Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: King Crimson: Eyes Wide Open
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
48
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$36.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 8, 2004
i am an experienced guitarist of many years and record with professional equipment;therfore i am familiar with many guitar effects and a lot of the type of things crimson uses. i watched this very closely several times to see what the other review was refering to as overdubbed guitar solos of adrian, and i am confident that i have seen none. what i THINK the reviewer might be refering to are a few parts where adrian uses a reversing effect, in which everything you play is held in a processor's memory and reversed, then played a few miliseconds later. so you have to play a little bit ahead of the time signature, then what the viewer hears is a few seconds behind what your hands are doing. it takes a lot of skill to use this effect properly. this is not a trick or overdoub. it is a very common studio technique that is not often used live. i saw no evidence of any use of overdubbing. everything heard appeared by my experience to be played at the moment by one of the musicians on stage. i think this is an excellent dvd for any crimson fans and is fabulous material. they are vastly beyond most musicians in many ways, least of which being skill. i dont mean to contradict the other reviewer, but i am confident of what i say and i just wanted to offer my observation to others who might be deterred from this dvd because of such a thing. blessings, and enjoy =)
11 comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2003
King Crimson is and will always be a live band first and foremost. I first saw them over 30 years ago and have been amazed each and every time I have seen them play. The power in Robert Fripp & Co.'s music is when they play live. Their studio albums are great; however, seeing them live and watching them practice their art is what really draws you into their music. Once you see them perform live, you will forever remember in your mind the nuances you saw while they played each tune. This DVD is as close as you can get to a live Crim concert without being there. The video is a little grainy; however, there is usually smoke in the air at their concerts, so what you see is quite acceptable. The sound is OK in stereo; however, turn on the Digital 5.1 and prepare to be blown away! If you like recent Crim, these two shows will also provide you with a historical growth from 2000 to 2003 with the current four members of the band. If you are a fan of the '73/'74 power Crim (Fripp, Wetton, Bruford, et al)you will also find much to enjoy, especially in the 2003 Japan concert. If you are new to the band, this is a great place to see the modern performances of a band that helped define power rock and metal music. Robert Fripp is a musical genious and, if you watch closely, you will see that genious unfold again and again. This is, in my humble opinion, one of the strongest Crim lineups in the history of the band. Bruford may have been the best drummer they ever had and Tony Levin may have been the ultimate bass player; however, as a group, the four now together create a marvelous, well-oiled machine that shouldn't be missed. This is an essential Crim fan DVD and a good way for the newbie fan to get a taste of a classic, yet new and evolving, musical entity known as King Crimson.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2004
I saw King Crimson in Boston of March 2003,about a month before this concert was recorded in Japan.
This disc absolutely catches the spirit and sound of the legendary band.
The concert recorded was one of many performances the band made in Japan.
Each member was on.
With the talented Trey Gunn on touch-bass, Pat Mastelotto on drums, Adrian Belew on vocals and guitar, and last, but not least the elusive veteran guitarist and founding member of King Crimson, Robert Fripp, this lineup did not dissapoint.
Fripp opens the show with a little demonstration of his guitar playing talents. Playing various magical sounds with his guitar.
The band runs the gambit of playing various songs throughout their careers. They play many new tracks from their latest release; The Power to Believe to Construction of Light to their earliest days Larks' Tongues in Aspic; Part IV.
If you didn't see them live this last tour or haven't seen them perform in some time or at all this is a live disc to get.
It is for me an excellent momento of what I experienced and saw on that memorable night.
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2003
Just from the very first moments of the "Introductory Soundscape" I had chills running down my spine! Then I was struck by the extraordinary beauty and power of this performance. This is the very best King Crimson concert ever put on video - hands down! Nobody else plays like these guys. They are absolutely brilliant. Robert Fripp will always be my all-time favorite musician. Incredible visual light show that enhances the music even more. Words just don't do these guys justice. This DVD is worth every penny! I rate this DVD with millions of stars!
