Lose all your footballs and your game is over. This was a lot of fun. I actually felt like a field goal kicker, keeping in mind angle and the wind speed. I may actually like this minigame than the actual football game.

Baseball is decent. Not bad. Not spectacular. Though I must preface that I was never a baseball fan. You also have single player, multiplayer, and Xbox Live online multiplayer. You have either the fastball or the curve ball. You can change the speed of the ball depending on whether you step forward on your pitch. It's very simplistic baseball. Pitching against the computer is not much fun. It's much more interesting against a human opponent. If you play against the computer, they will give you a scouting report on what pitches your particular opponent is known to have a weakness. For example, they'll say the player is weak on slow curve balls. Now, this just tells the tendency of the player. It does not guarantee that they won't smash your slow curve ball out of the park. It's set up like football in that you are first the batter. Then once you hit the ball, you have to sprint to first base. If your hit is multiple bases or a home run, you do not have to sprint. But if it's a grounder, you have to sprint to beat out the ball. Again, keep your knees high for maximum speed. Batting is definitely more fun than pitching in this game. They don't let you play a full 9 innings though.

The baseball minigame that comes on the disc is Home Run Hero. In this, you take multiple swings of the bat just like a home run derby. It tallies the distance on all the balls rather than just counting home runs. So you are aiming for the great total distance of all your hits. With Kinect Sports: Season Two - Challenge Pack #1, you get the Frantic Fielder minigame. This is very similar to the minigame in beach volleyball of Kinect Sports 1. You have to reach out to catch the baseballs coming at you. Sometimes the ball will bounce out of your mitt so you have a second opportunity to catch any misses. Once you missed a number of baseballs, the game is over. This one is not as fun as the minigame in volleyball of Kinect Sports.

Darts is a surprisingly good time. There is only 1 darts game available called 501. You are competing against either a computer player or a human and you get 3 throws per turn. Both of you start at 501 and you have to count down to exactly 0. So if on the first dart, you hit a triple 20, second dart you have a single 20, and third dart, you hit a 17, then that round, you scored 97 so 97 will be taken off your score. You must end the game on a double in order to win which increases the difficulty. So for example, if you need 20 to win, you cannot simply hit 20 to win. You would do something like hit a 10 and then a double 5. Or 16 and then a double 2. The game is quite accurate and fun. You'll be honing your breathing technique to just hit that triple 20. And when you hit, it feels like you earned it. When you miss, you'll feel like you did pull the dart at the end of your throw. But because the only darts game is 501, you end up not having to aim for the bulleye because a triple 20 is worth more than the bulleye. So you'll be staring at triple 20 an awful lot. Sure you can go for 50 in the bulleye and if you miss, you'll get 25. But go for the triple 20 and if you miss, you'll get 20. Higher risk but higher reward.

The minigame included on the disc is Pop Darts. This is like your carnival game. You have a spinning board with balloons that you have to pop. There is a person attached to the board which you are not supposed to him. It's basically a speed game where you have to be accurate. The other minigame is called Smart Darts and this is a lot of fun (but then again, I'm a geek). Smart Shots is an awesome darts game. If you've played Brain Age or Body and Brain, you'll feel right at home. They'll show a simple math equation that you have to solve, e.g., 2 + 3 = ?. So after you solve the equation, you have to find and then hit that number on the dartboard. So if they say 40 / 2, you have to hit 20 on the board. It's a timed event so you have to work fast. This is a great challenge game and is fun because it requires quick thought, quick identification of the number on the board, and then accuracy in hitting the target.

The game of golf is a lot of fun. The only negative is you cannot play a full 18 holes. Then again, the 9 holes game does take awhile to finish. Your options are the front 9 holes, a 3 hole match, or a single hole match. You can change clubs, view the hole, change the direction of your shot, etc. It's a lot of fun. The computer will pick the club it feels is most appropriate for the shot but you can change it any any time. The voice commands work great for this. You can raise your hand to your eyebrows which will let you see a bird's eye swooping view of the hole, just like on TV. While in your golf swing stance, you can walk forward or backward (not actually toward or away but rather on a horizontal line from the TV) to change the direction of your swing. You can even crouch like a golfer to see the terrain better but it's more cute than useful. When they kick in the wind, the graphics make it look like a hurricane which is funny. The drives feel good. The putts feel good. Just a solid game if you like golf. You will definitely want to play more aggressively than the computer's suggested shot, especially on the dog legs.

