Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but should had been cheaper.
It looks like I'm the first person that brought this expansion and reviewing it on here. I thought it's a bit over priced for this game after I got it and played it for awhile. I brought this game for $20. Yes, it's a great addition to the game, but it shouldn't be more than $15. Anyone that thinks about getting it should consider what you're really getting...
Published 9 months ago by S. Der

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You Don't Need It
This definitely isn't something you need. It's a pretty neat expansion. The two new monsters work fairly well. Their gift evolutions are an interesting mechanic that I hope will stick around. The costumes are possible too silly.

Power Up is a must have but this isn't.
Published 6 months ago by J Groves


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but should had been cheaper., November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game (Toy)
It looks like I'm the first person that brought this expansion and reviewing it on here. I thought it's a bit over priced for this game after I got it and played it for awhile. I brought this game for $20. Yes, it's a great addition to the game, but it shouldn't be more than $15. Anyone that thinks about getting it should consider what you're really getting.

You will get two characters, their power up evolution cards, 12 costume buy cards, 6 orange dices, and the box.

First things first, we don't really need the 6 orange dices. It nice to look at, but do we really need it? We already have 6 dices from the base game, so it's really not needed at all.

The costume buy cards are great, and they add on a new element to the game. The costume buy cards can be brought like regular buy cards at the end of your turn, but other player(s) that roll 3 claws can now buy the costume cards from you. They just need to pay you the energy cost of the card and they can now take the costume card from you. Some of the costume cards are really powerful, and some aren't as much, so I think it's a balance set of cards you would get.

The two set of evolution power up cards are somewhat interesting and new. Some of them are very powerful and some aren't as much. Again this is a pretty balance set of cards. Also, there are new element in the power up cards. Now instead of just having permeant or temporary power up cards, there are "gift" power up cards. Gift power up cards work like this: if you have a claw at the end of your roll, you can now give that player you attacked, your gift card. This gift card will be a negative effect on that player. Ex: Roll 1 less dice on their turn. They will continue to have this effect on them until they get rid of the gift card. That player that has the gift card needs to get a claw on their turn and attacks a player. The player that got attacked will then receive the gift card next. If that player is the owner of the gift card though, it has no effect on him/her, as the owner of the gift card isn't affected with their own gift card. Ex: The Pumpkin Jack player won't be affected by a Pumpkin Jack gift card, when given back to him/her.

Finally, you will get the 2 new characters, Pumpkin Jack and Boogey Woogey. I thought the stand up of both cards aren't good looking at all. You see the characters and they look just okay because the way they cut out out the pieces this time. It wasn't good at all because it seem like lazy cutting. There is too much white boarders around the two characters and this downgrades the feel to the characters. If you look at the original characters, none of them have that much white boarder to them. They are cut very close and careful with hardly any white boarder to them; by doing that, you focus on just the characters. These 2 new characters have so much white boarder around them that you won't think they are scary or spooky looking and you focus now on the white boarders instead of the characters. I for one didn't' like that.

However, when you see the characters on the score/life counter piece, we don't have that problem. The background on both pieces are nice as they have black background to the characters. I believe they should had done this with the cut out stands pieces as well. Either they should had colored in the white boarder in black or cut the boarders much closer to the characters.

A suggestion: This is a mini version of King of Tokyo. If you already know the rules, then you know you don't need the board. This expansion comes with everything you need to play a small 2 player game. All you need is the energy cubes, which you could use anything for that. So, you have 6 dice, buy cards, power up cards, and your 2 characters. So, you're ready to play!

My final thoughts: I thought that the 2 new characters' gift cards, are so powerful in the game now. These gift cards are given and passed around a lot, and are really a big disadvantage against you. But, when given back to the original/owner of the card, it doesn't affect him/her. This is good if you're that player, but really bad for the other player(s) as you have to deal with this constant card coming back to you and downgrading your play without a real way of getting rid of the card.

