Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore Hip-Hoppers
At the end of 1986, Raising Hell was rap's best-selling album up to that point, though it would soon be outsold by the Beastie Boys' Licensed to Ill. Profile Records hoped that Run-D.M.C.'s fourth album, Tougher than Leather, would exceed the Beastie Boys' quintuple-platinum status, but unfortunately, the group's popularity had decreased by 1988. One of Run-D.M.C.'s...
Published on February 26, 2004 by xklox

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not One Of Their Best
I believe this was the last major album for the group (if you don't count the "comeback" ones that came out in the 1990's). The quality is not as high as it was on their earlier efforts. The best song is a rap remake of The Monkees' "Mary, Mary", although the anthem, "Run's House" is good, too.
Published on December 21, 2001 by Hillari Hunter


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore Hip-Hoppers, February 26, 2004
This review is from: Tougher Than Leather (Audio CD)
At the end of 1986, Raising Hell was rap's best-selling album up to that point, though it would soon be outsold by the Beastie Boys' Licensed to Ill. Profile Records hoped that Run-D.M.C.'s fourth album, Tougher than Leather, would exceed the Beastie Boys' quintuple-platinum status, but unfortunately, the group's popularity had decreased by 1988. One of Run-D.M.C.'s strong points -- its love of rock & roll -- was also its undoing in hip-hop circles. Any type of crossover success tends to be viewed suspiciously in the hood, and hardcore hip-hoppers weren't overly receptive to "Miss Elaine," "Papa Crazy," "Mary, Mary" and other rap/rock delights found on the album. Thanks largely to rock fans, this album did go platinum for sales exceeding one million copies -- which ironically, Profile considered a disappointment. But the fact is that while Tougher than Leather isn't quite as strong as Run-D.M.C.'s first three albums, it was one of 1988's best rap releases. [Tougher Than Leather was remastered and reissued in 1999.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, November 3, 2002
By 
omarv (Cleveland Heights, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tougher Than Leather (Audio CD)
The recent passing of Jam Master Jay made me revisit their catalog, and while TTL was not their most well known album, It was always my favorite and I think it will stand up over time. It is very dense (similar to the Beastie's Paul's Boutique) and sounds great through a set of headphones.
If you are a fan of pure head bob'n rap from the 80's you'll appreciate this gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why all the bad reviews?, June 3, 2002
By 
"rukahsatc" (Kenosha, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tougher Than Leather (Audio CD)
I still love listening to this cd after 10 years of hearing my brother's old tapes. If you are sick of new hip-pop-rap stuff, do yourself a favor, check out some old RUN DMC stuff, and starting with this cd wouldn't be a bad idea. Sure, at the time this idea may have been played out, but come on, no one in their right mind can argue against the title track, "Tougher Than Leather". This is simply one of the best songs ever made by one of the most successful groups in rap history.
I'll admit, sometimes the album is a little weak, but, it is only because only greatness is expected from RUN DMC and when it falls below that they are looked down upon, perhaps their success is doing them a disfavor by reviewers. If you are looking to get back to how rap originated and some of the classics, check this out, and tunes like "Mary, Mary", "Run's House", and perhaps the most catchiest song on the album, "Beats To The Rhyme". From a 21 year old who missed out on raps roots, I can still appreciate it through cds like this every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for any old-skool fans, May 14, 1999
By 
This review is from: King of Rock (Audio CD)
This was the first tape I ever bought. Recently I dug it up again and it sounded just as good as it did in junior high school when I played it to death. Run DMC took it to the masses and no one can doubt it. I came here looking for the CD (nostalgia?) and unfortunately found that it was out of stock!!! Damn!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the line old school hip hop album, November 19, 2003
By 
Joe (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: King of Rock (Audio CD)
Man this album is dope and I highly suggest it. In my mind it's their best ever because Raising Hell is when they 'sold-out' and they just weren't the same. The best track on here is the last song Darryl & Joe (Krush Groove 3) cause JMJ (RIP) has some mad cuts in there and that's the best they've sound. Another good song is Jam Master Jammin. Both Jam Master Jammin and Darryl and Joe are both underrated songs, but they certainly make your feet tap.
Buy this album, you won't regret. If you like downloading off Kazaa or whatever, go right ahead, just as long as you appreciate what Run DMC did for hip hop music by coming out with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore Rock & Roll from the Kings of Rock!, November 7, 1999
This review is from: Tougher Than Leather (Audio CD)
This album is INCREDIBLE!
Though vaguely dissed by some hip-hop heads who felt the crew waited too long to drop the product, this album still holds up as one of the hardest rap albums of all time..
Hip hop beats and blazing guitars crash and burn like nowhere else!
Best Cuts: Mary Mary, Beats to the Rhyme, Miss Elaine, and the title track, which should be getting airplay on Classic Rock stations!
ALL of Run DMC's albums were re-released in 1999- So pick this up, party people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Run DMC Reissue, September 7, 2005
When Tougher Than Leather was released in 1988 hip-hop and rap music was changing. Ice-T was spitting his gangsta rhymes. NWA and Eazy E were welcoming in West Coast rap and gangsta rap. Boogie Down Productions and Public Enemy had concious rap on lock. Artists such as MC Hammer (yes, he did have an album before "U Can't Touch This), Kool Moe Dee, Eric B. and Rakeem, Big Daddy Kane, and The Beastie Boys were on the scene and on the music charts. Run-DMC had a bit more competition that they once did. Tougher Than Leather was by no means a commercial disapointment but it didn't have that huge appeal that Raising Hell had. The album had hits with "Mary, Mary," and "I'm Not Going Out Like That."