The minigames include Ocean Driver and Champion Chip. Ocean Driver comes on the disc. You have to drive the ball to a bulleye on an island and the closer you get, the more points you get. This one is not as interesting as Champion Chip. Champion Chip is obtained via the Kinect Sports: Season Two - Challenge Pack #1 download. Champion Chip is a golf minigame and is akin to hitting a bulleye target. Surrounding the putting hole is concentric circles. The closer you get to the hole, the more points you score. When you exhaust your supply of golf balls, the game is over. If you get a hole in one, they'll give you bonus balls. This was a lot of fun. Makes for great challenges as well.

Skiing is actually one of my favorites. It's very fast and intense. To have a fast start, you strike your arms down as if planting your poles to push off. If you ski in the crouched position, you'll ski faster so this event almost becomes a constant squat exercise. To steer, you lean to the appropriate site. At first I was fighting the controls but when I realized how it works, it became very accurate. The trick is to follow the terrain and not have big leans. When I figured out when you need big leans and when you need little leans, racing became easier. Most of the curves are banked. So if the curve is sloping rightward, don't lean right heavily or you will careen to the right because the slope is already pushing you rightward. If the curve is heading to the right but you want to head leftward, you will have to lean more heavily because you are working against momentum and gravity. To jump, you jump when you are in the green zone of the ramp. This is an awesome multiplayer game.

Cool Ringings is a skiing minigame where you ski down the slope but there are cow bells at various positions on the course. You have to reach out your hand to ring the bell. The more bells you ring, the more points you get. So you'll be reaching left, right, and up to hit bells. It's a timed event so you have to run the course fast but you have to hit bells to score points. This was so good fun. If anyone played the roller coasters in Carnival Games: Monkey See, Monkey Do, it feels like that, but I would rate this higher because it's easier to control and you feel like you're more in control of the event.

For tennis, at first I didn't like it. I thought it was a copy of table tennis in Kinect Sports 1. But the more I played it, the more I enjoyed it. I don't know if I like it more than table tennis. But it is some good fun. Note that if you are used to playing table tennis in KS1, you will have to adapt as the play is different. I still don't know how to do fast serves in tennis whereas it was very easy for me to slam serves in table tennis.

Rapid Returner is a tennis minigame, and it is like the rapid event in Table Tennis for Kinect Sports 1. It's okay, but I preferred the frantic nature of the table tennis event in KS1. It's not a bad event by any means but it pales compared to the aforementioned activity.

Now, Kinect Sports Season 2 has a feature that no other Kinect game has. In addition to the online multiplayer, it has a feature called challenges. This is where you select a minigame or event and you challenge someone over it. For example, if I challenge my friend in Smart Darts and I score 56 seconds, my friend has to beat that time to win or else I win. This doesn't have to happen in real time which is a boon. Let's say you and your friend cannot schedule time to play against each other online (family commitments, work, etc.). Now you can play against each other at different times of the day. It's like the leaderboards but it's more interactive and specific.

Now that the events and minigames have been discussed, I'd like to wrap up with my thoughts on the game. Once you figure out how to use the voice commands, they become a nice perk to the game, especially in golf and football. You'll end up using voice for some things, hands for other things. The graphics are beautiful. The resolution seems higher. Colors just pop. You'll see beautiful courses in golf. The sensation of speed in skiing is awesome.

