Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another WONDERFUL companion film to the Oscar Winning "The King's Speech"
This is another WONDERFUL companion piece to the Academy Award Winning film "The King's Speech". About a month ago I reviewed a title "The King Speaks" which focuses on Lionel Logue - the speech therapist who taught King George VI to reduce his stuttering. This hour long documentary (apparently aired on ITV in the UK in connection with the feature film) Spends more time...
Published on August 29, 2011 by Steven I. Ramm

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money here, pay your dues in PBS
This is a rehash of years of Public Television British royalty adoration. Colin Firth's name is used as a lure: he is not the star of the show, he only makes a short cameo appearance. Since it costs more to watch this old newsreel paste up than to rent the movie, you could well ask where the value is.
Published 4 months ago by A. Berman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another WONDERFUL companion film to the Oscar Winning "The King's Speech", August 29, 2011
This is another WONDERFUL companion piece to the Academy Award Winning film "The King's Speech". About a month ago I reviewed a title "The King Speaks" which focuses on Lionel Logue - the speech therapist who taught King George VI to reduce his stuttering. This hour long documentary (apparently aired on ITV in the UK in connection with the feature film) Spends more time on the King himself, from inheriting the throne when his brother King Edward abdicated the throne in 1936 though his death at the young age of 52 and the subsequent coronation of his eldest daughter who became Queen Elizabeth II.

This is a fascinating extension of the all-too-brief featurette that was included on the DVD release of the Colin Firth-starring film from Sony (see my review of that film on Amazon.). The Sony film included one small except of archival footage of King George VI - the "stuttering king". Here we get much more!

Actor First makes a brief appearance as does the Sony film's director and the author of the book. Logue is covered only briefly with some comments by his grandson. Most of the commentary comes from interview with Tim Ewart, identified as a "Royal Correspondent". The rest is culled from fascinating newsreel footage.

The "bonus features" here are also nice, except for what is listed as the "Trailer". This is nothing more than the first 2 ˝ minutes of the documentary. The others include George's speech at the unveiling of the statue of his father, George V (4-minutes), Newsreel of George V's visit to Cape Cape Town (7-minutes) and the christening of the baby Prince Charles (3-minutes). In the later we see FOUR generations of the Royal Family from Queen Mary to her great Grandson Prince Charles.

If you liked the TKS film, then I highly recommend that you watch this DVD. (For more on Logue see "The King Speaks" from BFS. If you haven't, get TKS and enjoy it. THEN watch this film.

Steve Ramm
"Anything Phonographic"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, July 27, 2011
By 
This review is from: King George VI: The Man Behind the King's Speech (Amazon Instant Video)
Nothing compared to the King's Speech but definitely a must see documentary for those who enjoyed watching the King's Speech. It's very informational and inspiring. Gives your an inside exclusive on the King and his struggles with stuttering. I really enjoyed watching the historic footages of King George. I was quite surprised to see Colin Firth do a commentary. This is something everyone should see before or after they watch the King's Speech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good!, August 9, 2011
I enjoyed this film! As most people already know from "The King's Speech", King George VI never intended nor desired to be king. This documentary is a fascinating look at how he reconciled himself with the role, and became an inspiration to his nation.

Highlights include original footage of the King's life, interviews with the of grandson Lionel Logue, and commentary from the cast and crew of "The King's Speech".

Definitely worth the purchase. Inspiring man, inspiring film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, October 4, 2011
This review is from: King George VI: The Man Behind the King's Speech (Amazon Instant Video)
I loved this film because it was such a great accompaniment to the film. It is a truly touching tale that brings you into the life of King George VI and really allows you to empathize with what he was going through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so good, September 28, 2011
I loved this film. Being able to learn about the actual man behind the infamous speech was not only informative but uplifting and exciting. Anyone who has sent he academy award film must see this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, August 3, 2011
This review is from: King George VI: The Man Behind the King's Speech (Amazon Instant Video)
I loved The King's Speech, so to learn even more about the background of King George VI was fascinating to me! It's really great to hear the genuine thoughts of Colin Firth and Tom Hooper, as well as, the speech therapists grandson, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to go with the movie Kings Speech, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the movie The Kings Speech and this gave me a in depth view of the true story of King George the 6 and his speech therapist.If you like the movie you will enjoy this documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Provides added historical dimension, March 8, 2013
By 
Rebeccah (Northern Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Once you've watched King's Speech (~2008), this historical footage and documentary is an excellent follow-on to help place the subject precisely in time, in the history of England and in world history. This footage is useful watched either before or after seeing the movie. We saw the movie in theatres, the purchased and viewed this historical footage. Great insights into the man, his country, and the turbulent times into which he was born to lead, despite overwhelming handicap odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars King George VI: The Man behind The King's Speech, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoyed this historic retrospective. It enlightened me about King George VI and his formative years. I only wish it had been longer and elaborated a bit more on his relationship with his speech therapist. A good companion DVD for the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King George VI: The Man Behind The King's Speech, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
King George Vi: The Man Behind The King's Speech

This as an EXCELLENT movie re King George VI. The actors were outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.