Should you buy this expansion? I would say buy it, if you really love King of Tokyo base game. This game will just add on to what you already love. If not, there is no harm in not buying this expansion. You can still enjoy King of Tokyo without this expansion, this expansion just gives you more things to do, more strategies, and characters. So, if you're on the fence on buying this game, I say wait till gets a little less expensive for more value for your buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the KING OF TOKYO series!, November 29, 2013
By 
Fred Dailey (Maryville, TN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game (Toy)
King of Tokyo is one of the best games I have ever played, and this expansion for it makes it even more enjoyable. This expansion adds two more monsters, evolution cards for both monsters (See the POWER UP! Expansion) dice and costumer cards. The costume addition adds another layer of fun to the game, but it seems to be something you want to add only every so often. The Halloween theme is one that needs the players to be in right mood before adding it into the mix. If you are rabid fan, yes get it, you will love it. If you want to keep it simple, you can skip it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, January 10, 2014
This review is from: King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game (Toy)
I was given this as a gift. I already had the original game and the Power up Expansion. You really need the Power up expansion to really use this expansion in it's full capacity. So here's what you get in the box: an extra set of dice (orange), two new characters with their own evolution cards (a mechanic introduced in the Power up expansion), costume cards, and a King of New York special edition card.

The dice are nice. I usually play with a lot of people, and passing around one set of dice can get old quickly. It was much easier with another set, and it sped things up a bit.

I liked the new characters, Pumpkin Jack and Boogey Woogey, and their evolution cards. New to their sets are gift evolutions, which are evolutions that can be given to other players when you damage them. My group of friends and I are in our early 20's, so this was fun for us. My brothers and cousins are in their teens, and they enjoyed it too. It's a nice way to target other players and created a more competitive environment. If you are easily offended during games, or hold grudges, or your friends do, you might want to modify the game. You could play without the gift evolutions, just make everyone randomly discard evolution cards to make sure everyone has the same amount, or something like that.

The costumes are fun. They are great advantages, such as "when you damage someone steal one energy from them (pirate)," which would seem overpowered, but if you hit someone and roll three or more claws, you can steal their costume by paying them the energy cost. This makes it easier to lose your advantages, and I think this evens out the advantage of the costumes.

The King of New York card is fine. Obviously, it's not really an advantage right now since this is King of Tokyo, but it is an exclusive card, so it was a nice bonus.

I really liked this expansion; I think it makes a nice addition to King of Tokyo and the Power up expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great add on, November 11, 2013
By 
Peter Macedo (Blacksburg, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game (Toy)
Definitely a fun expansion. It seems a bit overpowered though. Not really a bad thing but it completely changes the game when the costumes are in play. The rest of the abilities become quite overshadowed in some cases. But it's still fun!
The dice that comes with it are outstanding. Heavier and imprinted instead just painted on for the numbers/symbols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You Don't Need It, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game (Toy)
This definitely isn't something you need. It's a pretty neat expansion. The two new monsters work fairly well. Their gift evolutions are an interesting mechanic that I hope will stick around. The costumes are possible too silly.

Power Up is a must have but this isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game, November 4, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game (Toy)
The core game is great, and the expansion is a fantastic addon. I would like to see the price slightly less, but the expansion adds a whole new realm to the game that is fun for all. I highly recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expansion of the expansion., July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game (Toy)
This expansion adds two more characters and a couple of new elements. You MUST have the first expansion in order to play with this one. This expansion adds costumes, which are pretty much the same as the standard cards you buy. Except the costumes can be stolen if someone rolls at least 3 attack dice. Yet they do have to pay you the value of the card, so more like force you to sell the card. The two characters also have special evolution cards called "gifts", that are passed to someone and stay with them, with whatever bad effect the card says, until conditions are met that will allow them to pass back to you or another player. Yet the card doesn't have an effect if passed back to the original owner. It is a fun expansion, and I'm glad I have it, but the game is just as fun without this one. The first expansion is a must have though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wife and I love to play this game, August 12, 2014
This review is from: King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game (Toy)
This was my first foray into the designer Euro board games. I've purchased about 30 Euro games since late June/2014.

My kids, wife and I love to play this game. It's quick and rarely do we just play one game. Easy no brainer purchase. Highly recommended.

If you are going to buy any of the expansions, Power-UP "Makes" this game. Halloween is not as impressive. But both add well to the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The new set of dice are nice, so happy with that, July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game (Toy)
This expansion was generalized and downplayed among my peers so I thought I'd never get it. Then I read the other reviews online and realized it's a lot more too it. The new set of dice are nice, so happy with that, 2 characters is always welcomed as well as the really awesome costume cards. They sound lame but their abilities are pretty good. Totally worth it if you have the other 2 sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Buy, July 3, 2014
This review is from: King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game (Toy)
Amazing collector expansion. Perfect. Exactly as described. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

King of Tokyo Halloween Expansion Board Game
$19.99 $17.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.