The big question is: is it better than Kinect Sports 1? No. If you had to only own 1 Kinect Sports title, it should be Kinect Sports. That aside, is Kinect Sports Season 2 worth owning? I give an emphatic YES. This is a great game on its own. It's just that KS1 is amazing. And if you like any of the events in KS2, you have to have this game. Golf alone will be a decider for people that like golf. I love the darts game, and now I no longer have to have holes in my real wall from my errant dart shots. The challenges let you play against your friends without the worry of whether you can coordinate and schedule times to play against each other. Without the Kinect Sports: Season Two - Challenge Pack #1, I would've been disappointed in this title because the title appeared to be lacking in content. But with the DLC, it became a bigger game and thus worthy of our attention.

They are still intent on releasing new DLC (downloadable content) to keep the game fresh and judging by Rare's past history, they will support Kinect Sports Season 2 until the end. The next DLC will give you 9 new holes in golf.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Verified Purchase
There are so many Kinect games that need space to fully enjoy them. I've been disappointed with many titles because you're required to move too much in space I don't have. The Nyko Zoom ended up being a flop, and didn't correct the problem for people like me who have limited space.

So, I pre-ordered Kinect Sports Season Two and tried it out. First, I was impressed by the fact that you really don't have to flail your arms, move from side to side, and back and forth. The tennis is the best tennis on any motion controlled system, in my opinion. I especially liked that I could take a small step forward before I swung to fire a return shot or swing my arm from high to low to lob the ball. I thought this was very clever, and felt the Kinect was very accurate with this. I then played football for a couple of hours, and can't understand all the hate. The football is really fun. You squat to get ready, and stand up to have the ball snapped. There are 6 plays, and you throw the ball when one of the receivers turns green. A couple of times, I threw to an open receiver, but the Kinect sensor threw it to a different receiver who wasn't open, but this was rare. I then just had the coach to pick to expedite the play, and get back into the action. Once you throw the ball, you are the receiver and have to run in place. You can't juke, or run faster, but it didn't bother me, because I was getting a workout. The other best game in my opinion is skiing. You start out by squatting, and can move left or right by leaning with your upper body in the direction you want to go. The skiing is the best skiing I have ever played including the Wii, which is also a great skiing experience. Golf was also a lot of fun, but mostly I played the minigame, in which you can get 1, 2, or 3 points by aiming your shot. I found the minigames on all the sports to be entertaining.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2011
I got this game only yesterday night and have been playing it non stop for a few hours. Did I say I got it for 15$ only from Walmart? ;)

I must say Kinect Sports Season 1 was epic in many ways, first it has more action and being the first of its kind it grabbed more attention and raised the bar really really high and sadly the second edition do not cross that bar.

But the franchise maintains the "fun factor" which I think soul for this game. A lot of us watch these great sports on TV and wish we had such skills and Kinect Sports touches that emotion with a lot of FUN factor. Player's lack of skill is pushed by technology and it gives you that sweet illusion of being a great athlete ;) that is why I play these games.

It has less events than the actual KinectSeason 1 coz it had Track and Field which it self contained lots of events.
Now for the games

1) Baseball - Its quite fun. Honestly it took me some time to master the perfect swing but once you know the lag and trick its lot of fun. I am big fan of cricket so I liked this game very much though its not any where near to the great sport but at least it has a bat to hit the ball ;)
The play is nice, you would enjoy pitching too though fielding/catching is not much fun, it's filled with tones of prompts and it makes it very easy for a player. I wish there were settings to turn off these annoying suggestion coz once you play it for a couple of hours you would like to ramp up the game.

*** / 5

2) Dart - Oh boy, it is a lot of fun. I imagined it as a filler event but it is not. Its lot more fun than what I expected it to be. The sensor tracks slightest movement tries to make it as much real as it can. Unlike other games where you wild hand movement will not affect results e.g. boxing/base ball pitching etc... This game tracks your move carefully which gives it a close to reality touch. Its fun especially when played in group. Coz it's one of the game night/day outing sport which a lot of us might have tried in real life like Bowling in season 1.
So you have a good idea of how game would work in real life. I am pleased with the way they have done this event.

