Customer Reviews


323 Reviews
5 star:
 (247)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


277 of 291 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What To Expect (Some Questions Answered) STANDARD EDITION
**This is an edited version of my review for the Limited Edition version (which you can check and see is a verified Amazon purchase of mine). Small side note, usually Amazon combines reviews of products with various editions, yet it seems for this particular game, that is not the case. That being said, I figured I'd just put my review of the product on here as well (as...
Published 11 months ago by Rick Mallory Jr.

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An honest review
I have played through Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts II on my PS2. Having never had the handheld systems, I never had the chance to play some of the other games. I am a big fan of the Kingdom Hearts games and the franchise as a whole. When I heard Kingdom Hearts would be on my PS3, I did not hesitate to get this. However, it just didn't live up to what I was hoping...
Published 4 months ago by SMB


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

277 of 291 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What To Expect (Some Questions Answered) STANDARD EDITION, September 10, 2013
By 
Rick Mallory Jr. (Colonial Heights, Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix (Video Game)
**This is an edited version of my review for the Limited Edition version (which you can check and see is a verified Amazon purchase of mine). Small side note, usually Amazon combines reviews of products with various editions, yet it seems for this particular game, that is not the case. That being said, I figured I'd just put my review of the product on here as well (as it's basically the same thing, just the limited edition comes with an artbook that I won't cover here). My purpose of doing this is not for ratings, I simply just want to help YOU, the customer, make an informed decision and if that means I have to put up my review twice, then so be it. **

The games included in this product have each been out now for several years on other systems. Rather than review the gameplay and ramble on about my thoughts on the stories, I have decided to simply do a brief Q&A on just what you should expect to find with this particular product itself to try and help you, as a customer, be properly informed. That being said, I hope you find these answers helpful in your decision making process.

Q. What games are included that I can actually play through?
A. There are two games included with your purchase that you can play in full. The first is the original Kingdom Hearts (however this is the Final Mix edition (which, long story short, is a tweaked and slightly renovated version of the original classic that was originally exclusively released only in Japan). The second game included is Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories. Both of these have been beautifully remastered in High Definition for this release and truly look stunning and also feature enhanced gameplay mechanics. In addition, both games come with their own set of trophies (and yes, two platinums).

Q. Wait...Kingdom Hearts Final Mix and Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories? What about Kingdom Hearts II?
A. Kingdom Hearts II (released in 2006) is NOT included in this product.

Q. What about Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days?
A. You cannot play Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days with this purchase. HOWEVER, there is a "Theater Mode" which will allow you to view roughly 2 hours and 50 minutes of remastered HD footage (in the form of cinematics) from the game (as well as some new additional scenes). Believe it or not, there is trophy support available for this.

Q. How many discs are included inside the box?
A. Both games (included the cinematics for "358/2 Days") are all bundled up into one solitary disc.

Q. Tell me more. What kind of trophy support can I expect from this release.
A. As stated earlier, both Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories will have their own set of trophies that each have their own platinum. To be more specific, Kingdom Hearts will have 56 trophies, and Chain of Memories will have 48 trophies that can be earned. In addition, the cinematics for Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days will also have a total of 6 trophies that can be earned (none of which are platinum).

Q. Is this a good value? Should I purchase this? Can it be purchased on PSN digitally?
A. As far as I know, for the time being of this review (9/10/13), neither as a whole or individually can this game and its contents be purchased digitally through PSN. To my knowledge, and upon further research, there are no plans for now to release these titles digitally (though that could easily change). Is the price of $39.99 a good value for what is involved? Absolutely! Whether or not you should purchase this is purely up to you. If by some chance you haven't played any of these titles, don't worry, I'm not going to sit here and type up a bunch of spoilers for you; I'll let you figure that out yourself. If that's the case, all the information I'll provide you with is that if you like Disney, and if you like RPGs, and if you're familiar with the Final Fantasy franchise, then you'll definitely find this to be highly entertaining. Personally I only played the first game before I headed out to college. For me, this is a great opportunity to not only relive the original classic, but also to experience something new in the sequel. Regardless of my own personal experiences, you'll be treated to both games (and the cinematics for a "358/2 Days") being presented in spectacular and eye-popping HD. Plus, and as mentioned countless times before, if you're a trophy-buff like me, you'll find plenty of those to be unlocked here.

