Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the overlooked masterpiece by the greatest band of the 90s
Faith No More were masters of bad timing. the San Francisco quintet released the groundbreaking "Angel Dust" in 1992, just as the Seattle grunge trend was peaking. you never heard "everything's ruined" on the radio or saw "midlife crisis" on MTV.

so it's no surprise that, ten years after its release, "King for Day..." continues to line the discount bins in used...
Published on February 20, 2005 by a reader

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Staid release
A highly respectable art rock bordering onto art metal release from an accomplished and of guys who were real veterans of the game by this stage, FNM having their genesis as far back as 1982. And that experience shows in this well crafted album that addresses a range of styles not just of hard rock or heavy metal but truly mellow, almost crooning numbers where lead singer...
Published on January 15, 2008 by Paul Lawrence


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the overlooked masterpiece by the greatest band of the 90s, February 20, 2005
By 
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime (Audio CD)
Faith No More were masters of bad timing. the San Francisco quintet released the groundbreaking "Angel Dust" in 1992, just as the Seattle grunge trend was peaking. you never heard "everything's ruined" on the radio or saw "midlife crisis" on MTV.

so it's no surprise that, ten years after its release, "King for Day..." continues to line the discount bins in used CD stores.

KFAD was released as the sound embodied by bands like nirvana and soundgarden was giving way to more-polished imitators like candlebox and, um, soundgarden.

that's not to say KFAD fit into any category; indeed, Faith No More defied categorization more than any other band at the time, save perhaps Primus. but where Angel Dust took a turn for the funky, KFAD is Faith No More's rawest, most intricate, punked-out

release. and it does more than stand the test of time -- it gets better with each listen.

credit for the departure largely goes to the guitar work of trey spruance, singer mike patton's comrade in mr. bungle (another overlooked band). spruance, who was in the band only during the recording of KFAD and was out by the time it they went on tour, brings jazz inflections to FNM's characteristic hard-edged riffs -- something his predecessor, jim martin, would not or could not do. the rest of the band followed spruance's lead.

what you get is a potpourri of genres in one tightly-wound, coherent album, the ingenuity of which has yet to be repeated.

KFAD shocks the listener with the hard-rocker openers, "get out" and "ricochet," then flows into to the old-school R-and-B of "evidence." before you know it, it's on to the big-band ensemble of "Star A.D." then on to the schizoid thrash of "cuckoo for caca."

KFAD takes a breather with the lounge-lizard smoothness of "caralho vaodor" before jumping back into the fray with "ugly in the morning" and "digging the grave."

the only weak point on the album is the ballad that follows, "take this bottle." but it's not a bad song, just misplaced. and it's easy to skip because next up is the title track "king for a day."

this song is, in this fan's humble opinion, as close to perfect a rock song as one can get. it starts with a basic but propulsive accoustic chord progression paired with a simple keyboard melody and soon folds out into a gloriously cacophonous layering of metal guitar riffage and tribal beats before coming back down to earth and hauntingly fading out. through it all is mike patton giving the performance of his career -- and that's saying a lot, considering his stellar vocal achievements before and since KFAD.

the album wraps up with "just a man," with its quirky reggae beat and glorious use of a gospel choir to match patton's poetry.

after KFAD, Faith No More put out one more album, the wryly titled "Album of the Year," before calling it quits in 1998. while heavy and splendid in its own right, Album of the Year did not come close to the brilliance of "King for a Day..."

nor has any other band since then. so rush out to the nearest CD Warehouse and make a B-line to the "F" division of the Rock/Pop section, pay the seven or nine dollars and bask in "King for a Day...Fool for a Lifetime."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb genre smashing effort., April 27, 2005
By 
Michael Stack (North Chelmsford, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime (Audio CD)
"King For a Day, Fool For a Lifetime" is often maligned as the failed Faith No More album-- with Trey Spruance from Mr. Bungle replacing departed guitarist Jim Martin and joining his Bungle bandmate Mike Patton, the results are in many ways as expected. With the benefit of history, its clear this is the most Patton-driven Faith No More album. Given that I approach Faith No More as a Mike Patton fan, and its his work that interests me, its no suprise that this is my favorite Faith No More record.

While the influence of Spruance and Patton on this recording is obvious, this is not like its contemporary Mr. Bungle albums (although in some ways, it is similar to "California"). The record is an excercise in spreading the wings, musically, of the band, and succeeds best when they move into different genres-- the jazz-inflected grooves of "Evidence" (a feature for Spruance's guitar playing) and "Caralho Voador" (a vocal feature for Patton), the horn-driven "lounge metal" sound of "Star A.D." and the countryesque ballad "Take This Bottle" (with one of Patton's best "straight" vocals) are all superb, not to mention the Bunglish "Cuckoo for Caca" and "Ugly in the Morning"-- neither of these would be altogether out of place on a Mr. Bungle album.

