Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Connection is the name of our times
I purchased Kinfolk Magazine for a group of friends whose livelihood depends on making great connections within their organization.
They LOVED it.

Kinfolk makes you want to open up yourself to close friends and beyond. It inspires hospitality.
It is very visual. The images draw you in and make you want to reenact the connections in your world...
Published 23 months ago by Delisa Toole

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Few Pictures
Not as good as hipped up to be. Decided to cancel volume seven because this one was a disappointment. .
Published 21 months ago by Frederick William


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Connection is the name of our times, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kinfolk Volume Six (Paperback)
I purchased Kinfolk Magazine for a group of friends whose livelihood depends on making great connections within their organization.
They LOVED it.

Kinfolk makes you want to open up yourself to close friends and beyond. It inspires hospitality.
It is very visual. The images draw you in and make you want to reenact the connections in your world.
They make it seem possible.

Don't miss an issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read, Learn, Enjoy, October 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kinfolk Volume Six (Paperback)
These series of magazines are perhaps the best I've ever found. There like a table book, but oh so much more. You will be enlightened to things I've never even thought of before. Such as being a butcher in France, how to gather friends and family together in the simplest, yet, most elegant way imaginable. It shows you how food and people should come together. The pictures are a delight and the recipes like "Stick Bread" in one of the issues is seriously worth trying over your outdoor fire pit or your wood fireplace. I've been anxiously awaiting to try it this fall and this winter if the power goes out. I've found that using King Arthur Flour unbleached for bread is the best for this....Just a FYI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The criticisms are valid, but this is still a stunning publication, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kinfolk Volume Six (Paperback)
I read the most critical reviews of this magazine and yes, the type is painfully small and I don't think it would hurt the design to bump the type up a few points, but overall thats a small complaint. This isn't a magazine designed to be read while waiting for some appointment somewhere. It isn't a wealth of knowledge on any particular subject but rather a subtly poetic ode to the modern desire to reconnect with forgotten tradition. Which I find beautiful.
The images appear carefully curated and this is something to be appreciated as a whole. It's a sit down on a Sunday morning with a cappuccino and escape into foggy little world full of farm to table restaurants, homemade baked goods and friendly neighbors. Or something like that.
And if you can appreciate that then this is for you!
Aside from content, the publication in general is really well put together. Great paper stock, gorgeous printing, really made to stand the test of time and I'm glad Amazon recommended this and I'm glad I decided to give it a try. It might be my new favorite thing.
But again, if you're looking for a traditional magazine or you're not into the (admittedly hipster-adopted and targeted!) content, then pass this up. But it's truly lovely.
Think Vogue for life, minus the fluff and ads, extra heavy on fantastical editorials. Can't wait for the next one to arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Few Pictures, March 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kinfolk Volume Six (Paperback)
Not as good as hipped up to be. Decided to cancel volume seven because this one was a disappointment. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Type too small!, July 13, 2014
By 
Twig "Twig" (los angeles, ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kinfolk Volume Six (Paperback)
Type is too small. Seriously, guys. There's small-as-in-elegant and there's SMALL. What is this, 8 pt.? I had to buy reading glasses just to read this. Otherwise it's a nice publication. I liked the recipes in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There are no words, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kinfolk Volume Six (Paperback)
This is so beautifully crafted - inspiring, very groovy, well done magazine. Will refer to it again
and again. Love the Kinfolk as if they were my kin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars magazine., August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kinfolk Volume Six (Paperback)
beautifully designed magazine with great articles. i would recommend this magazine to others.I received this magazine as a gift an was just delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, Inspiring Ideas, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kinfolk Volume Six (Paperback)
Fun read, Inspiring Ideas, Amazing Photographs, High Quality Print, Fun read to keep on your coffee table for guest to pick up and look at!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A coffee table hit!, June 18, 2013
By 
Joshua Masten (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kinfolk Volume Six (Paperback)
This magazine has great ideas, inspirational stories, and pictures that simply warm your heart. It has been a coffee table hit in my home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eye candy, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kinfolk Volume Six (Paperback)
I love KINFOLK. I love the photo stories and the clever presentation. They do 'creative' so well that it inspires you to make this more than a coffee table magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kinfolk Volume Six
Kinfolk Volume Six by Various (Paperback - November 27, 2012)
Used & New from: $18.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.