So for now, these are just a few simple questions answered that you may have wondered or were curious to know prior to purchasing. By all means, please feel free to leave any further questions in the comments. I'll gladly answer them (if they are to my knowledge) as soon as I get the chance.

I hope that you find this review helpful in your decision making and whether I am asked questions or not, I will certainly update this review as I have more time to play the game itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and Clean, September 10, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix (Video Game)
Kingdom Hearts was originally released in 2002, and at the time of its release I don't think anyone thought the series was going to be as huge as it was. Originally a lot of people weren't excited for Kingdom Hearts. With so many various Disney characters thrown into the mix there was many a cry of how "kiddy" the game was going to be. Yet in the end it not only turned out to be a success, but also one of Square-Enix's biggest properties. With so many HD Collections coming out recently it's a wonder why it took so long to get a Kingdom Hearts one out there in the first place. It's not entirely what I had expected, but it's still a solid remaster.

There's not much need to go into the story of Kingdom Hearts. Let's just say that of all the games in the series, the first one is by far the simplest as the plot hasn't had too many revelations yet. You'll play as Sora who ends up coming into possession of the keyblade to fight the heartless and uncover the secrets behind them. You'll do this by traveling to various worlds populated by Disney characters. All of these things are remastered in HD and it looks really gorgeous to see some of your favorite characters and worlds. It's also a pretty noticeable and the presentation is really good.

Of all the HD reissues there are few that have the kind of care taken as Kingdom Hearts. The entire presentation has been reworked for a 16:9 aspect ratio and is displayed in wonderful 1080p. Other HD remakes tend to not touch things such as pre-rendered backgrounds, but in Kingdom Hearts even the pre-rendered stuff is displayed in gorgeous HD. You'll hardly spot any blemishes or muddy textures. It all looks brilliant. The fonts are easier to read as well.

It's also nice to know that there have been a couple of changes made to the gameplay to suit some of the features. Originally the camera was a nightmare to deal with in the original game, but now it's relegated to the analog stick and easier to deal with. You may still have a couple of camera issues, but with the camera no longer being set to the shoulder buttons, it's easier to deal with. Likewise, much like Kingdom Hearts II, there are some moments where instead of selecting it in the menu you can just press the Triangle button during a context sensitive moment and perform certain actions. These little tweaks help Kingdom Hearts out a lot. Especially being able to press triangle to do simple things like open doors as opposed to having to select it in the action menu. Likewise, the ability to pause and skip cutscenes is especially nice as this wasn't an option in the original release at all. On subsequent playthroughs you'd have no choice but to watch every cutscene again. Here you can just as easily bypass all that stuff. It's overall not just a good HD upgrade, but also controls better.

Other than that, combat is pretty much the same as you remember. You'll roam around areas, enemies will pop up and you'll have to dispatch them quickly to earn experience points and level up skills. This take on combat is still pretty cool stuff today. Though it lacks some of the refinements of Kingdom Hearts II, it's still fun and simple to play. But most important, the combat doesn't bog things down by constantly having you transition into a battle and then out of a battle so that the story can progress.

There are some things that have not aged quite as well in Kingdom Hearts, however. Chief among them are the gummi ship segments. For the most part many of them are simply long, repetitive and slow paced. Flying to a new world just doesn't really provide a whole lot of fun. It feels counter to the fast paced action of the rest of the game. Some of the platforming segments are also a little off at times. Jumping from one platform to another can sometimes feel like a hassle, especially before you get the abilities that help simplify it. These things aren't really "bad," mind you. At the time of the games original release, it probably didn't matter much but now it stands out a little more. Thankfully, though, Kingdom Hearts is still a blast to play. All the characters, the story and the gameplay is just as fun as it ever was.