The material that feels more like the other Faith No More pieces works well too-- benefiting largely from superior arrangement and variety of sonic approaches ("Get Out", "King For a Day", "The Gentle Art of Making Enemies", "Digging the Grave").

Long story short, if you approach Faith No More as a Mike Patton fan or a Mr. Bungle fan rather than an alternative/metal fan, this is the album to start with, it is bar none their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time greats, though often unrecognised, October 4, 2005
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime (Audio CD)
There are some albums you hear, where it is absolutely mindboggling to discover they weren't a smash hit when first released. "King for a Day, Fool for a Lifetime" is probably the most prominent among them.

Faith No More remained relatively popular from the release of their "The Real Thing" album until they disbanded many years later, but they never matched the commercial success of "The Real Thing" again. Their follow up, "Angel Dust" was a bit of a flop (and it is also difficult to understand why that rocking masterpiece flopped, as most fans would consider it the superior album), and they never quite recovered, apparently.

But this album, which came after "Angel Dust", is their ultimate work. It is diverse, expertly crafted, and the tracks perfectly ordered to keep you entertained and amazed at the range and talent of this band (and the range and talent of Mike Patton, an unbelievable vocalist who will more than likely put any other singer you've ever heard to shame - even if you're a dedicated Maynard James Keenan follower).

The opening track is a bit of plain, ordinary (but good) rock. It's followed by a similar-but-different grunge piece. You're enjoying the music so far, but you haven't really sat up and started paying attention until the third track, "Evidence", a bit of delicious, loungy crooning that you really weren't expecting, but is a welcome surprise.

This album is essentially impossible to get sick of. Each track is cast from a different mould (though using the same ingedients) and ordered in such a way that you never find yourself tiring of a particular kind of music. You get comic anger and brilliant riffs on tracks like "The Gentle Art of Making Enemies", silky-smooth music on "Caralho Voador", and amazing vocal acrobatics on "Cuckoo for Caca".

The highpoint of the album is undoubtedly the title track "King For A Day", which is possibly the cruisiest song I've ever heard. And it's followed by the thumping rocker "What A Day", just in case you were getting too relaxed.

The closer, "Just A Man", which features a gospel choir, is quite possibly the best closer of all time. I know you've heard some good closers in your time. But this one just fits so perfectly that you can't help but appreciate the various levels of detail that this band was aware of when they put this album together.

It is, without any doubt on my part, one of the all time, and sadly unrecognised greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FNM's BEST!, February 2, 2000
By 
JOHN FILTHER (MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime (Audio CD)
This album grabbed my attention and turned me onto the band. The main reasons being:
VARIETY OF TUNES. PATTONS VOCALS.
It has staying power and is still enjoyed after many, many frequent listens now 6 years on, making it one of the favourites.
The variety of tunes is great. Ranging from the heavier/Scary (ugly in the Morning/Cuckoo for Caca) to the jazzy (Star AD) and the dramatic yet touching ballads (Just a man). One thing overlooked is that the songs generally utilise more dynamic, complex sections, making the album that much more sophisticated and exciting to listen to. This may have something to do with the guitarist from MR. Bungle filling in on this particular FNM recording.
Patton proves himself as an outstanding vocalist, due to variations in singing style, not only between songs but within (Listen to the Art of making enemies). Pattton COULD, HAS and DOES sing soft touching ballads that would please your mother and material that would impress death metal fans. One must be blown away when they hear his vocal range (CHECK OUT solo work/other projects of Pattons: Like: "Themes for adult voice", The "3 Mr. Bungle albums", His other bands self titled debut album "Fantomas", and even an appearance he makes on 1 partilcular song on "Sepulturas" classic album titled "Roots".) One must comment it is pleasing to hear that Patton has lost that original, perhaps nasal tone to his voice that was displayed on the classic "Real Thing" in 1989.
So if you like bands/artists that :
can play a range of dynamic tunes,
Have tightness and diversity demostrated in song and playing,
Outstanding vocals due to versatility through extremeness in range
THEN GET THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Rock albums ever made., June 18, 2003
By 
T. Klaase (Orange Park, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime (Audio CD)
I feel in love with this recording when it first came out. From that love came a deep frustration at the lack of attention it received both critically and comercially. This is a great band doing great things and with the addition of Trey Spruance on guitars - it just takes it one level above and beyond "Angel Dust" - another masterpiece. One of the best things about FNM is the "No Compromise" attitude. They played every style of music and did so with mastery (is that a word?).
They broke up after the follow up "Album of the Year" and rightly so, as things started to go stale. Some good songs on AOTY, but not the Momumental performance of KFAD. If you don't dig this album - you're the "Fool for a Lifetime" they're talking about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up to a great album, October 30, 2006
By 
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime (Audio CD)
My experience with FNM was the first album with Mike Patton leading (who was not the original vocalist) was good, but the second album Angel Dust for me took them to an all new level. Very risky in a lot of ways, but brilliantly diverse and very well played with a lot of the styles of song on that record being replicated by many bands in the future.