**** / 5

3) Tennis - Ohhh it is a good burner. You won't notice but if you play it for a while you will actually end up burning lots of calories. I loved it. Yes it not accurate you don't get to do the great base line jogs or can not run to the net and give a slice but its still fun. Coz the computer makes it lot more fun for you. Cross the first level and then game will be fun. You will end up having long rally nicely supported by crowd and pitching sound effect. You will really feel you are involved in the arena for a minute. I bet you will raise your hands out of pleasure / frustration a couple of times when you play with pro level. Its fun.
Though it's missing the volley, base line slogs, net plays etc... The real fun of tennis game but it's still enough engaging and will entertain you like anything.
The calories burnt number will pump you up for sure.

The trick, like Table tennis from first version is not to imagine your hand/palm as racket. Keep your hand in position as if you are holding one and see the top spine and slice shots, its fun.

****/ 5

4) Golf
The only gold I have enjoyed is the mini golf on family outing. So I do not have great knowledge about this game. But it is fun. Though Kinect the swing speed and hand movements are not taken in to consideration.
The trick is to play with the right club than controlling your swing speed. I observed it's more of club than the actually hand movement that makes difference.
I mean it does pick up speed of swing and all but not that well.
The game is OK. I did not enjoy it a lot for that fact I am not good at this game and do not have good knowledge about clubs etc... So I practice with multiple clubs before I go for the shot.
Again the very idea of you doing something without having a plastic in your hand is fun. But the game experience is just ok

**/5

5) Ski-
Fun fun fun. One more surprise. Like darts I thought this would be an OK game but its more fun than I thought it to be. Coz the movement that you use while playing these games are easy and you won't feel that your avatar is doing something which you did not want it to do. It does good justice to what you want to do in game. Not as realistic as Darts but way better than Golf. Its fun, you can control speed and directions by simple body movements.
You will feel in control of your avatar. Its fun

***/5

6) American football - I had high hopes from this one but sadly its not as much fun as it should have been.
I watched E3 event and this looked more fun while they were playing on stage but soon you will get bored.
Only 6 plays and no single player defense not rushing... its does not do justice to the game.
Like Soccer in first season, American Football killed a great game. This could be so much better and one can do a lot of cool things with game but sadly they did not. Not fun :(

* / 5

Though overall it's not bad, especially when you have spent only 15$ for this ;) but not worth its 49$ value for sure. Wait for it to get cheaper or buy a used one. This doesn't worth 49$ for sure.

And these are more of family/friends game night thing. We played like anything yesterday night and it was fun.
If you take these games too seriously then you won't enjoy it.
I agree that they are not perfect and do not do justice to the actual sport but its Kinect, made for casual, fun gaming [for now]

Amazon is selling it under 30$, its not a bad deal go get it.
I would stick give the Kinect Sports Season 1 better ratings than this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 24, 2012
Verified Purchase
On top of your expensive Kinect, Xbox 360, the LIVE! Gold menmbership, not to mention the pricey game, there are in-game purchases found if you want more than nine golf holes!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 8, 2012
This game is another one of the few games for kinect that is worth owning. The football is stiped down and lacks some of the basics of "real" football, but still entertaining. Skiing is also basic, but will still keep you active. Baseball was a little difficult to play, but maybe that's just my set-up. Darts works well, especially if you have the kinect located just above tv. Golf was quite entertaining, really a great little game. However, you only get 9 holes and you have to purchase the rest, not too sure. Tennis is ok, I'm not a big tennis fan so please don't take my recommendation on anything tennis.