Unfortunately, the original Kingdom Hearts is all that's really worthwhile in the collection. While Chain of Memories has a good story (actually a rather great one) the fact that it still has a pretty toned down card based battle system is urksome. The combat simply isn't that much fun. The fact that it also must transition into a battle as opposed to being right there in the action like it is in the first game is also a drag. Granted this is a game that was remade from a GBA title, which certainly plays a part in that, but just the same it's a shame that while some enhancements were made to the original game to make the experience better, this particular game doesn't really have any that do. Chain of Memories is also well known for just not letting you explore a ton or anything of the sort. The story, however, is essential to understanding the overall plot of the Kingdom Hearts series. It links to the second game and actually enhances the experience of that game. It's worth playing through Chain of Memories just for the story alone, but the gameplay isn't all that exciting.

The last bit is Kingdom Hearts 358/2. The game was originally released on the DS. You are NOT actually getting that game, though. All you really get is the cutscenes from that game--enhanced and reworked. They look gorgeous but it's not really all that exciting. Granted, it probably would've been a bit much to remake the entire game in the same manner as Chain of Memories, but what you realize is that much of the cutscenes in 358/2 are quite dull. It's worth watching for the sake of the story at least once. And they're fully voiced and acted, but it's nothing too exciting. For the most part much of it is rather dull.

Even though the Kingdom Hearts HD Remix isn't as good as other collections out there, the price for just the original Kingdom Hearts alone is pretty worthwhile, as the game itself is amazing. Even though there are some aspects that haven't aged that well, the game still looks and plays incredibly well even by todays standards. If you haven't experienced the original Kingdom Hearts or you want to experience it again, this collection is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC FULLY REMASTERED, September 10, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix (Video Game)
At last it is here, the Kingdom Hearts has finally arrived on the PS3 and it brought with it all the enjoyment from the past. It comes with Kingdom Hearts - Final mix (was only in Japan), Chain of Memories, and the cinematics for 365/2 from the DS which tells the story between chain of memories and KH2. All three have been redone for HD - with Kingdom Hearts being completely redone as they originally lost the source code for the game, so they had to do the whole game from scratch with the original soundtrack, voicetrack, and script. This has an extra boss fight and other Keyblades that was not in the original US edition. I have only played the first hour of the first game, and i already have enjoyed it. Controls are the same so no new learning, just have to remember how things work since it has been so long since I played this. So get this classic set and start playing and remember why you enjoyed this series while we wait for 2.5 remix and of course KINGDOM HEARTS 3!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia at its Best! (Review plus a FAQ), September 12, 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix (Video Game)
I had a wonderful feeling of nostalgia when I first heard rumors of this remix and leapt for joy when it became official. Years ago when the idea of mixing Final Fantasy with elements from Disney and then tossing them into the various animations I grew up watching, I must admit that it seemed like a bad idea. Somehow it worked and I'm glad it did.

Like so many other fans, I had a lot of unanswered questions surrounding this remix. Having played this game for a couple of days now, those questions have been answered. I feel that the best way for me to approach this review is to create two separate sections: one those completely new to Kingdom Hearts and another for those looking to relive an epic adventure.

For Those New to Kingdom Hearts:
Let's start by addressing some of the more common questions that new players would have.

Is Kingdom Hearts a Good Game?
While Kingdom Hearts utilizes characters from Final Fantasy, the gameplay does not match that of Final Fantasy. It's more of an action based RPG in that you fight battles in real time. With that said, it's not the typical button-mashing action game either (assuming you play it on PROUD mode - i.e. highest difficulty). Kingdom Hearts requires a different strategy for each mob. So if you like RPG and action games, then Kingdom Hearts is a perfect match.

Is Kingdom Hearts 1.5 Remix worth the cost?
You are getting a total of 2 playable games and 1 game worth of scenes. In essence, three games worth of story in all. So yes, you will get your money's worth.

What Order Should I play these Games In?
The play order of Kingdom Hearts can be very confusing for beginners to the franchise. The reason for the order is due to handheld releases. With that said, the order is actually listed correctly within the game. It is as follows:
1. Kingdom Hearts Remix
2. Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories (sounds like spam email)
3. Kingdom Hearts 358/2

You will need to play all three of these games in order to understand the events of Kingdom Hearts 2.

For Fans of the Franchise:
Now let's move onto some questions that I, as a long-time fan of this series, needed answered.