However King for a day... did about as much in terms of progression from Angel dust as they did from The Real Thing. What they created was another journey through different sort of types of song and sounds.

From the more commercial friendly stuff like "Ricochet" and "evidence", there is a lot of stuff which is reasonably accessable (ie not as far out as the Other Mike Patton venture Mr. Bungle) but pretty different right through, they have a wonderful ability on this record to give the sounds - eg the guitar and the voice a lot of chance to shine through. And the voice on this record for me puts Mike Patton as my favorite Vocalist - already on Angel Dust he did some great work but in this one there are a lot of incredible highlights - worth it for his performance alone.

My favorite tracks on it are the rocking "Digging the Grave", "King for a day" with it's great use of the Acoustic Guitar sound which is quite refreshing but the clear highlight (which is probably not for everyone) is the Awesome slower track at the end "Just a man" with a stunning vocal performance from Patton and a sensational build up through the song using a gospel sounding chorus.

It's not a consistent album through but I think that's a lot of it's charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great overlooked album, March 12, 2004
By 
Scott (NV, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime (Audio CD)
This is another mighty fine record from a mighty fine band,
I listened to this album for like 6 weeks straight when it first came out, A lot of people talk about the Keyboards missing, don't believe it, the Keyboards are there,
They just aren't as dominent as they are in the previous records, and some songs don't have any at all, I think they are "Get Out" "Gentle Art", "Ugly in the morning" and "Digging the Grave", the rest of them have Keyboards, The album is just more guitar driven, which Trey Spruence is a Great guitar player, but I missed Jim Martins style and sound, I think that played a big part in the band. now I'll rate each song.
1. Get Out- A good rocking song, I like the chorus. B
2. Ricochet- Probably my favorite song on the album, very FNM, sounds like it could've been on Angel dust. A+
3. Evidence- Another Fantastic song, its got a real funky, jazzy upbeat lounge feel to it, great guitar work. A+
4. Gentle art of making enemies- Not one of my Favorites, its alright, I really like the verses and the choruses, and its got some cool riff in it, but theres something about the song as a whole that I'm not fond of. I still like it though. C+
5. Star A.D.- Good song, really funky feel, with horns, I like this one. B+
6. Cucoo for Caca- Great song, Very noisy, lots of screaming, weird lyrics, Great music. B+
7. Carlo Vahdor- I don't know if I spelled that right, But I dig this song a lot, its very laid back, and if you had the cassette tape, its a perfect song to end the first side. A
8. Ugly in the Morning- Another noisy song, and I love it, its got a good groove to it. B+
9. Digging the Grave- Great song, one of the best, no keyboards but it rocks and has a lot of melody A+
10. Take this bottle- My least favorite, its not bad, its just got a real country feel to it, and I'm not feelin it. D+
11. King for a Day- Excellent, Keyboards and Bass are strong in this song, its great. A+
12. What a Day- Cool begining, rocking song, nice beat. A
13. Last to Know- I really like this song, some say its boring, but the Vocals and The guitar get me into it, and I like it. A+
14. Just a man- this is different but great, the music is cool and the vocals are great. good way to end the album. B+
Considering the rough time the band was going through at the time, this is a killer album, A lot of people just don't know how to take the diversity of Faith no More, but thats what makes them great, and this album is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant record, January 15, 2005
By 
F. Joao Natalio (Coimbra, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime (Audio CD)
I was 15 years old when i first heard this cd and I can easily say that it changed the way i heard music forever. A friend of mine lent it to me because Faith No More were playing at a music festival in Lisbon (july 1995), which I was attending mainly because The Cure, my favorite band at the time, were headlining it. Actually, the very first time i heard KFAD, it didn't made much of an impression on me, but after the mind blowing performance they gave at the festival, and a couple more listenings, it never left my top 5 favorite albums of all time. It starts like a punch right in the face with GET OUT, which must be one of the best album starters EVER. From then on, it never falls bellow genius like quality: Ricochet, The Gentle art.., King for a day....all but amazing songs. I consequently bought every record they have released (which failed to top this magnificent piece of work) and attended every show they gave in my country, including their two final performances in Oporto and Lisbon in 1998. Amazing record. Changed my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars while some people "retire with turds on their lips"..., December 10, 2001
