Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2010 winner of audiobook of the year!
This audiobook was awarded the 2010 Audies for Audiobook of the Year and Best Multi-Voiced Audiobook. It was nominated for a Grammy, received a number of other accolades and awards.

The story readings on this audiobook are wonderful for children of all ages and adults as well, and your purchase supports children in South Africa orphaned by AIDS.

The...
Published on June 30, 2009 by S. R. Gelman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strange!
This collection of folktales has some true gems. I truly liked the one read by Whoopi Goldberg... it was just amazing. She does such an outrageous job! She takes the story and runs with it. It's worth buying this CD just to hear her read the story about the troublesome genie.
But many of these tales are disturbing, like the one about a rabbit who does something wrong...
Published 7 months ago by e


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2010 winner of audiobook of the year!, June 30, 2009
By 
S. R. Gelman (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This audiobook was awarded the 2010 Audies for Audiobook of the Year and Best Multi-Voiced Audiobook. It was nominated for a Grammy, received a number of other accolades and awards.

The story readings on this audiobook are wonderful for children of all ages and adults as well, and your purchase supports children in South Africa orphaned by AIDS.

The readings are done by numerous remarkable actors including Gillian Anderson, Benjamin Bratt, Don Cheadle, Matt Damon, Whoopi Goldberg, Sean Hayes, Samuel L. Jackson, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Debra Messing, Helen Mirren, Parminder Nagra, Sophie Okonedo, CCH Pounder, Alan Rickman, Jurnee Smollett, Charlize Theron, Blair Underwood, Forest Whitaker, and Alfre Woodard with a message from Desmond Tutu and music by African legends Johnny Clegg and Vusi Mahlasela.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous...., February 17, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These stories are delightful, the illustrations are superb...I bought a copy for my grand-daughter, and was so enthralled that I ordered a second copy for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Lovely, August 5, 2003
By A Customer
The stories are rich and full of life. Storytelling lives on...thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Audio for a Wonderful cause, September 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nelson Mandela put together this amazing group of celebrities to read and help tell his favorite African Folktales with proceeds going to help AIDS/HIV children in South Africa. That makes it good enough for me. But add to that the fact that the folk tales are charming and so well presented, and you give a gift as much as you get a gift. Well worth it. I also gave it as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy!, June 7, 2007
I bought this book for my newborn and I recommend it for children of all ages. The stories are great tales to share with your family. They are even entertaining for adults. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strange!, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This collection of folktales has some true gems. I truly liked the one read by Whoopi Goldberg... it was just amazing. She does such an outrageous job! She takes the story and runs with it. It's worth buying this CD just to hear her read the story about the troublesome genie.
But many of these tales are disturbing, like the one about a rabbit who does something wrong and then gets a cleft lip and palate as punishment. I really don't like the idea teaching children to think of people with birth defects as bad people who are deserving of deformity. There are many strange moments like this in these stories. Bad messages, disturbing messages... you basically have to listen to the whole things yourself first, screen it and then only play the stories that are appropriate because you cannot trust that these stories are going to be acceptable from a content level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Lovely, February 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This audiobook is just lovely. I bought this for my 8 year old son for Kwanzaa, and we are both captivated. It's usually our "traveling music." The soundtrack is brilliant, and the stories are just the right length for a listener of any age. My son and I are both very visual people, and we are both practicing more attentive and active listening. We don't get "lost" in these fables. The variety of narrators also keeps it hopping. It's fun to see if you recognize the voices as there are quite a few Hollywood A-listers narrating. My only recommendation is that you purchase the book as well as the CDs. The book would be a great supplement to those trying to improve reading skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I guess this is modern. I miss the stories about the rabbit, turtle, elephant. Anasi is a man, I thought he was a spider. Teaches morals. It's better than not having anything and the narration is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stories with fabulous pictures!, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book includes stories from all of Africa and is excellent reading for kids of all ages as well as adults. The pictures are bright, detailed, and enhance the stories. I bought this for a five year old and enjoyed it as much as he did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nelson Mandela's Favorite African Folktales, December 12, 2012
By 
Brenda Wamsley "Bren" (Eugene, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a gift to my sister so I haven't actually read it myself. But She was super suprised and says it was an awesome gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.