What exactly is included in Kingdom Hearts 1.5?
The Japan based version of Kingdom Hearts 1 has not only been fully remastered, but some of the content has been tweaked also. For example, some of the treasure contents have been swapped, scenes changed just a little bit, and so forth. The camera has been changed to the right analog stick (fans will remember the horrible L1/R1 camera movement). The Japan version has more content so NA fans can expect to experience both nostalgia and fresh content.

Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories is about the same as the PS2 version - with the exception of the remastered scenes.

Kingdom Hearts 358/2 is not playable. The remastered content is available via a theatre option. For trophy lovers, you will be pleased to know that you get trophies simply for watching these scenes.

Furthermore, this is all included on 1 disc and before you ask, no - there is no huge download required like with the Assassin's Creed trilogy release a year ago. Everything has been fit onto a single disc.

Where is Kingdom Hearts 2?
I would venture a guess and say that if KH 1.5 is successful, then we can expect a 2.5 release in the near future (before KH3). Trust me, you will not be disappointed with KH 1.5 is you are a fan of the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Games... and then some! | Glitches call for 4/5, September 28, 2013
By 
7th "7th" (Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix (Video Game)
It's either a near-perfect game or a big headache...

Kingdom Hearts Final Mix HD:

Pluses:

+ Unknown Boss and 11 new enemies.
+ HD Models and Gameplay.
+ Skipable Cinematics and new cutscenes!
+ No Missing Red Trinity Marks this time around!
+ More synthesis items to forge.
+ New moves to learn with all characters.
+ Two games to play!
+ Gummy Ship Missions and new Gummies.

Cons:

- More synthesis grind...
- Not-so-HD cutscenes...
- Not a trilogy disc, though it was never advertised as such to begin with...
- Party Support Command (Triangle) gets in the way of defeating Pink Agaricus with 100 hits.
- Still suffers from bad camera angles in some rooms using either Auto or Manual. (Doesn't matter.)
- Various Glitches. None of which are game-breaking, well, except for one...
- Cannot change voices to Japanese. Only comes in English.
- Subtitles are grainy/tacky and have pixel damage that contrasts terribly against the HD look and feel of these remastered games.
- Difficulty trophies do not stack. Who cares about trophies though. Really. Three playthroughs.

*
Sometimes one of the three mushrooms required to summon Pink Agaricus is missing. (Glitch no.1)
To top it off, the new triangle mapping for teammate support triggers your party to attack the Pink Agaricus, resulting in a lower hit score than 100. For completionists, this is annoying- and really bad. Honestly, teammates aren't needed anyways for other than summoning. You literally have to glitch Donald and Goofy out with the Bambi summon near the ladder to get the 100 hits on Agaricus, that's something you never had to do in Final Mix and the glitch doesn't always work, which means gathering Serenity Power is a tad more annoying than it ever was before.

---

Re: Chain of Memories: HD

Pluses:

+ Theater mode after you beat the game lets you view all the 'HD' cutscenes, in their full blurry glory.
+ You can play as Riku after you beat the game. His story is one of its own, and also has its own cutscenes.
+ There are pretty awesome sleights in the game, it's unfortunate that most bosses can interrupt or break most of them.
+ A few challenging boss fights, if only because they break most of your sleights no matter the total value.

+ Larxene was my favorite boss fight. She looks and acts like Angelica from the Rugrats, and has fewer weaknesses than the other bosses you'll fight. She's a tough cookie on Proud mode, still easy to kill with a cheesefighting Firaga-heavy deck fitted with Red Nocturne Enemy cards.

Negtrain Incoming:

- Probably the biggest gripe is the breakable Item Cards.

