Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Freemason in Texas should have at least one copy!
If you are a Texas Freemason, you need this book. I use it frequently when I am trying to remember a particlar verse and mentally "get stuck." This book ranks second in my home only to the Holy Bible. It is an indispensible aid to the memory, particularly if you can't regularly attend meetings to freshen your recollection of these very important lessons.
Published on January 28, 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced
Barnes & Noble online has this listed for half the price. Don't understand why this is priced so high. It's the same book.
Published 7 months ago by wtom


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Freemason in Texas should have at least one copy!, January 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: King Solomon and His Followers: Lone Star : A Valuable Aid to the Memory (No. 25) (Paperback)
If you are a Texas Freemason, you need this book. I use it frequently when I am trying to remember a particlar verse and mentally "get stuck." This book ranks second in my home only to the Holy Bible. It is an indispensible aid to the memory, particularly if you can't regularly attend meetings to freshen your recollection of these very important lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A word of caution to Texas Masons, March 1, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King Solomon and His Followers: Lone Star : A Valuable Aid to the Memory (No. 25) (Paperback)
While this book is an excellent aid to the memory for those who desire to be proficient in the Masonic ritual work as practiced in Texas, please be aware that possession or use of this cypher is a violation of the Laws of the Grand Lodge of Texas, A.F. & A.M. (1999 edition):
"Art. 506. Certain Other Offenses. It shall also be a Masonic offense for a Lodge, a committee or any combination of Masons, or an individual Mason:
21. To use cypher work relating to the esoteric work of any of the three degrees, or to have and retain in his possession such cypher work, or to sell, give, barter or exchange, any code book or other publication, the use of which is prohibited by the laws of the Grand Lodge, or to be employed in the business of anyone doing so."
I am not here to judge my brother Masons who may purchase this book for their own reference or to refresh their memory in the Work. Eventually, the laws of the Grand Lodge may change to allow the use of cyphers, but until that time comes, please exercise the strictest discretion in using this 'valuable aid to the memory'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Loose the Light, February 8, 2004
By 
This review is from: King Solomon and His Followers: Lone Star : A Valuable Aid to the Memory (No. 25) (Paperback)
I am currently the Sr. Warden at Dalby Springs Lodge #684.
With only about 45 members, with most of them with 40 years or better. I am aware of the rules governing the use of written learning aids in the state of Texas. However, without this aid,
I feel that some words and rituals would be forgotten or misused.
When I turned in my profiency, there were several arguments concerning the pronounciation and order in which some of the questions were asked. Being the first new member in several years, some of the older members had to rehash the way the degree
was supposed to be done. Now that I have this book, and about 15 new members in our tiny lodge,our degree work is running smoothly
with few mistakes and arguments.
Keep in mind that this book is not used by any candidtate only by the ones that have already become Master Masons, and never inside the boundries of our lodge.
Thank you for your beautiful website and keep the tapers burning.
Fraternally yours,
Bobby Steward
Dalby Springs Lodge #684
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A few errors but a good book, December 6, 2011
By 
David R. Courtney (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Solomon and His Followers: Lone Star : A Valuable Aid to the Memory (No. 25) (Paperback)
I would just like to reiterate that for the last few years the Grand Lodge of Texas does allow the possession and use of cipher books at your home. Therefore many of the older reviews that mention its prohibition are out of date. There are particulars as to where it may be used (e.g. its use in the lodge is strictly forbidden.) But this isn't really relevant for a review.

Now that is is allowed I strongly recommend this book for any master mason in Texas. But be warned that there are a few errors. However, since this is merely intended to be an aid and not a replacement for "mouth to ear" I do not feel that these small errors should be a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refresher, September 18, 2012
By 
Jimmy C. Roe "Roe-dog" (Thornton, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King Solomon and His Followers: Lone Star : A Valuable Aid to the Memory (No. 25) (Paperback)
This book is indispensable to any Texas Mason who needs to catch up or keep fresh. It is completely meaningless to anyone outside Masonry and thus is a true "code book". Few mistakes or "typos" and so it is consistent. But FOR HOME USE ONLY. Still I think it should be required for every Mason both new and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light, December 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King Solomon and His Followers: Lone Star : A Valuable Aid to the Memory (No. 25) (Paperback)
Bretheren, this book will assist you in your work. Especially if you aren't too smart like I am not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King Solomon and His Followers: Lone Star : A Valuable Aid to the Memory (No. 25) (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced, April 24, 2014
This review is from: King Solomon and His Followers: Lone Star : A Valuable Aid to the Memory (No. 25) (Paperback)
Barnes & Noble online has this listed for half the price. Don't understand why this is priced so high. It's the same book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No longer an offense to possess, December 5, 2013
By 
C. McDonald "John Mac" (Garland, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Solomon and His Followers: Lone Star : A Valuable Aid to the Memory (No. 25) (Paperback)
The last review that I saw stated that it was an offense to be in possession of these books. As of just a few years ago it is no longer an offense to be in possession of these books in Texas. There are some rules stipulated for its use and where it may be possessed but it is not an offense to have these. The Grand Lodge has documented these rules and your Lodge secretary has those if you do not. They cannot be read by those who do not already know the work except for things that are written out in plain English and are not esoteric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars King Solomon and his Followers Lone star, October 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King Solomon and His Followers: Lone Star : A Valuable Aid to the Memory (No. 25) (Paperback)
Not the last revision. Several parts left out in all three sections. Parts that are left out were very easy to remember. They would like to know if you found any errors but there was no number to report them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.