Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: King Of The Blues [4 CD Box Set]
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars34
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 18, 2001
B. B. King has over 200 albums on the market today, ten of which are labeled "Best of" or "Greatest Hits". With that much music to pick from it sure his hard to find the right ones to purchase. This box set of CDs is one of the best places to start your King collection. It includes four disks with over 75 tracks. The really nice thing about this box set is that each CD has King's hits from different points in time. CD 1 from 1949 to 1966, CD 2 from 1966 to 1969, CD 3 from 1969 to 1975, and CD 4 from 1975 to 1991. The set also includes a very nice 73-page book all about the life and times of this great Blues artist.
0Comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2000
B.B. King is the greatest blues guitarist ever. He's not as clever as T-Bone Walker; he can't play rhythm at all. He's not a wizard like Jimi Hendrix was. He's utterly original, though, and has been to the summit more often than anyone else.
What's surprising about B.B. King is how he brightens up any genre he steps into, whether it's lowdown or uptown or big band or radio-friendly soul. He plays with anybody and everybody with consistently wonderful results. Can't recommend this set enough!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2004
I just bought this box set last week and have been enjoying it like no tomorrow. I have many records of the top Blues singers going back to Robert Johnson and Bessie Smith, but I do believe that this is the best "complete" set on one artist! Man can them songs take you back. If I knew that this collection was this good I would of bought it years ago when it first came out (1992). No matter what your Budget is ,if you are really into the Blues you should buy this set - even if it means eating half lunches for a week or two, you won't be sorry. After hearing these tunes "The Thrill is Back"!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2002
BB King is an amazing artist and this box set is a must for whoever can get their hands on it. Now I know where the title Lucille came from for his guitar, which he so eloquently describes for us in the song, just great storytelling. The second disc is simply awesome with a great start with "Going Down Slow," an extremely well done live performance! You can completely imagine exactly what BB is talking about thinking about a young man coming up to Chicago and blowing all of his hard earned money on a good time, and being abandoned by all his "friends" when the money runs out. BB knows the blues, and he sings like he was right next to you during the hardest of those times, and somehow you don't feel so all alone and your problems don't seem as miserable. I can't imagine a more talented performer, he really captures your whole undivided attention. There are simply too many highlights to name, but get this set and find out a great artists' work! And this box set doesn't just take it slow, there are rockers (She's Dynamite), jazzy ballads (try "Don't Get Around Much Anymore"), smokey blues, blazing guitar, cool guitar, the whole gamut. This is entertainment as fine as can be found. Take your time with this set and really get to know it, you'll be really glad you did.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2006
BB King ranks at the top of blues music and belongs in company with some of the greatest blues artists of all time (i.e. Muddy Waters, Robert Johnson, John Lee Hooker, Howlin' Wolf, etc). His contributions cannot be overstated. This boxed set, "King of The Blues", is a masterful collection of his best works whether obscure or well known. This is a must own for any fan of blues, jazz or music in general and covers King's contributions from 1949-1991. The thrill is definitely NOT gone.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2000
B B King is the number one Blues artist. This set proves that. Although it doesn't even scratch the surface of his recording career, it does a good job of introducing King to the person looking to get started with a collection of his music. The more familiar fan will also like the selection of songs provided. The cut with U2 from their Rattle And Hum album is also very good. There is not a bad song on here. The only question is when will there be a second box set so that we can enjoy more of his music in one nice set? The booklet is also good and informative.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2010
This collection of tracks covers B.B.'s career from 1949 to 1991 and contains 77 classic recordings with many rarities and 7 previously unreleased performances.

Having been a B.B. King Fan for over 30 years I was pleased to find that many of the tracks on this 4 CD set are currently unavailable in this format - as such, it is as much a worthwhile purchase for established fans as it is an essential one for the first time buyer.

The "bookset" style box has been lovingly put together with the authorisation of B.B. himself and has 70 pages of high quality rare photgraphs as well as reflections from the "Chairman of the Board" himself.

The audio quality on all 4 discs is simply stunning and supercedes many of the previous MCA album remasters from the mid 1990's.

In short,this set is thoroughly recommended without reservation - so go on,treat yourself!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2014
As a long-time fan of classic music, such as jazz, blues, classic rock, hard rock, heavy metal, new age, classical, opera, plus much more out there in the world, I simply HAD to get this collection of timeless music. In all honesty, I have to say that I paid more than a fair price for this one, but one has to admit that you simply CANNOT put a price on music as rich, pure, and powerful as that produced by the legendary B.B. King.

I absolutely love all the songs on this collection. Every last one, no questions asked. This music is not old; it is timeless. Pure, powerful, complex, uplifting, moving... I need not say more. Best of all, people will still be listening to this stuff LONG after all those no-talent, industry-manufactured hacks like Justin Bieber, Lil Wayne, Miley Cyrus, Katy Perry, etc fade away and are forgotten. This is REAL music right here, people. This collection deserves to be owned by anyone who calls themselves a music lover, hands down. Buy it. You will not regret it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2000
I was on the line of whether I just liked B.B. or really liked B.B. After I bought this box set I upgraded to loving B.B. This is one of the greatest collections of tunes I have ever heard. Muddy is still the king of blues in my book but B.B. definitely deserves to wear a crown too.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
I owned this set of BB King cd's several years back until a girlfriend stole them when moving out. (It was worth the cost to have her gone!) Saw BB on the news the other day and made me come and look up the cd set. Amazon had the for the same price I paid over 15 years ago and free shipping. Had the set delivered and was listening to by the end of the week. Thanks Amazon and Thanks BB for all the great years of blues music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.