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime (Audio CD)
...Mike Patton keeps progressing and experimenting. It seems this album is underrated and even hated by fans, but they're either idiots or just can't appreciate it. Sure, there is quite a bit of death metal screaming in the harder tracks, but that's Patton and his trademark lunacy. If you don't like, tough. This album is very eclectic and enjoyable...
"Get Out":Heavy metal funk, his girlfriend or someone is no fun, so GET OUT NOW!!!
"Richochet": More metal, lyrics about kharmification, I like the writing more than the tune. There's a ton of good poetry on this album. "It's always funny until someone get's hurt--and then it's just hilarious! You can laugh at me when it misses you".
"Evidence": Now it get's really good. Funky, slow contemporarily jazzy...matches perfectly a crime scene mood, as the tale about a murderer who "didn't feel a thing" gets hounded by unemotional cops who say "you won't even feel me".
"The Gentle Art Of Making Enemies": Deranged, darkly humourous, all the good FNM ingredients. Could it be through the eyes of a bully? A son angry at his corporate father? An aggresive girlfriend towards her passive businessman boyfriend? You be the judge.
"Star A.D.": Swing/burlesque influenced hotcha, geat lyrics about how Christianity was made to keep you a slave, a "little joke that's understood", a "dead fact of history", "a legend". Sort of like "Mouth To Mouth" on Album Of The Year, except the attack is against a specified religion, hence the name.
"Cuckoo For Caca": The wildest, most insane Bunglesque number--in music and in lyrics. Paranoid of pure white, dull flowers and surfaces and gods who give people addictions to things which are the equivalent of "turds on our lips"? ME too!
"Caralhoo Voador": Soft, breezin' latin samba, but on the brink of snapping because...the song is about a classy, sexy giggolo who is sick of looking so **** cool all the time, so much he might run someone over in his hot car.
"Ugly In THe Morning": Alright, maybe this is the most insane. Angry, bad day, I look ugly, I hate the perfect, kind of thing. Screaming 'til the lunacy is gone.
"Digging The Grave": What is comfortable is not nescisarily what is good, just like selling yourself out for riches and cookies. If Fight Club appealed to you, this song will as well.
"Take This Bottle": Country styled love ballad. Comes off as being fake emotion, but with Patton you never know...
"King For A Day": This elusive dream flowin' track reminds me of the Talking Heads' "Memories Can't Wait". Both are about drinking alcohol to excess at a party, but this one is more about selling his soul for one day of everything awesome and bliss. The ending progression creates the imagery of dying, as does the Heads tune.
"What A DAy": Sounds a little like Nirvana's "Breed", or atleast the chorus. I think it's about people talking about a murderer who they knew, and saying ignorantly "I should've noticed it, I should've killed it, etc.". It could also about the thoughts and the feelings of a suicidal man, and the people talking about noticing the warning signs.
"The Last To Know": More rock influence. Alright, didn't care for it much, good lyrics...I tend to repeat words, noticed that?
"Just A Man": Just brilliant, perfecto, a Faith No More classic. "Man was born to love--though he has often sought Like Icarus, to fly high. I am just a man." The church chorus works wonderful, a narley ending. No one uses narley anymore...
ok, that is it, review over. GET THIS ALBUM NOW OR ELSE...you'll miss out on some gooooood music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final great FNM album, this is hugely underrated, August 13, 2004
By 
S. Johnson (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime (Audio CD)
The main criticisms of this album are only valid if you're only interested in the 'classic' FNM releases featuring the great Jim Martin and prominent keyboards. There ARE keyboards all over the album, unlike some would have you believe...they're just not mixed to the foreground as in other FNM releases. It's a matter of personal choice and open-mindedness as to whether or not you'll enjoy it in comparison. Trey Spruance came up with fantastic guitar parts that are HUGE yet musical and complex, easily as good as (the excellent) Jim Martin's best work. And Mike Patton's vocals are astounding, and clear in the mix, unlike on other FNM releases where he's heavily processed or dripping in reverb (not that there's anything wrong with that!). And the SONGS are great! there's only ONE track i don't like, as opposed to when i listen to 'Album of the Year' which has just a few great songs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime
King for a Day Fool for a Lifetime by Faith No More (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.