The most memorable song from this reissue is "Christmas In Hollis." This song is considered the first hip-hop Christmas Carol and can still be heard every holiday season. The song didn't appear on the original pressing of Tougher Than Leather but is one of three bonus tracks on the reissue. The reissue includes an introduction by Chuck D and includes interesting facts including the fact that Run DMC were set to headline their 4th national tour when the album was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not the best RUN-DMC album but it's def a collectors item., April 7, 2008
To me, "Beats to The Rhymes" is my favorite song on the album. That's not to say there's not any more dope tracks on this album. If your a RUN-DMC fan, you must have this album in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Run DMC rocks harder than ever on this 4th LP, June 4, 2007
By 
Hype Currie "scholar of pop culture" (Detroit, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
Tougher than Leather--

Rap group Run DMC experienced their biggest commercial success off the strength of their third LP, 1986's Raising Hell. In the process they virtually introduced hip-hop to most of mainstream America, while giving indie label Profile Records extra reason to be proud of the homeboys from Queens. A year later, their follow-up LP was allegedly scheduled to be released--and their manager Russell Simmons tried to extricate them from their deal with Profile. But Profile balked on parting ways with their biggest act, and Tougher than Leather made its debut in the spring of 1988. By this time, several things had occurred--for one, hip-hop's street audience had been moving on to newer acts during Run DMC's hiatus, like Big Daddy Kane, Eric B. & Rakim, and Ice T. Also, the pop charts still didn't seem to have room for more than one rap act, a slot which DJ Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince now filled. Tougher than Leather was met with platinum sales, but the urban backlash to the group was tangible, despite a well-received "Run's House" tour. In retrospect, this album still holds up as one of the hardest rap albums of all time, as the hip-hop beats and loud guitars crash and burn like nowhere else. Produced mostly by Davy D, some of the best songs include `Mary Mary' (Rick Rubin's lone contribution, sampling the Monkees' tune), `Beats to the Rhyme', `Radio Station', `Miss Elaine', and the guitar-heavy title track. If Raising Hell is their best LP, Tougher than Leather is a close second. The 2005 re-release includes bonus material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Classic, Period,, December 26, 2004
This review is from: King of Rock (Audio CD)
This is classic old school rap without a doubt, and Run DMC were originators. I would very much agree thoughthat my all time favorite cut on this cd is the last track, Darryl and Joe (Krush Groove 3). But I would higly suggest picking up their debut album and listening to Krush Groove 1 & 2 as well, as it put's the whole mix together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

King of Rock (Deluxe Expanded Edition)
King of Rock (Deluxe Expanded Edition) by Run D.M.C. (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.