- Halfway-HD character models. (Messy eye, mouth textures, blurry HD cutscenes.)
- Annoying battle system with counter-intuitive controls.
- Weak and Useless: Most Enemy Cards are rare to find. Useless by the time you begin collecting Org. XIII cards.
- Same story with tiny differences, same worlds-- Until you get to Floor 11.
- Only a few new regular heartless.
- You can 'Cheesesleight' (Cloud decks, Firaga decks) through the game even on Proud mode.
* BUT if you attempt to make a real deck that makes the game more of a game, then prepare to lose.
- Severe lack of cutscenes/voice cameos in the majority of the World Cards.
- Never premium your whole deck! You will regret it. Only premium the first card of a sleight.
- You can't premium Item Cards. How lame.
- Difficulty trophies don't stack. Two characters = six playthroughs.
- Probably the worst Kingdom Hearts game, still not that bad if you cheesesleight your way through it.

All in all, I've platinum'd the game. Now I can give a real review of it. First off, I don't use guides for games too often. If I keep getting stomped, I'll look online, but this doesn't happen too often... until this game, of course! Why? I was making decks that resembled the playing style of Kingdom Hearts 1. I wasn't using sleights as much as I should had been, and honestly, I was turning all my 9 cards into premium cards because I didn't know any better. I no sooner get to Larxene and she murders me over and over again.

The solution? Make a deck full of fire cards and one attack card and a bunch of Ether cards and two Cure cards with a value of 6 or higher, one in the middle of the deck and one at the end right before the Ethers. It works! If you've got a Red Nocturne enemy card that helps too! You can beat every single boss with this strategy with the exception of Axel, which you would use Ice for instead. Yes, you can even beat Marluxia with this strategy, even his final form. You can even beat most normal fights with this strategy.

It's ten times quicker than actually playing the game, you can shred through the game this way. It seems that they developed this game to cater towards Cloud Strife fans and cheesefighting players alike. You can gather a bunch of high level Cloud cards and just spam Omnislash. Let's get to the really bad part of the game, which is most of it-- You will spend most your time playing through worlds that were in Kingdom Hearts 1, that this time around have no cutscenes, this time around they also have nearly the same context as well with slight differences. Until Floor 11, you will not be playing Chain of Memories. In my opinion, from Floor 11 and onward into Riku's story, the game actually starts at the end!

It's more fun to play as Riku, so it may be worth it to you to beat the game as Sora at least once--

358/2 Days HD Cutscene Footage:

Pluses:

+ Makes you want to play 358/2 Days...
+ More HD than the cutscenes of Re: Chain of Memories.
+ Tells the story of Organization XIII.
+ A better story than Chain of Memories.

Negatives:

- Makes you wish you'd played this instead of Chain of Memories.
- Only cutscenes, no game to play here.
- You can fit more than a PS2 game, a GBA game, and a NDS game's cutscenes on a Blu-ray disc.
- Honestly, 'Take my money plz' is getting old. There's no excuse for why we couldn't had played all three on this Blu-ray disc.

* Need proof? Take a look at Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection or God of War Origins Collection.
There's no reason a big rockstar like SquareEnix can't pull it off. They better not cut corners like this on the PS4 with Kingdom Hearts III.

Conclusive, you could say that 358/2 days was 215 MB. Chain of Memories was 16 MB. Kingdom Hearts was roughly 3 GB.
Let's fabricate and make some numbers up now, since I haven't dissected my game disc yet.

Assuming that the HD remakes are way bigger:

Kingdom Hearts 6 GB..or 12..
Chain of Memories 6 GB... or 12...
358/2 days Cinematics 3 GB.. or 6..

That's still only 15 GB! Or 30 GB if you double that.
A single layer Blu-ray disc can hold over 25 GBs of data on it.
A dual layer Blu-ray disc can hold over 50 GBs of data on it.

*~ Regardless of that, I recommend that you play the games on the disc in this order:

Kingdom Hearts 1 -> 358/2 Days -> Chain of Memories
(Or skip Chain of Memories unless you want to know how the first 3 members of Organization XIII are eliminated.)

Take from this review what you will, but know that I listed the best things and the worst things to give the possible buyer some insight of what to expect, and there are more things to like about the game than there are things to dislike about it, even if the camera controls suck. People here have reported Audio glitches, but you will be delighted to know that I encountered none so far.