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2004
If you are interested in the modern version of King Crimson, you cannot go wrong with this DVD set. Two DVDs with two concerts - one from 2000, and the other from 2003. The one DVD from 2000 freaked me out at first. What makes it extremely interesting is that it inserts random improv jams into various places in the setlist. This allows for a 'different' Krim concert every time you put the DVD in. It can be a tad jarring with the slight pause in between songs, but you adjust to it rather rapidly. You can also watch the improvs on your own as well.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2006
I've always felt that the experience of viewing chamber music truly enhances appreciation. And King Crimson is chamber music (according to the definition of Chamber Music America) -- very loud, aggressive, quirky, virtuosic rock chamber music. The two concerts on this DVD are well-shot and edited to document the incredible musicianship, including Trey Gunn's elegant two-handed technique on the Warr touch guitar and Robert Fripp's masterful manipulation of his battery of electronic processing devices. And how DOES Adrian Belew wrench all those sounds out of a plain old guitar? Yes, all that music really IS made almost entirely by guitars, with the rock solid backing of drummer Pat Mastelotto. I've found that even people who don't like the King Crimson sound are fascinated by the visual spectacle of the music being made. This double DVD of King Crimson as a quartet is a welcome companion to the earlier "Deja Vroom" video, which documented the double-trio version of band that adds drummer Bill Bruford and versatile bass master Tony Levin.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2004
I was pleasantly surprised by both the audio quality and video quality, and the two CDs full of 'improv' surprises.
I'm a youngster as far as this band is concerned, having first seen them during Three of a Perfect Pair, then later for VROOOM, the ProjeKcts, the ConstruKction of Light, and the Power To Believe. This DVD chronicles the crystalizing of the foursome of Adrian Belew, Trey Gunn, Robert Fripp and Pat Mastelotto, with a CD each from the ConstruKction of Light tour and the Power to Believe tour. I was surprised at how, as with any King Crimson, each veers occasionally towards the stunning.
This DVD captures that ongoing thread, and adds an additional nuance to something I find hard to pin down, which is what goes on in a rock improv. In this case, the DVD provides random leaps into that unknown territory, a tremendous feature!
For it's price and the legendary status of King Crimson, it would be worth three stars if DGM pulled three stars worth of effort in the production, the visuals and the music. In my book, together they pulled four stars, and out of the generosity of the muse that this band continues to push forward, I gave it a fifth star.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
A great couple of shows by King Crimson. Robert Fripp and Adrian Belew are very talented guitarists. Video quality is acceptable, with good camera angles and close-ups. Sound is very good. Good buy for any Crimson fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2005
Yes I love King Crimson of the Wetton years but the modern Crimson is great also. This DVD demonstrates that this version of Crimson was the most interesting since the Wetton years. And, it is quite sad that several have dismissed this version of Crimson. I especially like the rythm section of Mastelotto and Gunn. These guys really create a unique sound.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2004
Crimson represents a most large hole in my own personal concert viewing experiences.I've seen alot of great shows live,alot of great live bands in my time,but never the Grand Illustrious Regal Red(although I did catch Mr.Fripp long ago-'79- Frippertronics,but that's completely another story,for another day...we DID have quite an amusing exchange,he and I!).This double DVD set goes a long,long way towards ameliorating this circumstance.Not one,but TWO live sets,spaced about 3 years apart,and showcasing the past two stunningly fine studio releases from this amazingly enduring band-these shows also disspell any doubts about the lineup of the band at this particular point in time-a subject of much debate amongst the Crimson fanbase.Not only are Robert Fripp & Adrian Belew possibly the most potent 2 guitar attack ever seen on one stage,but also the rhythm section,composed of Trey Gunn(Warr guitar-a sort of Chapman Stick-and even at one point TWO of these...you have to see it to believe it...and bass...and amazing!)plus Pat Mastelotto(what I will blandly refer to as percussion-again-must be seen to be believed)are equally,if not more devastating.These concerts show the band more vital than ever,somehow,which is amazing,considering all the history here,not to mention longevity(1969 is now quite long ago,isn't it?!).Cannot recommend this highly enough,particularly for those with any interest at all in adventurous,evocative,unorthodox,and totally unique musical forms.Oh!And the improvs are more astounding than the compositions,to boot(pun intended @ boot...hee-hee!)!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.