Again,
Decent addition to the kinect library
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on November 15, 2011
First, you should know I am in my 30s. I love the new Kinect Sports - Season 2! I bought it to lose weight and workout. I have been working out using the calorie challenge mode on Kinect Sports 1 (lost 15lbs in about 2 months), but was growing bored with beating the pizza over and over again :-) What I like about Kinect Sports 2 is that the music is a lot better and the graphics are better too! I like the baseball and skiing games best. What is awesome about KS2 (for those using it as a workout)is that it posts after each game the number of calories you have burned for the round and for the session. I burn about 70 calories for playing a round of baseball, which is awesome! Baseball is two innings. You play the batter twice and the pitcher twice. You get in a lot of running when you make a "base hit", which is where the calories really add up. Skiing is a ton of fun, as you race downhill trying to pass through sets of flags and doing jumps. I burn about 30 calories in a round of skiing, which lasts two runs. Anyway, I love this game! It's even better than the first KS, which I thought was already one of the top two kinect titles (along with Dance Central). I'm so excited that they have been creating more and more titles for the Kinect - hopefully ensuring it will be around for years to come.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on October 26, 2011
Verified Purchase
If Wii Sports proved that we could all get off our couches and have a good time in our living rooms moving, diving, and jumping -- Kinect Sports proved that we don't need no stinkin controller to get the job done - once again, jumping, diving, and all around have some good family time. Not only that, but Kinect Sports made games playable for my friend's 3 year old son Joey -- a bunch of the minigames (Knocking Pins, Shootout) just had you hitting, kicking, or throwing as many balls as you could -- no need to necessarily be accurate or precise about it. Joey loved it so much - he beat all us adults!! In my opinion, Soccer and Track and Field were the best games ever done for a sports game.

Kinect Sports Season 2 continues the fun with six new games: Football, Baseball, Skiing, Darts, Golf, and Tennis. In my humble opinion, Darts and Tennis were excellently done. With Darts, the accuracy of the Kinect picking up your movements comes fully to the fore - with Tennis, the workout you get while playing can get quite intense.

You'll probably hear alot of people tell you that Football was probably the most-looked forward to addition, and yet - kinda isn't so hot. Football's not too bad, but they definitely missed out on critical areas: only one person (the offense) goes at a time, no way for the defense to pick a play to stop the other team, always needing to be the quarterback, and the lack of available plays to make (you only have 6, and only one changes when you hit 4th down, depending on your distance from the goal (either Punt or Field Goal)). When you're running, you are able to dodge, as long as you time it right -- for instance, if someone's coming from the left to hit you, if you lean right just as they jump at you, they'll miss. I suppose to increase the fun, the game also makes it pretty much impossible to score after the kick, or to make a 100 yard run. I think the only thing I really don't like is that you don't have 2 people playing at the same time.

Voice recognition seems to be the new "in" thing for Kinect games - and Kinect Sports Season 2 is no different. All the games now give you some kind of voice commands you can say, which is pretty impressive. I don't know if anyone else noticed this, but the Kinect seems to be able to tell voices apart. After I signed into my profile, and yelled a couple commands to start a game -- after I was done, my friend wanted to play, but it wouldn't respond to his voice. I yelled it out, and the Kinect picked it up. I don't know whether I'm more impressed or annoyed -- impressed at the fact that the Kinect actually could do that, or annoyed at the fact that there's no way to reset this feature. My friend just ended up using his hand)

It's also always enjoyable as ever to see various photos the Kinect takes throughout your game, and see it put them through a little mash-up of your game.

Whether you've played Season 1 or Season 2 is your first game, know that you're getting a quality game right here -- one that honestly the entire family can enjoy. Even the 3 year old...
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 22, 2012
I really liked Kinect Sports and received Sports 2 as a present. Unfortunately, I didn't like this game at all for several reasons:

- The software is very slow to register movements. If there's any sunlight, forget it...the movements are either not registered or are mangled. For instance, when batting rightie in baseball, I'll hit a few balls just fine, then the batter avatar won't reposition correctly. The bat will be out in front of the plate, or will bat backwards, or not at all. (While Sports doesn't like sun much either, it doesn't screw things up like this. I've taken Sport2 out and played Sports immediately after with few problems.)

- There's way too much time between the end of the game and hitting replay. The software designers obviously wanted to show off their graphics. But it's inefficient programming for sure. Plus if you're trying to use the game for exercise (I was), it's frustrating because the delay slows down your heart rate.

- Speaking of exercise, the calories burnt calculator is a joke. It's nowhere close to the actual calories burned according my heart rate monitor... it might say 17 calories, when the HR monitor says 52. How can it be close if it doesn't know your height, age, weight, etc.

So for those reasons, I hardly play this game at all now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Kinect Sports
Kinect Sports by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
$13.71

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.