Upcoming Kingdom Hearts games:

Next year for PS3: Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix.
Next year for PS4 and XBOX One: Kingdom Hearts III.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An honest review, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix (Video Game)
I have played through Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts II on my PS2. Having never had the handheld systems, I never had the chance to play some of the other games. I am a big fan of the Kingdom Hearts games and the franchise as a whole. When I heard Kingdom Hearts would be on my PS3, I did not hesitate to get this. However, it just didn't live up to what I was hoping for. Let me clarify, I love the actual game -- the original that is. This remixed version is just as good as the original and actually a lot better -- graphics have been touched up a bit, new content, new items and such. If you enjoyed the original, you will love this game. So that being said, you're probably looking at my rating and saying, "Okay -- then why just three stars?" The reason I didn't rate this game higher (despite my love for the first one) is simply because this collection falls flat after that.

The first game (aside from some terrible camera controls) is epic and a thoroughly good time. Exploring different worlds, meeting characters, weaving the unique storyline, searching for unlockables, great combat and boss battles, etc etc. Then you play the next game, Re: Chain of Memories. The story doesn't progress much, in my opinion. It reveals some of the backstory and introduces us to characters who are prominent in later games, but I was left wanting more. Rehashing basically the same worlds and bosses is essentially what kept the story flat. My biggest peeve with this game is the card system. To use the keyblade, cast magic, use items, etc, you need to collect cards. Sure, they're easy to get -- you can find them in smashing objects, purchasing them from Moogles and of course, from combat, but the system is just obnoxious. You have to sort and organize a deck to use in combat. In combat, you need to play a card higher than your opponent (starting to sound like Euchre) otherwise your attack is blocked and often countered. It gets very tedious in battle trying to scroll through your cards to find what you want, all the while dodging attacks. This isn't so bad during battles with lower level enemies, but once you hit some of the boss battles it becomes a real big pain. If you're like me, you just want to swing your keyblade, fight, dodge, cast magic as you please, use items you have in stock, etc. It shouldn't be gauged on whether or not I just happen to have the right cards. If I wanted this sort of experience, I would play a collectible card game. I wanted to like this game, as it's Kingdom Hearts, but I just could not get into it. By the end, I felt like I was completing it out of formality, not pleasure.

Unfortunately, the third part of this collection isn't even a game. WHAT!? Yeah, you read that right. It's about 3 hours worth of cinematics which walk you through the story of the game 358/2. I was actually stoked to play this game, as I knew it was a return to the previous game play of the original (ie; no stupid cards). Shame on me for not reading prior to purchase, but at a glance, I did think it was three games. I mean, in my opinion, why not include it? I'm sure they have their reasons, but that doesn't make this any less of a disappointment.

I would say if you're looking for a great collection of games, you won't find it here. If you loved the original Kingdom Hearts or are looking to play it for the first time, then you're good with this set. It's fairly inexpensive and, quite frankly, the value for the first game alone is there. However, rating this as a collection of games, I have to give an overall lower rating. The original Kingdom Hearts is a 10/10 -- I can dismiss the annoying camera, as you eventually grow accustomed to its erratic behavior at times. However, Chain of Memories and the lack of an actual game for 358/2 knock its star rating down a couple pegs. While I am happy to have the original Kingdom Hearts in my game library once again, I am left wanting a little more out of this collection as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix (Video Game)
Almost a whole console generation has elapsed since the release of the latest official numbered entry of Square-Enix’s Kingdom Hearts franchise, Kingdom Hearts II on the Sony PlayStation 2, and to tide players over until the following official entry, the developer has been content with putting out spinoff titles taking place in between or in some cases during the main numbered titles. In 2013, Square-Enix announced a collection of remakes for the PlayStation 3 entitled Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 ReMIX, which for the most part provides a solid experience in spite of some flaws here and there.

For the first time in North America, the collection includes an HD version of the director’s cut of the original Kingdom Hearts, entitled Kingdom Hearts Final Mix, which has some additional features not present in the original North American release. A menu-based hack-and-slash battle system largely drives the game, with combat generally being fast and fluid, although there are some shortcomings such as occasional frustrating platforming in enemy-infested areas that may occasionally cause players to fall over ledges, retrace their steps, and fight the same foes again. A “wait” mode similar to the active-time battle systems of the Final Fantasy titles would have been nice as well since it can be tricky to navigate the battle menu in the middle of combat to do things like use items, and shortcuts are only available for magic spells (although the player does gain a healing spell that upgrades twice throughout the game).

For the second time in North America is the three-dimensional remake of the GameBoy Advance title Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories, entitled Kingdom Hearts Re:Chain of Memories, where fights are generally more strategic given the card-based gameplay, and since fights occur in restricted arenas, the player mercifully doesn’t need to worry about falling from ledges in the middle of combat. There are, however, again some flaws such as the schizophrenic boss difficulty that may necessitate some grinding and fights against some of the same bosses over and over, but fights are generally more enjoyable in Riku’s mode, Reverse/Rebirth, where battles flow more fluidly in spite of some grinding necessary in that particular mode as well.

Also present in the collection is high-definition versions of the cutscenes from the Nintendo DS entry Kingdom Hearts: 358/2 Days (pronounced “three-five-eight days over two”), where the story is perhaps strongest, given the focus on the original characters comprising Organization XIII and limited interaction with the various characters of Disney-themed worlds that the group’s members visit (with text summaries occasionally appearing). The plots Final Mix and Re:Chain of Memories, though, leaves something to desire, given the former title’s distraction of the Disney-themed worlds and lack of humor despite the presence of comically-voiced characters such as Donald and Goofy, and the repetition of worlds in the latter title, although Reverse/Rebirth generally tells a better story.

In the end, Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 ReMIX is for the most part a solid collection of titles that hits many of the right notes with regards to aspects such as their gameplay, although that particular area too leaves some room for improvement, given things such as inconsistent boss difficulty. The narrative is much the same way, although it’s strongest in Reverse/Rebirth in Re:Chain of Memories and the HD cutscenes of 358/2 Days. Yoko Shimomura’s soundtrack across all the titles, alongside the voice acting, are well above average, as well, and the HD graphics only have some minor blemishes such as pixelated textures on the scenery when seen close-up. Those who have yet to experience any of the titles comprising the collection will certainly find it to be a good diving board into the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Love this game, but theres just one problem...., March 3, 2014
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix (Video Game)
This game is amazing, especially if you are a lifetime Disney fan. This collection is great, and they did a great job re-mastering the gameplay, and making it more fun. I only have one complaint...
Kingdom Hearts, and Kingdom Hearts RE: Chain of memories are fully playable games. I question why they would even bother including Kingdom Hearts 365/2 Days at all, when its not even playable, its just a very long series of boring movie sequences.....
To me, this was kind of a blow to my faith in compilation sets like this. Sure, the story is great, and the characters are awesome. But since I have actually played this game, I was hoping for it to be included as a fully playable HD re-master game as well with the others....but to my disappointment, it wasn't.
I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels this way about it either. I guess they just want people to keep buying and playing the original DS version instead of re-mastering it for PS3, where it could be so much better. That would have been too much to ask for I guess....
As long as the Kingdom Hearts II HD re-master for PS3 owns up to my expectations. They better not do the "cinematics" thing for any of the other games that are supposed to be in that set. Especially Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep....thats the main one I look very much forward to playing in HD on my tv, even more than Kingdom Hearts II. Dont care much for Kingdom Hearts RE: Coded, but i wouldnt mind seeing that one get a makeover either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KINGDOM HEARTS in HD!, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix (Video Game)
What can I say? KINGDOM HEARTS in HD!!!!

I do not usually buy games twice but I did in this case. The graphics was well worth the price!

I was a little confused on what was included in this reissue besides the HD but this is what I found:

Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix includes both Kingdom Hearts Final Mix and Re:Chain of Memories in HD. Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days is not playable but includes 2 hours and 50 minutes of HD remastered cinematics from the original game, as well as new scenes.

Future: I can't wait to see what Square Enix does with Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 Remix. Lets hope they release it like they state in 2014!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New KH fan!, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix (Video Game)
First time playing Kingdom Hearts, & I have to say it's an awesome series! The story is amazing, along with the characters. I don't know where I was that I didn't get into this game when I was younger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix
Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix by Square Enix (PlayStation 3)
$39.99 $19.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.